Talking about tipping.
My brother related to me one story sibeh funny. When he was in UK , he took a cab. After the trip , the fare was XXX amt , cant rem how much. My brother gave him some shillings as tips.
The driver turn his head and told my brother : " you can have it back , i think you need it more than i do"
hahaha power bo UK taxi drivers.
In Geneva, Innsbruck and Zurich of Switzerland, which I visited, if you take a bus, a much beautiful MAN german built bus, it is up to you to pay the fares in the fare slot provided, and if you think the drive is smooth, the interior is nice and comfortable enough, you can give a tip when you drop off at the rear door tip slot box. This is first Class public transport. The transport is FREE, any contribution will go into the driver family fund and charity. In here you are talking about increasing Transport prices?? Frist Class city??? my left foot.
Originally posted by Cktan1973:I have to add…. Some taxi driver is richer than the passenger itself, so taking your tips is not going to make any difference to him, but is the gesture of understanding that count, I ever ferry a family, AP to Flora rd, once the family got into the car, they straight away hand me $20, although the trip only cost them $11, I respect this family, at least they r understanding, $9 going to make me richer? I don’t think so, but it make me a happy driver n brightens the whole day… That is worth more than $9…. Last words don’t over estimate or underestimate oneself
That is very true, I once also pickup like those wanted to scold people kind of face singaporean couple to laguana park, i thot knn, siao liao, Q so long, bo bian drive on and stay focus, if not later kenna scolding.
But to my surprise, end up, they gave a $10 tip, saying that they pity and understand cabby life, must hv had waited quite sometime at the ap taxi Q, wha, really very touching, I told them that with no regard to the tip, if singapore peoples are all like you, who are able to understanding each other problem and difficulties, it will be a much better place to be in. And it true, you drive on very happily.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Talking about tipping.
My brother related to me one story sibeh funny. When he was in UK , he took a cab. After the trip , the fare was XXX amt , cant rem how much. My brother gave him some shillings as tips.
The driver turn his head and told my brother : " you can have it back , i think you need it more than i do"
Hahaha, but bros, in most of europe especially the western side, every job is consider a professional, even a cleaner have dignity and respect, same as doctors and lawyers, their taxi drivers take pride and dignity in their job, in Swiss, there is a tiny basket at the back and in front for you to give tip as you wish, if you take their cab, which is mostly mercs, you can see the money on the basket, you can even take it, but it is for tipping, and the peoples are very gracious to take it as part of life, if that basket is in singapore cab, long gone liao
Our salary,the rules & regulations of the this trade are decide by the corridors of power.Even if they decide to increase the meter fare,the most is 3 months they will let you enjoy the fruits of your labor.After 3 months,they will increase your taxi rental.I don"t think will ever change,there will still be complaints coming in like cannot get a taxi @ certain time or places in the next ten years.If not LTA eat what?
We should not be misled by a few nice stories and think westerners are more generous and asians are more stingy. Asians may be generous but remain anonymous and westerners may be generous with a more public-relations (PR) driven twist, so people can get misled. These issues become crystal clear when you start driving private limousines or hotel limousines or even a chrysler. Asians slaughter animals using method A, whereas westerners slaughter animals using method B. In the end, the same animal gets slaughtered differently in different hands. People who tip as a habit simply have a better upbringing, its not because of their colour. To them if their little money can give immense joy to someone, it makes the effort worthwhile. If $10 can bring a smile to someone, these people think they got it at a discount. Why? Because you cannot simply slip a $10 note into anybody's hand and bring a genuine smile to their face. Happiness cannot be purchased, but if this little tip makes you happy, then they have bought something potentially costing more. You made somebody happy, congrats! Now think about how easy it is to offend someone. You think that small tip can so easily put a smile on an angry face?
You may be misled to think taxi driving seems like a more respectable profession elsewhere, but hey take a moment and imagine an ang mo father proudly introducing his taxi driver son to a potential hot date. What transpires after this? Am I supposed to believe that a Miss America will want to hook up with my taxi driver son? I hope you get the basic idea. :) Some ideals in life dont change whether you live in Switzerland or Singapore. Its all about presentation. Here it is "tui lei lo mo" (using your mouth and your mind), but there it is "have a great day" (using their mouth but "tui lei lo mo" inside their mind).
why some cabbies , ego so strong ?
