SINGAPORE: The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has awarded tenders for trials to develop the next generation of the electronic road pricing (ERP) system.
What's being explored is a satellite-based method for road tolls, which reduces dependence on physical ERP gantries.
Four groups of companies have secured the tenders.
They are Kapsch TrafficCom AB, MHI Engine System Asia and NCS, ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems) and IBM Singapore,
and Watchdata Technologies as well as Beijing Watchdata System.
Each group will be given seed funding of S$1 million to develop and demonstrate technological solutions.
The 18-month trials starts next month.
LTA said it will assess the performance of the various solutions at the end of the trial, to determine whether an appropriate technological solution is available and can form the basis of a next generation ERP system.
It added the development of the project is in its very early stages and that the next generation ERP system, if technically feasible, is still some years away before it is ready to be launched and implemented.
wondering how they going to do it ? And at the same time , make sure we know our cash cards will be deducted ?
Satellites ?
GPS system ?
Government smart in sucking money.
Oh, still some years to go...throw key liao loh
I guess there will be a new fare structure.
Example, every 1km during peak hours, $0.10, off peak hour, $0.05.
And then if you reach CBD area, automatically qualify for $2.00 deduction.
Current ERP gantry has gained sufficient return on their investments.. Now is time to look at expanding.
Agreed with yr 3rd and 4th point.
higher ridership means better income for me.
track individual vehicle status for insurance and accidents stuff, good to have. hope it make SG rds a safer place to drive.
But then hor... night drivers like us zoom 110km/h (after midnight) to woodlands or jurong west and back to town leh. so how?
Originally posted by michaelhuat:if i am driver whether private or not, maybe next time no need buy parking coupons, or face the trouble of tearing or the worry of tearing wrong or not enough if i dont make it back in time.
Sorry, I dun buy season parking or put coupons when parking.
I park at the park and walk home one... heeee.
ERP gantries earn lots of money for the government.
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Agreed with yr 3rd and 4th point.
higher ridership means better income for me.
track individual vehicle status for insurance and accidents stuff, good to have. hope it make SG rds a safer place to drive.
But then hor... night drivers like us zoom 110km/h (after midnight) to woodlands or jurong west and back to town leh. so how?
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Sorry, I dun buy season parking or put coupons when parking.
I park at the park and walk home one... heeee.