Does Professor Cai MingJie know all this ?
Can Poolman write a book ?
when i said , believe one more person in your life , and that's Poolman , u'll never going to regret it .
Originally posted by Poolman:For those cabbies who had drove for more than a decade , are those people , work slightly more than 7 hours , nothing more than 12 hrs everyday .
This is one way , like what Komade said , keep fresh for next day .
So far , haven't really seen one , OMO esp , worked 16 hours a day , for consecutive months til years .
Those who work short hours , are those who can work long term .
Let's be fair to your body .
Taxi company only see your rental come in , they don't actually care for your status of your health .
OBB
Sorry for sounding a bit hostile in my earlier reply, but it seems like many just like to come into forum and start asking question when all the answers are all here. My apologies.
Now, my $0.02...
I have been driving for about 7 months. I wasn't OBB when I decided to go into driving taxi. Instead, I had just lost more than $70k and there are days where I had less than $5 in my pocket. For the past 7 months, I have been driving as a relief, first driving a Yellow Top taxi and now, a Comfort Sonata. Although am a relief, there are times when my hirer goes on "leave" and I'm supposed to cover half his rental. I remember sometime in Nov last year when I had to cover him for 6 days. I thought "Ho say liao... Got the cab for my own use..." and started driving 14 - 16 hours a day.
I am those type that Poolman will call "cannot see open type". See a pax down the road and I'm tempted to press the hazard light and stop for them. Earnings was very good. I won't quote any figures here though. (No point, as what I earned might not be equivalent to what you earn.) But, by the 4th/5th day, I'm starting to doze off while driving and ended up having to pinch myself to keep myself awake. And, inevitably, it finally happen. I was on SLE going back to town one late night and doze off. Next thing I know... I ran into the concrete centre divider of the expressway. One of the tyre is half punctured and I had to re-spray the paint for the driver side of the car. (I think Poolman can recall when I calleed him asking for help regarding changing tyre.) End result is that those extras that I had earned during the past few days all went into repair.
I never shared this with anyone before. Reason why I'm sharing this... Don't just because you "owe big big", you start thinking of going OMO and cheong 16 hours a day. Ultimately, your body won't be able to take it. If fall sick, still ok. Can see doctor and get yourself cured. If (touch wood) kenna accident.... Not worth it lah. You need a fit body and be always alert in order to fight another day lah.
Today, 7 months on, I'm still driving as a relief and always looking to increase my income, I don't go past driving for 12 hours. My honest advice is to just start driving as a relief first. Go 7 days a week if you have to. Poolman might not agree with this, but start with Comfort. Get an autocar such as Sonata. You will thank God when you kenna stuck in a traffic jam. Get a manual car and you will start cursing yourself when stuck in a traffic jam. You save maybe $5 in rental per day. But end of the day, you get a stiff left leg and always kenna potong jalan by faster taxis... Not worth it. My buddy, who started with a Crown, is so much happier now that he's driving a Sonata.
Once you get some rythm going and your income is stable, then talk about going OMO...
Originally posted by komade:
Yah keep fresh everyday ready to do battle the next day~~~ Even in "yao" mode max i work is 12hrs per day with at least 1-2hrs break in between n only for 6 days. 1 day to rest n relax keep ur mind off steering do ur "hobbies" or "trekking" if any....... :P
Or pounding VCs hor...
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:Or pounding VCs hor...
Originally posted by Poolman:Does Professor Cai MingJie know all this ?
Originally posted by Poolman:
Get your Ah Lao tell them .... your Ah Lao equally experience like me , but he on the road physically sooooooooo much looooooooooonger than me .
My Ah Lao?
He is an IT idiot, he only carries a simple handphone the same one for about 8 years.
Tell him about this forum, he said he is not interested.
Originally posted by Poolman:Let's be frank and transparent .
Not personal against anyone .
I am going to list some names i know , from OMO to being just a relief or leased out half a shift .
SillyEgg is one of those new bird , turned OMO and quit in 3 months .
Kingzkong is one of them ... quit OMO and went into morning shift .
Sonata83 was a OMO with SMRT , and now have got a relief with his Prestige .
Mercab also OMO , surrender and found a relief .
Jade another , recently got a relief for night .
Ben Chang recently switched to Mercedes and got someone to drive night shift for him .
Edmund just left taxi business recently , OMO .
MDT chap , quit taxi in just a month . OMO .
Kingsman also went from OMO til he found a relief .
Ken Teo left OMO and became a relief .
Freemanisa also found a relief from OMO .
Patrick also found a relief from OMO .
Zeemax also found a relief from OMO
David Chong OMO for Silver Cab , then found a relief as well .
