Bro decent02,
Can i check with you wat is the timing for yur express class daily??? and how long u take to complete the whole course plus test?
Thanks, I'm omw to take up e express course but nt sure which 1 to choose? thanks for advice!!!
elmo76
From SMRT website:
Effective from 7 April 2011, the SMRT Taxis Vocational Licence e-Learning Course is no longer available for new registrations. Please contact SMRT Taxis at 6xxxxxxx, if you wish to register for classroom trainings.
Originally posted by elmo1626:...........how long u take to complete the whole course plus test?
elmo76
Not sure about now. Last time average for FASTEST time to get yout TDVL is about 12 weeks, but it could be done in 8 wks (trust me I did it)
First it takes 4 weeks after the first time you apply to LTA before you get the prov letter. LTA did mean it when they say it takes 3~4 weeks processing, they will take their own sweet time. :(
With the letter then you can register with SMRT or CDG for their courses. It may take a couple of weeks before they call for initial briefing. Just tell your grandmother story and try to get to that week briefing. At this briefing you will be given your pasword to the online course.
Finish the online course within one day and register for excursion. Again the next available excursion may be 2 weeks away, call them up and tell another grandfather story to join the same week excursion.
After excursion you can book the exam time. Then you will get your TDVL in about 2-3weeks after passing the exam.
Good luck!!
Originally posted by elmo1626:Bro decent02,
Can i check with you wat is the timing for yur express class daily??? and how long u take to complete the whole course plus test?
Thanks, I'm omw to take up e express course but nt sure which 1 to choose? thanks for advice!!!
elmo76
Originally posted by decent02:
timing for express course ... 3pm to 6pm and 7pm to 10pm duration : 3 weeks (mon to sat) you will take the exams immediately after the 3 weeks course with one day break. my course ended on a wed, friday I took the test. for express course, you can sign up with SMRT, Comfort or STA (Singapore Taxi Academy). Normally SMRT and comfort will advertised in Straits Times and just go down to the various locations to sign up. SMRT and comfort will provide benefits for people who sign up with them on the express course and subsequently sign up with them as Taxi Drivers. But then, signing up with them with the express course does not mean you need to sign up with them after you passout from the taxi course. Some of my classmates sign up with STA direct; but anyway taxi companies (Not all) will reimburse the taxi course fees if you sign up with them as a taxi driver. Forget abt the online course, is better to attend a classroom course...why ? you gets tips from the trainers. Also, it is very interesting and the trainer always crack Taxi jokes. In fact, I always looked forward to the classes and have never skip a single session.
Thanks bro decent02 bros here for immediate info!!!
Originally posted by komade:
if dun hav alot of free time online course is the best i went for orientation completed the so called "tests" online n booked my excursion on the day itself ;)
Yup, I did the same. Did the online test while cross referencing the manual at the same time. For me, the entire process from applying for LTA's approval to having the license in my hand is about 3 months, if I remember correctly.
Thanks for the comprehensive info. So they change now, last time not allowed to take express course unless you are signing with them. Cheers.Originally posted by decent02:
.......... Normally SMRT and comfort will advertised in Straits Times and just go down to the various locations to sign up. SMRT and comfort will provide benefits for people who sign up with them on the express course and subsequently sign up with them as Taxi Drivers. But then, signing up with them with the express course does not mean you need to sign up with them after you passout from the taxi course. Some of my classmates sign up with STA direct; but anyway taxi companies (Not all) will reimburse the taxi course fees if you sign up with them as a taxi driver. .........................
Originally posted by elmo1626:Thanks bro decent02 bros here for immediate info!!!
Originally posted by decent02:Jasmine call me says new wish 2.0 serial no 14 is ready on 29 April
if i want need to go down to kampong defu to pay and sign up.
why so fast, jus applied onli
guess nobody wants to take up the new wish or maybe they bought too many new wish
CONGRATS for your new car!!!
New 2.0l wish can take within 3 days?
Somemore no contract and no penalty?
Wow...
Unker Poolman, what's the story behind this? Looks like TC is desperate in signing new drivers.
Originally posted by decent02:most likely be relief…
I apply for new wish coz no obligation, dun want no penalty.
Silat quite near toh tuck…aye up maybe 15 mins
I dun see the inconvenience.
Maybe get relief harder.
On top of the distance and time taken to go up there, you need to consider that topping up can disrupt your rhythm.
However, senior drivers (like Poolman or idle king Zero5) know how to overcome this problem. You can ask them.
Originally posted by WizQ:CONGRATS for your new car!!!
New 2.0l wish can take within 3 days?
Somemore no contract and no penalty?
Wow...
Unker Poolman, what's the story behind this? Looks like TC is desperate in signing new drivers.
Originally posted by decent02:
1 year contract Problem is that my TVL not ready yet for collection how to sign up the new wish Today if i dun confirm, then they will give the wish to another person behind me in queue. Think think...better be relief Hirer...scare leh...scare lose $$$
Originally posted by WizQ:On top of the distance and time taken to go up there, you need to consider that topping up can disrupt your rhythm.
However, senior drivers (like Poolman or idle king Zero5) know how to overcome this problem. You can ask them.
Originally posted by decent02:not only $300
What if cannot cover rental.
everyday bleeds also jia lat
next week probably can start relief and test out 3 mths…see how
some of my classmates already sign up with premier and trans as hirer…good luck to them
Originally posted by WizQ:On top of the distance and time taken to go up there, you need to consider that topping up can disrupt your rhythm.
U never drive u never know how to do it one .
Mine idle mode , pump once , after that go home type .
No diff with diesel .
Friday ? aiyo so many bookings in town , get one to West side , easy as ABC .
Then take one job come back town , easy lar ....
U must ask other Wish drivers the question , why so stupid to drive a CNG , right ?
There is some reason and agenda behind why are they sticking with CNG .
Those cannot tahan , long time left CNG taxis liao ....
Those staying are those ruthless men
Originally posted by WizQ:Unker Poolman, what's the story behind this? Looks like TC is desperate in signing new drivers.
Not desperations ..... CNG still cheaper than SMRT chevrolet .
CNG is cheaper then SMRT's diesels .
Not far away from CDG diesels .
If u go do some math .
OMO , still TransCab offers the best .
But i still insist new bird stay away from OMO.
Be relief first , since he committed , good luck .
Reason why so fast , cos less takers mah .
Now many hold back becoming a Hirer because of fuel prices .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Not desperations ..... CNG still cheaper than SMRT chevrolet .CNG is cheaper then SMRT's diesels .
Not far away from CDG diesels .
If u go do some math .
OMO , still TransCab offers the best .
But i still insist new bird stay away from OMO.
Be relief first , since he committed , good luck .
Reason why so fast , cos less takers mah .
Now many hold back becoming a Hirer because of fuel prices
Think still got taker for new 2.0L Wish. Some of my classmates kiasu...during the taxi course already go n book the new wish. When I book last week, the customer service says got one whole stack of people in front of you and tell me maybe have to wait. In defu, also I saw many new wish went for servicing. got one new wish hirer try to promote to me the $140 radio set and $60 console box...say die die must buy