One year into the job and I still cannot memorize those in Sengkang and Hougang... Most of the time, if I have to go these places, it's automatically referring to GPS liao.
Most town Ave 1,3,5 runs parallel and perpendicular to 2,4,6 etc. Street 11 will be block 100++ Street 21 200++. For Woodlands simple if Street XX will be on Marsiling MRT side Drive XX will be on Admiralty MRT side with reference of Causeway Point in the middle. Sengkang Anchorvale is 100++ Compassvale is 200++ Rivervale 300++ Fernvale 400++. Punggol still small so easy only 3 main road Punngol Field, Central, Drive parallel to TPE. If you not sure ask the pax which part of Ave X you want to go? And they will tell you near Ave X side or near some landmark. If still not sure ask pax guide you.
Actually no need memorise. If you are well travelled then will automatically know the place after you been there few time. It is more difficult to know how to get to the place then to know where is the place.
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:One year into the job and I still cannot memorize those in Sengkang and Hougang... Most of the time, if I have to go these places, it's automatically referring to GPS liao.
I also drive 1 year plus but lucky prior to that I been driving for 15 years and I have friends all over the island so I run around alot sending them home of meet them kopi so I know most places well before I start to drive taxi.
Originally posted by uaskforit:I m refering to those in the town of Tampines,Sengkang,Simei,Hougang,Bedok,Woodlands,Yishu
It is so confusing to remember the exact location like Bedok North Ave 1, 2 3
then there is Bedok South Ave 1,2and Bedok North Str 1,2,3then come str 21,32,71,72,74, 91, 51 etc of the so many town.
Next u must know Hougang is connected to AMK and Sengkang,Tampines is to Simei,etc.
The ONLY and HARD way is to MEMORISE ?
Learn by driving.
Originally posted by TaxiNoob:One year into the job and I still cannot memorize those in Sengkang and Hougang... Most of the time, if I have to go these places, it's automatically referring to GPS liao.
Until now "Mountian cough" i still very confuse.
Originally posted by Cash Lee:Until now "Mountian cough" i still very confuse.
what is mountain cough?
Originally posted by service_238:I learnt thru the bus routes plying in the estate.
Tampines
Blk 100+ is St 11/12, nearest to PIE. Cluster is MRT Line, PIE, Ave 5/4
Blk 200+ is St 21/22/23, north of Ave 2. The whole cluster bordering MRT Line, Ave 2/7/4
Blk 300+ is St 31/32/33 behind Esso/Ngee Ann Sec, nearest to PIE/TPE. The whole cluster bordering Ave 7/2/St 31/PIE/TPE
Blk 400+ is St 41/42/43/44/45, the whole Tampines North. Ave 7 below, Ave 9 on top.
Blk 500+ is at Tampines Central
Blk 600+... eh dont have!
Blk 700+ is at the north west side of Tampines, side nearest to IKEA. Ave 9 on top, Ave 5 below.
Blk 800+ is almost the whole Tampines West. Ave 5/8/1/4 borders these blocks
Blk 900+ is the small cluster of blocks opposite SAFRA, HDB blocks only at St 91. St 92/93 is ITE and industrial area. bounded by Ave 4/5/1
Once u zone these 8 places out, then how each St is aligned as well as the order of the numbering in each area.
Sengkang
Rivervale = 100+. Right side Sengkang East Drive, left side Punggol Rd
Compassvale = 200+. Right side Punggol Rd, left side Sengkang East Rd
Anchorvale = 300+. Right side Sengkagn East Rd, left side Sungei Punggol
Fernvale = 400+. Right side Sungei Punggol, left side Jln Kayu.
Once u zone these 4 places out, then learn the small roads as well as the order of the numbering in each area.
Simei
Simei ah.. small place la.. St 1 on top, St 3 at the bottom. but got Blk 100+ and 200+.. 200+ only 2 clusters - 1 nearest the MRT, 2 is at St 4.
Hougang
Hougang... big place leh! 100 200+ at Kovan area - Chan Shao Mao area
2 digit, 300+ & 700+ is at Yaw Shin Leong area.
400+ is near Hougang MRT/Mall & Punggol Park west side is Ave 6, anything west side is 500+ until Ave 4/St 51
600+ big area.. main Rd Ave 4 & Ave 8
800+ is the Hougang MRT area
900+ is where Ave 9/Buangkok Green/Cres
Big estate and tricky. But mostly main road is the Avenues so wont go wrong..
Bedok
Bedok South & North 2 different places. Got double digits, and 100+ duplicates in these 2 zones. Get them right.
