I NOTICE that every time in the morning when it rains, I have difficulty getting a taxi booking.
First, I am not able to get connected to any taxi company's booking line. Often I get an error message saying "no signal/channel", or my line gets disconnected automatically. Is this M1's network problem or the taxi booking hotline's problem, or both?
Even when I manage to get through to Comfort's booking line and request a taxi, I am told no taxi is available nearby, yet I see many available Comfort taxis speeding past me on the road.
I cannot comprehend why we are being charged a booking fee of $3.50 plus the peak-hour surcharge when the booking system almost always fails on rainy days. Can the Government enforce some standard of service on taxi companies?
Dr Sam Wong
Another stupid comment...
Will any passenger at all get any decent reply here?
Can i know , which part of the world , when it comes to rain , taxi not in demand ?
As for the booking system ?
Hmm ...... Singapore 5m people .
And i said before , just 0.00000001% call at the same time , where got enuf taxis for them ?
Perhaps he should try Silver , SMRT , TransCab , Prime etc .... too bad he only has one contact .
Perhaps being a doctor , he should just call for a Mercedes .
study too much cannot tink properly liao........ :P
A sign of high IQ but low EQ..........
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:I NOTICE that every time in the morning when it rains, I have difficulty getting a taxi booking.
First, I am not able to get connected to any taxi company's booking line. Often I get an error message saying "no signal/channel", or my line gets disconnected automatically. Is this M1's network problem or the taxi booking hotline's problem, or both?
Even when I manage to get through to Comfort's booking line and request a taxi, I am told no taxi is available nearby, yet I see many available Comfort taxis speeding past me on the road.
I cannot comprehend why we are being charged a booking fee of $3.50 plus the peak-hour surcharge when the booking system almost always fails on rainy days. Can the Government enforce some standard of service on taxi companies?
Dr Sam Wong
Reason no:1= Rainning more demand, those who seldom take taxi also want to take cos rainning good to sleep end up late.
Reason no:2= Pax want fast, so for me if i were to take more than 5mins to reach pickup piont, i will reject. (learnt for exprience, most of the time NO SHOW)
Like ytd morning 10plus pick a oncall pax. While broading he told me very differcult to get cab, response all said no cab. I told him reason no:2. He said very unfair to us, we are also making a living, why those people so bad. He said taxi company should also impose call levy to those who didn't turn up.
Actually, I don't mind if a call levy is imposed if it facilitates taxi booking in future but don't taxi companies have a customer rating for passengers that call in? Like some kind of reliability rating? I always wait for my cab if I called in even if a dozen cabs appear immediately after I get a booking confirmation (which, always seems to happen btw).
where did he get his doctorate anyway? �建大� (Fxxxxxx U). Economics 101, simple laws of supply & demand. any consumer knows that. Being a doctor, why does he need a cab? he should be driving his own merc.
Originally posted by Mellowmursh:Actually, I don't mind if a call levy is imposed if it facilitates taxi booking in future but don't taxi companies have a customer rating for passengers that call in? Like some kind of reliability rating? I always wait for my cab if I called in even if a dozen cabs appear immediately after I get a booking confirmation (which, always seems to happen btw).
it's good of you to wait. you're in a minority of people who do. out of 100, prolly 10 will wait. the others will grab the first available taxi. don't need to pay booking fee even better. almost all tds would have experienced this, it's part and parcel of accepting calls. call it occupational hazard. it can be very maddening if the pax never show up, and there're people in front of you waiting for taxis. yet you can't take any cos you're still on-call. have to wait until -5mins for the no-show option to appear before can switch back to for-hire. most likely by then no more people waiting liao. end up wasted diesel and time for nothing and missed the boat. so at times it's better not to take calls and just sweep. no heart burn this way. if accept calls, must be prepared to accept no-shows. i guess it's people like these who give "booking" paxs a bad name. vice versa for tds who don't turn up without a good reason after accepting a call.
yeah, don't know why but empty cabs always seem to appear after pax has made a booking. experienced it myself too. on the flip side, when we cruise round and round looking for customers, there are usually none to be found. but finally after getting one, along the way, suddenly a lot of people waiting for taxis at the roadside. happens all the time. just like when you just stopped buying 4D on a number and it opens on the next draw. LL
economics aside, he may have a point. everytime it rains CabLink's system seems to have problems. also GPS performance is degraded as the satellites are line-of-sight and cloud-cover also affects reception. without good GPS signals, Cablink's out-dated system is not able to track taxis very well. hence many available cabs but no booking. my MDT GPS antenna cannot take even a little bit of interference. sometimes, my DVR power cable causes interference, no GPS signals for extended periods. have to adjust the power cable routing to restore GPS reception.
