I am certainly not belittling myself as a taxi driver here, but within the cubicle of my taxis most of time what state's view do you expect a TD comprehend. I would rather direct my view to my daily income and expenses because whatever the state view, TD can never be in their agenda other than a joke of the day for them.
If an accident involved taxis, it alway: knn taxis salah lah, must be one, those drivers cb kia anyhow drive one,
If one talk about bad about one particular taxi driver going into wrong direction or drive recklessly, many follow up with their own stories, with stupid and fucking TD like this and like that.
If govt address bread and butter issue of singaporean, it is alway referring to the mid level and rich, from manufacturing to oil rig to jurong island to SME and Casino, any support for Cabbies?
Teochew said, support ki lan
Originally posted by bowah:I am certainly not belittling myself as a taxi driver here, but within the cubicle of my taxis most of time what state's view do you expect a TD comprehend. I would rather direct my view to my daily income and expenses because whatever the state view, TD can never be in their agenda other than a joke of the day for them.
If an accident involved taxis, it alway: knn taxis salah lah, must be one, those drivers cb kia anyhow drive one,
If one talk about bad about one particular taxi driver going into wrong direction or drive recklessly, many follow up with their own stories, with stupid and fucking TD like this and like that.
If govt address bread and butter issue of singaporean, it is alway referring to the mid level and rich, from manufacturing to oil rig to jurong island to SME and Casino, any support for Cabbies?
Teochew said, support ki lan
tats y bro i always stress to take care of our pockets 1st.......
wat service wat showing pity as bullshit to me 1..............
Foreigner, especially those from the west use to commend that our services, be it from cab or restuarant or hotel is not up to mark. So, I asked them, in your country, do you have to give tip as a token of appreciation, he said, yes, and how much? 10% minimium and more if services are good.
So, i explained to them, here you go restuarant or call for room services you get to pay 10% compulsory service charge + 7%Gst (the so called to help the poor tax) and all these charges goes into boss hand, not the worker or staff. So, how on earth do you expect the service people to get motivated to serve. It is a different culture all together, the cabby in your country serve you well because he can expect a 10% tip at the end of the journey and he will serve better if he wants to get that above 10% tip, but here, in asia and in a 1st society of Singapore, services charges goes into the business cost, not to appreciate the service of those who served
Originally posted by bowah:Foreigner, especially those from the west use to commend that our services, be it from cab or restuarant or hotel is not up to mark. So, I asked them, in your country, do you have to give tip as a token of appreciation, he said, yes, and how much? 10% minimium and more if services are good.
So, i explained to them, here you go restuarant or call for room services you get to pay 10% compulsory service charge + 7%Gst (the so called to help the poor tax) and all these charges goes into boss hand, not the worker or staff. So, how on earth do you expect the service people to get motivated to serve. It is a different culture all together, the cabby in your country serve you well because he can expect a 10% tip at the end of the journey and he will serve better if he wants to get that above 10% tip, but here, in asia and in a 1st society of Singapore, services charges goes into the business cost, not to appreciate the service of those who served
Practice of tipping are there for a good reason. Natually, it motivate people to provide higher standard of service.
Because of greed, this extra income had been accounted into the revenue of the capitalist. Capitalist give wonderful excuses, it should/must be the quality of the person, that person should/must not be solely dependence on monetary reward to motivate his service standard. Those expecting monetary reward to perform are deem unfit in service line.
The excuse can be a good one, rational and gain acceptance. The result concluded, going against the force of nature will fail, people just couldn't provide a high standard of service. Instead of admitting and amend their mistake, capitalist divert the fault to service personnel, penalise them and further profit from it.
Being ill treated with such unfair policy, who can sincerely out there to provide a high a standard of service?
We serve for the sick of serving, We serve for the sick of not getting punish.
Originally posted by OptimalTrans:Practice of tipping are there for a good reason. Natually, it motivate people to provide higher standard of service.
But it seems the tipping culture in the U.S is quite extreme, maybe jojobeach who is in U.S can comment.
