Unless they improve their traffic control management .
cannot muz have F1 for few more yrs........ cause y???
government need it...........
It is not just about the race, F1 is consider a selling point for Singapore other than casinos and SIA
Originally posted by bowah:It is not just about the race, F1 is consider a selling point for Singapore other than casinos and SIA
Singapore no need anymore publicise lar ....
Tell you what , Singapore is a good business city . But i have doubts in leisure .
Those who are in Singapore , do not come specifically to Singapore alone . They have got a few days in Batam , a few days in KL , by pass Singapore to Bali etc .
In Singapore alone , maybe 2-3 days only .
Cos how long u need you need to tour Singapore ?
For many , Singapore is not cheap .
Who actually make up those arrival figures at the AP ?
U don't need a professor to figure out those figures .
It's those girls from Vietnam , China , Philipines , Indonesia .
In and out ..... depart 30 days , back to Singapore another 30 days if approved .
Genuine tourist ? Nay ......
If they want to have another shot at F1 .... they should move the street circuit to Marina South Area .
Current Marina South are developing into a Mega garden , plus a Commercial district .
Those roads they going to built ..... they could well design into like a F1 circuit .
At the same time , be able use as normal roads after F1 race .
And can use it all over and over again , with different design .
Imagine F1 around a Big Garden ?
And Concerts surrounded by greenery ?
And Pit located near Marina Barage ?
And opposite , overseeing the MBS and Shenton Area ?
The other side overseeing Suntec City area .
Then 5 minutes taxi ride to Suntec ... walking distance to MBS .
No congestions .....
No need road blocks ...
No need road closures ...
Suntec and Esplanade business as usual .
Millenium Tower and Centennial operates as usual .
ORA and MBFC also can go in and out with ease .
At the heart of the City , buzz by F1 as well , different is no jams at all .
Taxi $8 plus meter ... taxi from AYE can go in . ECP also can go in . Taxi at Beach Road can also go in .
Taxi at Robinson Road also can go in . Taxi at Shenton Road also can go in .
Why must they insist in Marina Centre ?
Marina South will do everyone good .
If government happy , they can always built a Bridge across from Suntec to Marina Barage .
If they want .....
As a cabby , a big no to F1 Night Race at Marina Centre .
A Big No from me .
bro if design like F1 circuit every weekend u see TP standby there liao....... :P
Originally posted by Poolman:
Singapore no need anymore publicise lar ....Tell you what , Singapore is a good business city . But i have doubts in leisure .
Those who are in Singapore , do not come specifically to Singapore alone . They have got a few days in Batam , a few days in KL , by pass Singapore to Bali etc .
In Singapore alone , maybe 2-3 days only .
Cos how long u need you need to tour Singapore ?
For many , Singapore is not cheap .
Bros, no offend, as a seaman, i travelled to south america, america, africa and part of russia beside all those normal europe and east asia, it will surpirse you that in south america, people still do not know where and what is singapore, most know HK, and think singapore is part of malaysia or even china, it is people like Filipe massa or those south america F1 driver that is here, help to put us in their radar, LIVE. In San Francisco, and las vegas, when i show people a $1 singapore coins to prove this country exist, they wanted to collect it as memorable item, they alway think we are china or part of malaysia and indonesia, worst are the russian, beside seamen, most on the northern side dun even know malaysia, they knew indonesia due to it population and terrorism existence.
Today, europe is down, US of A is down, Asia will also be drag down, it is only the south america, the brazil, agentina, chile, peru are booming, it is a big market there, keppel is in brazil, sembcorp is having offices all over there, E. Goh keep visiting them. As a resourceless country, we need to promote ourselves, with our current image of SIA gals, you can forget about it, you have to agree with me, any PRC gals or viet gals can be much better than them, I took lots of SIA crews, and surprise me most gals are thai, jap, taiwan and malaysia, only a few singaporean aunty doing supervison job. Therefore we need to promote our cities, that is why lots of international event, even at a lost, is still good for singapore, because of the advertisment which is free and live.
F1 needs money, singtel and many are sponsor of it, including johnnie walker, my favorite, this is a professional sport. Now you tell me, does the drivers prefer a full rally circuit or a city circuit which they cannot see far as all corner and road are barricaded, just like if you are a footballer, do you like to play in a nice stadium field or at the padang with many on lookers and nothing sort of a grand stadium? There is alot of money pour in to attract them here, it helps to market singtel too, for me, I will prefer a subang circuit than a night cities race that is more of a merry making party cum entertaining than a real pro challenge.
The abolish of changi circuit is not as simple as thought to be, no funds??? no funds???but got funds for Youth olympic and nite race in cities??
In a business mind, who care much about F1?? professional sport are more on making money, betting and superstars. Let look at it if F1 is to move to a new changi circuit, what will happens, you still can in Shikira all all those superstar singers and entertainers?? are you sure singaporeans or even foreigners will go to a ulu changi?? or what is so different between circuit and the other circuit of the world?? why when F1 goes to subang, they are not so popular. Why singapore so much fuss? all because we are the first night city race in the world, that is the different, and that is what people will take note and wanted to come or watch it live.
1 bottle mineral water inside sell $3.50, one plastic glass beer $12. TD should charge them $10 surcharge instead of just $5.
Aren't we taken for a ride when F1 goods prices can goes up by 6 to 7 folds and we taxi just take a $5 surcharge? Brothers, united.
