So next time you hear this, just ignore them.
Why must you listen to their request.
You may be in troubles.
source.
The next time you think of speeding on the roads - beware. The Traffic Police is bringing back unmarked patrol cars to conduct covert enforcement patrols.
Officers will work in pairs, with at least one officer in uniform. They will show their warrant cards for identification as well. The Traffic Police will also deploy a patrol team focusing on motorcyclists, to educate about road safety.
The 2011 Ride Safe campaign, launched on Saturday morning at Bukit Batok Driving Centre, will raise awareness of safe driving for motorcyclists.
Motorcyclists and their pillion riders remain the most vulnerable group of road users, accounting for almost half of all road fatalities.
i only reply "see how (is the traffic)". another word from pax, ask him/her get off. not worth getting into trouble with TP for a small fare.
When a pax is oredi late or going too be late,no matter how fast you drive,to them is slow.Some pax more funny,on call & get in my taxi late -5 minutes at least and still dare to tell me drive faster as he is late.If you on call and wait for my taxi @ pick up point b4 i arrive,i still entertain u a bit.I will only drive according to traffic rules and condition even if you are late.Its your fault and not mine.Get a ambulance to take you to your destination if you are really urgent!
Originally posted by Uncle Cabby:i ever encountered a young lady who HAD THE CHEEK 2 tel me 2 beat the red light for her !!!
minimum fine for speeding is $100++ n 6 demerit pts
beat red light is 12 pts n $200 fine
they tin we r morons??? get into serious trouble for them only for $10 or $20 ???
yah they wan complain also no use tell them to go ahead
i dare to challenge them give them receipt some more
Usually, I will drive as normal as poss.
Sometimes, I will advise 'Better late than never!'
Often, I will offer an alternative route to their destination, but a longer one.
Rarely, I will exceed the speed limit.
Never, I will risk my life and TDVL!
Never!
I used to ask the cabby if he could go faster cos I was running late.
Then after one or two times, I realized that actually it doesn't really make any difference cos you will still run into traffic lights and traffic jams.
Even if the cabby is driving more slowly than usual.
I think you guys can just tell the passengers "ok" and then continue to drive at your usual speed, cos indeed, like someone mentioned, when the passenger is late, your driving is slow to him/her no matter how fast you drive. ![]()
Knn, those cabbies rushing down airport boulavard like F1, that day, i just saw 3 cabs kenna booked, so brothers and sisters, becareful, I think they are look very closely on that 70km/h road. Most are at 100
Originally posted by MooKu:I used to ask the cabby if he could go faster cos I was running late.
Then after one or two times, I realized that actually it doesn't really make any difference cos you will still run into traffic lights and traffic jams.
I think you guys can just tell the passengers "ok" and then continue to drive at your usual speed, cos indeed, like someone mentioned, when the passenger is late, your driving is slow to him/her no matter how fast you drive.
yeah, u r a very understanding pax
Originally posted by MooKu:I used to ask the cabby if he could go faster cos I was running late.
I think you guys can just tell the passengers "ok" and then continue to drive at your usual speed, cos indeed, like someone mentioned, when the passenger is late, your driving is slow to him/her no matter how fast you drive.
Sadly, out of 100, only one thinks like you. If more are like you, we will be more happier. Thanks for yr understanding.
For me, careless you late or earlier, just go by the speed limit, not happy, can F off.
Originally posted by bowah:
Sadly, out of 100, only one thinks like you. If more are like you, we will be more happier. Thanks for yr understanding.For me, careless you late or earlier, just go by the speed limit, not happy, can F off.
yah we follow speed limit not happy u can get down n get another cab
no worth to rish our lives n licence juz for ur fare........
bro u saw them racing down wat time?? ifs its midnite maybe they rushing
for png for me i drive at 80 there relax relax cruise in..........
No point rushing for the pax, cos end of the day he/she also doesn't appreciate our service and along the way we have been curse many times from others road users.