Originally posted by Fcukpap:that is an individual's perspective...the state's view is for you to spend and gyrate the economy..
well, if u look at what is happening around the world. u will get the answer. Most of the time when this kind of thing happened.
the state will work on a deficit budget to tie things over for the time being. Later they will have to revamp their industrials by sectors and the banking and finance system to be competitive. if they can do it, they will be like south korea. economy will recovery and have surpluses. if they cant do it, they will be like japan. a stagnant economy for over ten years.
if on these stagnant stage they still cant do anything about it. They will be like the west, living on loans and eventally the loans balloon til they cannot pay up the interests then they will have the same problem like the west is facing now...
anyway, why do u need to worry about the state. they have so many elites and scholars, let them go and worry about it while we take care of ourselves..
2012 will be a bad year? ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:worst thing retrenchments will come in yet again . . .
sometimes they could come in the form of mergers....remember old lee wants fewer banks....less crisis, and more efficient....
watever the case, the year of the water dragon is not gonna be that easy...
If economy becomes very bad, more and more people will want to drive cabs.
But like selling insurance, it only saturates the market and makes it even worse for the people already in the industry. ![]()
Come Come to those laid off , Come join the taxi trade , you have a master of taxis here to guide you , provide you info and to settle you into the trade just like how the government does to foreigners :D
It will be more fun if foreigners can drive taxis here also . More the merrier
Originally posted by charlize:2012 will be a bad year?
Yes.... real bad.... ![]()

Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Come Come to those laid off , Come join the taxi trade , you have a master of taxis here to guide you , provide you info and to settle you into the trade just like how the government does to foreigners :D
Yes....
more taxis.... more choices for consumers..... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Yes.... real bad....
If the world ends and the human race is wiped out, then there would be nothing to worry about. ![]()
more bodies in bedok reservoir?
bedok reservoir is an index of sad souls...
May Buddha bless them ...
then should stop foreign talents and sustain local jobs....
set the good example of singapore firsts....as promised....starting from their GIC companies...
remember this day 22nd Nov 2011 ....
Uncle Poolman declared : Retrenchments will be minimum this time around . Because most companies has got no more locals to retrench ! If they wanna a retrench locals ..... some foreigners has to follow the door out .
Now foreigners will be more worried than us .
Housing will be tougher for them .
Renting a flat was also tough for them .
PR application will be very restricted for many .
Cost of living too high .
It's either they bite the nails , stay on .
Or
Leave this country .
Swiss Bank , UBS foreigners will be the most to be shown the door at the AP ! When economy downturn is bad ...... local people should be happy , the intake for more foreigners will be halted for the time being .
More retrenchments , no vacancies for locals , where got vacancies for foreigners ?
3 locals = 1 foreigner quota remains .
Unless PAP say 1 local = 1 foreigner .
Then i declared : Singaporeans , ur choice is clear !
2010 Watershed Election : 40% voted against PAP because of foreigners issues . This time around , they will be very careful . It is the time they will show hand and will try to get back those lost votes .
Show time PAP !
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Yes....
more taxis.... more choices for consumers.....
Taxis no more for lease after the first 2 retrenchments exercise .
The add salt into wounds , COE so high , make it very difficult to try to come out with more taxis .
Unless LTA say tomorrow : " Taxi COE will be into a different category against other category ."
Then facing aging fleet of taxis , growing as days gone by , their priorities is to secure those current needs ahead of new taxis .
More headaches for them i "day dream" .
I will be lucky if I hold on to my taxi. I believe there will be no more taxi available next year. Whole fleet of taxi coys totally booked. Coe super duper high and job unemployment also increasing. So those Singaporeans with vocational license better standby. Just in case you are out of job you can still rely on this . Dun bother to go to your MP for help. No use .
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Come Come to those laid off , Come join the taxi trade , you have a master of taxis here to guide you , provide you info and to settle you into the trade just like how the government does to foreigners :D
we see 1 we whack 1.......
Originally posted by komade:we see 1 we whack 1.......
Huh? ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:
Taxis no more for lease after the first 2 retrenchments exercise .The add salt into wounds , COE so high , make it very difficult to try to come out with more taxis .
Unless LTA say tomorrow : " Taxi COE will be into a different category against other category ."
Then facing aging fleet of taxis , growing as days gone by , their priorities is to secure those current needs ahead of new taxis .
More headaches for them i "day dream" .
LTA will be too happy to release more TD licences....
to curb unemployments.![]()
Anyway... heard that 2012 is the deadline for the Pte-Owned TD companies to have minimum of 3,000 taxis quotas.