Originally posted by Poolman:It's a shame CDG shown that their Merc drivers rent a Merc to do $2.50 jobs , what a shame .
That fellow should have just got a Sonata instead .
If he can get 14 jobs daily , the rest of the Merc counterparts will laugh at him , to be honest .
If he drive sonata, u think he can get 14 call?
Originally posted by Poolman:
When i tell people , Merc cabbies has got different treatments , they don't believe .
Haha, i believe sure got different treatments la....
If u see merc queue at taxi stand, can see any sonata got On-Call ?
Originally posted by Poolman:Some naive people have got no idea , on Sunday , if town rush for taxis , lake view customers always agree to pay more for bookings .
Esp 9pm to 12MN , majority of the pax : $5 booking fee , instead of $2.50 .
Some hardcore paxes , last Sunday , raining day , has to book me for $8 .
If one to tell me he has got 14 calls on Sunday , i just tell him , i just need 7 that night .
But my booking double price .
No need worry kena go Holland , no need worry go 4 places , no need worry long distance .
All in town one , short trip one . Short one connect another short one .
Booking s$5 , and still in town .
Booking $2.50 , go Jurong West ? Game Over !
I dun need 300km to get that elusive target .
Mine is $1 per 1km .
sorry but as a LV member , i need to correct some of the above statements.
$5 booking is not very common , usually occurs outside CBD zone , most are standard booking rates.
$8 ? lagi rare. most are in far out places .
And LV has a lot of no idea calls and these can bring the TD to places like sengkang , woodlands and multiple stops. There is no guarantee that a no idea call can bring u from city to city. Unless got destination.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:sorry but as a LV member , i need to correct some of the above statements.
$5 booking is not very common , usually occurs outside CBD zone , most are standard booking rates.
And LV has a lot of no idea calls and these can bring the TD to places like sengkang , woodlands and multiple stops. There is no guarantee that a no idea call can bring u from city to city. Unless got destination.
Sunday .... i talking about Sunday . For those who worked on Sunday will know .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:And LV has a lot of no idea calls and these can bring the TD to places like sengkang , woodlands and multiple stops. There is no guarantee that a no idea call can bring u from city to city. Unless got destination .
This one .... must be clever .
Like that hotel , 5 taxis , never be the first to go in !
Always be the 2nd or 3rd , listen to what's going on .
If 1st taxi go Punggol , 2nd go AMK , i am not going to be 3rd , no way .
Like got one hotel , from 5pm to 10pm , i hardly heard drivers was sent to Holland .
And that hotel from Beach Road , 99% non locals . That Bell boy don't bother to call for locals , cos no tips , who cares ?
Must be clever ....
Originally posted by Poolman:
This one .... must be clever .Like that hotel , 5 taxis , never be the first to go in !
Always be the 2nd or 3rd , listen to what's going on .
If 1st taxi go Punggol , 2nd go AMK , i am not going to be 3rd , no way .
Like got one hotel , from 5pm to 10pm , i hardly heard drivers was sent to Holland .
And that hotel from Beach Road , 99% non locals . That Bell boy don't bother to call for locals , cos no tips , who cares ?
Must be clever ....
Originally posted by JLKL:stay toh guan dun take Wish sayang man..
Well noted! thanks man! ![]()
will contact Transcab for more info...probably drop by their office on Monday..
btw where is CK ? have you decided yet?
I am an OMO . I used to have relief before I decided to be hirer . Been a hirer for 4 yrs and with relief for 6 years . I have driven a taxi for for 10 years . Its tough but I still love the job. You need the passion and the drive to drive a cab . Otherwise if you are in the bz for a short period then its better to be a relief.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:sorry but as a LV member , i need to correct some of the above statements.
You are right to say that $5 booking is very uncommon.
It depends on whose is the operator.
If 03 or 07 doing the broadcast, you can be sure that $5 booking fee is the norm on a raining sunday night with location.
Originally posted by benqepson:I am an OMO . I used to have relief before I decided to be hirer . Been a hirer for 4 yrs and with relief for 6 years . I have driven a taxi for for 10 years . Its tough but I still love the job. You need the passion and the drive to drive a cab . Otherwise if you are in the bz for a short period then its better to be a relief.
"You need the passion and the drive to drive a cab"
I totally disagree with you about the statement.
If you are a teacher or in nursing, I will say that you need to have that passion in you to be in the profession.
I've only been in the trade for 23 months and I can't see any link to being passionate about driving a cab.
If you love the job is another matter but passion I beg to differ.
I just love driving . What else in SIngapore that you enjoy doing and earns monies ? 10 years ago I resigned from my engineer job and join this industry. I never look back since . I would love to drive till I cant drive no more. This is my passion and there is no right or wrong abt it . I chosed this profession.
Originally posted by benqepson:I am an OMO . I used to have relief before I decided to be hirer . Been a hirer for 4 yrs and with relief for 6 years . I have driven a taxi for for 10 years . Its tough but I still love the job. You need the passion and the drive to drive a cab . Otherwise if you are in the bz for a short period then its better to be a relief.
I would think in order to stay in the trade longer, it's better to be a relief or to have a relief.
OMO imho, would tired ourselves out very soon.
maybe benqepson is saying about passion in travelling around with his taxi .
be it in commuting passengers , or cruising , or the passion for counting money .
