Originally posted by Resentment:this cabby SHD208C a wish transcab , cut into my lane before the traffc light towards woodlands ave 7 around 8pm he was at the first lane,and the lane he is at can go straight and turn right and my lane only a go straight , when the green light appear , he like dosen't know where he going , like want to turn right or go straight , in the end he just go straight and cutted into my lane , in order to avoid accident , i had to jam my brake and horn at him repeatedly , and there are cars and motorcycle behind me , and worst still , i am driving a lorry , and my vehicle got ppl , and his vehicle also got passenger , to do this kind of thing really endanger the safety of the passenger , what if my lorry just crash into him? what will happen? it really spoilt my whole day , very angry till now.
Bro, 2 things you can do here.
1st, you thank god that nothing happened to you and yr pax in the lorry.
2ndly, treat this incident as a good lesson learnt and tell yrself be more alert (which you did) & defensive in future. Just hope that he (SHD208C) will not meet a nasty accident in future.
Tks for bringing this up. Happy driving.
yes...whenever i want to change lane i signal and try to go in but the vehicles still going fast, telling me that he dun wanna let me go, so i move back to my original lane...
when u are driving a car , and driving a cab , pls prepare to face different treatment from other road users .
Since day 1 i started driving a cab , i faced everyday 12 hours of anxiety from civilians on the road .
Now immune liao , how f*ck they can do , i no lak sa one .
u'll get use to it eventually .
just move on .
singapore getting more idiots on the road .
we cabbies were accused of anything by civilian drivers , but civilian drivers also cannot be any good .
So any end ?
No end , so move on , f*ck it , just drive .
As COE increases with the bulk of bids coming from Taxis companies, with no doubt, you see a rise of taxis on the road and less civilian cars. The more complain from paxs who are unable to get taxi on call or on the road, the more singapore govt input foreigners into our small city state, the more taxis will come into picture, and with more taxis, the current lots will be earning less income due to a bigger pool of it.
Our govt have no intention to make taxis driver a king on the road, Taxis drivers must alway be slaves at the expense of their rentals, diesel/fuel and taxation. These are the sticks that make a taxi driver work, and the carrots will be the peak hours, all the surcharges and an illusion of being a self ownership business.
Peoples on the street tend to look at the carrots more than the expenses, so most, even the younger ones are hopping into taxi trades, more taxis need more drivers, peoples who had licence for 5 to 15 years but yet to really drive a car came in fresh and full of synergy like first time going to a new workplace, OMO with full of promise from the relevant Taxis companies, got a brand new 2.0 cc good car to drive/ some with turbo charged, zoommm..they chiong, then when they hit the wall, slowly they start to realize this isn't a dream job afterall. And most of them are not highly skill or education to be able to formula a system or think better, end up driving zig zag, get honked here and there, left brain thinking of the road, right brain thinking of when can cover the rental, front head thinking of the passengers, rear head thinking of personal problem. Day in, day out, you can see all these drivers, it is not as simple as one lorry everyday going to the same direction, even blind one eye also can drive, know the road so well, TD are different, even 10 ten times passed by the road for the same period of 3 months, we could not remember so much, suddenly infront on the road, an arrow shown turn right only, then in midst of listening to pax, head still thinking of covering rental, right still thinking of the road etc etc, one can almost miss his blind spot and on his signal. And bloody hell, I see so many luxury cars on the road never signal left or right, just turn like nobody business, got once I nearly had an accident with a mercedes, a brand new one too, I just tell the rich driver, you got a nice good, expensive car, and you yourself, a well groom rich and educated person, too bad, you forget to buy the left signal light.
for those luxury cars, their signal light button is just on the steering wheel, a fingertip away, buy so expensive and get high technology finger sensor steering wheel but never use??
Originally posted by bowah:for those luxury cars, their signal light button is just on the steering wheel, a fingertip away, buy so expensive and get high technology finger sensor steering wheel but never use??
why only talk about luxury cars instead of taxi leh? you mean all the taxi driver so guai all drive got signal arh? i seen so many cab drivers changing lane without signalling more than civillian cars or rather ur so call luxury cars. And some taxi driver AND i mean SOME also anyhow drive on the road , also nv say meh? sorry but i saw more td not driving properly more than civillian cars. =))
Originally posted by Resentment:
why only talk about luxury cars instead of taxi leh? you mean all the taxi driver so guai all drive got signal arh? i seen so many cab drivers changing lane without signalling more than civillian cars or rather ur so call luxury cars. And some taxi driver AND i mean SOME also anyhow drive on the road , also nv say meh? sorry but i saw more td not driving properly more than civillian cars. =))
hi, U come into a Taxi forum and u expect TDs to support you?
I think most have said it right, be it TDs or etc, put a man behind a wheel and some bad habits do come out. Be it road rage, tail-gating or etc.. This is quite common.
As a driver, we just have to be extra careful. And we all know TDs are on the road most times, and they only do sudden changes when the passengers ask or signals. And all earning living, can close one eye, close lor.
my two cents.
Precisely. Singaporeans are so agitated when someone made mistake.
To those who complain, if you have seen how the traffic in other major cities, you will appreciate ours is better.
If you have not, pls crawl out of the well.
Can Singaporean learn to give way?
See here how giving way works.
Originally posted by mancha:Can Singaporean learn to give way?
See here how giving way works.
Of course, all drivers have bad habits including me, but as I said earlier, for taxi driving, it is more on the job, meaning we drive to earn a living, for others civilian vehicle, they can be driving as leisure, to office, to meet a client, or like you, ferrying workers or staffs to and from work, the driving is less tense, more straightforward with a different mood as Taxi drivers, and again as I said earlier, our mind is more pre occupied with the pax, the destination , the calls, the traffic condition, the booking if any, the time factor, the fuel and the road direction. Therefore we may drive in a more tense condition comparing to others.
I formerly also drive lorries, it is tense and one way direction, up and down carrying soil and rubbish for $30 per trip, the most 3 trips only, and knowing that TDs are driving in a more stress mode, I will try to take more of them and also motorbikes. The same goes when I drive civilian car, I will keep a distance and be more wary of Taxis, knowing their bad habits and their on job demand. This is part of defensive driving.
Peoples use to say, taxis alway get into accident, why not? because taxis on the road is the most than any other vehicles, and also they are driving in a more stress mode, more so are those who are near the end of the shift, very tired.