If you look at the laws closely, it is mend to stabilise the society and to instill fear into anyone trying to make such offence, and also to deter people from doing such act, but it did not say what and how the driver will be compensated. If will to come out with a
24E, the offender found guilty under clause 24D is liable to compensate the driver for his lost of income and time rendered to the case. The amount shall base on the average per hour income of a Driver with respect to the current wages of a typical driver.
Originally posted by bowah:
Hello bros, you do not have to get personnal right, this is a good post you posted, and you also have to accept comments and critics, I am just giving my own opinon, not against anyone or anybody. I would said, it is the society that makes me act this way, on a personnal note, I will report, and I did. But i would relook into it if this Sway sway Knn thing happen to me again, touch wood.Why? 1) I went to police station twice, once to report, write statement and then get an interview, which cost me an hour ++ due to crowd, then police called me up to clarify my stand, i went to see them again, from east to west, just to identify a picture they took, which was not even near what I drew and described. After 2 weeks, I called them, they asked for report nos/ref nos, i check my copy and told them, they said, no news.
2) As a only earner for my family, I told my wife I lost $15 fare to a teenager, she scolded me, siao ar?? forget it, go drive one more hr can get back, police for what?? everytime go police, police got give your bread or butter or not?? Next time be more careful, see those people lock door before they leave, and if got into a fight, let go, you think you still young, people just poke you with a knife, you gone nevermind, but handicap, we sure to suffer all our lifes.
Bro, i m not trying 2 b personal but from wat u posted, eveything relates 2 dollar n cents. I belif every TD drive 2 earn a living but if all r having same mentality as u do then seriously, end of the day, TDs will always b at the losing end.
I had my share of fare cheats many times during my 1 year plus of driving cab. U may say i m stupid, nvr learn from mistakes but how do u judge pax will cheat ur fare anot especailly when they leave their belongings behind.
2 me, i will definitely invest on a in vehicle recorder to pin down any fare cheats or unreasonable pax if i haf 2.
Fyi, b4 i end my shift earlier, i had a pax telling me she saw a comfort taxi having a written "poster" saying CITY ONLY. My 1st comment to the pax is, "Miss, please help us 2 report against such arrogant n errant TD". Y i did dat? Its bcos of these idiots dat make us suffer. Likewise, if i can expose any of further fare cheaters, i will not hesitate to report on them no matter how much trouble i haf 2 go thru.
Lastly, if we TDs dun help ourself n each other then who do we expect to help us? Gov? LTA? PTC? Company? Pax?
Originally posted by Anyk75:
Bro, i m not trying 2 b personal but from wat u posted, eveything relates 2 dollar n cents. I belif every TD drive 2 earn a living but if all r having same mentality as u do then seriously, end of the day, TDs will always b at the losing end.
I had my share of fare cheats many times during my 1 year plus of driving cab. U may say i m stupid, nvr learn from mistakes but how do u judge pax will cheat ur fare anot especailly when they leave their belongings behind.
2 me, i will definitely invest on a in vehicle recorder to pin down any fare cheats or unreasonable pax if i haf 2.
Fyi, b4 i end my shift earlier, i had a pax telling me she saw a comfort taxi having a written "poster" saying CITY ONLY. My 1st comment to the pax is, "Miss, please help us 2 report against such arrogant n errant TD". Y i did dat? Its bcos of these idiots dat make us suffer. Likewise, if i can expose any of further fare cheaters, i will not hesitate to report on them no matter how much trouble i haf 2 go thru.
Lastly, if we TDs dun help ourself n each other then who do we expect to help us? Gov? LTA? PTC? Company? Pax?
Bros, what i am saying is that govt only look to gain for themselves, the laws is silent on the poor taxi driver who report it, should change to benefit the TD as well, cos TD is not like other rich people or corporation, can get civil lawyer to sue peoples, you know lawyer hor, talk only $200 liao, it is good to report, but I feel that more should be done. These teenagers are either druggies and junkies who end up get caught for other crimes, as you read in news, Mr so and so was sentenced by the judge to xx years in jail for drug or fighting offences, the judge also take into consideration of 20 other offences that he committed, one of them can be not paying taxi fare. But I am sure you never read in the news of someone get fined for not paying taxi fares, that show how much the police and govt care about our livinghood. If news can expose these type of cases, it would had benefit TD and also deter the public from doing such thing.
Cool bros
Originally posted by bowah:Bros, what i am saying is that govt only look to gain for themselves, the laws is silent on the poor taxi driver who report it, should change to benefit the TD as well, cos TD is not like other rich people or corporation, can get civil lawyer to sue peoples, you know lawyer hor, talk only $200 liao, it is good to report, but I feel that more should be done. These teenagers are either druggies and junkies who end up get caught for other crimes, as you read in news, Mr so and so was sentenced by the judge to xx years in jail for drug or fighting offences, the judge also take into consideration of 20 other offences that he committed, one of them can be not paying taxi fare. But I am sure you never read in the news of someone get fined for not paying taxi fares, that show how much the police and govt care about our livinghood. If news can expose these type of cases, it would had benefit TD and also deter the public from doing such thing.
Cool bros
Dat my point bro, we haf 2 work towards it. We dun see such such news is bcos i blif none of us knows abt it, let alone Police (who study Penal Code & MISC Act during training) or even general public.
If talk abt benefiting those who report a winning case, seriously bro, I think there will b many more bankrupts.
Originally posted by Poolman:So in future , if any paxes refuse to pay me taxi fare , i will report to Police , and say : " Sir , pls charge him under PUBLIC TRANSPORT COUNCIL ACT (CHAPTER 259B) , 24D !
The Policeman will be stunned !
Erm... not stunned actually. this is actually quite common knowledge.