Usually if I run out of small notes like $10s I will use $5s and $2s to make up the numbers. At the same time apologise to the pax that I run out of $10s so hope he/she dun mind smaller notes. Usually they paiseh paiseh says ok. Some of them have alot of coins so they ask me ok to take coins I more then happy to accept. Then I just have to make to trip to the petrol kiosk to buy a pack of ciggy to break down my big notes. If suay suay small notes also running low I will tell pax before hand I dun have change for $50 and ask them go cashless or wait for them to change on the way at kiosk.
For me I think is driver should acommodate pax cos we are inm the service line. But if the pax is rude to begin with then he/she will kanna from me also loh....
For example got once I tell the pax I run out of small notes liao he says in a rude voice "Wah lau eh, you drive what taxi. Now not early morning leh. Afternoon liao u tell me u no small change?" Then I take out my wallet and flash 6 X $50s and 1 X $100 and tell him off. "I change out more then $400 worth of small change so what u expect? KNN u sit from here(Geylang Lor 8) to Kallang MRT meter hardly jump u use $50 to pay. LIM PEH BUAY KE YAN ZAI LIAO...KA LIM PEH LO CHIA!!!"
I usually make a point to have $10 notes, rather than give $50 note to the driver.
The driver might need the loose change for later part.
Small change always an issue .
No point shouting at all .
I have got $500 of $10 with me anytime , which i can accumulate more everyday .
Just my luck i don't receive any $50 at all today .
But once i banked in all the $10s into the bank , and left with say $60 of them , the next day , the $50 kept coming in , i dunno why like that ? Always the case .
So how ? This is the time NETS and Credit card payment come in handy .
No dispute .
Everyone play a part .
Drivers must prepare just in case got paxes wanna pay by $50 .
Commuters must prepare just in case drivers ran out of change .
Got it ?
If every commuter "assume" all drivers has got small change everytime they got on board a taxi , they soon , one fine day , will find themself in a very awkward situation .
in customer's perspective , he is a rude driver .
in cabby's perspective , pax need to be more understanding , knowing in Singapore , $50 always an issue when taking a cab . Why makes it so difficult when he , before that , can just go to ATM and ti-ti-ti $40 instead of $50 ?
I never go ATM ti-ti-ti $50 , very stupid move to press Quick Cash $50 . I am happy with $40 .
Or i need more , will be a $90 .
Originally posted by Poolman:in customer's perspective , he is a rude driver .
in cabby's perspective , pax need to be more understanding , knowing in Singapore , $50 always an issue when taking a cab . Why makes it so difficult when he , before that , can just go to ATM and ti-ti-ti $40 instead of $50 ?
I never go ATM ti-ti-ti $50 , very stupid move to press Quick Cash $50 . I am happy with $40 .
Or i need more , will be a $90 .
It take both hand to clap.
Everybody do their part and make the trip safe and enjoyable.
No point being rude and no point being a unhappy commuters.
Nowadays, people have less EQ.
Just like last night (past midnite), I withdraw extra $40 ten dollar notes to take cab. Also make sure I hv enough coins too.
but i would say , Singapore only a minority of cabbies are like that , 99.95% are good drivers .
Just an isolated case .
It is true that some taxi drivers really though that they are the king of the road as if everybody driving must pray them (joss stick and offer oranges and apples) to them.
If they are so smart, then why still drive taxi?
If they are so smart, they should open their taxi operators right?
They are the bad eggs.
I am referriing to those how liang and lay lan drivers.
As a TD, have to agree that some TDs got no manner, but there are also paxs who are very rude to us. For you case, even I do not have change, I will reply you nicely and both can find a solution as to how to settle the fare amicably.
As the govt use to say, those no skill and do not want to upgrade, go taxi driving, so what you expect from TD, most do not how to express themselves and also do not comprehend what is good customer service. There are ah lau, ah seng, ah beng, ah bowah and many other driving taxis, we got very less education, yet this taxi companies never teach us customer service, only know how to collect rental fees or call us to lim kopi. Most of us have high temperment, and some of us do not know how to control it, therefore, end up talking like scolding people.
If Paxs can understand us, we do not mean to be impolite, if we are good, we no driving taxis already. Unlike educated one, who can plan and priortise their life and work schedule, most TD work whatever come along. So, end up some got debt problem, wife and mistress problem, money problems, driving stress problem, aging problem, summon problem, etc etc, I am not saying Paxs got no problem, they too have problem, but they know how to control and way to settle their problem, TD tends to have lots of thinking and suddenly, someone give him a $50 which he is not prepare to change, he burst out angrily with all the problems into the pax. Hope pax understand them.
I think TD should get ready some 10 dollars even TD just start off shift. And also pax should understand that TD is not money changers that can everytime change big notes to small notes. Also pax should plan the route and get ready the amount that close to the trip before taking the taxis. if a pax take taxis eveyday to the same place he or she should know how much to pay the TD plus and mins 2 to 5 dollar different. And the most important thing for a nice pax is to tell the TD that only has 50 dollars before continue the trip.
There no need to get angry for both side. come to the worse just drive to nearby ATM to get the money.
Let's say example myself ......
I never face many such problems , like $50 change stuffs .
Cos i am always ready for business , my float always there .
When i am ready , pax throw me a $50 , i changed back , both party also no need show attitude .
If pax pay me swee swee ..... they no attitude , i also no attitude .
Clear cut .
Sometimes , talked to commuters also must have SKILLS .
Not sweet talk , talk firmly , talk with senses , talk less offensively , commuters are generally okay .
By talking , it's not always the end of the road , talking open up more options .
Keeping your big mouth shut , for both party , means no good for everyone .
Like myself , if i know i am short of $10 change .....
I will find a chance , to ice-break for a dialogue .
If the ice was broken , if he/she can accept your conversation , then u go in for the kill .
" Ya Miss , by the way , i really hope by the end of the trip , u are not going to show me a $50 note , if that is the case , pls allowed me to go to the nearest ATM to withdraw some $10 as i've just used up mine float i had ."
Do i sounds offensive ? I don;t think so .
Instead of telling or commanding a pax to withdraw , u proposed yourself to make a withdraw .
IF THAT DOESN'T MAKE THEM FEEL GOOD , i do not know what futher move can make them fell good ?
Or
Give them an option : " Or Miss , I WILL BE GLAD to accept any credit card payment , or if u have got NETS , I CERTAINLY WELCOME that ! "
Do i sounds like someone with attitude ?
Or ...another options : " I tell you what Miss , just for today , u settle with NETS , i will bear that $0.30 levy , how about that ?"
Do i sounds like a saleman ? Do i offended that pax ?
Yes , well , sometimes.... cabby must really talk well .
Originally posted by komade:Me leh?? Pool u tink i can talk well with pax??
U are the best to talk with "friends" from MotherLand .
Not only can talk , also can ........ Shh ..... if not later kena interrogate .
Originally posted by Poolman:
U are the best to talk with "friends" from MotherLand .Not only can talk , also can ........ Shh ..... if not later kena interrogate .
Any drivers encounter getting $100 bill from paxs recently?
I've been presented with hundred dollar notes every other day these 2 weeks.
Just like yesterday, 2nd trip only this Sri Lankan gave me a $100 for his fare of 40c
Now I always make sure I've enough float for this kind of situation.
$100 note is too much if the fare only comes up about less than $10 dollars.
Originally posted by Mercabs:Any drivers encounter getting $100 bill from paxs recently?
I've been presented with hundred dollar notes every other day these 2 weeks.
Just like yesterday, 2nd trip only this Sri Lankan gave me a $100 for his fare of 40c
Now I always make sure I've enough float for this kind of situation.