Originally posted by Mercabs:Taxi driving, to me, is just a means to an end.
There's no love or passion on my part.
I just love the $$ at the end of my shift.
In fact, I've thought of quitting almost few months back.
Peoples have been following up on me wanting me to get back to what I do for the last 15 years.
I'm still hesitating and still seriously considering.
The only thing I like about taxi driving is the stress free feeling at the end of my shift.
No work to think about. No work to follow up. No leftover work.
Best of all NO Dateline.
I will encourage all those young guys to explore and if possible to leave this trade. Coz this trade , the more u stay , the more u sink deeper to a point of no return.
There will surely be a time when u ask yourself ' why the fark am i doing this?' ask yourself this question soon before its too late.
You are obviously a person capable of more than just a TD.
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Poolman got out of the trade once before , why? why didnt passion stop him from exiting the trade ?
Top secrets .....
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:To me , its just the dollar bills in my pocket after a nite of driving. The passion is zero , love for the job zero, everything abt taxi is zero. just the $ man
that what it matter most .... isn't it ?
Originally posted by Mercabs:The only thing I like about taxi driving is the stress free feeling at the end of my shift.
Best of all NO Dateline.
That what's make taxi driving interesting , isn't it ?
1.I've got decent salary
2.i can pursue my passion in football watching
3.I can exercise my love for badminton on tuesday and thursday
4.Saturday i can play mahjong
5.Sunday stay home or doing shoppings with family
And my pay not really badly affected .
No job can match that job , sports and love for soccer , all into one .
I guessed non of you guys have the same passion like me , to make taxi driving even interesting .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:After 10 years , Poolman is still in dreamland i suppose hahaha
That's what makes me a happy man , in dreamland i guess .
I have got so many things to pursue , and makes my lifestyle so interesting .
All step by step .
Including accomplishment to make Lake View a very good solid call centre .
Now we are better off than last one year .
Once they get into minor profit zone , non negative deficit , i'm off .
I prefer to sit back to enjoy the fruits .
Just sit back and "one turn" .
No more jobs paging , no more " MBS need 3 taxis " , no more "ICC1 need taxis".
Just sit back .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:I will encourage all those young guys to explore and if possible to leave this trade. Coz this trade , the more u stay , the more u sink deeper to a point of no return.
There will surely be a time when u ask yourself ' why the fark am i doing this?' ask yourself this question soon before its too late.
You are obviously a person capable of more than just a TD.
If those young people , if u are retrenched , no worries , take this job as temp . Do not stay home doing nothing .
Like i said before , never goes into OMO if possible if u are new .
If u are in , and being a degree or diploma holder , and if u are in a bit of demand in the market , do open yourself to more options , than to commit yourself to driving everyday .
The problem that some people stuck in this trade , cos they lost touch with the employing market .
Stay in line with the employment market , who knows one day , some people might just gave you another shot in your specialty .
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:actually i had posted something quite nasty but out of respect for my good friend of many years , i have decided to delete it :)
Yeah i expect those negativity from you .
When i was in Toshiba Sales & Marketing , way back in the late 90's .
That was the peak point where i decided , enough is enough .
Not more MNC jobs .
Sounds easy working in MNC ?
Under one Manager , below 20 promotors reporting to you ?
Conduct briefings , interesting ?
Need to go back to office at 8pm , sort out invoices and PO by 3am , reached home 4am . Everyday ?
Need to go back to office by 9am .
Saturday doing Road shows .
And got paid $6000-$9000 a month , for what ?
Those happiness in life , not there .
Those who never work in MNC , can go on dreaming on how good in getting employed , but in actually fact , reverse .
U'll never wanted to go back to MNC again .
what is the best ?
do and earn as much as you can now .
if can , start off something challenging - entrepreneurship .
do something interesting , that interest you .
like buying and selling at ebay ?
like trading mobile phones ?
buy and export with minimum profits ?
except opening a shop . Never be a slave to Capital Mall !
or even opening a food store ?