Originally posted by Cash Lee:No point rushing for the pax, cos end of the day he/she also doesn't appreciate our service and along the way we have been curse many times from others road users.
very true bro juz act for our self interests can liao~~~
just wondering, how is it possible for some cab drivers to travel at 100km/hr on the expressway littered with speed cameras and not receive a ticket for speeding?
i'm referring to weekends here.
as for weekdays when rushing to work, it does make a difference for me. we're talking 5 - 15 minutes difference here. peanuts to leisurely B types but for A types that's 1/4 of a precious hour. then again if they are not in a hurry, y bother calling a cab or taking one?
we're not demanding Formula 1 reckless speeding here, just the consideration to move at 60 - 80km on lane 1 on a monday morning instead of staying put on lane 3 or 2. stick to the speed limit yeah sure, but hanging around on lane 3 or 2, foot on the brakes when there're more vehicles merging in from the left is just plain old lazy driving. especially when passengers are in the hurry.
there are good cab drivers out there, majority of them i'd say, mostly comfort or city cabs. for the old timers who chiong when nudged to "please move a little faster if possible"... especially those who are driving a stick on one of those rackety old cabs keep the change and i'll leave a small tip. none of them exceeded 100km, no accidents, no rampant lane changings, just plain old sticking to lane 1 is all.
so far i've only had the misfortune of riding with an smrt cab driver (young chap) a few months back who blatantly told me when stuck in a traffic jam peak hour on a weekday morning, that the Best Lane and the Fastest Lane is number 3. my cab fare was 20 bucks higher than usual and the journey took an extra 45minutes. i had no idea why he did what he did, i took a receipt because that was double the usual fare intended to file a complain but decided against it. y waste 20minutes churning out a complain letter for this guy? :P but that driver, along with some comments here in this thread remind me of how some resentful or angry people deliberately slow down when crossing the traffic lights or jay walking, as if telling everybody else the roads are their turf, that they're kings of the road and they can damn well take their own sweet time as they see fit. that is sad.
there is a marked difference for passengers, even during peak hour which lane they choose to travel on. which roads they choose to take.
i think when u guys paint the picture of 'risking your own lives and wallets' for passengers is just a tad extreme and hard to believe. well just my 2 cents worth.
Originally posted by soleachip:just wondering, how is it possible for some cab drivers to travel at 100km/hr on the expressway littered with speed cameras and not receive a ticket for speeding?
i'm referring to weekends here.
as for weekdays when rushing to work, it does make a difference for me. we're talking 5 - 15 minutes difference here. peanuts to leisurely B types but for A types that's 1/4 of a precious hour. then again if they are not in a hurry, y bother calling a cab or taking one?
we're not demanding Formula 1 reckless speeding here, just the consideration to move at 60 - 80km on lane 1 on a monday morning instead of staying put on lane 3 or 2. stick to the speed limit yeah sure, but hanging around on lane 3 or 2, foot on the brakes when there're more vehicles merging in from the left is just plain old lazy driving. especially when passengers are in the hurry.
there are good cab drivers out there, majority of them i'd say, mostly comfort or city cabs. for the old timers who chiong when nudged to "please move a little faster if possible"... especially those who are driving a stick on one of those rackety old cabs keep the change and i'll leave a small tip. none of them exceeded 100km, no accidents, no rampant lane changings, just plain old sticking to lane 1 is all.
so far i've only had the misfortune of riding with an smrt cab driver (young chap) a few months back who blatantly told me when stuck in a traffic jam peak hour on a weekday morning, that the Best Lane and the Fastest Lane is number 3. my cab fare was 20 bucks higher than usual and the journey took an extra 45minutes.
there is a marked difference for passengers, even during peak hour which lane they choose to travel on. which roads they choose to take.
i think when u guys paint the picture of 'risking your own lives and wallets' for passengers is just a tad extreme and hard to believe. well just my 2 cents worth.
100kph camera will not snap. Usually is excess of 100kph then camera will snap. There is a 10kph tolerance because not all our speedo are tune to the same specs.
Your lane 1 is referring to the left most or right most? Lane 1 is the overtaking lane btw.
For us TD 5-10min difference is a lot during peak hours because the volume of traffic will suddenly surge and also when going AP the 5-10min difference can means a 20-30min difference in queuing time when we miss the connecting flight and sudden surge of taxi coming to the queue.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:100kph camera will not snap. Usually is excess of 100kph then camera will snap. There is a 10kph tolerance because not all our speedo are tune to the same specs.
Your lane 1 is referring to the left most or right most? Lane 1 is the overtaking lane btw.
For us TD 5-10min difference is a lot during peak hours because the volume of traffic will suddenly surge and also when going AP the 5-10min difference can means a 20-30min difference in queuing time when we miss the connecting flight and sudden surge of taxi coming to the queue.
i see, yeah i figured that 100km on lane 1 (right lane) is fine because many cab drivers actually take that lane without even being asked to.
learned my lesson after 1 time when i hopped into the cab and went, uncle can go a tad faster cos i'm running late for work? and the pak cik said i oughta watch for his speed first b4 teaching the fish how to swim. darn skillful driver. safe, steady, fast and he didn't drive like an asshole.
i guess there are good and nasty cab drivers out there, i hope i stay lucky. :P
and by the way the only time i write letters to companies is to complement good service. no point working up my own blood pressure remembering the bad ones.
after seeing this thread, i'm going to make it a point to commend the good cab drivers i will see. if they made the effort and gave the consideration to provide good service even while cruising in stressful conditions during peak hour, they deserve a pat on the back.
afterall driving on the roads in sg is stressful.
