Just now from CCK at around 11pm , on the way to Toh Tuck .
Near CCK Ave 1 , picked up a pax to Pasir Ris .
Ask him which route to take ?
Two choices ?
SLE > TPE
or
BKE > PIE .
He not sure .
I asked him : Which part of Pasir Ris ?
Pasir Ris St 21 .
I said ok ...... ( i have decided to go by BKE > PIE )
But i didn't know he quickly switch on his Map Apps on his Iphone .
And quickly told me : Map says SLE TPE nearer .
I replied ok , since he had faith with technology , i will follow , huat liao !!!
He later changed his mind : " But i trust you more , i never believe in applications ."
"U will go by your way ."
i did not have any arguments with him over choices of routes .
i learnt something today .....
Just maybe .
Maybe commuters , no doubt they have a map application on their smartphones .
I still believe , most still believe that cabby's choices of routes are always better than those on the applications .
i later explain to him why i chose BKE > PIE .
I said PIE once i turned into TPE , Loyang exit very quickly we will reached St 21 !!!
Unlike SLE .... we need to bypass so many Pasir Ris exit ! And St 21 , we have to use the last one !
I also add , i will use TPE , if he stay around St 71 ! Drive 10 side !
But you guys must be familiar with routes before u chose to override Map Applications .
Ah Pool brain 10 times faster n better than GPS....... :P
Originally posted by komade:Ah Pool brain 10 times faster n better than GPS....... :P
Ya somemore the map autoupdate one. Very fast no need wait for SLA release official map.
Originally posted by fermat:sigh … after reading mr. pool, dunno i can manage on my first day on the road. me going on super relief next week from monday evening to wednesday night. but like they say, there is always a first time for everything. anyway, have learnt many things after going through old threads here, thanks.
Nvm lar kenna a few times u knoe liao sometimes like me
after 2 yrs on the rd i can still make wrong turns once in awhile
GPS works in a way of grid coordination, it recognize towns base on the NSEW grid, so if you are going to Tampines from CCK, it recognise a northern grid, if you notice from smartphone, the time you key in tampines before u key in st 21, it already start searching tampines, and then follow by st 21, by searching tampines, which is consider it toward the north eastern side that coincide with CCK on a parallel lines, once it located tampines, then it went on to locate st 21 and that is when the road become longer. Tho GPS can be helpful to some newbies, it had olso become a tool for pax to counter us, which at times, I believe it is not fair to us, even we manage to go by the shortest road thru shortcuts and way we know it, some of these silly paxs counter us that we took the wrong road. And the arguement is their GPS screen against our words of knowledge.
Originally posted by Poolman:Just now from CCK at around 11pm , on the way to Toh Tuck .
Near CCK Ave 1 , picked up a pax to Pasir Ris .
Ask him which route to take ?
Two choices ?
SLE > TPE
or
BKE > PIE .
He not sure .
I asked him : Which part of Pasir Ris ?
Pasir Ris St 21 .
Gd sharing pool
GPS does not detect jams...
Certain information like accidents are also not shared via GPS... maybe next time will have a platform where ppl can share accidents, roadblock, jams etc etc...
Before entering the expressway, we usually see the black display on estimated minutes to different location. with the timing, you will roughly know got jam or no jam!
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:GPS does not detect jams...
Certain information like accidents are also not shared via GPS... maybe next time will have a platform where ppl can share accidents, roadblock, jams etc etc...
Just sharing,certain model of GPS that launched from 2009 do have live traffic feed.Anyway,a handphone will do the job for getting traffic info from LTA onemotoring website.For me,i always have the habit of update the traffic condition thru my handphone & radio at least till latest 2359 hrs.Sometimes a pax on board might know which is the best route from A to B,but if incident happen on the intended route but he or she knows nothing then he or she might expect delay.So is good to ask your cabby on board if he got any updates on the traffic info on your preferred route. As for midnight,normally the traffic condition is smooth unless incident happen.Probability also shows less traffic means less accident.
some gps cannot detect one way st or no entry...
also some gps dun know how to u-turn!
Originally posted by Khoon2580:some gps cannot detect one way st or no entry...
also some gps dun know how to u-turn!
Correct~~~~ Human brain still the best...... :P