I did not say we must fake a statement .
We know this driver is in deep trouble .
As a witness , we do our part on what is right ? and what is wrong ?
Wrong is you fake a statement to help the driver to escape punishments in the name of the law .
Right is u report what u saw , the truth .
Whether or not this driver will be charge ? That is not important .
As for the thread starter , he do not know what to do ?
As what i had explained to him , u saw the accident , at that point , u are in a position to witness that the traffic lights going into Alexandra is green , cos u are RED when turning into Zion Road .
And many of the drivers agree that , this stretch the traffic light timing works that way .
This is what i meant by "help" .
Help to tell the truth !
Whether or not this driver could be charged severely , that has got nothing to do with thread-starter , or anyone else .
Just got to stand out for the truth .
Originally posted by bowah:Bro, Traffic laws do not look at it this way. Once you hit a person, no matter you right or wrong, you are guilty, and if that person died, more worst. They will sure to measure the tire mark, if no brake mark show, God bless the taxi driver, he sure get charged deep deep. He can forget about driving again.
Precisely. And also, depending on the point that your car come into contact with the pedestrian , it can be totally the driver's fault even if the pedestrian is jaywalking.
Folks, always practise defensive driving. Don't just think that because that pedestrian is jaywalking, it is automatically his fault. I seems to recall a case where is Merc (or BMW) lady driver hit an ang mo at a traffic junction with the traffic light in the driver's favour.. But, based on the point of contact, it was held that she is at fault and hence, liability. Worst still, the ang mo estate sued for damages (including potential loss of income) and end up, the lady driver had to was car to earn money to pay for the damages. The case was about 2-3 years back.
This junction is accident prone, a lot fatal accidents.
I once lived at block 92 opposite the chinese temple.
Sg law is pow-chia 1.
If u witness a accident ...... u come comment online .... n .....IF U DONT MAKE A POLICE REPORT.
The police can come after u ley...... typical sg law.
so ...... its wiser 2 go drink kopi w them.
Some people can sleep if they witnessed an accident , and not make any report ?
Me for one , cannot sleep .
How to sleep ?
I can only sleep after i felt i did my best for everything .
Including putting on a statement to give TP some headaches .
The best is to has a car cam install in the taxi. Those stuip people also like to cycle againest the traffic. I ever knock down such person but that time no cam installed in my taxi so lan lan pay the bicycle damage to the man. luck he never get injured. If i have a cam install like now I can use it as witness as he cycle againest follow of traffic.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
You all really professional, what light the traffic show based on what event you also know... but some cab midnight drivers really jia lak, dunno what way from bedok to sengkang, drive to CTE and back to sengkang, i think he trying to cheat my money. i go jurong home also $30, i go sengkang home about $20, from bedok!!! means either the driver really cockster or he trying to cheat my money... i never pursue the matter because i give him the benefit of the doubt... but it's damn stupid bedok go towards city then go back...
Dunno who stupid kerna con? bring up here then say give him benefit of doubt..?
Originally posted by kengleong:Hi bros... Need your advice.
I was at the junction of Havelock rd waiting to turn into Zion rd at around 1050pm yesterday when I heard a loud screeching of tires...
Next moment saw a Trans cab toyota crown ran smack into a chinese guy who was crossing the road. I was unsure whether he was jay walking... all I know my cab was stationary waiting to turn.
I was horrified and stunned... with 2 paxes in my cab I moved further and parked by the side... Tried to call 995 but line was engaged... I moved off after that feeling very shaken... hands still trembling... don't think the guy survived.
Went home after that... too shaken to drive.
So do I need to come out to be a witness? I didn't notice the part where the guy was crossing the road.
Thanks and be safe...
KL, if your witness or statement is so impt that it can concurr the event truthfully, then go for it.
On the other hand, if the person killed is your loved one, what will you thk of the driver? was he at fault? was he supposed to drive carefully? any defensive driving? can it be avoided? so many puzzle?
