'Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that.'
Originally posted by bowah:The normal Sweep and pick, Q and Q, call and call, what strategy you want, recession affect everyone, not only we the TD, its time to be conservative in your approach, the theory of whatever goes up, must come down is alway there unless you hit space.
There is certainly a shortage in pax, but not that serious, singapore is still very much fully employed, so people still hold much spending power, what is going to face TD day to day work are
1. Pax will be more calculative on tips, fares and the route you take.
2. There will be more kind of paxs pooling together rather than each take one cab.
3. There will be less travelling be it business or leisure, so you will expect a slow down in AP trips
But not to worry, we are not as bad as the west, who are the catalyst of this economy problem, their unemployment rate goes up to over 10%, just imagine what happen to their cabbies there. Singapore being the 4th costly cities in the world with one of the highest millionaires in term of asset and cash in hand, as Cabbies, we are very much blessed to be here at the moment. And with people giving up on over expensive COEs, most execs will choose to take taxis, so we are not that bad, some occupation are more worst than us, especially the electronic sector, they get retrenched very easily once economy is down. I think they are not doing very well, our manufacture sector is also down on year to year basis.
In conclusion, we are not bad as others, but we need to keep ourselve up to date, be more calm and cool toward paxs, drive with care, hv enough rest and exercise, do not get yourselves into trouble ending up with taxi licence getting gantong, those above 40s cabbies, if you are out of caby driving, it will be quite difficult for you to get a job especially during such times. So be careful, driving happily, live simple and keep smiling.
yah lor got pax juz whack got call juz press got Q juz Q........ :P
Originally posted by Insg:halo old man, you worry what? recession or not, you still huat, right?
also, isa still in force in sg, later govt say you 妖言惑众,lock you up then you know.
Ya...agreed.
Speak British English, not American... Please.
Why worry so much. Just only a Taxi driver in this island.
Why do we compare with the worst examples from other countries?
Why don't we compare ourselves with the best in the worlds,
Ruling party tells us that we are worlds-class, we already given a mandate.
The most highly pays in this worlds, those decision makers.
Is not up to you a taxi driver to worry so much. nothing much you can do...lah.
global recession is super sale shopping time!
Originally posted by OptimalTrans:wah poolman, you can wrote these after hearing from pax.............why are you still driving a Taxi.
i will return all back if these message was spoken to me, maybe can only conclude that "hang cheng" going to be "bo ho"
i didn't write lar , knn ..... i cut and paste from ChannelNewsAsia .
They told me , so i went into more details why did they say that ?
I compiled those details in my head , and do my agar agar analysis .
Agar agar one .... true or not true , up to individual .
I felt nobody can save Greece .
Cos saving Greece this time , can make it worst next time .
Like a cancer .....
Originally posted by Bio-Hawk:Yes, wait for it and do not leave any money in banks. if they change name/merge all your savings would be gone.
Never will happened to POSB and DBS ..... cos GIC backing them up .
If GIC didn't back them up , DBS vanished during the 1996 Crisis liao .....
But i am not too sure about foreign banks and financial institution .
Like Lehmann Bros .....
it's always good to know things before anything does happen .
Cos things can happen .
if things does happen , u would have specific plans or strategies to curb immediately , not exposing yourself to a sudden lost situation .
Prepare yourself against such situation .
Like should you still insist on CBD biz , knowing locals will cut down taking a cab during crisis , company stop reimbursing taxi fares ? And knowing foreigners has cut down their trips to Singapore , and do more on Video Conferences ?
Or should you ply your trade more on industrial estates like Tuas ?
Or should you apply more trips from the Airport ?
Always a Plan A & Plan B .....
Worst will be hit on those OMOs .... overheads and fuel will hit them , takings lower , overheads remains , or higher .
Food expenses raised .... more got retrenched .... taxi population goes up , OMO populations once again go up .
More people too free nothing to do , go Casino . More will go bust !
Fish Balls noodles boss lost millions , so jack up fish balls from $3 to $4 .
Who knows ?
everyday i glance through CNA .... saw nothing but bad news , more bad news .
We cannot wait for PM Lee to announce it on TV or conferences .
U will feel it .
That feels never lies .
Dun believe ?
