On 24 Sept 11, I picked up a taxi booking call from MBS hotel Tower. Along the way at Marina Boulevard, I saw a lot of zombies walking and flagging but no taxis in sight. At 512am, a male in his twenties with his female companion boarded my cab at MBS. I dropped the lady first at Elizabeth towers condo near Mt Elizabeth hospital. The guy going to lavender, I started to go towards Orchard then via Serrangoon to Lavender, when the guy reminded me to go by CTE and exit via Moulmein, I said not very sure leh but make a U-turn to CTE anyway.
On the way, he started to question me why I do not know the way and did my company send me to go for any course before started to drive a cab. I said I have recommended a route to Lavender via Serangoon road and just that not all taxi drivers know the best routes to take at a given location. He went on to give sarcastic remarks like if you do not know the way, how are you going to fetch customers to their destination. I said I've already recommended a
different route.
He also said something like: What happens if you have customers like me who don't bother to tell you which way to go to their destination, I said: Oh, I've never met such a person like you before". From here, he started to give problems. He kept giving sarcastic remarks but I kept quiet until he said:" I pay you money and expected you to know all the routes well and bring me to my destination". Then I blurted out: Your money is big fucxx is it? After that he accused me on using vulgar
language on him and then started to call my taxi company a few times, accusing me of threatening him, abusing and using vulgar language on him, and also he feel threatened, and demand a explanation from them latest by the next day. He also called the polce and repeated the same blown up issues to the police and call the police to come when I stopped at the exit at Moulenmein.
I also said that "the police will not entertain you". Who will have thought that this
idiot blown the issues out of proportion by exaggerating that his life is threatened, and he felt threatened, when I have not even touch him or use any threatening words. A small argument can become a life threatening issues blown up by that idiot so that the police will come to help him to save face. What a moron can think of to waste police resources. He even mentioned that he is a professional and "I know the Law, ok".
I then asked him : "Did I ever point a knife at you". When he says he feel threatened. I aslo asked him to F.O. from my cab, after which later he asked me what is F.O. and I said Fucxx off. He repeatley said that he wanted to ask his lawyer to sue me or file a civil suit. While waiting, I have asked him that I just wanted to apologise and move on, thinking that its not because I was wrong but to let him win, and close the issues fast, but he insisted a written apology and attached it to be sent to comfort also. I was thinking this guy is really asking too much.While waiting for the police to arrive, I kept saying that "you are really wasting my time."
I also said that I will countersue him from my lawyers.I refused to accept his fare I said that is was unfair to do so as the meter was running while stationary and waiting for a very long time, and also I did not bring him to his destination. He insisted to pay me as he said money is not the issue here and even boasted that he will gladly pay up even if the fare is a few hundred dollars. (telling me you are rich?). I still refused his fare and also refused to print a receipt for him ($36+), as I did not collect any fare from him.
To me, my job is to bring the pax from point A to point B. Anything more then that is none of my business. If pax
1) Question about my decision on the route, i ignore and question back which way they want
2) Question about my knowledge on route, i admit i got no knowledge at all
3) abusive, i stop and will ask him out of my car.( because i will get aggressive and will commit a crime)
4) want to complain, i let them do what they want (let the customer service handle them)
i will not attempt to explain and persude a angry man, the fare i'm collecting does not include such. i know what i am doing, no fear of unreasonable complain.
Best not to argue for me i dun like i juz go to the nearest exit
if im on a highway n tell them to get down
I would take the CTE to Lavender from Mt E.
I am puzzled with your choice of route. Why Orchard down to Serangoon with so many traffic lights
Your pax also reminded you to take CTE and exit Moulmein. So you are at fault here.
So what if the pax pass sarcastic remarks? You are not sure about taking CTE and instead use a different route against the pax instruction. Then your EGO is so big that I think you dare not ask your pax how to go from Moulmein.
If you are not sure, be humble and ask the pax.
The whole incident started with yourself if you reflected back.
Good luck..
Originally posted by Jupitor:On 24 Sept 11, I picked up a taxi booking call from MBS hotel Tower. Along the way at Marina Boulevard, I saw a lot of zombies walking and flagging but no taxis in sight. At 512am, a male in his twenties with his female companion boarded my cab at MBS. I dropped the lady first at Elizabeth towers condo near Mt Elizabeth hospital. The guy going to lavender, I started to go towards Orchard then via Serrangoon to Lavender, when the guy reminded me to go by CTE and exit via Moulmein, I said not very sure leh but make a U-turn to CTE anyway.
On the way, he started to question me why I do not know the way and did my company send me to go for any course before started to drive a cab. I said I have recommended a route to Lavender via Serangoon road and just that not all taxi drivers know the best routes to take at a given location. He went on to give sarcastic remarks like if you do not know the way, how are you going to fetch customers to their destination. I said I've already recommended a
different route.