If i can remember those ...
Why so many ?
U asked them .
Well said.
My ah lao was an omo since the inception of Prime and he drives an average of 8 hours daily and get a super relief about 2 weeks in a year.
He loves what he is doing.
He always say, where can you find a job that pays you $xxxx a month with a car to drive and do not need to pay road tax and insurance.
being a husband , with a working wife , we tends to be a bit switch off driving a cab .
She earn $x000 , i earned $x000 , total $x000 for the household .... enough la .
Earn so much for what ?
As long as don't casino , don't drink accessively , don't have spare tyre ..... should be safe .
Originally posted by Poolman:being a husband , with a working wife , we tends to be a bit switch off driving a cab .
She earn $x000 , i earned $x000 , total $x000 for the household .... enough la .
Earn so much for what ?
As long as don't casino , don't drink accessively , don't have spare tyre ..... should be safe .
Originally posted by komade:
Yah then when 4x or 5x got enuff $$$ can go back motherland retire lead simple lifestyle of plant crops n rear chickens...... :P
U buy 2 , i rent your house , we neighbour .
I write taxi book , u write VietCongs stories .
Then at night , go massage , makan , teh nee , tao liang , drink beer , sing karaoke ....
Originally posted by Poolman:Let's be frank and transparent .
Not personal against anyone .
I am going to list some names i know , from OMO to being just a relief or leased out half a shift .
SillyEgg is one of those new bird , turned OMO and quit in 3 months .
Kingzkong is one of them ... quit OMO and went into morning shift .
Sonata83 was a OMO with SMRT , and now have got a relief with his Prestige .
Mercab also OMO , surrender and found a relief .
Jade another , recently got a relief for night .
Ben Chang recently switched to Mercedes and got someone to drive night shift for him .
Edmund just left taxi business recently , OMO .
MDT chap , quit taxi in just a month . OMO .
Kingsman also went from OMO til he found a relief .
Ken Teo left OMO and became a relief .
Freemanisa also found a relief from OMO .
Patrick also found a relief from OMO .
Zeemax also found a relief from OMO
David Chong OMO for Silver Cab , then found a relief as well .
If i can remember those ...
Why so many ?
U asked them .
Yah man , left out my junior buddy MVP30sg .... he also started OMO a Ssangyong , first few day accident liao .....
Then within a year , quit for good .
And land himself in hot soup with SMRT .
Now a happy , really happy relief with Comfort Sonata , phui !!!
U should have seen his "Before" & "After" , a total contrast .
For me , not surprising OMO are those haggard type .
Even Uncle Poolman's vast experiences , never dare try OMO again hhahahahah
Slowly killing human being hahahahahah OMO .
Killing time bomb , hahahahah
Originally posted by Poolman:
U buy 2 , i rent your house , we neighbour .I write taxi book , u write VietCongs stories .
Then at night , go massage , makan , teh nee , tao liang , drink beer , sing karaoke ....
Thanks Many BB ( Big Bros ) advice here
Will heed the advice, am thinking now to go for morning or night shift as a start. Me kinda scare of CBD dun know why. Any cure for that? LoL
Regards
OBB
Originally posted by OBB:Thanks Many BB ( Big Bros ) advice here
Will heed the advice, am thinking now to go for morning or night shift as a start. Me kinda scare of CBD dun know why. Any cure for that? LoL
Regards
OBB
Originally posted by allulu69:
My Ah Lao?He is an IT idiot, he only carries a simple handphone the same one for about 8 years.
Tell him about this forum, he said he is not interested.
It is extremely wise of your ah lao to not be interested in this forum. Apart from the usual cock talking , i see nothing useful being in here
Originally posted by OBB:Thanks Many BB ( Big Bros ) advice here
Regards
OBB
for me, i always "read" the street directory when i am at taxi stand waiting for paxs... dun sit there and idle.... take out street directory and "read", that is what i do lor... and indeed it helps me to improve a lot...
Originally posted by decent02:Not to be a omo as advised here is true.
One of my classmate from the taxi course was an experience cab driver driving for yellow top, smrt, comfort…his class 3 kena revoked n need to retest. he also told me not to be a omo.
these 2 days ard 820pm at sgn nth cng kiosk, i spoke to a new Transwish driver OMO... only OMO for 6 days want to throw key liao...so u say leh??
Originally posted by Poolman:Does Professor Cai MingJie know all this ?
NTA need ppl like you..
Originally posted by Red5xx:NTA need ppl like you..
If NTA got Poolman in their commitee , they die sia ... chaos , haywire , politics etc ....
Someone's head will roll , hahahahah