Saw the notice on ST Classified page...
pick up rate: $3.20
$0.20 per respective distance, stopping time band.
where ? got proof ?
Let's hope CDG really make it this time , the project of launching more environmental friendly vehicles on Singapore's road .
They have the most diesel vehicles in a single transport company .
So it's time to play a part . It's time they play a part !
It does makes a difference to the environment . Not much , at least , people Q-ing at taxi stand , need not put a mask across their face everytime they need to Q for a cab .
We just have to keep on fighting !
Still i think cng more environmental friendlier
100% CNG , some 99% , 1% petrol .
Hybrid still consume 50% of petrol .
Last year , when i first drove a CNG taxi , i dun even calculate the difference for my CNG against diesels .
I just love it .
Til now , i felt healthier with CNG , and i am also a supporter for Prime Prius .
Imagine , if every driver in the world used Hybrid ?
Meaning globally , petrol usage on cars will be half of now !!!
Arabs will have 50% more in stocks pile up , meaning they must reduce the price of this commodities .
If Singapore , if all cars are hybrid , and CNG generated ...
Axxon and Caltex , plus Shell , will have to stop their investment in Singapore !
Originally posted by Poolman:If Singapore , if all cars are hybrid , and CNG generated ...
Axxon and Caltex , plus Shell , will have to stop their investment in Singapore !
Their refinery is not just produced for Singapore, it's for entire Asia...
You believe Exxon's 600,000 barrel per day output is just for our own consumption?
Furthermore, many buses and ship engines are still using diesel... Ship engine's consumption is super big.
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:Environmental Friendly ?
what abt pollutants/chemicals generated when producing the batteries for hybrid?
I guessed i shall explain it this way , if we handle the disposal properly , the environment still okay .
At least to be disposed , it's a one off actions .
Unlike usage ..... everyday must use .
Hi All
I support Pools view on use if hybrid taxi , infact I feel hybrid only make sense if use as taxi oppose to your normal driver mileage of 10 to 20 k per year onl , higher mileage can justify the embedded energy used to made hybrid vehicle, battery life span is typical 5 years also dependeant on usage temperature etc also can recur the cost of the making and disposal of battery
Is the camry cdg bring in JDM (more sleek) or tomyan BM version?
Originally posted by seancannot:Is the camry cdg bring in JDM (more sleek) or tomyan BM version?
Tomyam la knn .... how can they afford Japanese Yen now ?
i regret not getting a hybrid car. now petrol so ex. everyday tamp > ntu > tamp. sigh. last time civic hybrid cheap....
hybrid is the way to go.... at least, in expensive Singapore.
Originally posted by sbst275:
Their refinery is not just produced for Singapore, it's for entire Asia...You believe Exxon's 600,000 barrel per day output is just for our own consumption?
Furthermore, many buses and ship engines are still using diesel... Ship engine's consumption is super big.
You miss my point , i am saying "if all cars " are into cng and hybrid , Axxon will lose a substantial amount of profit each year from sales of petrol to petrol generated cars and machineries .
How much does petrol sales to cars each year ?
Don't say profit , just say "sales amount" per day .
If 100,000 cars pump in $50 per day of just Octane 95 petrol , how much sales amount per day ?
Per month ?
Per year ?
Minus of just , if profit margin is just 1% ?
U can imagine the amount ? I calculated , not even in thousand , in Millions of dollars of profit down the drain .
Originally posted by sinicker:i regret not getting a hybrid car. now petrol so ex. everyday tamp > ntu > tamp. sigh. last time civic hybrid cheap....
hybrid is the way to go.... at least, in expensive Singapore.
VW jetta la...
Originally posted by Poolman:
You miss my point , i am saying "if all cars " are into cng and hybrid , Axxon will lose a substantial amount of profit each year from sales of petrol to petrol generated cars and machineries .How much does petrol sales to cars each year ?
Don't say profit , just say "sales amount" per day .
If 100,000 cars pump in $50 per day of just Octane 95 petrol , how much sales amount per day ?
Per month ?
Per year ?
Minus of just , if profit margin is just 1% ?
