At last , someone here knows wad taxi driving is about.
hmmm people with certs , here got
Degree holder
Diploma holder
PHD holder
My personal frd has a dip in EEE , served in army as an officer ( means got leadership quality)
But all holding steering wheel
why? i also dunno
Its a heavy price to pay to decide to be a TD. Becos u have a choice right?
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:At last , someone here knows wad taxi driving is about.
Finally a kaki who think like us.
Originally posted by Storeman Chua:Hi everyone,
Had been awhile since I logged in.
Thanks bro poolman for introducing his friends for me to take over this wish for 10 days.
Today the wish went dead on terminal 1 and therefore now writing here on my iPhone while waiting for the cab to be repair. I would like to share my thoughts with everyone and especially the newbie wannabe.
There are sure money to be made driving taxi but it will never be any professional first choice of job. Super relief is very great in demand and you pay lesser rental and most important is no commitment. And here why driving should not be the first choice of people with certs;
1. You will be starting your day at 6am to start picking people up. Failure to do so will result missing out on the golden period.
2. You will end your day after 10pm. That mean that you will not be able to eat dinner and spend quality time with your family.
3. You will feel very demoralize as you can see other professional boarding your cab and realize that you miss the feeling being able to knock off after 5 or 6.
4. You can earn the same amount with lesser time. And there is a limit on how much.
5. You will start your meal at a very different time. Resulting in some health problem if this were to continue.
6. Your brain will start to deteriorate as driving a cab is all about experience and discipline.Of the above, I think the main reason why you should consider cab driving when you are jobsless is that; Your children
But I think most of the fellow drivers are very friendly and helpful. Did make a lot of friends here though…
Kudos to Storeman Chua. Your pointers are well summarized. Better than phd taxi diary and unker poolie taxi heaven and earth also can huat huat huat huat.
how come never see the word happy ?
cabby should be the happy lot .....
still driving taxi will be better than becoming a URA/ HDB car park attendant , pizzas despatch rider , couriers service , mcdonalds , storemen , warehouse keeper , shipyard welders etc . . .
Of course cannot compare to bankers , financial controllers etc .....
what you see , what u get .
The two words still applies to me everyday i start driving a cab : Being Happy .
Cos i am just an O level , can go how far i know .
Just being realistic .
I went into taxi at the age of 30 .
Believe me , i foreseen i cannot get a job , cos i forenseen our government will chute pattern everyday , how am i right ?
11 years down the road . Experience became my advantage .
Imagine i kept dreaming to find a USD5000 job until 40 ? I died liao .....
If you ask me does driving a cab made me wiser ?
I would say a BIG YES .
Different people different thinking .
Without driving a cab , there will be no Poolman .
Still that two wonderful words : Being Happy .
If i still stick to my previous $1380 per month job almost 11 years ago ....
I believe i would have struggled until today , not that earning $3000 a month as a cabby can make me a millionaire .
Just that just good enough for my simple lifestyle .
It's still depends on what you need .
If u need $4000 to finance just your credit cards repayment monthly , u'll became a very sad cabby .
If you need to buy Louis Vuitton , Gorgio Armani , etc posh products , driving a cab can kill you .
Cos taxi driving can never fulfill that ambitions .
If one has got the the ultimate ambition of buying a Condo driving a cab , he eventually will be a slave to the condo .
Even driving a cab can never be able to even finance a simple HDB flat .
It's what you need ....
sorry to bring up HammerHammer my friend ...
i know now ... why he chose to drive a cab .
cos for his present lifestyle , cabby is just nice for him .
It's a secret between him and myself ....
but seriously i do not approve someone with a Master and above degree to even thinking about driving a cab .
A waste of resources .
Singapore needs you .
Whatever one might be thinking ..... degree still a degree .
if Poolman is a degree holder , i would have been a high flyer .
Hahahahahah ....
i've got many friends in this trade ....
I talked to many .....
Whatever back ground they had , whatever reason they had joining this trade .... one thing they all have in common .... most have the desire and hunger to earn more money than they have before .
Whichever method ......
And mind you , many has got brains , very clever people .
at the end of the passage way .....
it's what u can deliver , whether or not it's good or super good , the quality life for your family .
Your family will be your ultimate motivation as a cabby .
It's even better if they accept your choice of work .
It's the FAMILY VALUES ......
Like to carry on ....
Does taxi driving good for Komade ... now ? I think so .
Does working in the navy allows him to go holiday in HCMC once every two months ? He would have be sacked by the Navy then .
Does working as a cabby good for people like taxinoobs ? I think so .... every monday holiday ... or even Tuesday .
It's what u want in life .
If u want to stay in a condo , drive a BMW , wallets with plenty of credit cards , weekends go Latitude or MBS see night view ...... every school holiday go holiday with family. U are going to be very disappointed as a cabby .
Cos being a cabby just can never delivers that !!!!
