Originally posted by WizQ:Lolz. If sg govt can get their way, sg will host two races in one year, one street race at marina and one circuit race in changi. As what Mercab said, singapore is boring
got F1 at suntec n GT racing cum MotoGP at changi circuit if they do open
Originally posted by Khoon2580:we need to host at least another 2 years... 2012 and 2013... current contract is 5 + 5... must give 2 years notice to F1 if we do not want to host after the first contract expires...
sat morning make a mistake take marina area call... but i was on the wrong side of ecp... den lost in the underground carpark... by the time i reach the hotel lobby.. pax reach home liao...
2014 will be the last race if sg decides not to renew the contract. like td throwing keys, need to give advance notice.
if they can bargain for a lower fee, the race will go on. you think the govt care about all those jam & inconveniences caused to the people, they only see $$$$$$$$$.
Originally posted by Poolman:Suntec business badly affected .... Esplanade Mall closed during the F1 durations ... Restaurants huat a bit ....
Except for those hotels who actually huat to the max with rocket prices .... i really do not enjoy those traffic affected by those closures , re-route etc ....
Most important , need to squeeze your brain juice to find those alternatives way to destinations
I prefer MICE conventions and exhibitions .
Just MICE is good enough for me , the more the merrier .
I dun need what $5 surcharge and jam here jam there .
Really ruined the rhythm of driving .
Look at the larger picture.
It is true that some businesses are badly affected by F1 but many more have benefitted.
I still stick to my own strategy, which is to enter via either ECP into Suntec (quickest way to p&g) or via Beach rd/funiture mall back lane (waiting for calls). I've mentioned earlier, we must do some homewk prior to the event. 4th year still complaining about the jam? must be smarter this time ma.
I still saw many taxis queueing at the taxi stand next to capitol bldg & funan. but opp the rd, so many pax waving.
After knowing which roads are passable, I brought my family to suntec (purposely drive slowly into suntec) to experience the deafening & thunderous sound of the roaring F1 cars which were just next to our lane. Wow!
It was a positive & memorable experience for my family this yr.
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:After knowing which roads are passable, I brought my family to suntec (purposely drive slowly into suntec) to experience the deafening & thunderous sound of the roaring F1 cars which were just next to our lane. Wow!
It was a positive & memorable experience for my family this yr.
Good idea brother, good for your family, better than the grandstand, free somemore.
Anyway, like it or not, F1 does bring alot of job for us, it also helps to put us into the limelight of the world, this is not only a race but commercially, a good platform to sell Singapore. It does help us as cabbies, some go to F1, I end up keep going AP, come out png at T2 and T1 during the F1 period, yesterday also many F1 crews and staff leaving singapore, many went on to celebrate and drink, tour singapore, so all in all, it is good for us, be it pre F1, during F1 or post F1, its benefit us one way or the other. I agree that we have to look at the larger picture to appreciate all these events created by Singapore.
Absolutely. Looking forward for next international event...
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:I still stick to my own strategy, which is to enter via either ECP into Suntec (quickest way to p&g) or via Beach rd/funiture mall back lane (waiting for calls). I've mentioned earlier, we must do some homewk prior to the event. 4th year still complaining about the jam? must be smarter this time ma.
I still saw many taxis queueing at the taxi stand next to capitol bldg & funan. but opp the rd, so many pax waving.
Tio lah.....
4th year running and lau jiao like pool still complaining about jam here jam there.
Don't need the $5 get out lor.
Originally posted by Zero 5:heard from a friend Chrysler carrot ang mor $150 for a cab !!!
in the end , ang mor not stupid , turn to the cheaper Merc Cab , how much was it ? $100 !!!
you people have been pressing on your taxi meter ?
serious u just missed a golden opportunity for a golden carrot .
do look out for tomorrow wan bao , one Chrysler will be on the headlines for the wrong reason .
I believed many of the limo drivers had a good F1 this year too.
Don't need to chute patterns....
Why take risk..... silly..
Originally posted by bowah:
Good idea brother, good for your family, better than the grandstand, free somemore.Anyway, like it or not, F1 does bring alot of job for us, it also helps to put us into the limelight of the world, this is not only a race but commercially, a good platform to sell Singapore. It does help us as cabbies, some go to F1, I end up keep going AP, come out png at T2 and T1 during the F1 period, yesterday also many F1 crews and staff leaving singapore, many went on to celebrate and drink, tour singapore, so all in all, it is good for us, be it pre F1, during F1 or post F1, its benefit us one way or the other. I agree that we have to look at the larger picture to appreciate all these events created by Singapore.
yah F1 really created alot of opportunities for us like 4-5am
normally where got png at AP 1.........
