Long story short. I had a confrontation with a fellow TD just now. Then I realise he smell of alcohol. So I call police and the TP arrested him. License sure revoke. Then some fellow TD who are around says I went over board. We are all fellow TD so must give chance. Now his rice bowl broken. So do you guys think I am wrong? Personally I hate people who drink and drive. Very irresponsible. Somemore a TD if drink and drive is also endangering lives of the pax.
Please feel free to comment. Thank you.
I think the crucial part is... did you warn him about his behavior and that you'll call police/TP if he continue such behavior?
If you never warn him then you never give him chance, then you're not just punishing him, but his family also. I don't want to judge you because what's done cannot be undone, but in the future, it's always nice to forgive and forget.
If you did warn him and his attitude is like, "go ahead call police lah i scared ah..."... then this kind of people deserves to be reported and go jail...
I believe in giving people chances and for them to repent but if their attitude doesn't seems like the type to repent, then it make sense for them to repent through the hard way...
you're right bro ... u are saving his life . U are doing his family a favour .
today he drank and survive , tmr he might not survive .
he died si mi rice bowl also dun have .
so what got rice bowl ? what rice bowl ?
at the first place , did he drink and think of his rice bowl ?
Earn rice bowl and drink away ?
What rice bowl ?
Do i made myself very clear ?
that has nothing to do with whatever behaviour one might have .
u drink & drive , u wrong . Full stop .
Nber drink n drive tats my principle
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:
Then some fellow TD who are around says I went over board. We are all fellow TD so must give chance.
If u drink n drive , get caught . . . . how many would give you a chance ?
Originally posted by Poolman:that has nothing to do with whatever behaviour one might have .
u drink & drive , u wrong . Full stop .
obviously i am not saying his behavior is correct... i am saying, being a better human is about forgiveness and allowing someone the chance to repent... you know in religion they say something about karma, you do harm to another person, someday the harm may come back to you... by then, you cry for forgivenss also too late, because you don't forgive others, when you're dying, they won't forgive you too... but i am sure some people are better human beings than that...
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
obviously i am not saying his behavior is correct... i am saying, being a better human is about forgiveness and allowing someone the chance to repent... you know in religion they say something about karma, you do harm to another person, someday the harm may come back to you... by then, you cry for forgivenss also too late, because you don't forgive others, when you're dying, they won't forgive you too... but i am sure some people are better human beings than that...
What hammer did is an act of a greater compassion. No point being compassionate and risk him being killed or worst still kill another person in an accident? By reporting him immediately is a greater act of compassion both for him and his family.
It is alright to be smelling of alcohol, provided you are not in control of a vehicle.
Being in control need not be driving, sitting in the vehicle, even on the passenger side, maybe also the backseat, not sure, is sufficient. Intoxicated and incharge of a vehicle is an offence. This include intoxicated and pushing, or sitting on a bike. Drink driving offence not easy to escape when kena caught.
Was the TD outside or inside the vehicle when the police arrive?
Anyway the TD knows the rules. If he infringed them. He is clearly at fault.
On your part, you gave the true facts. BUT the consequences pull your heart strings. What to do, you did no wrong.
Hope he just kena a warning.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
Eh, if drunken TD hit a pregnant mother or a sole family provider or a young kid, what will be the consequence?!
the drunken TD only get licence revoked, fine, wat abt the victim!?
Please do spout karma as drunk driving is killing people due to the drunk inability to NOT DRIVE when he/she is NOT suppose to
ACx
If he is driving and plying the road for business, then it is absolutely wrong. The limit for off duty only, a pint of beer, anything above that, is dangerous.
I understand your concern, a wise man will never argue with a drinker, cause they talk no sense. It is sad that he will get revoked, and if got young childrens, his family is going to suffer, but then, everyman must answer for his own deed.
For me, I would not say yes or no, it depend also on your friendship with him, how much you know him, what is the arguement about, is there a way to teach him instead of calling for police? These are all the question you have to answer yourself. At the end of the day, he may hv to go home and tell his kids and wife that he lost his taxi licence and job and it could be, like you said, a blessing in disguise that he is no more driving and the public is safe.
I think you are damn asshole. You just have to warn him. Smelling of alcohol does not mean drunk. You have to go all the way to call the police. There are many more criminal acts in Singapore for you to enforce. You know how many dangerous drivers there are on the road today? Why don't you go hunt them down and report police.The police don't even care nowadays, what makes you an authority now? There are so many small crimes here and everybody don't care but you suddenly hero?
