Failure to pay taxi fare
24D. Any
person who, having made use of a taxi service and without reasonable excuse,
fails or refuses to pay the fare as indicated on the taximeter shall
be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine
not exceeding $1,000 and, in the case of a second or subsequent
offence, to a fine not exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment
for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.
Thanks to fellow TD from icabbies forum.
So in future , if any paxes refuse to pay me taxi fare , i will report to Police , and say : " Sir , pls charge him under PUBLIC TRANSPORT COUNCIL ACT (CHAPTER 259B) , 24D !
The Policeman will be stunned !
Commuters , pls passs the message across to anyone , your relatives , friends , colleague , the friend's friend etc .....
If they has the intend to run , pls be prepare to face the charges from us .
Yeah rite.... pass the message to everyone, especailly those clubbers...
MOst of such fare cheat cases happens to night shift drivers.
Just tell me, which cabby ever use this laws to charge a pax??
If we really report to police and charge pax for not paying, do we have the share of half the fine?? If not, what for, govt take the fine, we take our time to attend court to be witness and end up we lose more.
Originally posted by Poolman:So in future , if any paxes refuse to pay me taxi fare , i will report to Police , and say : " Sir , pls charge him under PUBLIC TRANSPORT COUNCIL ACT (CHAPTER 259B) , 24D !
I bet the policeman will ask you, where is the pax? Please write a statement, the description of the pax and the exact location, time, and action.
Then the police will sit there and wait for the next TD to come and make another report, if the description is the same, then they will call out to all taxis companies to take note, once note and fit the description, please inform the police.
Once the pax get caught, the TDs will have to attend court as witnesses and prosecutor, if the pax plead not guilty, TD will have to attend a few court session, end up, pax found guilty, get fined, TD get nothing.
Sad to know u have tis mentality.
Its always people like u scare of wasting time to get things right to help at all TDs dats y TDs r still at losing end when talk abt our rights.
Yes, we do go thru the trouble n waste our time or even lose the chance to make $$ but going court but did it occur to u dat it will help the rest of TDs n oso urself by having not encountering lesser fare cheats or even none in long run?
Not that we want to waste time, i got pax who run away when you stop, how to chase, how to really get a description at nite? sway lor, what to do? go police station, police also sian sian give u a piece of people and ask you to write statement, then will just said, "we will contact you once we caught that person you described", until now, no news?
Laws is mend to deter people from doing it, and it is make by people, just like you said littering is $500, if someone on the park you see throw a cig butt, you go report? It is of great blessing that singapore do not have much of pax who dun pay, most will pay, the laws is set to protect it, but if the laws can said that the pax must compensate the taxi driver for his lost of time and compound the unpaid fares to triple and so on,...I do not mind going to court. Just $20 per hour for my time will do. However, the laws do not look into the TD, if you look at it clearly, it is going to charge the pax the same as shoplifting, where you take thing without paying. But then, a shop can still going on with it business be it if the boss attend court or not, but for taxi driver, a sole bread winner and properiorter, the one and only person who is the manager, the worker, the driver, the service and general worker on the street, cannot afford to lose time just for a pax how do not want to pay a $15 fare??
This type of laws are pass by the associate of taxi Association, and it is a pity that there is no benefit for the poor TD who report for it. You ask any TDs on the street if they lose a day or two, or spent 2 hrs in police station, how much it cost them, I am not saying that the laws is no good, or that we should not report, but the action and the police work done is minimals and the laws is silent on the compensation on TD, imagine a laws consenously pass the bill at the parliament thru the Taxi association committee suggestion but end up not benefit a single sympathy on the poor TD is totally ridiculous.
As a sole bread winner of a family, tell me, do i want to waste a few hundreds dollars of my time just for a lost of a fare??
If the laws is to change to charging the pax, fine $1k to $2k, and to compensate the fare 3x, and also to compensate the TD of his time spent on reporting and attending court...I give u two thump up, ALL TDs will report. That's a fact.
I tell you a story .
I have a colleague , his walkie was stolen by a pax .
So how ? Just a walkie , tomorrow can still get one replacement , let go ?
More important , earn money first .
Waste time .
No . He did not let go .
He called the police , describe , trace the melayus , caught them red-handed !
On-and -off , almost 2-3 hours .
Waste time ?
Yup , wasted those melayus some 24 hours lock-up in the cell room .
See if this melayu , dare to tell his friends to stun again ?
No way .....
To each his own .
some cabby can afford , some cabby cannot afford .
some cabby's too many principles , cannot afford to lose any , some cabby can .
some cabby's ego too strong , cannot afford , some cabby no ego , can let go .
to each his own .
Originally posted by bowah:Just tell me, which cabby ever use this laws to charge a pax??
If we really report to police and charge pax for not paying, do we have the share of half the fine?? If not, what for, govt take the fine, we take our time to attend court to be witness and end up we lose more.
u sounds rigt,who take the fine?half half or govt take all?
Originally posted by bowah:Just tell me, which cabby ever use this laws to charge a pax??
Its not a matter of who take the fine. If you reported the case to the police and if they happened to catch the person , they can proceed to charge him . That is not all. The important part is if they are charged, it will at the same time send out a strong signal to those who had been doing such tricks that all these will not be tolerated.
If every driver do not do their part to report assault or runaway fare cases to the police, the police will not have a record to show that such cases are indeed on the rise. when this become the case, the police will again proudly claimed that overall the security in singapore is good with low crime rate. They will then happily give themselves a pay rise.