Bedok South double digits occupy most of the estate, the 100+ is nearer to Upp east coast rd & south ave 3
Bedok North double digits and 100+ is on the east side of Bedok North where North St 2, North Ave 4 and North Rd are. West most rd is North Ave 3.
200+ is Bedok town centre. Wont go wrong.
300+... dont have!
400+ is the area enclosed by North Rd, North Ave 3, North St 1 and North Ave 1. Damn small area. wont go wrong also.
500+ is bascially where bus 225 goes. the whole St 3 area is there. Enter via North Ave 1 or North Ave 2.
600+ is at Bedok Reservoir west side. borders Kaki Bt Ave 1, bedok North Rd, PIE, Eunos Link.
But hor got cluster of 100+ at Bedok Reservoir also. wah headache ah. got Blks 101-151 at Bedok Reservoir, Blks 100-140 at Bedok North, Blks 156-172 at Bedok South.
700+ is at Bedok Reservoir above Bedok Town Park. wont go wrong here. Remember Sheng Shiong? there.
800+ 900+ dont have
Woodlands
Big is big ah but ah wood can be done.
double digits are at Marsiling estate. Or if u feel u are in malaysia, you are in marsiling. Marsiling has 200+ blocks from 201-218. not all are double digits
100+ are nearer to Marsiling MRT, but north of Marsiling MRT. St 11/12/13
200+... have.. only 18 blocks in Marsiling estate.
300+ is south of Marsiling MRT. got St 31/32
400+ is one small cluster, south of Marsiling MRT, nearest to BKE and the American School. Just find St 41 and all the blocks are there.
500+ is ALL blocks south of Ave 5, south east of Woodlands MRT/Causeway Pt. got Dr 14/43/44/16 here.
600+ is ALL blocks south of Admiralty MRT, east of Ave 4, and north of Ave 5. Got Dr 42/62/63/64/71/75/Ring Rd. Tricky cluster here so always ask if its near 3M, Greenwood Pri, Woodlands NPC, or Woodlands Ring Pri.
700+ is ALL blosk north of Admiarlty MRT, east of Ave 4, south of Ave 9. Got Dr 40/60/61/70/72/Circle/Cres. Tricky cluster if go by the Drive number. Just ask if its near Admiralty Sec, Admiralty Pri, Evergreen Pri or Woodlands Mart.
800+ is all blocks bordered by Ave 9, Ave 4, Ave 5, Ave 2. 890+ is south of the MRT line, the rest on the north side. South side only Dr 50. North side St 81/82/83.
900+ dont have/
Yishun
Another master town to be mastered. Ring Rd makes u blur only.
The oldest part of Yishun is at Chong Pang. So naturally 100+ starts there. The whole north west Yishun bordered by Ave 7/2/5/Sembawang Rd is 100+. Got St 11 only
200+ is North East Yishun, bordered by Ave 2/7/6/9/Ctrl. Got St 20/21/22
300+ is Central East Yishun, must use Yishun Ctrl or Ave 1 to get there (other than Ring Rd la duh!) lower 300+ is nearer to Yishun Town Centre, further ones are along Ring Rd/Ave 6
400+ is at Far East Yishun. Access from Ave 1/11
500+... dont have
600+ is Central South East Yishun. Access from Yishun Ctrl/Ave 4/Ring Rd. Got St 61 there
700+ is West Yishun. North is Ave 5, East is Ave 2, south is Ave 3/Ring Rd, west is Sembawang Rd. Got St 71/72 which mainly serves the lower 700+. higher 700+ is via Ave 3/Ring Rd
800+ is South East Yishun. lower 800+ is next to Khatib MRT, the rest opposite khatib MRT. Access from St 81/Ave 1/4/Ring Rd.
900+ is town centre
Detailed enough? or still hard to picture and understand?
What about TPL area? i don't know where and like to bump into this chic leh.
what's the problem ?
Singapore so small , very hard meh ?
But honestly speaking , since i joined lake view , i forgotten many parts of Singapore , hahahahahah /.
no lar , skills already there .
knowledge also there .
Just worry new buildings completion until i dunno .
That day MBS Financial Centre got a job from one hotel to Tampines picked up his girlfriend , then go back Simei .
"Uncle , Tampines Concourse ."
I asked : "Hmm , it's a building , is it ."
KNN hahahahahahh .
Then reach Tampines , then know Tampines Concourse is a road , wtf , right ?
New building new roads until i dunno .
Can you imagine how long i never go to Tampines Central area ?
This type of knowledge can only accumulate more if u do OJT more .