Originally posted by bowah:Bros, no offend, as a seaman, i travelled to south america, america, africa and part of russia beside all those normal europe and east asia, it will surpirse you that in south america, people still do not know where and what is singapore, most know HK, and think singapore is part of malaysia or even china, it is people like Filipe massa or those south america F1 driver that is here, help to put us in their radar, LIVE. In San Francisco, and las vegas, when i show people a $1 singapore coins to prove this country exist, they wanted to collect it as memorable item, they alway think we are china or part of malaysia and indonesia, worst are the russian, beside seamen, most on the northern side dun even know malaysia, they knew indonesia due to it population and terrorism existence.
Today, europe is down, US of A is down, Asia will also be drag down, it is only the south america, the brazil, agentina, chile, peru are booming, it is a big market there, keppel is in brazil, sembcorp is having offices all over there, E. Goh keep visiting them. As a resourceless country, we need to promote ourselves, with our current image of SIA gals, you can forget about it, you have to agree with me, any PRC gals or viet gals can be much better than them, I took lots of SIA crews, and surprise me most gals are thai, jap, taiwan and malaysia, only a few singaporean aunty doing supervison job. Therefore we need to promote our cities, that is why lots of international event, even at a lost, is still good for singapore, because of the advertisment which is free and live.
F1 needs money, singtel and many are sponsor of it, including johnnie walker, my favorite, this is a professional sport. Now you tell me, does the drivers prefer a full rally circuit or a city circuit which they cannot see far as all corner and road are barricaded, just like if you are a footballer, do you like to play in a nice stadium field or at the padang with many on lookers and nothing sort of a grand stadium? There is alot of money pour in to attract them here, it helps to market singtel too, for me, I will prefer a subang circuit than a night cities race that is more of a merry making party cum entertaining than a real pro challenge.
there are a lot of ignorant people in this world. we dun need the whole world to know us. when people need to come to singapore, they will find out more and come. if they have no biz here, there is no incentive for them to even know whether singapore ever existed.
as for to market singapore, we have to do targeted marketing. dun just anyhow shoot, must aim & shoot to achieve best results cos we have limited budget. i dun think south americans would want to come all the way here just bcos of f1 given that language & culture is a world's apart. likewise singaporeans dun travel to south america when they go for holidays. people tend to visit places where they are familiar with the language, culture and most importantly shopping, which i think south americas is not anything close.
the pap smeared man is going there (south americas) to get biz for their father's corporations. when the pap smeared man goes to s.americas, they bring along glc like kepple, sembcorpse etc., these are companies with deep pocket (filled with people's $$) u think they care about the local small & medium enterprises? unless a company is a very big one, it's not easy to set foot in south americas not to mention to penetrate their market.
as for the night race, everyday eat dragon meat also sian lah. it's just the initial years people are interested in this night race. like people always say "new toilet must use 3 days mah". give another 5 years, it's just another f1 race liao.
no offence, bro bowah. i sense that you are a very optimistic person. i am not saying optimistic is no good, but over optimistic is not. like we always say "kiang jio ho, mai gay kiang". the same goes to "optimistic is good, mai over optimistic".
we have a lot of prob here in sg but the govt choose to focus on those big events that bring pride to add to their ever growing ego.
just my $0.02
cheers
For those who wanna know Singapore , do we need publicised to make people aware of us ?
Internet bluff one ?
Those who can afford , will know Singapore .
Those who cannot afford , no need to know Singapore .
They cannot afford anyway .
If one cannot afford a TV at home , no point broadcast around the world and show them , cos they got no TV .
If your country is good ...... the advertisement will go by Mouth .
No need spent millions of dollars here , and drain millions of dollars there , and end up , same quota at the AP .
it's the global economy that counts .
If UBS back out , then we lost one of the bigger sponsor .
We shall see ..... I pray hard mid October global recession strike , then it's a wake up call for those Organisers .
And no more renewal of contract .
I am getting stale of F1 ..... If there is only one winner for every race , and no competition , for what ?
Red Bull win all the time , Mclaren and Ferrari smells smoke , for what ?
I will be a very happy taxi driver if any International Convention and Seminars to be held in Singapore at least once a week .
That is what i call HUAT !!!!
NO jam type of HUAT !!!!!
F1 ... fuck lar unless they move out of the City , to someone somewhere slightly outside of City .
LTA that time told me , why ERP ?
Cos traffic jams caused the lost of million dollars in economy .....
Yes , the economy in the City was in a stand still .
for the organiser , and traffic police and those adminstrators , u need to sack that Traffic Management Director , he flopped lar .
Below par performance .
Don't rely on datas , come and see yourself .
Originally posted by Poolman:I will be a very happy taxi driver if any International Convention and Seminars to be held in Singapore at least once a week .
That is what i call HUAT !!!!
NO jam type of HUAT !!!!!
F1 ... fuck lar unless they move out of the City , to someone somewhere slightly outside of City .
LTA that time told me , why ERP ?
Cos traffic jams caused the lost of million dollars in economy .....
Yes , the economy in the City was in a stand still .
yah if every week got convention huat liao lor....... :P
Originally posted by bowah:Bros, no offend, as a seaman, i travelled to south america, america, africa and part of russia beside all those normal europe and east asia, it will surpirse you that in south america, people still do not know where and what is singapore, most know HK, and think singapore is part of malaysia or even china, it is people like Filipe massa or those south america F1 driver that is here, help to put us in their radar, LIVE. In San Francisco, and las vegas, when i show people a $1 singapore coins to prove this country exist, they wanted to collect it as memorable item, they alway think we are china or part of malaysia and indonesia, worst are the russian, beside seamen, most on the northern side dun even know malaysia, they knew indonesia due to it population and terrorism existence.
yah even my OC is more swee than some of the SQ gers...........