U can imagine the amount ? I calculated , not even in thousand , in Millions of dollars of profit down the drain .
never underestimate how much profits these oil companies can earn each year.
Originally posted by sbst275:never underestimate how much profits these oil companies can earn each year.
Ya la , the point still there ...... whatever profit they can have , getting a few millions lesser each year , means something wrong .

If the smaller capacity Prius comsume $25-$30 petrol , for every 500km .
I think Camry will be a bit more . Due to it's bigger 2000cc engine .
Say $28-33 for every 500km .
Meaning per km , drivers will pay roughly $0.056 per km .
Compared to current almost $0.10 on diesels .
if advertised CDG on trial 2 Camry on the road , more likely they will indent in those Thai made Camry .
A few years back , when they put on trial Hyundai Sonata , also 2 pieces on trial .
Taxi number SHA-6006 and SHA-6009 were the first 2 Sonatas on the road .
Originally posted by Poolman:Imagine , if every driver in the world used Hybrid ?
Meaning globally , petrol usage on cars will be half of now !!!
Arabs will have 50% more in stocks pile up , meaning they must reduce the price of this commodities .
Hybrid is an in thing now for cars, typically globally. And more and more hybrid models are being introduced, the lastest being the Chevy Volt. And they are evolving, even the first Prius was introduced in 1997. Problem is that they are still expensive, even though they can be more powerful now (Toyota Supra sports car hybrid).
Automobile manufacturers are also and have been looking for other sources for many decades.
- Hydrogen, but is costly and only received limited success for now (e.g BMW)
- Gas Turbine, not many explore into this yet, the most recent one is the Jaguar CX-75 concept car.
- Pressurized air to move pistons, at its very early explorary stages and still weak in power
- Electric cars, infant stages, expensive, low milages and only a few prototypes. But now Nissan is mass producing the Leaf.
- Bio fuel. More feasible as they are almost unlimted. Your used cooking oil can be used as bio fuel, mixed with some chemicals. Oil palms, and our neighbours, Malaysia and Indonesia has many oil palm plantations.
and so on.
Think it is not just for the environment but petrol and diesel, no matter what are limited resources and the oil well will run dry one day. It is time to switch to other fuel alternatives rather than wait till that time, which might be too late. We can't afford to stop everything around the world, just because there is no oil by that time.
Originally posted by Poolman:if advertised CDG on trial 2 Camry on the road , more likely they will indent in those Thai made Camry .
A few years back , when they put on trial Hyundai Sonata , also 2 pieces on trial .
Taxi number SHA-6006 and SHA-6009 were the first 2 Sonatas on the road .
Borneo Motors is already selling the Thai made Toyota Camry hybrid here, so most likely they will use this. But wonder why they don't want to use the Toyota Crown hybrid? Continue using Toyota Crowns to continue the Crown legacy, since the 1970s.
Originally posted by vicamour:Borneo Motors is already selling the Thai made Toyota Camry hybrid here, so most likely they will use this. But wonder why they don't want to use the Toyota Crown hybrid? Continue using Toyota Crowns to continue the Crown legacy, since the 1970s.
The problem is : Does Toyota make them ?
Consider that today, we had so much different kinds of energy to turn a crankshaft and churn the wheels, why still rely on petrol or diesel?? I had been pondering over this question until one of my kopitiam brother told me, that the world actually can use many kind of energy, you can even have nuclear energy that run for months without refuelling, but think of the impact on middle east richs and the west oil controlled rich countries like UK and USA, they will lost all their investment and business overnight. So, by hook or by crook, they have to make sure that petrol and diesel is still widely use so that not only they can make money out of them, they can also control the world economy and even politics. I can bet you that petrol and diesel will not go far, the tax and fuel surcharge is already making country like singapore rich, just imagine that if all car is to go hybrid, there will be a total shift of business and power.
By right, since the west are so concern about conservatives and environment, all engine should go into hybrid, nuclear for power plants and turbine for ship, maybe only aircraft remain using air fuel
Read somewhere in internet, The Hyundai hasn’t released their Sonata Hybrid but, reading between the lines, expect a price closer to the Camry. And at the pump, the 36 city/40 highway trumps the Camry Hybrid.