He also said something like: What happens if you have customers like me who don't bother to tell you which way to go to their destination, I said: Oh, I've never met such a person like you before". From here, he started to give problems. He kept giving sarcastic remarks but I kept quiet until he said:" I pay you money and expected you to know all the routes well and bring me to my destination". Then I blurted out: Your money is big fucxx is it? After that he accused me on using vulgar
language on him and then started to call my taxi company a few times, accusing me of threatening him, abusing and using vulgar language on him, and also he feel threatened, and demand a explanation from them latest by the next day. He also called the polce and repeated the same blown up issues to the police and call the police to come when I stopped at the exit at Moulenmein.I also said that "the police will not entertain you". Who will have thought that this
idiot blown the issues out of proportion by exaggerating that his life is threatened, and he felt threatened, when I have not even touch him or use any threatening words. A small argument can become a life threatening issues blown up by that idiot so that the police will come to help him to save face. What a moron can think of to waste police resources. He even mentioned that he is a professional and "I know the Law, ok".
I then asked him : "Did I ever point a knife at you". When he says he feel threatened. I aslo asked him to F.O. from my cab, after which later he asked me what is F.O. and I said Fucxx off. He repeatley said that he wanted to ask his lawyer to sue me or file a civil suit. While waiting, I have asked him that I just wanted to apologise and move on, thinking that its not because I was wrong but to let him win, and close the issues fast, but he insisted a written apology and attached it to be sent to comfort also. I was thinking this guy is really asking too much.While waiting for the police to arrive, I kept saying that "you are really wasting my time."
I also said that I will countersue him from my lawyers.I refused to accept his fare I said that is was unfair to do so as the meter was running while stationary and waiting for a very long time, and also I did not bring him to his destination. He insisted to pay me as he said money is not the issue here and even boasted that he will gladly pay up even if the fare is a few hundred dollars. (telling me you are rich?). I still refused his fare and also refused to print a receipt for him ($36+), as I did not collect any fare from him.
Actually i am TS side coz frankly i hate pax to say this 'I pay you money and expected you to know all the routes well and bring me to my destination'.
TD must know ALL routes? I went to take the TDVL , i never once hear the instructor tell us that we must know every corner , block , road , lane in Sinkapore leh. Now everyone sit down can say why go lavender through orchard , sometimes on the spot when u are tired or blanked out , u do things the opposite .
Seriously if u guys are in his shoes , u will feel agitated too. If its HammerHammer , he would have chased the fella down liao.
But try to refrain from using vulgar language on pax , once u use that , u are at the losing end. read somewhere in the lta handbook that u can get fined for it,
Good luck
This fucker wanna file civil suit? let him , on the day of hearing the judge will F him upside down for wasting his precious time.
This is call lan si pax , small matter use lawyer to threaten . If every small fark thing use courts to settle , all the sub courts , high courts dua bo eng liao.
Just ur luck to meet such an asshole. My guess this fucker staying at citylights? FT? or local?
I agree if the pax xia lan then will surely got chase off my cab. But hor in this case the TS really deserve it lah. KNN he already say not sure about the route so MUST ask the pax mah. Unless is straight forward route I ALWAYS ask my pax which way to go. So there will no be any disputes. If pax guai lan ask me I dunno they way ah. I will explain to them nicely and normally they will understand. If explain liao still guai lan then they will get it from me.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:Wow, this world really got such passengers? Really sucks… But then again, cab drivers please note that there are sucky drivers too… I guess it’s all about a small group of black sheep giving the others a bad name.
Most pax are ok one. Only once a while meet guai lan one.
I would take the CTE to Lavender from Mt E.
I am puzzled with your choice of route. Why Orchard down to Serangoon with so many traffic lights
Your pax also reminded you to take CTE and exit Moulmein. So you are at fault here.
So what if the pax pass sarcastic remarks? You are not sure about taking CTE and instead use a different route against the pax instruction. Then your EGO is so big that I think you dare not ask your pax how to go from Moulmein.
If you are not sure, be humble and ask the pax.
The whole incident started with yourself if you reflected back.
Good luck..
Originally posted by Jupitor:
Please read my earlier post carefully, I did not go against the passenger's instruction. I sensed that tis chap is not friendly at the beginning when I fetch him at MBS hotel, when he keep questioning me 2 times whether I know how to go or not to Mt E area from MBS, and again when I turn left to Bayfront ave towards Cross Street when the other side was closed for F1. I replied that I knew the route.
As for my passengers, I asked them the preferred route and also for directions if I'm not sure about the routes, 95% of customers are asked by me. The 5% is when I'm very confident or straightforward route or even when I'm tired and forgot to ask due to lapse of concentrations.
In tis case, I just overshot Mt Elizabeth Link and was reminded to go by CTE. I immediately make a U-turn and go towards CTE, thinking of asking him for directions when I exit Moulmein.
Please read my earlier post carefully, I did not go against the passenger's instruction. I sensed that tis chap is not friendly at the beginning when I fetch him at MBS hotel, when he keep questioning me 2 times whether I know how to go or not to Mt E area from MBS, and again when I turn left to Bayfront ave towards Cross Street when the other side was closed for F1. I replied that I knew the route.
As for my passengers, I asked them the preferred route and also for directions if I'm not sure about the routes, 95% of customers are asked by me. The 5% is when I'm very confident or straightforward route or even when I'm tired and forgot to ask due to lapse of concentrations.
