I give u another example. We all understand it is illegal to detain people without reason. Even the police need a valid reason to put suspects inside a neighbourhood police post prison cell.
But things change when I get robbed. So if someone grabs my wallet and run, do I just stand there because it is illegal to chase after someone, detain them and get back our belongings? Of course not. Because I was robbed, I am now empowered to chase and use force as necessary to get back my belongings from the suspect and call for police assistance. If he struggles and I hit the suspect, do you think the suspect can later tell the police that he tried to rob me but I hammered him in retaliation?
Guys , i would just ask for their NRIC .
If they ever told me it's against the law to take their IC , i would just say : " Hello , u knn dun tell me what's law in Singapore ."
" U take taxi never pay me money means u got law ?"
in fact , i need not retain their IC at all , i just jot down those particulars like address , name , ic number , that's all .
And best it's contact number .
This vulnerability highlights the importance of one thing unker Poolz has been telling us from day one : choose your pax smartly.
Of course it doesn't mean you stop at road side and see whether you like the pax face, etc. But by trying to avoid certain pax you could at least try to prevent this problem.
Bro. Why. Cos too expensive. Please dun compare with hong kong or Japan.
Can we use camera to capture the ic data front and back or take their face picture?
After you come down and pay I delete the data. You don't come down in 10-15min, I bring these data to the company office or police to report . Can?
What is the penalty for them if they dont't pay? I think they only got fine . They should have also black marks on their record for their employer to know their crime.
Shame on all these characters!!!
If you just take a photo of their IC but never ask for permission to keep their IC while they retrieve some cash, then it makes no difference. The pax can still walk off without paying. And you still need to make a police report and make a company claim. Total waste of time. Always make sure you got proof. Try and use a device that records what u see like what I have below. Got video and audio evidence. Pax cannot run and cannot say I snatched his IC. Pax will definitely come back for their passport and IC. These documents are certainly worth more than a $50 trip. They sure will return.

taxi fare cheats on the rise... maybe.
how about cab drivers who purposely take longer route.
What is the definition of longer route, extra one meter or kilometer? Pax sleeping all the way, never direct the cabby. Cabby's fault? If u like a certain route, tell the cabby. Dont expect them to read your mind. Some pax like short route with many traffic lights. Some pax like longer but faster route with less traffic lights. Dont just sit behind and stay silent.
This kind of complain usually wont be taken seriously especially if cabby is new. Old experienced ones may get into trouble, but if the cabby makes a good argument, then the pax will lose the case, especially the pax who just stay silent all the way, then cry foul. Cabbies are not sitting for an exam when a pax boards the cab, and the pax should not behave like a taxi tester trying to gauge our knowledge of the roads.
Cabbies who purposely take longer route is a technical issue that can be solved on the spot or complained to the company.
Evading the fare is a criminal act.
Originally posted by WizQ:This vulnerability highlights the importance of one thing unker Poolz has been telling us from day one : choose your pax smartly.
Of course it doesn't mean you stop at road side and see whether you like the pax face, etc. But by trying to avoid certain pax you could at least try to prevent this problem.
Yah , u definitely will not have such problems ... i heard your paxes all never run away one , in fact reverse , they pay you more , true ?
Such problems usually applies to road sweepers type of cabbies .
We Lake View members very rare very rare heard people run away taxi fare .
In my time at Lake View , only once , that member : " Member , this pax dun want to pay fare , how ?"
All replied : " Bring them to Police station ."
I believe those cheaters who intend to run ....... has some strange body language . The very last time , my own experience , like half a decade ago .
Pax kept quiet all the way , upon reaching , dial phone like on the phone talked to somemore , then upon reaching the car park , she said she will go to the lift and take money from her mum .
Then disappeared .
Genuine case go take money one , never leave the vehicle . Someone waiting already .
Genuine case one , willingly throw IC . No need to ask .
If such cases not existed , beware , 100% intending to cheat .
Most my paxes who said wait for money come down , never leave my vehicle .
And seldom paxes from condo cheated .
Mostly HDB flats .
Driving taxi is a small business by itself, and TDs like us are consider small poor entrepreneur, a sole properiator working for himself with no subordinates, that bring us to business. And in every business there are risks, creditors and debtors risk, you cannot ensure that the customer will paid, they can run away or make a default payment or complain here and there just to get discount.
Same goes to our business, the risk is there, but as long as the gain outweight the risk, we go for it, I also took kids before, who just open taxis door and run away, take what IC or pass? Uncle cannot run as fast as them leh, lan lan call police, then drive on lor, you can even find some good pax who said go 7/11, then put $20 on yr tray just in case he did not return, and i got once, this guy never come back after he placed $50 on the tray, waited 15 minutes, went down look for him, cannot find, drive off lor.
So i believe all these cheating and evading paying fares is part and parcel of our trade, just be wary of it, just be blessed that in our country, most paxs are still ok and nice peoples who honor our services and pay their fares, but then in every society, there are rotten eggs, we should consider ours very less already.
Originally posted by Poolman:
Yah , u definitely will not have such problems ... i heard your paxes all never run away one , in fact reverse , they pay you more , true ?
Lolz, you are starting a new rumour, later they really thought I earn 10K/mth how?.
Maybe when I started driving orh chia :-p
Originally posted by WizQ:
Lolz, you are starting a new rumour, later they really thought I earn 10K/mth how?.Maybe when I started driving orh chia :-p
Ur pax more scared you run away , right ?
how people cheat on taxi fare ah ?
teach me leh....................now i velly the cash tight so need lots of free rides................
I happened to pick 4 kids (all primary) to Siglap Global indian international sch from the back gate (along upper changi rd east) of Savanna condopark.
fare was $11.20. the small girl gave me $10 and started digging her wallet... I began to sympatise her. I said: "never mind. $10 will do. its ok"
Suay suay I saw them again and picked them again to same place by same route. Fare was $11.40. Again she did the same thing, digging the same wallet, here sibblings all quickly get out of the cab.
This time, I waited for her full fare, she finally asked her big brother to settle the rest.
A bit tricky here.
Could this be the trick by them? or taught by their parents? stay condo, take cab to sch everyday. Mmm... I smell fish!
I never say CHEAT hor! I only mentioned trick!
so, WHO WILL BE THE NEXT CABBY?
...just to share...
if they can 'save' $1+ a day, very soon can buy Tab or pad liow...
knn
That is the way komade. Pax who evade fare gives cabbies the licence to release our steam.