I've said before , to be a "successful" cabby , one must enjoy what he doing .
Enjoy commuting paxes , enjoy pressing the ideal meter , enjoy travelling around Spore , enjoy the timing , enjoy with friends , enjoy every moment of it .
i have mentioned to many of my friends .....
I became a better person driving a cab .
I became a more knowledgeable person after driving a cab .
Cos i talked and learnt from different passengers .
Cos i talked with more foreigners than any other profession i am in .
I became a better person cos i enjoy my lifestyle .
I can watch my soccer on TV , almost every night or even midnight , be it at coffee ship , pubs , internet streaming , i love to watch soccer . And yet i do not need to see a doctor for a MC after that .
Many took MC during World Cup and European Cup .
I do not need that .
I can play my favourite game of badminton at cck on tuesday thursday , and yet i do not need to apply leave to do that , and that i can still earn money after that !
I can see my chidren in the afternoon after their schools .
The only thing was that i do not see my wife very often , only after i came back from work , when she is asleep .
But come to think of it , seldom see her also good ! Hahahahahah
taxi driving is something ..... about yourself , nobody can tell you what to do .
About your own likings ...
The off days u need , the hours u chose to work , the people u chose to pick , the places u go and Q , the people u love to meet .
Like Komade , he loves to pick Philipines girls , knn , now i picked less , all he picked liao , phui !
Now i love to pick Viets ... cos got chances ONS . Hahahahahah
I always tell my friends , i am a lucky cabby .
I started during 2000 .
Was hit by Sars , Asian Financial Woes , Global recessions ...... and came back strong .
I saw the developements of Singapore .
I saw the rise of MBS and RWS .
I saw new hotels up and coming ...
I saw from World Trade Centre , to current Vivo and Harbourfront .
I saw from T1 and T2 , to T3 and Budget .
I saw from 0 resident of Sengkang > current Sengkang and Punggol .
I saw the the rise of Pinnacles .
Now i am lucky we have got KPE .
The Telok Blangah Flyover .
So many things that created to make it possible for me .
It's unbelievable !
How can i not love this job ?
I never had any ambition to be any manager in my entire life , i was a manager before , and i hate that !
It's not what i want .
I would rather go for something lesser , but i can get more out of the lifesytle .
That's is why when i was elected to help run Lake View call centre , it's not difficult , cos i was there before .
Frankly how can anyone be passionate doing the same fark shit everyday?
Originally posted by Poolman:maybe benqepson is saying about passion in travelling around with his taxi .
be it in commuting passengers , or cruising , or the passion for counting money .
I've said before , to be a "successful" cabby , one must enjoy what he doing .
Enjoy commuting paxes , enjoy pressing the ideal meter , enjoy travelling around Spore , enjoy the timing , enjoy with friends , enjoy every moment of it .
How can anyone enjoys travelling/driving around S'pore when there are peak hour jam all over the island.
I always hate it in the past when I had to drive to office for meeting during the am peak hour from home to Alexandra. The traffic towards Lornie & Adam is incredibly terrible in the am.
There's only frustration and resignation in those moments when you are stuck in peak hour traffic.
What's so passionate about driving and getting stuck in traffic ??
Originally posted by Mercabs:How can anyone enjoys travelling/driving around S'pore when there are peak hour jam all over the island.
I always hate it in the past when I had to drive to office for meeting during the am peak hour from home to Alexandra. The traffic towards Lornie & Adam is incredibly terrible in the am.
There's only frustration and resignation in those moments when you are stuck in peak hour traffic.
What's so passionate about driving and getting stuck in traffic ??
After 10 years , Poolman is still in dreamland i suppose hahaha
actually i had posted something quite nasty but out of respect for my good friend of many years , i have decided to delete it :)
Many TDs lan lan xiao xiao got no choice but to drive , How many can actually say they have the passion? hahaha
Passion for wad? ferry pax? take in the sights while driving? on meter? pak call? i dare say if someone walk up and give u an opportunity to get out , you will get out.
Poolman got out of the trade once before , why? why didnt passion stop him from exiting the trade ?
To me , its just the dollar bills in my pocket after a nite of driving. The passion is zero , love for the job zero, everything abt taxi is zero. just the $ man
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:actually i had posted something quite nasty but out of respect for my good friend of many years , i have decided to delete it :)
That's what I thought.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Many TDs lan lan xiao xiao got no choice but to drive , How many can actually say they have the passion? hahaha
Passion for wad? ferry pax? take in the sights while driving? on meter? pak call? i dare say if someone walk up and give u an opportunity to get out , you will get out.
Poolman got out of the trade once before , why? why didnt passion stop him from exiting the trade ?
To me , its just the dollar bills in my pocket after a nite of driving. The passion is zero , love for the job zero, everything abt taxi is zero. just the $ man
Taxi driving, to me, is just a means to an end.
There's no love or passion on my part.
I just love the $$ at the end of my shift.
In fact, I've thought of quitting almost few months back.
Peoples have been following up on me wanting me to get back to what I do for the last 15 years.
I'm still hesitating and still seriously considering.
The only thing I like about taxi driving is the stress free feeling at the end of my shift.
No work to think about. No work to follow up. No leftover work.
Best of all NO Dateline.