btw , who is unhappy ?
I know commuters are not happy .... esp rain .
Circle line open liao , they have options , cheaper option .
Doing what we love and earn a living with it? Not so easy. Very easy to say. Very hard to do. Most people are doing jobs to survive. The lucky ones enjoy it, the less lucky ones find it boring but stick around because they got no choice.
You want to know what many love to do for a living? Many like gambling, but is there such a thing as a casino license that we can just apply and hope for approval within a month for a token fee here in Singapore or anywhere else? Of course not.
Many like to pimp and have a stable of hot babes. But is there a straight forward procedure to apply for a brothel license anywhere in this world? Of course not.
Many if not all taxi drivers wish we could own and run our own taxi. But again this is not possible in Singapore.
We wish as taxi drivers that we can just advertise and tout our services around without breaking the law. Again it is illegal.
As taxi drivers, most do not have much education. For many of them, indulging in a few sinful pleasures is how they pass their time. So you tell me, what else is out there that is profitable and pleasurable and nobody realised by now?
So please do not try and be too smart and write dumb things. Steve Jobs is Steve Jobs. We neither have his brains nor his looks nor his luck nor his charm. I consider myself lucky that I enjoy driving and meeting people already. But there are many who enjoy neither but still got to cope with it. Life is hard for most people. Dun make stupid statements about finding something u enjoy and earn a living with it. It is just a pipe dream for most people.
some cabby doing this trade happily for the last eleven years ....
A bit boring sometimes pissed off by act smart commuters , but we love on .
Life move on for us .
I for one example ....
Me not happy ?
Aiyo , taxi driving is the best job as far as my needs is concern . It's what you need .
Nevermind no CPF , i have my own retirement funds .
Nowhere in Singapore & no jobs .... that allows to watch World Cup every four years in the morning hours , and allow me to sleep in the day , and work in the night , and go back watch World Cup again . . . for one whole month , salary and job not affected .
And no need MC to skip work during World Cup .
And during Saturday and Sunday , we can stay at home watch English Premier League , Spanish La Liga , Italians Serie A and German Bundesliga if you want .
Just adjust your timing , earn enough rental and fuel cost , and head home watching . No boss to approve .
And best part is ..... after watching soccer , if still feels good , weekend crowds still there to you to continue working if u want .
And UEFA Champions League , as u know , every midweek , starting 2.45am Singapore time , the best time for me !
Just nice finished work , top up CNG , wash taxi , heads home and can start watching soccer .
After watching , sleep .
Aiyo , who is unhappy .
If football matches start at 10pm ....
Between 3pm to 10pm , can bring family go shopping , jalan jalan , have a nice dinner , spent sometime with them etc .....
And still can see football .
Then after soccer , dun feel like working , can stop work . At what cost ? Roughly $50 a shift . No boss marked you , and face condemnations hahahahah
And ....
Football not only World Cup , EPL , Serie A , Bundesliga , La Liga .... we also have European Championship in Europe .
So basically , every 2 years , we have exciting football on TV , live every midnight for 1 month .
Try doing watching every night for one consecutive month , and as fresh as me .
if that chap like me , can watch socecer on TV , still work not affected , salary not affected .... and still on the job , and still not happy ? I really dunno what to say .
as i've said many times ...
if wanna compare head to head ....
pls compared taxi profession from the same service trade .
We compared us to waiter , MBS dealers , hotel bell hop , hotel concierge , cleaners , shop assistants , bar tenders , bus drivers , MRT operators ..... etc .
Who can watch soccer like me ? And not affected ?
Not get retrenched ? Not penalised ?
So far , non . Unless u open your own shop .
so if many still not convince why i am still happy driving a cab , now you know .
TD good what. Only minus point is no CPF, no MC, no leave....
