One felt like doing something naughty. The other was running low on money.
Both of them had drunk some liquor.
This dangerous cocktail led the duo to target an unsuspecting cabby working the graveyard shift.
While
telemarketer Joshua Lye Chun Shern, 19, smashed a half-full cognac
bottle on the cabby's head, his friend, full-time national serviceman
Jason Tan Wei Ke, 19, made off with the cabby's mobile phone.
The attack left the 53-year-old cabby with wounds and lacerations on his head. He was given three days' medical leave.
On Feb 14, Lye was sentenced to reformative training. He is out on bail pending an appeal against the sentence.
Tan, who had been dealt with earlier, was given two years' probation.
i think LTA and taxi company should conduct a "Self-Defense Martial Art" course instead of many of those customer service courses .
And Poolman recommends ...............
Just in case !
And some bastards are complaining we put a camera inside our cab as " Invasion of Privacy : , k**bc*b to those s-holes .
Originally posted by Anyk75:full-time national serviceman Jason Tan Wei Ke, 19
This fellow should be sent into SAF's detention barrack for 2 years instead .

& make to haversack sand bags everyday morning !
It is about time to consider having a protection shield around the taxi seat.
The lta should seriously consider this issue.
Or else there will be more young punks will try to rob the taxi driver.
Originally posted by likeyou:It is about time to consider having a protection shield around the taxi seat.
The lta should seriously consider this issue.
Or else there will be more young punks will try to rob the taxi driver.
Those in america I think got some hard plastic shield thingy protecting the cabby... or was it in UK???
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
Those in america I think got some hard plastic shield thingy protecting the cabby... or was it in UK???
Yes, that is the one.
Shouldnt spore taxi also install it?
Originally posted by likeyou:
Yes, that is the one.Shouldnt spore taxi also install it?
no idea why singapore dun have it... Or maybe they scare spoil singapore image of being safe...
Originally posted by Poolman:And some bastards are complaining we put a camera inside our cab as " Invasion of Privacy : , k**bc*b to those s-holes .
Pool, I heard from my ahlau that his friend from cdg were told in writing that no camera is allowed to be installed in their cab. Is it true? Can someone from cdg comments.
That is too much if it true. I mean proper camera and not those hidden one.
Originally posted by allulu69:
Pool, I heard from my ahlau that his friend from cdg were told in writing that no camera is allowed to be installed in their cab. Is it true? Can someone from cdg comments.That is too much if it true. I mean proper camera and not those hidden one.
Cash Lee sms me today afternoon MDT got come out message .
Like not CCTV to be instal inside any CDG taxi .
But i dun care , mine is NOT a CCTV , mine is just a car recorder .
the NSmen will be charged by SAF too.
surprised that guy still want to appeal. he's lucky to get off so lightly.
cabby got kana gang-rape boh?
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:cabby got kana gang-rape boh?
Yes , Komade was "gang raped" by People from the MotherLand , i think Komade will surely kena every 2-3 days when Vietcongs invaded SingaLand .
Originally posted by dragg:the NSmen will be charged by SAF too.
surprised that guy still want to appeal. he's lucky to get off so lightly.
During my time as a NSman , once u are holding a 11B , every crime u committed , Police will throw u back to Military Police , and later charge by Court Marshalls .
Instead of Changi Prison , it's detention barrack .
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
no idea why singapore dun have it... Or maybe they scare spoil singapore image of being safe...
My suggestion will solve all the issues.
Sadly, no one listen, they only listen to scholars craps of bullshit.
si-collar talk, everyone's must listen but cannot follow.
Quite scary, these are young chinese singaporean, the last time, the one run away from me was a malaysia indian muslim. Imagine singaporeans youth are doing all these cheating, killing and slashing. I wonder what is going on, aren't we a developed country?
Originally posted by likeyou:
My suggestion will solve all the issues.Sadly, no one listen, they only listen to scholars craps of bullshit.
Scholars get govt scholarship to study in top University overseas, we paid the taxes, from income to Gst to support them, and end up still need to listen to their bullshit.
Knn
sian......people trying to make a living and feed the family kena whack by xo bottle. How would you lao jiao TDs prevent that if it happened to you?
Originally posted by Poolman:
Yes , Komade was "gang raped" by People from the MotherLand , i think Komade will surely kena every 2-3 days when Vietcongs invaded SingaLand .
No replies? That's fine with me. Trade secret.
http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/OnlineStory/STIStory_645427.html
Mar 16, 2011
Cabbies need better protection
AFTER reading about the case of cabby Yuen Swee Hong ("Cabby's fatal stabbing reconstructed for hearing"; last Saturday), I urge all cab companies and the Land Transport Authority to step up the protection of taxi drivers.
Cabbies are offered the least protection and benefits in their occupation, on top of their unstable income. The least that can be done for them is to ensure their safety while they are making a living.
While crimes targeting cabbies are isolated, every life lost to petty theft and robbery is one life too many. In Sydney and Beijing, most cabbies are protected by a plastic shield around the driver's seat, and some have grills. Apart from satellite tracking, perhaps an SOS button or camera could be installed in new taxis.
With bulk purchasing, taxi companies have the ability to demand economies of scale to bear the cost of protecting their taxi hirers and relief drivers.
I have heard of cabbies picking up passengers who do not intend to pay, and these passengers either dash out of the cab on nearing their destinations or feign they have lost their wallets.
In Melbourne, Australia, it is legislated that fares are to be prepaid from 10pm to 5am. Based on an estimated fare and zonal guide, the fares are to be paid upfront prior to the passenger reaching his destination. A receipt is then issued to the passenger. Based on the actual metered fare, the difference is either topped up or reimbursed. Cabbies have the right to refuse passengers who are unable to foot the estimated prepaid fare.
This is something Singapore could consider implementing across taxi companies.
Rene Yap (Ms)