He not cheapo lah. One day u need cab yourself then u understand. My wife paid him $20 for a 10 min ride home. Not that the cabby asked for it. He never even asked for extra. This is a very helpful cabby. Dun say cheapo please. He is a very steady and relaxed driver. Those blue yellow who interviewed and refused me on the other hand looked very worried about getting into trouble with LTA.
Originally posted by darkbeauty:
it seems like i am not alone when i saw this post since some time ago, even when i put busy or hand sign no thank you, i still have pax opening door and offering to pay special to certain places. sometime its the male partner of a couple, sometimes its a lady, but mostly foreigners, locals very few. some of the usual is like $20 to LPS or club st or amara, or CQ or mandarin or hilton. some of the highest i ever came across is like $40 to airport after peak hours. some others will ask for a price. i think this is quite common in other countries, maybe asia. at first i quite paiseh. dont know how to say. then after those other offers i start to have an idea where is how much value. until now quite a few times if the pax will accept, we will get there they will pay up no problem. some of them still smiling and happy like fark. i thinking this is just like normal business practice just simple market supply and demand, whats wrong if willing buyer willing seller what. secretly i still waiting the $50 durian drop, i wonder what will it be like :)
You are threading along a dangerous and unhealthy path here.
Dangerous, as many others have pointed out here, and also inhealthy because you'd think that this is common and will expect to get such "deals" again, which is not the case.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:1 adult and 1 kid in front. 3 more adults plus kid number 2 behind. This fire engine cabby broke many LTA laws to help me. That is why I like him.
F1 my friend, please do yourself and other cabby a favour, take two cabs even though I know it is very short distance to your place.
You know very well what will happen to him if he get caught, and worse still what happened if you get accident?
BTW, long time never hear from you, I need some help from you leh :)
actually we allowed to charge flat fare for trips if mutually agreed by pax and TD... regulatiion never say cannot...
smrt meter can key in fix fare... not sure about the others...
during khoon TVDL... instructor say can... some taxi company even have guidelines on how much to charge per hour...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:actually we allowed to charge flat fare for trips if mutually agreed by pax and TD... regulatiion never say cannot...
during khoon TVDL... instructor say can... some taxi company even have guidelines on how much to charge per hour...
Khoon, please share with us your instructor name. It may become handy if we need to meet LTA one day. :)
Originally posted by WizQ:Khoon, please share with us your instructor name. It may become handy if we need to meet LTA one day. :)
Guess beside Japan, we here in singapore have the best taxi fare system, very transparent and yet well honored by all. You guys want to mess it up, by all means, then you will end up like those 3rd world cities, or even our nearest JB, before every boarding, you hv to negotiate and end up giving yrself a bad name.
Let us not go into any kind of flat rate practices, it will only makes us a fool and cheapsake, dangling a $50 like a carrot and we become the rabbit hopping on it, then end up this ang mos or foreigners laughing at us in their drinking session. Someone would had taught him to wave that $50, cos they know beggars will come. Foreigners or FTs willingness to paid higher price is also because to them, our fare is cheapsake comparing with 1st world Taxis. And as the disparity of the rich and poor widened, you can see 2 types of paxs, one that is so careful with the road and fares, the other can even give you tips or negotiate a flat rate with you.
We should take pride in our decent job, tips is acceptable, but not a flat rate fares. When we do thing, we need to take a bigger look before doing it, the so called marco view or eagle view, you get a better picture of what you are doing is right or wrong, if you just look at it individually at a micro view, then you are doing the whole taxi industrial less favourable.
Originally posted by Khoon2580:actually we allowed to charge flat fare for trips if mutually agreed by pax and TD... regulatiion never say cannot...
Khoon, during your lesson, i think you were khooning, then you dreamt that the instructor say can....haha
Reasonable to say if both party agree , normal taxi can also charge a flat fare .
No need follow meter , but meter must be ON when commuting paxes .