Joke ok
HEY TS> you never stop. YOu should stop for them and take their hp and wallet away.
Originally posted by bowah:Bro, Traffic laws do not look at it this way. Once you hit a person, no matter you right or wrong, you are guilty, and if that person died, more worst. They will sure to measure the tire mark, if no brake mark show, God bless the taxi driver, he sure get charged deep deep. He can forget about driving again.
Depends.
Firstly the driver should be careful. Pedestrian make mistake or act rashly does not mean you can ram him down. You are operating a vehicle, you have a duty to look and use the brake. Driver at fault.
Secondly, the accident cannot be avoided. Like a jaywalker just dash across the road, he clears the first vehicle but kena ram by the second vehicle following behind on the right. Sometimes the pedestrian take the chance thinking the vehicle will brake and try to dash across. But suay suay the driver at that time look at the rear mirror or side mirror and accelerate hard. Then hear brake sound and boom. Driver get caution.
Thirdly, driver try to beat yellow light, and speed, and straight across pedestrian see yellow light and start to cross. Both at fault.
Eye witness very important, or else the driver take most of the blame.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
You all really professional, what light the traffic show based on what event you also know... but some cab midnight drivers really jia lak, dunno what way from bedok to sengkang, drive to CTE and back to sengkang, i think he trying to cheat my money. i go jurong home also $30, i go sengkang home about $20, from bedok!!! means either the driver really cockster or he trying to cheat my money... i never pursue the matter because i give him the benefit of the doubt... but it's damn stupid bedok go towards city then go back...
Either the driver intend to cheat or he is not well versed in roads. What you could have done is to state your preferred route to avoid any dispute.
If you think he went by a route that cost you more than $10, you can settle it amicably by asking for a discount, if he really dont know his way well, most likely he will charge u lesser.
If the driver think he didnt go by a longer route, you should take the receipt and complain against him, and get rid of a black sheep!
Originally posted by mancha:Depends.
Firstly the driver should be careful. Pedestrian make mistake or act rashly does not mean you can ram him down. You are operating a vehicle, you have a duty to look and use the brake. Driver at fault.
Secondly, the accident cannot be avoided. Like a jaywalker just dash across the road, he clears the first vehicle but kena ram by the second vehicle following behind on the right. Sometimes the pedestrian take the chance thinking the vehicle will brake and try to dash across. But suay suay the driver at that time look at the rear mirror or side mirror and accelerate hard. Then hear brake sound and boom. Driver get caution.
Thirdly, driver try to beat yellow light, and speed, and straight across pedestrian see yellow light and start to cross. Both at fault.
Eye witness very important, or else the driver take most of the blame.
True, as bro pool said, eye witness can help, but if eye witness are of the same trade, that is another TD, it is hard to make a submission into the court base on nepotism or favoritism, the judgel will prefer a person that is not in the same trade to be witness, however, that will only reduce the sentences, still the driver have to take the punishment, no way to escape. And on the emotion side, if you kill someone on the road, it is very hard to touch the wheel again, you feel so down unless your heart is make of iron.
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:Precisely. And also, depending on the point that your car come into contact with the pedestrian , it can be totally the driver's fault even if the pedestrian is jaywalking.
Folks, always practise defensive driving. Don't just think that because that pedestrian is jaywalking, it is automatically his fault. I seems to recall a case where is Merc (or BMW) lady driver hit an ang mo at a traffic junction with the traffic light in the driver's favour.. But, based on the point of contact, it was held that she is at fault and hence, liability. Worst still, the ang mo estate sued for damages (including potential loss of income) and end up, the lady driver had to was car to earn money to pay for the damages. The case was about 2-3 years back.
Believe me, the prosecutor can even ask you what time you sleep yesterday, all the way on havelock road, did you fall asleep? I will said, it is a 80/20 rules, 80% the driver will get punished, the miracle belongs to the 20%