They are now driving our public and private buses . Many are seen driving trucks. Last week I saw a young female China national in white uniform on round car parks in Clementi St 2 checking for parking offences.
Will taxi companies bring them in to drive taxi ?
If they did, how will you react ?
I will vote out the PAP.
You'll have to wait for 5 years.
Many over qualified qualified foreigners here with no jobs rather work as driver, sales assistant, clerk, technician than to go back home to lower salary or unemployment.
Yes, many educated ones don't mind driving taxi here. It's going to be a blow to many taxiuncles here if and when they are on the road.
It is due to PAP.
PAP is the root.
Real cases here.
I had classmates from India, China, Burma, India - mostly doctors, PhD and master degreed holders.
With their qualifications, why they wanted to do a post grad course in Singapore? I wondered.
Later, I found out. Because they got no job here so went for courses. Yes, doctors too. Not bluffing you ppl. People who know me well in sgforums, know who I am. I need not bluff to get my point across.
You need to be registered on the doctor's board to practice here.
I knew this cocky PR pinoy guy - veterinarian from The phillippines. Doing so well in home country but not satisfied. Working here as a contract lab technician.
He has ambition and foreward planning way beyond an ordinary Singaporean.
Get to post-grad med school here. Get a Chinese SINGAPOREAN wife. Anything, any job to stay HERE.
Yes, you hear it right, a chinese wife, not Malay not Indian, will do for him.
Sorry Tale of Local Professors in Singapore
A local professor sent this message to me:
Dear Mr. Tan
For those who are academically inclined, one common dream is to
become a university professor. For many countries in the world, this is
a position worth aspiring to as professorship carries prestige and
comfortable income. For Singaporeans who aspire to become
professors in Singapore, it is sad to say that based on the happenings
in a local university over the last few years, they found it a nightmare.
In this university, many Singaporean professors have been fired when
they reach the age of around 55 (much lower than the national
retirement age). Many of these professors have contributed to the
development of the university for more than 20 years. And to add
insult to injury, many of the university management who decided to
fire them are actually foreigners.
When the university recruit new professors, many of them are also
foreigners and some of them are in their 60s or even late 60s. As the
university is heavily subsidised with Singapore money, is it not more
logical to hire Singaporeans so that the money is invested back to
Singaporeans? Instead, the money is now used by foreigners for their
career advancement or retirement outside Singapore.
This situation is particularly sad as Singaporeans have worked very
hard to accumulate this wealth. So why let foreigners enjoy the fruits
of Singaporean labour? And to add to the irony, many of the
Singaporean ex-professors do not have enough savings for their
retirement. They have to make a career switch at the age of 55 – is this
not a nightmare? Even though this situation has been going for quite
some time, it is not a lost cause. The Singapore government can
reverse the situation to demonstrate that they truly place
Singaporeans first.
Local professor
-------------------------------------------------------
I carried out a survey. 19 people responded. 63% strongly agree, 16%
agree and 21% disagree with the views written by the local professor.
Here are their comments
Strongly agree
** The government has allowed just too many foreign "talents" into
Singapore. Most of them are not better than Singaporeans. It is OK to
have some foreigners but it is absurd when a local is out numbered by
foreigners at the workplace.
** I am a local with a US PhD in biology. I found it next to impossible to
get any academic position locally. My field of research is very
specialised but the few positions that do exist here are all given to
foreigners. Local life science research bodies prefer big name
foreigners because all they want is to boost their rankings. Just look up
any local biotech research institute or university here and you will find
that foreigners dominate most of the PI positions. Although most local
research is funded by Singapore, it is mostly controlled by foreigners.
Why did I return to Singapore? Singapore makes it mandatory for
locals who do their postdocs in the US to return here for two years
even though you were not funded by Singapore. Meanwhile, I am still
looking for a job... any job.
** Wow, welcome to the "Real world" professors! I thought it only
happens to private commercial sectors, like me for example. But
having said that, if I were to use the government credo..upgrade, retrain, re-skill!! The only "untouchable" sectors right now is the million
dollar PAP rice bowls.. We all have to compete with the foreign
talents, but our PAP can't or won't even play on a same level field with
local opponents!! That is SIN city for you! Didn't you teach that in class
to your students? Eat or you will be Eaten !** I know this to be true.
** I have seen this happening not only in universities but other science
organizations run by the govt. Why do out agencies hire foreigners in
science jobs (especially WHALES who earn very huge salaries)? These
Whales do not do anything for Singapore. In fact they have been
repeatedly seen running down our system in international meetings
abroad. They openly say that they are here for vacation and for
money. Most of them continue to keep other positions open in
universities abroad. Why??? Locals suffer, take the most small pay but
do the most difficult task and still publish the best papers that the
international community recognizes Singapore for. Please reverse this
trend. Locals are good enough to take Singapore science to new
heights.
** Open your big eye and ear. I studied at a local poly part time more
than 60% are foreign trash, why are they here if not talent?
** The long term academic future of Singapore depends on bright
young Singaporeans seeing a career as an academic rather than being
replaced by young people from the region and older people from
further away
** I am not in the least bit surprised by this as this is also happening in
the private sector. Our government made a strategic error by trusting
these foreigners who are happily firing Singaporeans and replacing
them with people from their own countries. Singaporeans are slowly
but surely being replaced at all levels except the highest level of
government ministers. I hope our government realises this sooner
rather later before it reaches crisis point where our government will
collapse and a foreign party assumes control.
Disagree
** Depends on the rationale and competence of the professors being
redundant.
** Any professor who spends 20 years in a local university, without
overseas sabbatical should probably be fired.
** Once you get tenure the university needs full board approval to fire
you, unless you screw it up really bad. And if the professors have no
savings they have not been spending their 5 digit salaries very wisely
yah?
