Ang moh wrote a post in today chinese newspaper complaining bad taxi services: At first say taxis are cheap in SIN and used to have good impression. But nowsdays cannot get taxi, call also dun have, go longer route and get stuck in jams (But the driver refunded him when he took him again the next day after he called to complain), send to wrong destinations, drivers not picking after interviewing etc.
He is thinking of switching to bus, can save $ as well.
Anything else to complain about? If want everything to be same as your home country, then guess what u should do.....?
Catch bus catch bus lah! I'm sure the taxi drivers would rather this one go catch bus, than have him complaining like a baby. His money like bigger then everyone elses.....
PTC always consider in favour of the Mak Che, Ah Soh, Ah Che, going to market when formulating the taxi rates.
What to do, first world status but attract only third world fallen talents.
Actually it is true that when you want a cab desperately, high chance they are nowhere to be found. Even if a cab is found, there is always a risk that the cabby goes by a less preferred route. This is my personal experience even as a cabby. That is why I make it a point to treat fellow cabbies well, and tip them when I use their services. And I tell them nicely to go by a certain route that I like to use. It always works.
I really cannot imagine people who would complain and even cheat cabbies. These people need to lose their jobs and be forced to drive a cab to understand that our money was earned through daily struggles.
Becareful in all these news, it could be a propaganda for Foreigners to take over taxis driving here.
He's thinking of switching to bus?
You mean he hadn't yet?![]()
Originally posted by BJK:LTA to be blamed for this stage of taxi service. No enforcement action that allow taxi drivers to ignore all the rules of the license. Taxi is a public service and just like bus and train services, LTA should ensure that taxi drivers improve their services or revoke their licenses.
he should take bus or mrt.. sure wont go wrong or long route one...and flag, the bus sure stop one, no interviewing and no need call one.. once time schedule, it will arrive on time....somemore use ezlink still got discount...where to find...
Services comes with a price tag,i think probably the taxi fare is too affordable that most of them can afford to take a cab here in Singapore.Sure,you won"t complain you can"t get a cab in Tokyo.(Got to ask Kinwashi about this).It is not easy to find a balance,and remember there is always high demand peroid at certain point of time of the day that everyone to get a cab.
u pay nuts , u get monkeys .
does Japanese drivers open door for you ?
Yes they do .
but at what taxi prices ?
think again .
We need more foreigners to drive cabs to improve our level of service. ![]()
Originally posted by Guess?:If foreigners can pay better money to get a cab then why no cab willing to stop.
Foreigners are some of the main culprits who cheats. I dun treat them special at all. By the initial few mins after they get in, can tell whether these foreigners are of what quality.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:I tell them nicely to go by a certain route that I like to use. It always works.
Yes, I strongly agree with f1 here.
Repeat the address/location of what the pax wanted to go will always make our trip fruitful and works well. just briefly explain yr intended route to take. To my surprise, sometimes they even give you a better route than you thought. This was how I learnt from them too.
Yes, repeat it to check back, if you diam diam, go wrong way, sure get Fcuk upside down. But sad to say, most TD like to keep quiet, robot driver
I have friends, relatives, and a neighbour who are TD. They are honest people I can vouch for that.
But I never come across them when I hail for a taxi. Instead I get one that assess me through the rear view mirror to see if can makan me.
The ones that does an honest job straight forward job, I usually give extra above the metered fare. The ones that squeeze an extra few cents, I pay the exact fare or collect back the change.
From airport I also never tip, because at airport help load luggage, but at destination just sit in taxi and pull lever, face have bo chup look.
it's a bit contradicting ....irony .
Singaporeans complaint too many foreigners in Singapore , now they asking government to bring in foreigners to drive taxis ?
Even local singaporeans who know routes and landmarks well , cannot fulfill those demands for customers service , what u think foreigners can do ?
Speak english also got problem ..... small change also got problems .....
Foreigners also do not have a registered residential address . If need to tow back vehicle , go where tow ?
Keep their passport so that they do not flea with the money ?
Singapore law forbid employers to retain employee's passport .
Aiyo , talk easy .... if can , i also set up a taxi company driven by foreigners , and stay at home shake legs .
If can , i hired taxis from taxi company , and employ foreigners to drive my cab for $20 a night , i clear cut make profit from benefits .
If Singapore allows foreigners , i first one to huat .
I no need drive and huat big time .
I just employ them drive airport staffs home , vouchers i take .
Originally posted by Guess?:From iTODAY:Cabbies still selective of passengers, despite warnings
Letter from Peter Tay 04:45 AM Jul 09, 2011
THURSDAY night was my third attempt to flag down a cab along Ganges Avenue. I waited for one from 10.15pm to 10.45pm and no fewer than 30 of them passed by. Many had their rooftop sign set to “busy” even though there were no passengers. Some actually switched from “available” to “busy” the moment they spotted me.