Like woodlands , go a few times , u'll know better .
Like Yishun , go a few times , cruise around , u learnt bits by bits .
GPS ? Fuck lar , go and explore on the spot then u'll learn more .
i've got a former LV junior , these place dun go , that place dun go , only go Airport , cos only know the way to AP , how to survive ? Eat grass ar like that .
Scared go here , scared go there ..... then nothing to learnt , drive what taxi ?
Fuck la , i dun need a GPS , my GPS inside my head .
No need update .
And also GPS will bring me nowhere .
Work from the basic .
Explore on the spot , work miracle that way .
Originally posted by Poolman:Fuck la , i dun need a GPS , my GPS inside my head .
No need update .
Work from the basic .
That day you ask member TPY 177 at where right?...I think your GPS is Lake View GPS lah. Only know how to go few places nia...Alot of places delete already right!!!..LOL![]()
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:That day you ask member TPY 177 at where right?...I think your GPS is Lake View GPS lah. Only know how to go few places nia...Alot of places delete already right!!!..LOL
Yah took up too much memory ....
Originally posted by Poolman:Fuck la , i dun need a GPS , my GPS inside my head .
No need update .
Work from the basic .
phui la your GPS also idle programming one hahahahaha
Originally posted by JLKL:what is mountain cough?
mountain cough in malay is bukit batok. hahaha.......
Originally posted by Cash Lee:mountain cough in malay is bukit batok. hahaha.......
bro, you want to smoke people arh?
cough is BATUK
BATOK is coconut shell leh.
Dun flame me, GOOGLE say one. like that loh.
Bukit Panjang translate into English = Long Hill or High Hill ..... but where the fuck the those Hills ??????
Sometimes was wondering are they saying Bukit Timah Hill ?
Just drive and learn, everyday is a learning journey, learn abt location, abt communicating with different peoples, abt driving skills, and so on.
For location, if I do not know, I will ask pax, if pax also not sure, then use my smarthphone to locate, then on meter and move off, on reaching, mark and note down the location, later go home, study it, it will go direct into your memory because you had been to this place. Then study the road surrounding this location, ask yourself what other option I can take to this destination.
By reading and memorising location can be quiet taxing, furthermore, you only lean it by theory, you could had memorised woodland drive 40, but once you turn into Ave 12, you go blank, then you make a wrong turn and pax start to flare up, that time you start to say, i remember this and that, pax would had scolded you deep deep.
Do not get excited and be scare of location, no doubt singapore is small, the the road mass per sq km is one of the world most congested, if you go malaysia or other places, they just got a few straight roads and one main road, singapore is full of it, three main road crisscrossing each others and within, many small lanes and roads inside a km sq. So, i understand that it is not easy, and we are usually get block by HDB or other tall buildings unlike other countries with a low flat landscape which you can pin point and see the location.
By order of learning, the location that i went wrongly and scolded by pax is usually the one I will never forget. Knn, this shows we need to learn the hard way
Originally posted by Cash Lee:mountain cough in malay is bukit batok. hahaha.......
bukit batok me oso blur one.. but hor, everytime agar agar, still can find lah... got once, a young lady board my cab say want go bukit batok, i told her i agar agar, she question me, say "you drive cng taxis, you duno bukit batok?".. i say "paisay hor, i dun use bukit batok pump hor, me go sgn nth cng", she buay tahan... haha...
Originally posted by Uncle Cabby:as a TD, u wil definitely go 2 every corners of Spore at least 100x when u have drived for 4 a few years….......
unless u like 2 pick n choose locations…..........
after going 2 a SAME place few hundred times, DUN tel me u stil blur blur ?
Yes Toa Payoh i still cannot make it ... if one fine day one pax asked : " Uncle Toa Payoh Blk 69 ....."
I will probably "Errrrrrrrrrrr............."
Cos Toa Payoh doesn't have any formula to remember .
Unlike AMK , St 21 , means Blk 200+ . St 31 means Blk 300+
Toa Payoh ? Fuck lar .... Blk 59 ? Where ?
I usually will tell pax i dun no where the block , unless they can provide me Lorong ..... not even near AMK Hub or whatever .
No Lor , pls take another taxi .
Because if u don't say at the first place , pax will think u go Lor 1 round and round again , cheating them money .
By the time u say u dunno , they will say why not at the first place say so , if can they will take another taxi .
So we clever a bit , say first , up to them to take .
Anyway , anywhere to Toa Payoh , taxi fare no big deal , can forgo one .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Yah took up too much memory ....
knn memory all taken up by those "bicycles" liao........ :P