Originally posted by soleachip:i see, yeah i figured that 100km on lane 1 (right lane) is fine because many cab drivers actually take that lane without even being asked to.
learned my lesson after 1 time when i hopped into the cab and went, uncle can go a tad faster cos i'm running late for work? and the pak cik said i oughta watch for his speed first b4 teaching the fish how to swim. darn skillful driver. safe, steady, fast and he didn't drive like an asshole.
i guess there are good and nasty cab drivers out there, i hope i stay lucky. :P
Lane 1 at all cost is for overtaking. Even if you are travelling @ 120kph behind got a Ferrari coming at 150kph also must give way. Sometimes when stuck in a jam on highway Lane actually is faster because people have the tenancy to filtering to Lane 1 thinking it is faster. That's why usually I stay at Lane 2 and notice the car beside me. Either I am faster if not on par with the car. So I make a point to stick to Lane 2 in a jam.
Driving fast and reckless is different things. I usually gets compliments for my smooth driving. The key to good driving is no sudden start and stop. Sudden change of lane. Always keep to the correct lane for turning even if there is a long queue. No point going in front trying your luck if no gap for you to go in then GG liao. Regulate the speed on the highway, when road is clear I can go at 110-120kph but when approaching a bend I will release the pedal and let the car slows on its momentum until reasonable cornering speed so my pax will not have to tolerate too much lateral movement when negotiating a bend. Also must take note is when approcaching work sites like Bt Timah Road where there is MRT works going on. The markings are not clear and the orientation of the lanes can be change at random. Dun go fast due to the bumpy road surfaces and also the uncertainties that lies ahead.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Lane 1 at all cost is for overtaking. Even if you are travelling @ 120kph behind got a Ferrari coming at 150kph also must give way. Sometimes when stuck in a jam on highway Lane actually is faster because people have the tenancy to filtering to Lane 1 thinking it is faster. That's why usually I stay at Lane 2 and notice the car beside me. Either I am faster if not on par with the car. So I make a point to stick to Lane 2 in a jam.
Driving fast and reckless is different things. I usually gets compliments for my smooth driving. The key to good driving is no sudden start and stop. Sudden change of lane. Always keep to the correct lane for turning even if there is a long queue. No point going in front trying your luck if no gap for you to go in then GG liao. Regulate the speed on the highway, when road is clear I can go at 110-120kph but when approaching a bend I will release the pedal and let the car slows on its momentum until reasonable cornering speed so my pax will not have to tolerate too much lateral movement when negotiating a bend. Also must take note is when approcaching work sites like Bt Timah Road where there is MRT works going on. The markings are not clear and the orientation of the lanes can be change at random. Dun go fast due to the bumpy road surfaces and also the uncertainties that lies ahead.
hey you're right! i think that's usually a judgement call on the cabby's side that comes with some experience. sometimes they keep at lane 2 for a reason and they move faster than the vehicles on lane 1. those are the skilful ones. but not the 2 drivers i met who just kept on at lane 2 while minivans, trucks, lorries, tibs zoom by on lane 1 and disappear while we're still in lane 2, immovable 2 or 3 minutes later.
i imagine people in those vehicles arriving at work before I do and it ails me lol. just kidding. :P
it's funny as well observing some of the newer drivers, a lady cab driver with a huge ipad hooked up next to her meter with a GPS, this young guy who beat the red light by accident when he took a wrong turn and i was running late for school, and most memorable was this uncle who almost e brake when approaching the ERP gantry on an expressway. all of a sudden he started saying omg omg omg, his hands clasping his left shirt pocket. i thought he was about to go into cardiac arrest!!!!!! on the expressway! then he told me he forgot his cashcard and don't know where it is. there's also some funny ones from a cab driver who drives in vegas here http://lvcabbiechronicles.blogspot.com/
i'm off to bed. thanks for sharing hammerhammer! goodnight and happy driving tomorrow!
normally lane 2 is faster than lane 1...........
Good drivers, can also compliment them by giving tips instead of telling their companies
Originally posted by bowah:Good drivers, can also compliment them by giving tips instead of telling their companies
True,good say.Save your time too for writing a letter!
soleachip,行行有本难念的�。