If one has heard driving a cab can get $10000 a month for every driver , on the road there shouldn't be anymore taxi drivers .
Hit $3000 rest for the rest of the month .
Obviously if one has to get $10k a month , he must be bloody hell in debt .
And die young .
My opinion .
Originally posted by Poolman:sorry to bring up HammerHammer my friend ...
i know now ... why he chose to drive a cab .
cos for his present lifestyle , cabby is just nice for him .
It's a secret between him and myself ....
No secret lah. I just born lucky. I only child, my father died when I young. I buy flat cheap cheap early, stay with mother and rent out my house and redeem my loan. No need CPF to finance house so quite my stupid job. Like that loh..![]()
Not everybody who wants to earn 10K a month is in debt. There are many gamblers among taxi drivers but I am not one of them. Used to play online casinos but the I stopped after a while because it was not enjoyable at all. Not that I lost money and lost interest. It is just that gambling is not in my genes, just like I dun smoke and drink. Tried before but never got any kick out of it whether win or lose.
There are cabbies with Alfred dunhill belts and wallets. Even wear a 10K Rolex watch. If u dont gamble and play with women, sure can buy one.
Some cabbies run business outside which bring in the real dough and drive to pass time and earn pocket money and to have a car but not having to own one.
Originally posted by Poolman:If i still stick to my previous $1380 per month job almost 11 years ago ....
I believe i would have struggled until today , not that earning $3000 a month as a cabby can make me a millionaire .
Just that just good enough for my simple lifestyle .
It's still depends on what you need .
If u need $4000 to finance just your credit cards repayment monthly , u'll became a very sad cabby .
If you need to buy Louis Vuitton , Gorgio Armani , etc posh products , driving a cab can kill you .
Cos taxi driving can never fulfill that ambitions .
If one has got the the ultimate ambition of buying a Condo driving a cab , he eventually will be a slave to the condo .
Even driving a cab can never be able to even finance a simple HDB flat .
It's what you need ....
Well, that's really your simple lifestyle to make so much and be so happy..
Good for you.
11 long years on the road and still counting but you can only think cabbies cannot afford branded goods?
It will kill them to hanker after branded goods?
You really have not seen what some cabbies are wearing.
Or maybe you really do not recognise the brands.
Originally posted by Storeman Chua:Hi everyone,
Had been awhile since I logged in.
Thanks bro poolman for introducing his friends for me to take over this wish for 10 days.
Today the wish went dead on terminal 1 and therefore now writing here on my iPhone while waiting for the cab to be repair. I would like to share my thoughts with everyone and especially the newbie wannabe.
There are sure money to be made driving taxi but it will never be any professional first choice of job. Super relief is very great in demand and you pay lesser rental and most important is no commitment. And here why driving should not be the first choice of people with certs;
1. You will be starting your day at 6am to start picking people up. Failure to do so will result missing out on the golden period.
2. You will end your day after 10pm. That mean that you will not be able to eat dinner and spend quality time with your family.
3. You will feel very demoralize as you can see other professional boarding your cab and realize that you miss the feeling being able to knock off after 5 or 6.
4. You can earn the same amount with lesser time. And there is a limit on how much.
5. You will start your meal at a very different time. Resulting in some health problem if this were to continue.
6. Your brain will start to deteriorate as driving a cab is all about experience and discipline.Of the above, I think the main reason why you should consider cab driving when you are jobsless is that; Your children
But I think most of the fellow drivers are very friendly and helpful. Did make a lot of friends here though…
Not everyone can be a TD.
Cheers.......
talked nonsense
Not kill that will die type of kill .
Storeman Chua , Harris is a wonderful guy .
I knew both him and his brother .
We all Western Singaporean .
He has got one of the best character among my taxi kakis .
Quiet , discipline , hardworking .
He is the best person u can learn the trade from .
His attitude is second to non knn .....
One thing i like about him , he is never picky to where pax's want to go . No nonsense fellow .
Not picky like me , or picky like most of us .
I salute him , that is why i help him find someone to sort out his medical leaves .
but he dunno who is Poolman , what is sgforums . So dun mentioned that to him , he blur blur one , hahahahah .
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Not everybody who wants to earn 10K a month is in debt. There are many gamblers among taxi drivers but I am not one of them. Used to play online casinos but the I stopped after a while because it was not enjoyable at all. Not that I lost money and lost interest. It is just that gambling is not in my genes, just like I dun smoke and drink. Tried before but never got any kick out of it whether win or lose.
There are cabbies with Alfred dunhill belts and wallets. Even wear a 10K Rolex watch. If u dont gamble and play with women, sure can buy one.
Some cabbies run business outside which bring in the real dough and drive to pass time and earn pocket money and to have a car but not having to own one.
Many TDs earn very decent income and they can afford those luxury goods.
But I know of many who unwisely use their hard earned $$$ to feed their gambling, cigarettes, drinking and spend $$$ on girls.