So many taxi drivers are people who use to have good education, good grads and degrees and then suddenly kena retrenched.. cannot get a proper job for few months to few yrs and end up becoming taxi drivers.
Hope You guys can make up from their parents and teachers and governments and societies' " study hard, get degree and get a high paid job till retirement" crap.
most people end up as suicide bombers in other countries.
Originally posted by Sly134:So many taxi drivers are people who use to have good education, good grads and degrees and then suddenly kena retrenched.. cannot get a proper job for few months to few yrs and end up becoming taxi drivers.
Hope You guys can make up from their parents and teachers and governments and societies' " study hard, get degree and get a high paid job till retirement" crap.
selling yer ass also earn more $$$.
Many kinds of jobs pay more than graduates. It is a myth that a good uni education is a good start to the job market. Having said this, of course I want my children to go to uni, unless they themselves refuse to go. Even then, its not the end. There are plenty of rich business people who got little to no education yet live in nice houses in nice districts.
I ever fetched a cleaner a few months ago who became a millionaire after he started his own cleaning business. He lives in Thomson Lakeview area.
What about Ah Du, the famous mandarin singer who was once a construction foreman.
What about the many cabbies out there whose kids got into NUS and dated student doctors and lawyers? Its ok if we failed in life and became a cabby, just make sure next generation dont end up like us. I am sure there are doctors, lawyers, bankers and accountants whose parents were either hawkers or cabbies.
When life has gone completely wrong and you are in the pits, remember that things can only change for the better because u r already in the pits. Bottom is not a bottom if there is no hard landing. Heaven is infinitely high, but hell is only so deep.
We have less to worry than those who are very well off, because many more things can go wrong in their lives and force them into the pits, either this generation or in 1-2 generations time.
So life is a cycle, things that go up must come down. Stuff that goes down cannot stay down forever.
hmm, true
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:When life has gone completely wrong and you are in the pits, remember that things can only change for the better because u r already in the pits. Bottom is not a bottom if there is no hard landing. Heaven is infinitely high, but hell is only so deep.
We have less to worry than those who are very well off, because many more things can go wrong in their lives and force them into the pits, either this generation or in 1-2 generations time.
So life is a cycle, things that go up must come down. Stuff that goes down cannot stay down forever.
well said!!![]()
Haha profound words but oh so true by f1taxidriver. Many of the post 65ers of sg grew up in a generation where "the paper is what gets you places". And then they worked so hard, some are lucky and they stay in a good job for the rest of their lives. Many others are deemed overpaid when they reach post 40s and then they wonder what they have actually studied so hard for.
10 out of 10 baby boomer entrepreneurs in Indonesia do not even hold a degree or diploma and yet they're multi-millionaires. (Well, that's my estimate haha) Their children all enter universities as they mature into adults yet NONE want to be employees. That's the main difference in mentality between singaporeans and chinese indonesians....it's also vitally one which entrenches the status of �人 (addressed as "teng lang" in hokkien) in Indonesia's history. Singaporean chinese? God knows in 30 years time with all the hungrier chinamen coming in.
Speaking of that, I just met somebody from China who swam 8 hours to HK 30 years ago (illegal immigrant!!) to make his living and today he's the president of a jewellers association in Guangzhou. The hunger of chinamen, especially those in foreign countries knows no bounds.
nowadays taxi drivers earn alot what... so much demand so little supply... i heard some made 4k also can, relax ones earn close to 3k... and i think no deduct CPF, so all the money under their control, but if no discipline then siao liao...
i will not be surprised the future sees more degree holder cab drivers....
to really survive in the corporate world is not that easy...the higher one is...the more complex the fight up there...sleepless nights are common and mentally burnt out about who is going to stab you next...and singapore is such a small place ...
degree is useless if u cannot master or adapt to the corporate culture...soon u will be out driving taxi
Times are bad.
One day, the cab driver driving you to Orchard will share with you his phd thesis on inertial confinement fusion.
And you will probably go huh? ![]()
Originally posted by Fcukpap:i will not be surprised the future sees more degree holder cab drivers....
to really survive in the corporate world is not that easy...the higher one is...the more complex the fight up there...sleepless nights are common and mentally burnt out about who is going to stab you next...and singapore is such a small place ...
degree is useless if u cannot master or adapt to the corporate culture...soon u will be out driving taxi
if even degree holders have to resort to drive taxi, what's more with O level holders like me?![]()
Singapore though the govt claims it is first world, it is "FIRST WORLD" for the "First World" government and their cronies to get First World pay. The rich also get first world pay. The rest of us are Third World.
Soon if this continues, locals will have to go overseas work as maids.
I heard there is a cabby living in old tampines road who drove on weekends because he is bored.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Many kinds of jobs pay more than graduates. It is a myth that a good uni education is a good start to the job market. Having said this, of course I want my children to go to uni, unless they themselves refuse to go. Even then, its not the end. There are plenty of rich business people who got little to no education yet live in nice houses in nice districts.
I ever fetched a cleaner a few months ago who became a millionaire after he started his own cleaning business. He lives in Thomson Lakeview area.
What about Ah Du, the famous mandarin singer who was once a construction foreman.
What about the many cabbies out there whose kids got into NUS and dated student doctors and lawyers? Its ok if we failed in life and became a cabby, just make sure next generation dont end up like us. I am sure there are doctors, lawyers, bankers and accountants whose parents were either hawkers or cabbies.
Bro, objection, I do not think that life failed and became a cabby, for some, it can be reborn or life get better, some cabbies are rich fellow, they just drive to pass time, or at least keep themselves active, most are the older cabbies, even their childrens tell them to stop driving, they still go on the road for a few hours, if you said that they failed, no, they used their bare hands and brain to earn a living, they raise childrens to University who are filial piety to them, but they choose to be a cabby just because of one emotion...Happy
Originally posted by bowah:Bro, objection, I do not think that life failed and became a cabby, for some, it can be reborn or life get better, some cabbies are rich fellow, they just drive to pass time, or at least keep themselves active, most are the older cabbies, even their childrens tell them to stop driving, they still go on the road for a few hours, if you said that they failed, no, they used their bare hands and brain to earn a living, they raise childrens to University who are filial piety to them, but they choose to be a cabby just because of one emotion...Happy