One cab dropped off a passenger near me and waved me off even before I could approach him.
I went up to him anyway and he curtly said he needed to pick his brother up from the hospital. It did not sound as truthful as it was patronising.
It was only when I walked into a smaller lane that I managed to stop a cab, probably only because it did not have enough space to manoeuvre past me.
I queried the driver about the situation and he admitted that cab drivers get an additional S$3 by picking up passengers from town and, hence, avoid picking up anyone just beyond it.
When I had previously encountered the same situation, I called ComfortDelGro. The customer officer took the matter seriously, got back to me within a couple of days and said the relevant cab drivers had been warned and discouraged from being selective of passengers.
The cab driver who picked me up also said it was common for cab drivers to avoid picking up passengers just before midnight so they could benefit from the surcharge – a practice which is common knowledge among commuters.
Such issues raise a huge question mark about the integrity of taxi drivers. If this is a matter of incorrigibility and no amount of persuasion or warning works, then it is obvious the relevant authorities should consider a different strategy.
For example, midnight charges could be staggered by 10-per-cent increments every 20 minutes so drivers would not be tempted to wait past midnight to earn that full 50-per-cent profit.
From iTODAY:Errant cabbies will give Singapore a bad reputation
| Jul 12, 2011 6:00 AM
I refer to the letter from Mr Peter Tay, “Cabbies still selective of passengers, despite warnings” (July 9). My family and I faced the same problem on Saturday, along Serangoon Avenue 3 at about 10.30pm.
As with Mr Tay’s experience, more than 20 empty taxis went past us with the sign “busy” turned on. It was anyone’s guess that these cabbies were just waiting to profit from the midnight surcharge or for people to dial a cab.
If this is happening in an area outside of town, I am sure it has become commonplace practice. It is ironic that the taxi service which is meant to transport passengers in the late hours could be manipulated by these errant drivers for their own selfish means.
This would not reflect well on the standards of taxi services in Singapore. I urge the relevant authorities to look into the problem urgently and find a solution to put a stop to this before these errant cabbies give the country a bad reputation. Letter from Chan Lai Ying.
From iTODAY:Vicious cycle of taxi surcharges, ‘false’ demand
Letter from Lyn Tai | Jul 13, 2011 6:00 AM
I REFER to the letters from Mr Peter Tay, “Cabbies still selective of passengers, despite warnings” (July 9) and Ms Chan Lai Ying, “Errant cabbies will give Singapore a bad reputation” (July 12).
I fully agree with the writers and I strongly urge the relevant authority to consider scrapping the midnight and town-area surcharges, at the same time capping the phone booking surcharge to a maximum of S$1 irrespective of the time of booking.
These surcharges have been the perennial problem as clearly some cabbies have exploited them to create a “false” demand which in turn leads to the justification of the endless extra charges by the taxi companies, with the passengers bearing all of the cost.
If the surcharges are eliminated, those errant drivers who are perpetually “busy” cruising and waiting for phone booking and midnight charges will no longer have any incentive to do so.
They will simply have to return to the basic and fair method of earning the fares, that is to pick up any passengers who flag them down.
One of my kaki , driving a Red Wish , also a forum kaki here , got a 2 weeks suspension from LTA for not picking up paxes at Royal Plaza at Scotts .
He first was sent to LTA for kopi , u know what ?
His explanation will be like yours , if u got caught : " I want to go into CBD for that $3 CBD surcharge ! There don't have "
U know what did that LTA enforcement said to him ?
" We know u all want to go into CBD for that $3 , but why did you not put BUSY ?"
" U put Taxi , we have difficulties in explaning to complainant ."
Pong ! Hammer down , 2 weeks suspension , $300 fine .
Bastard right those LTA people ?
So whoever , here in Sg forum , if u happen to be driving after 5pm shift , and if u picked someone to somewhere outside CBD after 8pm , pls lar , have some skills ......... no luck involve , skills ...........
What skills ?
U know after 8pm , outside CBD lots of zombies hunting for your head , so once u alight that commuter , plsssssssssssssss put roof top sign board to BUSY .
The skills of know what to expect and react to such situations !
Once you are on busy , commuters whatever they complaint LTA , no use one .
LTA also cannot invite you for kopi .
If LTA called me up in the morning for such events , LTA surely kena fuck from me .
Why i want to go pang sai , cannot BUSY ?
Why i want to go pick up my friend , cannot BUSY ?
U have got 1001 reasons if are on BUSY !
Show some skills driving a cab ...... if u are so naive , don't say u no luck . It's because u lacking such skills .