End of report
Originally posted by Donsan:Will taxi companies bring them in to drive taxi ?
If they did, how will you react ?
Not only Taxi driver, but all occupations in Singapore are slowly being dominated by aliens.
PAP is the traitor of Singapore.
yes, the ssdc shuttle bus driver is a PRC..
Fatima's job also kena.
Anyway with the EPS they will also eventualy have to go.
But if all taxi drivers and bus drivers must be Singaporeans, how to find so many Singaporeans?
People also want banking sector to be all Singaporeans, same with IT. So must take from here and put there situation.
i even suggest the frivolous idea to have a foreigner take over as Minister of Foreign Affairs....isn't it more apt?
back in the 60s, 70s - bus drivers and truck drivers were prestigious job but what happen? cannot compete with foreigners from 3rd world country who come here to vie for it. Blame it on our Gov Systems.
Also high rise crane operator, excavators operator etc.....those are one of so called skilled job in 10 to 20 years back...what happen now?
Can we trust this current "Garment Operators"? Shouldn't they be replace and also be displace by Hammer and Rocket?
Taxi Drivers are also vulnerable but we hope not to see this to happen.
Taxi Drivers in Japan - purely japanese, in H.K, in Taiwan, in Korea, in China, in Indonesia, Malaysia, philippines, vietnam are purely own citizens.
There's once a foreigner in neighbouring countries (not once but i encounter these question a few times already by different nationalities) asked me one delicate question:
Can a foreigner or permanent resident drive a taxi to make a living in Singapore? I said currently no and cannot but i throw them back the same question. Can i drive a taxi in your country? They are stucked and understand why they couldn't let this happen in their country and knew why i say no to it.
If this issue is "Screw Up", i am sure they will have to regret and repent for the next terms as we are "Daft Taxi Uncle".
hahaha
female PRC driving ...........
Female PRC taxi Driver "helo where to go??"
passenger " AMK"
Female PRC taxi Driver " ok"
1/2 way..... " wan to special???? can do in the car........"
is this possible....???
talk so many for wat............
bcos of the 60% and thanks to them, we have to suffer...........
I really don't know what the hell the PAP is doing to this country.
They are like the bastards and the top fuckers of Singapore.
PAP, what the hell are you doing to Singapore, I curious leh.
Just what the fuck are you up to? Can you tell me?
Maybe yes maybe no ... now Mah Bow Tan bowed out , his project "World Class Transport" into the air .
Let's say .... one question : How did Worker's Party won Aljunied ?
Another : Why was the caused of those issues PAP finally woke up ?
Yes ... cost of living , public transport and foreigners .
Now at least for the next 5 years , unless PAP want to lose power , within the next 5 years , we will see a slow down in foreign intake .
Taxi driving will be the last .
Why ?
Now taxi companies got leasing out their taxis problems ?
No leh , still need to Q for brand new Sonata .
There will be a possibility , if taxi companies stuck with 100 or 1000 of taxis behind the yard , then this could be a possibility .
Now they relax relax waiting for money to giro into their bank , why need to worry ?
Yes , employing foreigners to drive a cab in Singapore will posed more problems than u might think off .
If i am boss of a taxi company ....
Now i got 8000 taxis , almost leased out ..... one taxi say $100 .
8000 x $100 = $800,000 guarantee intake everyday .
$2.4m a month ....almost guarantee thru bank giro .
Never pay ? Follow this address , tow ........... simple .
Towed liao can find another new hirer .
Why looked for trouble ?
Sekali employ 8000 indians and they run away just $1m every month , who cry ?
I had said earlier , if a certain national , they got a Bachelor degree back in their country , and after spending so much on education , both parents and friends see them so highly , and they chose to become a taxi driver here in Singapore , they have my blessing really .
For example , for that little bit taxi fare , one mistake got f*ck everyday by Singaporeans , hey degree holder kena f*ck by 16-yr-old , u think that's fun ?
Esp to certain races , they are not meant to be in service line . They are made , in their culture and system , in support line .
Sometimes u guys have to think like " What if i am the boss ."
And find those answers , will be much easier .
IF foreign workers drive taxi, that is doomday for singaporeans. Good luck
Wah taxi drivers' rice bowl also will be invaded by foreigners? If it happens, more competition leh...we already lost jobs to foreign workers in other sectors....
If taxis companies really wanted to force the issue of getting foreign workers to drive taxi, they can alway do it, just by making singaporeans driver difficult in fuel and rental, ending up most throw keys and long line of taxis waiting for hire, then they can hv an excuse for employing Foreign TD. But due to the ethical side of it, as most are Govt linked, they utlmately hv to pull the hand brake. And also Luckily, opposition won a GRC, its somehow, in a way, make these Taxis companies to pull the handbrake harder, we actually, indirectly got some help from opposition wining influence, tho they never help us directly, their influence had ultimately affect Taxis companies decision in flavour of us. And I hope that will last.
In here, i Thank the opposition
I dont think it will happen.
Taxi drivers nowadays the jobs machiam for jobless uncles / aunties looking for a job, then MP help write in, then get the taxi license.... unlike the olden days....
'Fake' jobs
Young people - Insurance agents
Older people - Taxi drivers
Even older people - Toilet / Food Court Cleaners
Originally posted by Junyang700:I dont think it will happen.
Taxi drivers nowadays the jobs machiam for jobless uncles / aunties looking for a job, then MP help write in, then get the taxi license.... unlike the olden days....
'Fake' jobs
Young people - Insurance agents
Older people - Taxi drivers
Even older people - Toilet / Food Court Cleaners
Let's hope it dun happen! I have old uncles driving taxis....they also worried one day foreigners will snatch their rice bowls....