Originally posted by ALN:if rental up with fare increase, unfair to cabby wor…
taxi co increase their profit with higher rental… but cabby suffer few weeks with fare hike…
ALN dun like…
Ya lor,
Where to find a job in singapore........
Every year paid downgrade...........
Ideally, a small hike of,say, 20 cents should b implemented on a yearly basis to hedge against
inflation, rental, fuel increase etc. Currently, we've a hike after only after a few years,
usually by a bigger margin. This caused a big hue and cry among paxs. Those in charge
of taxi fares hv yet to learn fr. the govt's stategy of "killing them softly" with small ant- bite
increases.
Incidently, why are fares decided by taxi coys? Taxi drivers association/union should've a
better understanding of driver's needs, isn't it? What've the union done for driver's
welfare? They haven't raised a whimper on driver's rights and issue guildlines/laws
on eating in cabs, pax vomitting, uncaged animals etc, let alone fare increases.
This so called "disagree" drivers who against fare hike , for me , are those Ah Peh's mentallity drivers , our new generations drivers , many of us here , thought other wise .
We are more darings , more willing to accept new challenges .
And gained new heights , not them .
I've always said , taxi fare must be fixed base on market forces .
Fixed base on supply & demand .
The Singapore Parliament has approved a 26 per cent increase in the President’s salary as well as higher salaries for his personal staff .The President’s salary, is now set at S$4,267,500.
Hardworking Singaporeans deserve a pay increase. The man has a 26% increase.
Do you also deserve to have an income hike ?
Also fare must be fixed base on Population .
More populations , meaning more people taking public transport , not enough taxi then .... then they complaint .
When alot of demands , we play games .
3.5m people , flag down $3
5.05m people , flag down also $3 .
But more people can't get a cab , taxi companies more conservative in coming out new taxis , more complaints .
Still no resolution , what resolution ?
Up flag down to $4 or even $5 .
Divert some taxi traffic to other form of public transport .
More population , low tax fare , surely invites more cockroaches .
Once 8pm , all big and small cockroaches , like sewerage manhole opened up , all come one shot .
Again , i have got only one meter .
1000 people , 10000 people , 100 people taking taxis , i still has got only one meter .
Only positively , i surely pick n chose .
Pick n chose generate good income for me .
If LTA do not want me to pick n chose , they must put a control to people taking taxis .
One way to control the demand , is to jack up flag down .
Not ridiculous jack up and caused massive taxi jam , but good enough to slow down the demand
Originally posted by Donsan:The reason is usually , "I scare no passengers after fare increase."
This people who said this is usually those drivers that cruise round and round , HDB taxi stand type ......
Meter start $3 , meter end $4 type ....
This is the type of people they need , we don't need .
Lot-1 to CCK Ave 5 ? No need this paxes la .
Tampines Mall to Tampines St 45 ? Pls la , not my cup of coffee .
Sengkang MRT to Anchorvale , Punggol or Hougang , not my cup too ...
But this is what they need .
If taxi fare jack up to $4 or $5 , this peopel run away liao ....
Originally posted by Poolman:This so called "disagree" drivers who against fare hike , for me , are those Ah Peh's mentallity drivers , our new generations drivers , many of us here , thought other wise .
We are more darings , more willing to accept new challenges .
And gained new heights , not them .
I've always said , taxi fare must be fixed base on market forces .
Fixed base on supply & demand .
Yes sir, I have to agree with you. You are our new generations drivers, unlike me. I am from the Ah Peh's group.
You must be more daring to accept changes and new challenges. You must group yourselves and let others look upon you as Singapore taxi drivers and not wait for others like the taxi companies,governing authority or public to show you the way.
Wise words, Poolie. As it is now, we're made to slog for a pittance. Pity the ang mo tourists flagging taxis along Jln besar at 10 pm nightly. They don't understand why empty taxis aren't stopping. Our fares are cheap compared to where they come from. They don't mind paying more. The people setting fares can't manage supply and demand. Little India, Vivo city, Golden mile complex must incoporate the $3 city charge. The authorities choose to mati mati demarcate the city charge by the ERP gantries. Hence the bewilderment of tourists when no taxis stopped in these fringe areas. Yes, correct pricing is the best way to manage supply and demand. When demand exceeds supply, prices must go up. Decision makers just fail to understand this.
2 common reasons why some disagree on taxi fare hike.
1. Passengers stay away -- This is only temporary. When they need a cab they will be back at the taxi stand. Even without increase, they will not board your cab if they don't need one. Its's the demand and supply situation rather than taxi fare. A small increase isn't going to scare away the good passengers.
2. Taxi fare increase, then surely rental also increase -- Taxi rental isn't going to go down or remain the same for long. Unless there is a serious economic crisis here in this region. Taxi meter fares need to increase periodically to match consumers demand. Similarly rental will go up as well. You fear taxi fare increase, you die standing. Taxi drivers here will be downgraded to cheap labourers.