Many more ....
now more young people are doing it .
went into something really interest them .
Fashion , IT , food , recycle , more .......
Without enough funds , u cannot do anything .
Again , as a senior , i would like to refresh you on some issues .
If u have not own any HDB flat , and has got a low amount of reserves inside CPF .
And low Medisave .
Driving a cab cannot help you on this .
U can only consider driving a cab , providing your wife is working , main supporter for the CPF account to finance the flat mortage loans .
If ur wife not working , and both of you people has low medisave , with no children , u better stay away from taxi driving .
Cos taxi driving cannot buy you a flat or u can dream on a private property !!!
For the future of your children , first and foremost , get a flat first , then u can think of driving a cab .
Or 2nd alternatives ....
Remain being employed ....
Only drive cab as part time basis , like on Saturday night or Sunday morning .
Or if energetic enuf , drive on a Friday night .
Join CDG as part time , cos their bookings is very good on Friday , if u are not fussy .
Only if got hirer let go their vehicle on Friday night .
Still driving a cab , what so called passion from some , personal passion for me ... still the least important .
Money is still the main cause for remaining in this trade .
Good money ?
Lousy money ?
Still come back to one word - individual .
Individual mentallity , individual set target , individual working durations , individual likings , individual style of working .....
Success or failure , it's all about individual , the one and only yourself .
Originally posted by Poolman:I always tell my friends , i am a lucky cabby .
I started during 2000 .
Was hit by Sars , Asian Financial Woes , Global recessions ...... and came back strong .
I saw the developements of Singapore .
I saw the rise of MBS and RWS .
I saw new hotels up and coming ...
I saw from World Trade Centre , to current Vivo and Harbourfront .
I saw from T1 and T2 , to T3 and Budget .
I saw from 0 resident of Sengkang > current Sengkang and Punggol .
I saw the the rise of Pinnacles .
Now i am lucky we have got KPE .
The Telok Blangah Flyover .
So many things that created to make it possible for me .
It's unbelievable !
How can i not love this job ?
Yah lo phui where all my vc go?? Long time nber pick liao....
Originally posted by Mercabs:Taxi driving, to me, is just a means to an end.
There's no love or passion on my part.
I just love the $$ at the end of my shift.
In fact, I've thought of quitting almost few months back.
Peoples have been following up on me wanting me to get back to what I do for the last 15 years.
I'm still hesitating and still seriously considering.
The only thing I like about taxi driving is the stress free feeling at the end of my shift.
Best of all NO Dateline.
Haha same here wat i like is counting the $$$ at end of shift.... Somemore as relief even more stress free, end of shift put the rental clean up thr car top up the fuel can f off liao..... :p
Originally posted by ALN:if parang anyhow fly, drive 3-4 nites
if parang say can, drive 2 nites
if no parang, throw key… hahaha
Originally posted by komade:Yah lo phui where all my vc go?? Long time nber pick liao....
Your taxi outside got this sign ma , think your OC put one .

Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:Poolman got out of the trade once before , why? why didnt passion stop him from exiting the trade ?
When did i say i have passion for taxi driving ?
I admit i have got passions for soccer / badminton .
To many , taxi driving is just drive .
To me , taxi driving is more than just driving .
I do not just drive , i like to make it interesting by more thinking and analyse .
Most will understand what i meant .
When i am cruising home empty , my eyes do not just focus on the road , or people flagging for taxis , my mind is summarising my whole night's performance .
Why this why that ?
To make tmr a better day .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Your taxi outside got this sign ma , think your OC put one .
Ocassionally, some pax would ask me what u need to be a taxi driver??
I always give the same ans...
1) U got to Love driving.
2) U must have the PASSION...........for $$$.
hahaha
Till now......
Point no.2 is still my main reason as a cabby...
Who say we have no passion?? ;)