Go and feel it around Singapore .
for me juz drive as normal i dun wanna worry so much.....
sian?? throw key go motherland idle few mths....... :P
Recession is not something new, it is cyclical process of economy, without recession, that can never be a bull run, someone said it super shopping time, I will agree if the share prices are at the lowest. For Cabbies, if you can afford, buy some good dividend shares, blue chips shares like local banks, local corporation like sembcorp, keppel or even singtel and sph can offer much better dividends than FD in banks. And you might not get such a price during good times.
Bro Pool has a pro active approach to thing, that's good info, however, as cabbies we need to digest it from a different perspectives than what a investors, govt or banker perceived. In any situation, there are alway pros and cons, lost and opportunity. In fact, what bro pool said is quite true, many if not, those affected will be squeeze to spend prudently rather than lavishly. However, there will also be people who got lot of cash in hand and willing to spent at recession time only, because prices are low, it is an opportunity for them, these are great vultures who had patiently waited for the time to come, and Bang! take the opportunities and harvest it when bull run arrives, not only these apply to shares and stocks, it is across the spectrum of the board in any dealing, from property to cars on and on.
Take for example, peoples can be down, lost, but not out yet, it just a lost, part and parcel of life and the economy, so they got more time, in anger, they go for drinks and enjoy to forget about the dismay. People may sold their car to compensate the lost, or simply cannot afford to own a car with heavy installment anymore, sell it and take taxis, most car owners can hardly go back to MRT and buses. Some may take this opportunity of recession to travel and do what they cannot do during the hey and busy times, so you got people travelling to study or for stress relieve too. So, when you look the cons of a situation, there are also pros in it. Somehow these will balance out well.
Our worry is not much on recession, people still need to travel to banks, to find job, eats, drink and to do lots of other stuff, transport is an essential item, just like buying rice, it is a norm in peoples, especially in singapore which demand fast and decisive, and comfortable travelling. In my view, recession is like in school or work, a time to rest, think and relook at what is right and wrong, nothing to be worry much. You got more taxis drivers coming in, you also have more giving up, naturally, the market will balance by itself. My worry is not recession, but diseases, thing like SARS, or other epidermic will be a total diseaster for ALL.
SARS come we all die cock standing........
Can die cock standing, no bad liao. At least die with glory.![]()
Originally posted by bowah:Can die cock standing, no bad liao. At least die with glory.
haha yah bro~~~~~
The last recession there was a tremendous increase in car sales due to lower prices. Feel the congestion. Many Singaporeans are cash rich.
What ? Uncle Poolman worry ? Do i need to be worry ?
The younger generation of cabbies need to be worry ... esp those newbies who haven't got the taste of Global recession in taxi driving .
Who has tasted SARS here ?
Well , i have been thru ... i knew how to deal with it , not just road sweeping .
It's a good time to learn for those who haven't been hit by a Global Recession . Believe me , this is will be a big one .
Well ..... the previous recession , we haven't seen so many OMO before .
So it's a challenge in certain ways .
Nay , Uncle me semi-retire .....
The only worry , there'll be no Liverpool vs Man Utd due to Global reccession !
Then life will be damn freaking boring !!
Soccer is part of my life . A very important part of my life .
Heard about that old man called Bill Shankly ?
This is what he was famous at :

'Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that.'
Global recession , my love for british soccer goes on ! Hahahahaha
Very hungry.
Already the ball rolling...XXX insurance company, received this msm, from my insurance agent.
Wanna check with u whether u or ur friend have habits of putting money in fixed deposits? Cos XXX insurance just announce that mon will launch the GURANTEED 1.4% per yr with capital upon maturity. minimun $5k, for 3 yrs plan. They only accept $30 million tranche. First come first serve basis. The last time XXX insurance had this plan was 2 yrs ago. It hard to come by. Is exactly fixed deposit. Do let me know by today if u or ur friends are keen.
It hard to come by?
The last time XXX insurance had this plan was 2 yrs ago.
First come first serve basis.
very convincing messages....ho.
money so easy to get.
Becareful.
Boyz like you people should start to budget yourself in your expenditures .
Keep in time for raining day .
Yeah i did that years ago .... practise it very well .
And can feel like semi retire .
yah save $$ buy bricks build house in motherland then go there retire...... :P
Saving is good, but do not become overly thrifty, life is short, need to enjoy at times, I see one of my neighbour who saved alot, never went for tour with family, alway ate at homes, seldom even go out, not to mention drinking or flirting, buy one LCD TV, go around the whole of singapore, end up, last week, just past away from heart attack, myocardia dyfunction, only 50++, now his 2 sons took all his money and sold the flat very fast, bought cars and enjoy life.