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Long story short. I had a confrontation with a fellow TD just now. Then I realise he smell of alcohol. So I call police and the TP arrested him. License sure revoke. Then some fellow TD who are around says I went over board. We are all fellow TD so must give chance. Now his rice bowl broken. So do you guys think I am wrong? Personally I hate people who drink and drive. Very irresponsible. Somemore a TD if drink and drive is also endangering lives of the pax.
Please feel free to comment. Thank you.
Well if you called on him because of drink driving you didn't do anything wrong because he is endangering the lives of ppl around him and his own.
However, I hope it's not out of "revenge" due to the confrontation you had with him earlier.
wah...this kind of topic can almost ask in the religious section sia. ![]()
I think you should have talk to the driver first and see how they respond. Maybe they already sit there want-to-go/don't-want-to-go and if u talk, then pursuade them to relack for awhile. Or maybe they spill whisky on shirt and ba-wu srong stong. Dunno....many possibilities. Asking/talking first no harm right?
Anyway, what u did is not totally wrong either so no need to sianz over it now it's done. It's the intention that u had that counts.
I wondering if this TD is off duties or going to change shift and so hv a few drink, and I agree with Atake, actually there are lots of drinking drivers, you can see the 7th month celebration full of cars, all these drivers drink alot, but not to totally drunk like CQ type, then drive home.
On the other hand, the TD can be having some problem or getting depressed by personal problem, and you might be just there to add on further problem for him.
Originally posted by Atake:I think you are damn asshole. You just have to warn him. Smelling of alcohol does not mean drunk. You have to go all the way to call the police. There are many more criminal acts in Singapore for you to enforce. You know how many dangerous drivers there are on the road today? Why don't you go hunt them down and report police.The police don't even care nowadays, what makes you an authority now? There are so many small crimes here and everybody don't care but you suddenly hero?
Me asshole? F you understand. If I dun see small crimes being committed how I call the police? KNN you buay song issit? Come put time and place lah let me meet you personally and F you upside down. Dun dare put time and place then you are just another $@(@^#&$ HUM JI KIA so F off...
Originally posted by michaelhuat:TS you said long story short. I think this case is serious enough you should tell the whole long story.
for me, if the other party gets physical with me, my pax or my car, then i will go all the way, he deserve it.
but if its just argument and you went this far, then yes, you seems a bit too much. you practically destroyed his last rice bowl.
but at least you could have save his and others lifes. this thing is like the old army war story. would you saw off a man’s legs to save his life?
Actually the confrontation got nothing to do with him drunk driving. Just that during confrontation I know he is drunk. From his behaviour and action. He is clearly unable to control his vehicle. Even if he off duty I doubt he will be able to drive home.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:I think the crucial part is... did you warn him about his behavior and that you'll call police/TP if he continue such behavior?
If you never warn him then you never give him chance, then you're not just punishing him, but his family also. I don't want to judge you because what's done cannot be undone, but in the future, it's always nice to forgive and forget.
If you did warn him and his attitude is like, "go ahead call police lah i scared ah..."... then this kind of people deserves to be reported and go jail...
I believe in giving people chances and for them to repent but if their attitude doesn't seems like the type to repent, then it make sense for them to repent through the hard way...
Ya that is exactly what happen. I ask him to park his taxi one side and go home in another cab. He dun listen then I tell him I call the police and that is almost exactly what he said! " Call police lah I not scared!" So I call loh.
I think call Taxi company to complain better.
BTW I seen alot already. TD drive and drive after shift. Is it because police road block usually they dun stop taxi? So far I encounter so many road block with or without pax they dun stop me. Why ah?
Actually what happened in the confrontation that make me hot is the other TD is of other race. He KNN me about "curry" incident because I am chinese. But that is a different type of chinese I told him. I myself love curry especially his race. I am a regular patrons of Sammi's, Muthu's curry and I will be so happy if my neighbour were to cook them everyday. So what my ancestor is from China? Knn right? But understand he is veru drunk liao so anyhow talk rubbish. But again as I said there is no hidden agenda and calling the police if not I want to revenge or he taunt me to do so. Just that I really cannot stand people who drink and drive. Very irresponsible. Period...