Drive taxi is a decent job .
Why bother how people looked at you ?
U earning dirty money ?
No right ? So why bother how people look at cabbies ?
I for one , dun care how people look at me .
I started work since 18 .... never had a really good job , really fabulous good pay . Got one , f*cking good pay , but f*cking stressful , stress to the limit , for f*ck ?
So 30 years old , start driving a cab .
Working , cannot even afford to get married and be a father .
Only can afford ROM .
Once became cabby , now i am a father of 2 , owns a flat , easy going lifestyle , happy go lucky ...... easy flow of cold hard cash .
All thanks to being a cabby .
What ego ?
Fuck lar , money far more important .
What career ? Fuck lar , got money then can say career . Got career doesn't means got money and flat .
Want to be tag "Manager" , earning $1400 ? Fuck lar , hahahaha
Every morning , i looked into the mirror , see the same old face everyday , and asked : " Why don't you became something else , like CEO ?"
The answer is : " Who am i to become a CEO ?"
Got that answer ?
Yes , it's the calibre of yourself .
Some of us , the calibre is just there , that's it .
Don't ever think of anything else .
This calibre can only fetch this much of money , that's it .
How higher u want , it's depends on other upward factors , still within that job scope , driving a cab , still driving a cab .
This incident remind me of 2 ang mo paxs few weeks ago.
I drove them to the airport, as usual, I'll help them with the luggages before collecting the fare.
1 was paying me the fare and I notice the other ang mo digging something inside his trouser.
Out came many coins and he offered it to me. I was dismay & I declined politely and said he can use it to pay for his latte.
Then the other ang mo said I can keep the blue note.
our taxi service is 1st class !!! but LTA dun always treat us fair sometimes cos they know they can fine us n give us demerit pts..........
i tin LTA forgot all TDs r Sporeans or they prefer foreigners to drive taxi in Spore next time ?????
Originally posted by Mercabs:This incident remind me of 2 ang mo paxs few weeks ago.
I drove them to the airport, as usual, I'll help them with the luggages before collecting the fare.
1 was paying me the fare and I notice the other ang mo digging something inside his trouser.
Out came many coins and he offered it to me. I was dismay & I declined politely and said he can use it to pay for his latte.
Then the other ang mo said I can keep the blue note.
Fair enough, we do understand that the westerners also hv their bad side of it, but thru our learning journey, as we also teach our chilldrens to take the good examples and leave the bad ones. We should therefore, emulate the good from everywhere, and not to be led by their bad.
As saying goes, words can kill, the power of words can make a president, if we, as simple TD laymen are going to mantle with mind game with others, we will be having alots of negative thots, we will not take geninue good comments, cos every comment or praise will be consider as ti lei loh moh. Careless the mind, what is spoken is important to us, we get motivated, happy and that make our day, whatever paxs think is their problem, we got nothing to loose except gain. If we hv negative thots on others, we are actually having a problem with what is said is not what the mind think. And in long run, you get more self created frustration and stress leading to unhealthy mental health.
There are more lawyers, doctors, teachers, bankers and all other top professionals creating more crimes than TD, crimes from sexual harrassement, rape, bribery, cheat, cons, misleading others, etc etc. Many TDs childrens are U graduate, some even with phd or master, if a so called hot gal love my son but because of me as a TD, she do not want it, is this call Love?? As long as we do a decent jobs, ply the road happily, hardworking and discipline, we should take pride in what we are doing, if we look down on ourselves, who will look up on us, so brother, be proud of what you are, without you driving, there maybe one more pax waiting for another 10mins at the Q, and without TDs on the road, singapore transportation will be half handicapped, and LTA can sack the Ministers.
Originally posted by bowah:Fair enough, we do understand that the westerners also hv their bad side of it, but thru our learning journey, as we also teach our chilldrens to take the good examples and leave the bad ones. We should therefore, emulate the good from everywhere, and not to be led by their bad.
As saying goes, words can kill, the power of words can make a president, if we, as simple TD laymen are going to mantle with mind game with others, we will be having alots of negative thots, we will not take geninue good comments, cos every comment or praise will be consider as ti lei loh moh. Careless the mind, what is spoken is important to us, we get motivated, happy and that make our day, whatever paxs think is their problem, we got nothing to loose except gain. If we hv negative thots on others, we are actually having a problem with what is said is not what the mind think. And in long run, you get more self created frustration and stress leading to unhealthy mental health.