Originally posted by Cash Lee:Khoon, during your lesson, i think you were khooning, then you dreamt that the instructor say can....haha
I agreed with Khoon. He didn't 'koon'. Yes, we can do that. My instructor too said the same thing. In fact, I have done many times liow. no big deal
Ang moh business man always give tips. Meter show $18.50.
Paid by visa. angmoh said: "Make it $20".
If not, you knw why some red drivers always like angmoh business men?
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:I agreed with Khoon. He didn't 'koon'. Yes, we can do that. My instructor too said the same thing. In fact, I have done many times liow. no big deal
khoon never koon leh... the instructor even showed us how to key flat fare on the smrt taxi meter...
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:Ang moh business man always give tips. Meter show $18.50.
Paid by visa. angmoh said: "Make it $20".
today khoon also kenan one pax fare $18.20... ask to key $20 via visa... hee hee...
As long as it's not the TD who ask for the fare, it's legal to collect flat fare. Comfort also can.
Originally posted by Insg:no prob, ur usual spot nobody q one, very quiet one, except u & me.
Plus me mah~~~ ;)
gd place to tok cock rest n relax~~~
next time i buy some small snacks n kopi we relax there ~~~~
Originally posted by Insg:As long as it's not the TD who ask for the fare, it's legal to collect flat fare. Comfort also can.
Correct as long its pax offer notin wrong with it
Originally posted by ALN:last time got ang moh flag ALN with a $50 note…
ALN on-call so never take…
now think liao, heart very pain… hahaha
must "see open"...
few times khoon give way to other taxis... end up become give up pax too... but "see open" jiu nothing lor...
Originally posted by ALN:but take so much… ALN a bit pai seh leh…
haha
knn ALN will pai seh 1 meh?? PHUI!!! :P
Originally posted by Khoon2580:must "see open"...
few times khoon give way to other taxis... end up become give up pax too... but "see open" jiu nothing lor...
yah drive cab muz "kua kui" if not u drive not happy
ur income also will go down with ur mood.........
Originally posted by Khoon2580:must "see open"...
See open!, yes, beside that, I also see low cut and open type on the road.
Guess we should take tips and flat rate as a different issue here, flat rates is consider a one time off offer by pax or TD, it is consider touting under the law. Tips is different, it is an offer for your service between you and the pax transaction issue.
The issue is, if everyone is to take flat rates, then we are kiling our own industrial, and pax will be complaining here and there and some even may laugh at us because we can be easily bought over by a piece of blue bill. Of course for individual self thought, a $50 dangling is a good income, but learn to thinking the big picture, out of the box, once you are able to step out of the box, look at it from view outside your cab, you can see what you are doing can be harmful to the taxi industrial in a long run, of course, LTA or whatever Tp is not going to bother about you picking up a dangling $50 pax, it is you, your responsibility to uphold your profession. If that is the case, not long, you will see paxs dangling money on the road for taxis. The highest take it all.
Originally posted by bowah:Guess we should take tips and flat rate as a different issue here, flat rates is consider a one time off offer by pax or TD, it is consider touting under the law. Tips is different, it is an offer for your service between you and the pax transaction issue.
The issue is, if everyone is to take flat rates, then we are kiling our own industrial, and pax will be complaining here and there and some even may laugh at us because we can be easily bought over by a piece of blue bill. Of course for individual self thought, a $50 dangling is a good income, but learn to thinking the big picture, out of the box, once you are able to step out of the box, look at it from view outside your cab, you can see what you are doing can be harmful to the taxi industrial in a long run, of course, LTA or whatever Tp is not going to bother about you picking up a dangling $50 pax, it is you, your responsibility to uphold your profession. If that is the case, not long, you will see paxs dangling money on the road for taxis. The highest take it all.
yah bro can all the low cut n open cut types........ :P
Originally posted by bowah:Guess we should take tips and flat rate as a different issue here, flat rates is consider a one time off offer by pax or TD, it is consider touting under the law. Tips is different, it is an offer for your service between you and the pax transaction issue.
well said.
regardless what other TD does, as long as we ply by the rules and regulations, won't go wrong.