In tis case, I just overshot Mt Elizabeth Link and was reminded to go by CTE. I immediately make a U-turn and go towards CTE, thinking of asking him for directions when I exit Moulmein.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:This fucker wanna file civil suit? let him , on the day of hearing the judge will F him upside down for wasting his precious time.
This is call lan si pax , small matter use lawyer to threaten . If every small fark thing use courts to settle , all the sub courts , high courts dua bo eng liao.
Just ur luck to meet such an asshole. My guess this fucker staying at citylights? FT? or local?
This chap jus mentioned Lavender, that's all I knew, looks and talk like a cocky local.
always ask the pax for their prefered route or tell them ur route to
avoid any disputes then if u dun knoe the way juz ask n normally its ok.
if they say u should knoe mah cause u r TD then u can reply " do chefs
knoe how to cook every dish??"
Cool and Calm is the name of the game, once you are cool, steady and calm, people tends to be more worry about you then wanting to find problem with you. Hold still to your dignity and principle of TD.
TD must be able to differentiate between professionalism and personal issue, do not get personal with pax, use your profession communication skill. when bro pool talks about skill, this is part of the skill that hopefully TD can achieve. Pax will try to induce TD into a personal conversation, in a heated arugement, they tends to pick up your words for words, so becareful, they will lure you to say the F words, the more you say, the merrier for them. So, dun fall into their trap. Be steady, very simple, just apologise and ask pax for option, or alternatively, ask if he wants to drop now, no further comments.
That is why communication is very important, knowing or not knowing the route is better to ask first, for nobody knows the best road to their house than a person who lives there. Greet pax, as for any preferred road, press meter, move off, if got routes, best, just relax and listen to their direction, if not, drive on with what you know, if tourist, just drive.
Whenever you know is a troublsome pax, on yr smart or hp recorder, most of us never use it, USE IT, so that the conversation can be recorded for any dispute further. There are many thing to do with a pad or phone, not just for games, call or surfing.
Remember to keep cool all times. Never use vulgarities or argue back.
Advise install a hidden camera to record video if poss. I have 3 recorder in my taxi to 'protect my integrity' in case of accident or such dispute like yours.
Be careful of these kind of pax, ''huv a few xtra $ and want to eat ppl''. So many of them in Singapore!
Rem... pax board fm MBS may not won money, 99.999% lost to casino.
it seems like a case where pax try to create problem to avoid paying fare.
maybe TS is quite new. need to eat humble pie if dun know the route & offer some discount to appease their unhappiness. treat it as tuition fees loh.
as TD, we must learn how to "lun" (�), of course if the pax is really sia lan, can ask him to get out but diplomatically.
we dun live in the 80's, the f letter word is no more a vulgar word. you can say it's not polite but vulgar? nah. so many ang mo f here f there when they talk on the phone. if possible, we (TD) dun use it first.
Hi just to share my experience, I had been driving during weekends for the past 4 months... So I guess my knowledge of the routes in Singapore is still quite green.
So far I have met paxes who also post remarks to me like "Are you Singaporean ??", "Oh,my GOD ..u do not know where the building is "and the worst case I have met so far is a lady Ang Moh telling me " I know the route, but I do not want to lead you the way bcos I dun wan to be a tour guide and also I am very tired and need to rest" (cannot remember the whole comments but it really hurts me that time)
For the first case, even though the pax says that, he still took my cab bcos I ask him if he dun mind I use my GPS and that end the case.
For the 2nd case, the pax lead me all the way and I thank him for his patience.
For the last case, the lady pax offered to get out of my cab and take another one.
There are also pax who ask me how am I going to fetch customer to their destination if I dunno the route. I see this question in a positive response by thinking that they are in fact care for me on how I can survive with limited knowledge of the routes.
I admit sometimes in these moment, I do get a bit "hot" liao but my head tell me 2 things... treat it as a learning curve and the next thing is "this PAX will be dissapear in my cab less than 15 - 30 mins later". It is not like in office if you dun like your colleagues or bosses...u have to see them for a "certain time" before either you resigns or he/she resigns....
those with cameras inside their vehicle , u are safe !
we got audio recording as well .
sharp & clear recording .
as long as u dun pay , talk so much for what ?
Pay and we discuss the rest later .
Here we've got one lesson .....If midnights , better hunt for all ladies .
As per Poolman's experiences , ladies at midnight , usually good trips .
Men usually lousy trips , esp Ang Mor drunk assholes .
Men usually create more problems than women .
Not that women never create troubles , there is , very less .
Originally posted by FT:Hahaha…...he’s so lucky i’m not the driver….
Taxi Driver dun need know the routes well, so many routes names we need to learn everyday, Pax always travel same old routes, best way is to ASK them, that usually I did, fast n efficient, route got NO long or short, only their LIKING, if not willing to cooperate, Pls take another Taxi, U only need to know ur "RIGHT", I'm a taxi driver, am issued VCTL by LTA. Sorry...SIR. I dun know how to go, do U willing to guide me, can Uncle, let go. 10pm... I only travel ECP or AYE can ? Uncle U travel which ever routes U like n fast. Thank U so much.