To keep your heads above the water level, we need to increase the taxi fare soon.
Originally posted by Donsan:Everytime the issue of taxi fares is raised, there is always a small handful of outspoken taxi drivers coming out to disagree.
The reason is usually , "I scare no passengers after fare increase."
Time and again after each increase in the past history,
passengers return back to the same if not higher volume after just a few weeks.
So who are these taxi drivers ? Are they just a dummy out to create a debating session for the public.
I have yet to know of a taxi driver who in his truefulness, speak out against any increase of taxi fares.
Are you one of those taxi drivers really against any taxi fare increase ?
Just want to hear your views.
And please sir, only genuine full time taxi drivers' views. Thank you.
Donsan, aka navigator 81, thanks for raising a great topic. Really, we see many
complaints against cabbies in the papers. We have our gripes too. But we're
powerless. Where's LTA, Seng Han Thong, Raymond Lim when we need them most?
When will there be some respite in the taxi industry?
Btw, your Palringo baby is getting stronger by the day huh? Congrats.
Some coffee shop uncles , when i sat with them , no one said taxi future is good ...... soon it will be tougher they said , cos Downtown line start liao .....
Wasn't this the same group that told me about NorthEast Line ?
Circle line ?
The most funny thing is .... whenever Punggol customers called our Lake View hotline , need a cab to Punggol ..... from Shenton Way area , Lake View members don't take one .
Why isn't this group of Punggol Sengkang paxes take the Circle Line or NEL home ?
Cos taxi fare is dirt cheap , taxi is personal , taxi can sit , MRT must stand , taxi will not squeeze into like sardines ... but who's fault ?
But dun want to pay more ...
Flag down fare has to go up by at least a dollar.
Simplify the meter fare, do away with those complicating surcharges.
The best is to have a standard flag down , good enough to match the peak hour 35% surcharge .
Take out 35% peak hour surcharge .
If fare matches near the 35% mark , i would be glad to take anyone from Tampines Mall !
Now after 8pm , Tampines Mall long Q of paxes , no taxis entertain them at all time after 8pm .
Knowing any trip from there to anyone can match my minimum $8 fare or near .
If LTA is reading this , to insist on current fare ....
Pls accept the facts that cabby is in 100% control .
Tampines Mall will need to call for a cab at all time , sometimes call also cabby dun take .
Jurong Point will be worst .
Whitesands will be hit .
I prefer AP , can i ?
sometimes to think of it ...
Got Flyer , flag down $3 .
Got MBS , also flag down $3 .
Now got MBFC , also flag down $3 .
3.5m people , flag down $3 .
Minister's pay from $700,000 to $1m salary , flag down also $3 .
President from $2m to $4m a year , flag down also $3 .
From Lee Kuan Yew > Goh Chok Tong > Lee Hsien Long , flag down also $3 .
3 Prime Ministers liao , still $3 .
The difference now ?
Singapore's cabby getting more clever , that's all .
More enterpreneurship ...more daring ... more willing to face punishments ... more ruthless . More stunts ....
More Private Call centre marketing , more Limo Servives , more "Disposals" ...
Originally posted by Poolman:The best is to have a standard flag down , good enough to match the peak hour 35% surcharge .
Take out 35% peak hour surcharge .
If fare matches near the 35% mark , i would be glad to take anyone from Tampines Mall !
Now after 8pm , Tampines Mall long Q of paxes , no taxis entertain them at all time after 8pm .
Knowing any trip from there to anyone can match my minimum $8 fare or near .
Tamp mall no cab after 8 pm is because cabbies go dinner mah. No 35% extra liao mah.
Problem exacerbated by pax all coming out at that time to avoid surcharge. Come
9pm, supply and demand will more or less even out. At 10.30 pm at Tamp, if u hv 35%
extra as standard charge, TD surely jialat. On the other hand, at 10.30 pm Serangoon
Plaza, ppl wud b willing to pay 35% extra. So its a complex issue. No one size fits all.
Back to basics of economics. Higher demand, higher price. Lower demand, lower
price. At 10.30pm, I'd be glad to hv a pax at CCK without surcharges. Something is
better than nothing.
Originally posted by Poolman:sometimes to think of it ...
The difference now ?
More enterpreneurship ...more daring ... more willing to face punishments ... more ruthless . More stunts ....
Originally posted by Red5xx:Ya lor,
Where to find a job in singapore........
Every year paid downgrade...........
Agreed.
My ah lau an OMO with Prime, can give view on his behalf.
Originally posted by Poolman:sometimes to think of it ...
The difference now ?
We'll just apply how to work more efficacy and improve productivity..
By using less fuel, less time to earn same amount of money nia...
Anything wrong with that?