Originally posted by KCTK:where did he get his doctorate anyway? �建大� (Fxxxxxx U). Economics 101, simple laws of supply & demand. any consumer knows that. Being a doctor, why does he need a cab? he should be driving his own merc.
Smart Doc dun drive, need to pay carpark, time to park a car, so troublesome, taxi so cheap in Sinkapore, alight n go, can charge patient surcharge, peak hrs n erp that he gone through. why drive ???
Last time I drove Toyota sampang, raining day very dangerous to drive, not worth for that cab FARE.
wen rainin all the taxis siam coz its made of paper
CDG cablink got problems , their drivers also got issues with cablink , customers got problems calling in , drivers got problems getting a job ....
who huat in the end ?
the company that giro taxi rental from our account .
now u guys know why uncle poolman left CDG ?
Yes lor they booking system sucks .
No destination , suspension , kelong .....
Location A alot of calls , taxi park waiting at near Location A , no calls quiet .
Lots of calls from Location B . Rejected until fingers weak .
Like that lor ....
Pay them $0.70 levy ( that time when booking fee $4 ) . They should be serving us , not treated us like football , got kicked here and there .
Mother f*ckers , hhaahahahah
Kelong ? U people nvr kena before ?
Walan eh so common if someone confirmed an advance job , solid one like from Tuas South midnight to AP .
Like 4.30am .
At 2am , Advance Job cancell one .
Then if u call them and ask why ? CSA will tell you " customer cancelled " .
They win liao .
Who knows the daughter of a taxi driver kelong this job to her father ? So many mxxxy CSA , and mxxxy drivers in CDG .
Then if not , where does all the Chinese New Year Hampers came from ????
hello Dr wong ,
Drive in rain for $3.50 extra or Drive in rain and risk $2140?????
for me i park one side.
Wanna hear some opinions abt the Wish 2.0 during rainy days. My cab's handling on wet roads is not very good.
Last week or so when it rained very heavily about 3 am , the cab keep on sliding when it hit bends. Dropped the pax and decided not worth the risk and headed home
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Wanna hear some opinions abt the Wish 2.0 during rainy days. My cab's handling on wet roads is not very good.
Last week or so when it rained very heavily about 3 am , the cab keep on sliding when it hit bends. Dropped the pax and decided not worth the risk and headed home
yah super heavy rain i go hiding in car park listen class 95
take out my asus watch show n smoke~~~~ ;)
Originally posted by Vee4317l:Last time I drove Toyota sampang, raining day very dangerous to drive, not worth for that cab FARE.
I think this has to do with taxi companies using cheap China-made tyres that doesn't work well under wet condition. Only very yao TD will risk their life driving under heavy rain and worst if caught in a once-in-50 years flash flood.
My personal experience about 2 years ago. The blue company used a China-made brand called "YARTU" for the Crown. I told my hirer to feedback to the company and before he did, I bang into a car along Yio Chu Kang Rd.
It rained that morning when I sent a pax to Seletar camp. When the light turned red, I stepped on the brake and I am sure that the wheel have stopped rolling but the car continue to skid forward and hit the vehicle infront. Luckily my car just "touch" the bumper and stop, and the damage is a minor one. And the other party is an uncle driving a soon to scrap car accepted a small amount of $30 for compensation.
Until these days, I tend to keep as large a gap as i could possibly get.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Wanna hear some opinions abt the Wish 2.0 during rainy days. My cab's handling on wet roads is not very good.
Check the tyres they used. If I am not wrong, it could be China made. The last time I search the net, I found that the particular brand I mentioned was made by one company that supplied tyres for the US market and have many court cases against them for causing accidents.
Recently I heard there were a few cases where Wish cab hit the railings when turning into PIE from Airport, also under wet road condition.
Even "Good Year" tyres got this problem when making a bend especially when you go over the white painting on road surface.
TS, either you have to live with the problems OR come out early and take public transport.
aiya Dr. When its not rainning I cannot get to your call. We (as most taxi drivers) so poor thing didn't receive your call and also cannot find pax to make end meet. Wondering can you ask the authority to do something about it hehhe.
Originally posted by Zirofour:aiya Dr. When its not rainning I cannot get to your call. We (as most taxi drivers) so poor thing didn't receive your call and also cannot find pax to make end meet. Wondering can you ask the authority to do something about it hehhe.
aiyo ZiroFour , love with it ....