Originally posted by Poolman:Or current Singapore Taxi Drivers Association to continue .
STDA .
Since they got those license issues by government .
Now decision lies with LTA to let those issuing of license to be continue .
Without it .... we cannot say anything concrete .
Once the appeal granted , then we can say plan something .
Now Loh Tuck Yew became Minister of Transport , dunno if he listen ?
After loading the MS IE9, my computer haywire liow. cannot reply.. wtf.
Originally posted by Poolman:Now Loh Tuck Yew became Minister of Transport , dunno if he listen ?
This fellow from Navy. I knew him. He has got his own world and ideas. Though very smart, but may not be a people's leader. juz watch his actions... siow liow.
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:This fellow from Navy. I knew him. He has got his own world and ideas. Though very smart, but may not be a people's leader. juz watch his actions... siow liow.
Originally posted by ALN:from navy?
that means pongol’s good friend wor
When your taxi daily rental is $100, you pay about $7 gst and $93 rental.
1 year ....$7 x 365 = $2555
GST alone will save you $2555 a year if you own your taxi.
Estimate 35,000 taxi drivers pay an estimate GST of $89,425,000 a year.
It is an uphill task to convince the people there to let you buy your own taxi.![]()
there goes my dream. If the new Gov wants my support then they have to do something. Its time to Change now.
Originally posted by ALN:if coe low, maintenance low, insurance low… taxi ownership good…
now everything high… taxi company needs economies of scale to earn… otherwise earn peanut wor…
no?
of course this sort of driver , earn $30 keep liao ... why must be own a cab ?
It's not for him .
Nvrmind , owned or no owned , no diff .....
"Hello , go where ?"
Still huat ....
"Woodlands ? Take Comfort behind , thanks ."
Originally posted by michaelhuat:personally i dont quite enjoy the idea of ownership, but if it comes, then it comes
i used to know an old driver who own, he keeps complaining when car problem he will headache. after he change to rent, he becomes happier becos he say everything also covered, he dont have to care, just drive and send for regular servicing. at most, he can still change vehicle or change company..
Originally posted by ALN:own taxi is good for those with some cash in pocket e.g. 50K
then can save on interest and save rental…
if say take 100% loan 8 years… siao liao loh…
I believe taxi ownership will not be cheap today in comparing to few decades ago, moreover those using diesel, the road tax is not cheap.
What the govt worry is that having ownership, as happened before, driver become Ba Wang, King of road, he command his destination, his time and his liking, he can even tout as much as he wanted, cos it is a private business altogether, I remember when I was very young, when we take those ownership taxis, my dad had to negiotiate with them, like begging them, if go ulu places, the driver will demanding a return empty cab fees, if not, he will not take us. So, there is a lack of control.
The govt is not worry about ownership in way that you can or cannot afford to own, but more on control, and it took them decades to abolish taxis ownership just to hold on to that control, do you think they are going to let you go back to ownership. Same goes to provision shops, notice that less and less provision shop, last time, i remember being a provision shop boss is the riches in the village or town, he commands the price, whatever he said per kg, the price is set by him. So the govt cannot control the inflation and price, this lead to overcharging and poor being exploited, so come Supermarket, like NTUC or sengsiong to set the price, they become the price setter, you now can compare with provision shops, if they sell cheaper by all means by from them, but they certainly cannot anyhow call for a price.
Cars are not cheap today, even peoples earning 6k per month hv to pay 10 years installment, together with maintenence, repairs, change parts, road tax, insurance and no discount CNG or fuel prices, they just manage to breathe above the water.
Times has changed !
Yes, Times had certainly changed, bro pool, infact, everything changes and we got to adapt, however, there are two type of changes, one is
1. restructuring change, the chinese call it change soup but never the ingredient, just like our politic, peoples might had changed but the ruling party is still in power and strongly influence the day to day life of our society
2. re engineering change, meaning scrap the whole things, built or place a new ones, if opposition took over the govt, that is re enginneering. Which will be a total change. Then possibly, we can sit down and talk about taxi ownership.
But sadly re enginneering has not happen yet, changes is inevitable in all kinds of life, if you do not change to suit, then you are history. However, you should have noticed that we are the changer and they, the govt and boss of taxi companies are the agent of change. Take example if tomorrow they said no more morning surcharge but evening after 5pm will be 50% surcharge with no more CBD charges. All TDs including you and me will be scrambling to change our timming and lifestyles and the way we work. We are at their mercy of changes. And that what i mean by Control.
First by making your house expensive, cost of living expensive, then make you work by renting taxi with the need to cover the rental and the fuel prices, together with all other costly daily and housing bills and expenses. You have to change to suit them.
I personally also like to own a taxi of my own, who do not want, but you and me can be good TD, do our duties to serve the road as a transport providers to the public, but how about the rest, some end up relaxing, all driving nights and high demand hours, where is the control? Then you got the fare differences and poor services to take care of. And what will happen to those taxi companies? their share holders etc etc..I visited canada, part of USA, London, part of europe from italy to germany to paris, there are using either india drivers or eastern europe drivers, and so is places in Australia, you see india and chinese drivers, these are all developed countries, and as a developed country ourselves.
I am not looking at ownership of taxis, which is a far fetch issue, but rather, how long can we taxi uncles hold on to our job, if for another 15 to 20 years, good for some of us, we might had retired, but for those in their 30s driving taxi, what will happen to them if by 50s, they lost their job as TD, even now at 40s, no one want you, imagine at 50s and work as TD, I think even car wash also do not want you. So, brothers, our choice is limited. We must not let our job befall onto the foreigners, our previous generation make a big mistake in letting ownership of Taxis slip up, we cannot let our job slip up in our Generation.
Ok, go driving now.