Originally posted by Mercabs:I believed many of the limo drivers had a good F1 this year too.
Don't need to chute patterns....
Why take risk..... silly..
yah quite alot of jobs some more some places is official 1 pax
either pay or wait for normal cabs. no need to chut stunt also
can huat for me i juz do my normal job
My F1 aftermath....
Getting lazy...
Lost...dunno how to work this morning...
But got a call from an amk whom I pick up yesterday from a hotel which I q for an hour...
Wanna book me for his meetings...
End up hourly disposal... 7 hours....
I charge him full standard rate no discount...
Pay me happily n want a pick up tml for departure...
My mileage for this disposal.... 7km.
Guess I will still be lost tml....
Getting more lazy...
Hope someone call me again...
Haha...
Like dat lor....
My F1....blur blur drive, blur blur huat. sorry...trade secrert. kekeee.........
Originally posted by kingzkong:My F1 aftermath....
Getting lazy...
Lost...dunno how to work this morning...
But got a call from an amk whom I pick up yesterday from a hotel which I q for an hour...
Wanna book me for his meetings...
End up hourly disposal... 7 hours....
I charge him full standard rate no discount...
Pay me happily n want a pick up tml for departure...
My mileage for this disposal.... 7km.
Yeah quite common Limo drivers more idle than me nowadays !!!
I need to drive 2 hours to get $45 , they one job hide one corner and press walkie can get $45 .
Today Uncle Poolman me back to business as usual ....
Minus off those jams ...... bizarre enough all Lake View regulars called again , where were they during F1 ? no need work ? On Leave ? Take MRT instead ?
$5 plus meter scared them away ? Scared no taxis ? On Call also no taxis ?
Clever clever .....
Originally posted by Vee4317l:My F1....blur blur drive, blur blur huat. sorry...trade secrert. kekeee.........
Trade secrets was .... with or without F1 , u still as blur !
Originally posted by Mercabs:Tio lah.....
4th year running and lau jiao like pool still complaining about jam here jam there.
Don't need the $5 get out lor.
Fussy driver like me if do not complain traffic jams and closure , i would have hide at Lot-1 and Q for my neighbour finishing shopping at Fairprice .... for lower money .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Trade secrets was .... with or without F1 , u still as blur !
Knn....No respect senior citizen. phui..........
i personally cannot believe you guys claiming that this year's F1 is much better than last year ?
No lar .... last year the buzz started almost like 2 weeks ahead of actual F1 Race Day .
This year ? I felt that sponsors like Johnny Walker has limited their budget on their Johnny Walker Parties .
And less buzz , less demands , less walking pedestrains around the circuit .
Last year , everyday we seen thousands of people trying to have a glimpse of the surroundings , not this year .
Perhaps they are like me , got stale of it ?
Sometimes when the Minister , people like Iswaran said something , there must be a stroy behind .
Money ?
I felt he got feedbacks , datas proven , the buzz had went dim .
And perhaps , once again , people's craze for F1 will go down further .
Lastly , i felt , if we decide to go .... go on a high note !!!!
Want to retire , also retire as a Legend !
Originally posted by kingzkong:Guess I will still be lost tml....
Getting more lazy...
Hope someone call me again...
Haha...
Like dat lor....
yah me also post F1 idle syndrome...... :P
Originally posted by Poolman:i personally cannot believe you guys claiming that this year's F1 is much better than last year ?
No lar .... last year the buzz started almost like 2 weeks ahead of actual F1 Race Day .
This year ? I felt that sponsors like Johnny Walker has limited their budget on their Johnny Walker Parties .
And less buzz , less demands , less walking pedestrains around the circuit .
Last year , everyday we seen thousands of people trying to have a glimpse of the surroundings , not this year .
Perhaps they are like me , got stale of it ?
Sometimes when the Minister , people like Iswaran said something , there must be a stroy behind .
Money ?
I felt he got feedbacks , datas proven , the buzz had went dim .
And perhaps , once again , people's craze for F1 will go down further .
Lastly , i felt , if we decide to go .... go on a high note !!!!
Want to retire , also retire as a Legend !
F lar they greedy 1 they will try to milk every drop frm this cashcow......
glory?? wat glory?? they wan $$ nia...... PHUI!!!
Guys , go read ST today , about "It's F1 worth it in Singapore ?"
The way i've read , other than Singtel that got in mega TV deals , i don't see much benefits at all .
Government paid 60% of the cost ..... already recovered by Singtel thru TV deals i think .
40% paid by GP Motor , owned by Ong Beng Seng , hotellier .
Not a good idea to sign on really ...
I will go on a high !!!
I will let F1 be the only Night Race a history , and go like a legend !!!