Originally posted by bowah:
Once the pax get caught, the TDs will have to attend court as witnesses and prosecutor, if the pax plead not guilty, TD will have to attend a few court session, end up, pax found guilty, get fined, TD get nothing.
When you lodged a police statement it will only take you less than 30 mins and by doing so you are in turn helping other cabbies.
If you had the evidence against them or if they admitted to the crime they committed during the investigation, you will most likely do not have to attend court.
In the event that if they insisted they are not guilty of the crime against them and wish to fight the case, then you may need to attend court for cross examine from their lawyer. If Im not mistaken, I understand that you can still claim for loss of income through your declared income tax.
Originally posted by Poolman:So in future , if any paxes refuse to pay me taxi fare , i will report to Police , and say : " Sir , pls charge him under PUBLIC TRANSPORT COUNCIL ACT (CHAPTER 259B) , 24D !
how would the policeman be stunned?
Bro Poolman, as I m new here. May know is there a function dat can send private message here? If yes, i wld apprecaite Bro Bowan pm me his cab number n company he drive wif.
As in future, if i happen 2 see he is in distress then i can siam n pretend i nvr see him cos helping him dun get me any income.
Bro Bowan, just 2 remind u tis. Do good 2 others not asking 4 returns n others will do u good in other ways.
Up there got eyes 2 see, its just matter of time when u gonna get it.
Thank you!!!
I guess every taxi shld put up this sign. juz like d paste a sticker "Front 1 pax, Back 3 pax, Max 4 pax"
Yes, i agreed 2 some comment here. .....esp ......."to each his own".
some TD say GOT PRINCIPLE ..... muz tis muz dat.
THEN WHEN "SOMETING BAD" HAPPEN..... like e.g: kana chop hand, kana stab, balls kana cut out.
IF TIS HAPPEN .....den 2 late 2 pity, 2 late 2 say sori, 2 say 2 say he got a family 2 feed.
Like d song goes: "BILLY, DONT BE A HERO"
Originally posted by Taxi_warrior:
When you lodged a police statement it will only take you less than 30 mins and by doing so you are in turn helping other cabbies.If you had the evidence against them or if they admitted to the crime they committed during the investigation, you will most likely do not have to attend court.
In the event that if they insisted they are not guilty of the crime against them and wish to fight the case, then you may need to attend court for cross examine from their lawyer. If Im not mistaken, I understand that you can still claim for loss of income through your declared income tax.
I am sure the culprit will deny it, saying that the Taxi did not bring me to the place I wanted and all those nonsense, the twist of words can kill. As I said, in singapore, not that there is many who do not pay, most will pay, so you hardly come across such unreasonable peoples, police will only be able to catch the culprit if he commit such crimes often, a repeater, I am not saying I will not report, but the last time i reported, get nothing out of it, and that time, there was alots of people at the neighbourhood police station over a family issues, so it took me more than 1/2 hour to get interviewed with my statement. I did report, so far nothing come back, so in such sense, if i got such pax, as most taxi driver will do, phui phui!!! and shout sway Sway!!! knn, seibei sway!! and then drive on, I think I cannot chase that teenager with muscular legs.
Income tax?? how much relieve can you get from it, and then you need all the document to prove it, maybe end up having to go IRA office to drink kopi with the officer, mai lah. Just Phui and move on.
Originally posted by Anyk75:Bro Poolman, as I m new here. May know is there a function dat can send private message here? If yes, i wld apprecaite Bro Bowan pm me his cab number n company he drive wif.
As in future, if i happen 2 see he is in distress then i can siam n pretend i nvr see him cos helping him dun get me any income.
Bro Bowan, just 2 remind u tis. Do good 2 others not asking 4 returns n others will do u good in other ways.
Up there got eyes 2 see, its just matter of time when u gonna get it.
Thank you!!!
Hello bros, you do not have to get personnal right, this is a good post you posted, and you also have to accept comments and critics, I am just giving my own opinon, not against anyone or anybody. I would said, it is the society that makes me act this way, on a personnal note, I will report, and I did. But i would relook into it if this Sway sway Knn thing happen to me again, touch wood.
Why? 1) I went to police station twice, once to report, write statement and then get an interview, which cost me an hour ++ due to crowd, then police called me up to clarify my stand, i went to see them again, from east to west, just to identify a picture they took, which was not even near what I drew and described. After 2 weeks, I called them, they asked for report nos/ref nos, i check my copy and told them, they said, no news.
2) As a only earner for my family, I told my wife I lost $15 fare to a teenager, she scolded me, siao ar?? forget it, go drive one more hr can get back, police for what?? everytime go police, police got give your bread or butter or not?? Next time be more careful, see those people lock door before they leave, and if got into a fight, let go, you think you still young, people just poke you with a knife, you gone nevermind, but handicap, we sure to suffer all our lifes.
the key word is without reasonable excuse.
so who will judge if the excuse is reasonable? the driver? the customer?
oh i wanted to go up to take wallet but the driver thought i wanted to run. how?
and even if the judge fine the customer for not paying, the $2000 go into govt coffer, if the taxi driver wants the customer to compensate the fare and the time lost attending court, he has to get a lawyer to charge him base on the current judgement, which will take another few months, and if that customer got no money to pay, which most do, he serves jail sentence, and the TD gets nothing again.