There are more lawyers, doctors, teachers, bankers and all other top professionals creating more crimes than TD, crimes from sexual harrassement, rape, bribery, cheat, cons, misleading others, etc etc. Many TDs childrens are U graduate, some even with phd or master, if a so called hot gal love my son but because of me as a TD, she do not want it, is this call Love?? As long as we do a decent jobs, ply the road happily, hardworking and discipline, we should take pride in what we are doing, if we look down on ourselves, who will look up on us, so brother, be proud of what you are, without you driving, there maybe one more pax waiting for another 10mins at the Q, and without TDs on the road, singapore transportation will be half handicapped, and LTA can sack the Ministers.
just for discussion sake only.
For discussion sake, (not to offend any),
can the authorities do this ->>
1) for personal matters such as meals/toilets, TDs choose an option that put the fare meter in "suspend" mood, meaning the display on top of taxi is off/blacked out. And this "suspend" mood can only be done for 2hrs max. And this can't be activate 2hr before midnight, unless #condition4.
2) when TDs get confirmed orders, the display on top will automatically go to "On Call". Once the fare meter is off, the display will revert. TDs can't change this option.
3) Once fare meter is running, the display on top is changed to "busy". TDs can't change this option.
4) For leaves/breakdowns, TDs have to input time/date into monitor to relay to HQ to put the fare meter into "sleeping" mode. And display on top will be "off".
will this helps?
Originally posted by iceFatboy:For discussion sake, (not to offend any),
can the authorities do this ->>
1) for personal matters such as meals/toilets, TDs choose an option that put the fare meter in "suspend" mood, meaning the display on top of taxi is off/blacked out. And this "suspend" mood can only be done for 2hrs max. And this can't be activate 2hr before midnight, unless #condition4.
2) when TDs get confirmed orders, the display on top will automatically go to "On Call". Once the fare meter is off, the display will revert. TDs can't change this option.
3) Once fare meter is running, the display on top is changed to "busy". TDs can't change this option.
4) For leaves/breakdowns, TDs have to input time/date into monitor to relay to HQ to put the fare meter into "sleeping" mode. And display on top will be "off".
will this helps?
no .... because of insurance reasons .
If i drive myself family members , if i do not on my meter , in case of accident , there will be no injury claims .
But yes , our meter will be ON CALL if despatched and confirmed a job .
If i do not intend to ply anymore trade , meaning do not intend to pick anymore paxes , BUSY !
BUSY is good enough .
Originally posted by iceFatboy:
the display on top of taxi is off/blacked out.
Pool, I saw some taxis can 's/w off' their roof. how do they do it? not supposed to be 'off' right? advise? esp Big Black cars...
2 hours cannot on meter , i pay rental cannot press meter ?
Why must i hide before midnight ?
If i pick anyone from MBS at 2355hr .
My meter will show $3 + $3 + $2.50 ( booking usually have ) .
If i pick MBS at 0000hr , my meter will show $3 + $1.50 .
To hide and wait for midnight charge , and make less $1.50 , and waste time .
I don't see any logic .
Why is it many people has got the impression we hide for midnight charge when i can earn $1.50 more ?
2 hours cannot on meter , i pay rental cannot press meter ?
Why must i hide before midnight ?
If i pick anyone from MBS at 2355hr .
My meter will show $3 + $3 + $2.50 ( booking usually have ) .
If i pick MBS at 0000hr , my meter will show $3 + $1.50 .
To hide and wait for midnight charge , and make less $1.50 , and waste time .
I don't see any logic .
Why is it many people has got the impression we hide for midnight charge when i can earn $1.50 more ?
TD is very much of a self-proprietor business if u look at it closely. We are boss and we decide when to work and when to rest. So why set rules to govern personal matters?
Originally posted by Fwahhh:TD is very much of a self-proprietor business if u look at it closely. We are boss and we decide when to work and when to rest. So why set rules to govern personal matters?
There's a pax paying taxi trip fare $0.80 with $0.05 coins. I ask him to keep and pay for his next trip...he lan lan pay me swee swee...uncle i got a few bottle of 5cents at home.