CPF I no need lah. Even is no CPF house still under loan then pay cash loh. Take it as saving, next time sell house can take back no like CPF must put back plus interest. Put money take money. No leave MC nevermind. If want to take a break just get a super relief one day only lose $30 nia. Every month I get incentive can cover 6 days rental. And plus point is I still got a vehicle at my disposal no need worry about maintanence, road tax, insurance, depreciation etc...
My friend bought a 2.0 Wish @ $130K++ now paying monthly $1200++ after downpayment $5K yearly still got to pay insurance and road tax $2K+ plus petrol usage monthly $500 so he is like paying close to $1.7K a month haven't count servicing and tyre change, batt change, brake pad change all this xiao xiao pi pi stuff.
I only paying about $2.4K monthly everthing taken care of. Drive a year contract finish want to change car also can. You try changing car after 1 year haha easily must lose $8-10K.
This job good no need to travel to work. Once get out of the house start liao. Everyday can see money. Last time I work every month take pay buy this buy that KNN less then a week finish liao still must survive on my rental. Now every day earn at least can spend wisely rental goes directly to FD.
And yess can watch soccer. Got mood go drive few round no mood keep. Flexible hours. Which job can give me? Do business? Open shop? Worst lah everyday must stay in shop no freedom. Cannot happy happy close shop right? Shop rental more ex then taxi rental leh. And you still need money to buy goods. Need money to travel to shop. Longer hours then taxi. LOL
A happy taxi driver is debtless .... a debtful taxi driver can never be happy .

'Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that.'
Football watching is never a matter of life & death , but it is an important thing in my life .
Life is short .
Not play hard , love a passion .
My loves for soccer & badminton never changes .
A happy taxi driver is somebody that still have time to pursue his passion .
I can afford to play badminton every Tuesday & Thursday , without needed to pay "Peak Period" charges for booking of badminton court .
After games , work not affected unless "Laziness" .
Now u know why i am still a cabby after 11 years ?
Cos only a cabby's job can have those luxuries i need .
It's what u need .
Originally posted by Poolman:A happy taxi driver is debtless .... a debtful taxi driver can never be happy .
need to buy bricks n milk powder consider debt boh??
go straight to the point and don't round and round.
Who you don't like just fark it out!
And do not burn the whole forrest just because of 1 rotten tree.
Originally posted by African Killer Bee:There are more suffering from the social economic equivalent of short man syndrome here than anywhere else. All the angst and declaration of hostility against perceived slights from paying customers… Is that necessary? So in memory of Steve jobs, if u r so unhappy being a cabby, go do something else:
“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.”
not everyone has the luxury of choosing one's job. not all paying customers are reasonable. as a taxi driver, we are here to make an honest living, not to be abused by unreasonable paying customers.
only those who have been thru a taxi driver's daily routine will know the difficulties when unreasonable paying customer trying to find fault.
who is steve jobs? to me he is just a shrewd bizman. read from the net, he make $5000 by getting his co-founder of apple, steve wozniak to do the work for him & only pay him $375 & pocketed the rest.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Breakout_%28video_game%29
I dun think I want to learn from him.
Originally posted by African Killer Bee:Well if ur happy as a cabby this post is not for u. I don’t know, am I unclear or r u just bad at reading comprehension? but judging from the passive aggressive hostility displayed many here must consider their vocation to be beneath them. hide behind all the excuses you want, it’s your choice to live unhappily.
you think other vocations/professions dun have these problems? even office workers got office politics lah. then those office workers, factory workers not happy, how? become taxi driver?
Yeah, it reminds me that I also often tell my pax, not happy, take another cab! haaa.
Originally posted by komade:need to buy bricks n milk powder consider debt boh??
That's not debt lah bro, that is asset, fixed asset. Even if you borrow to buy house, is consider a current asset with an accrued liability, meaning, the house is yours but any default in paying the loan, can end up with the bank taking back as mortage. And as time goes on, when you have finished servicing your loan, it become your fix asset, your property.
Building house in viet has an advantages over our HDB, cos HDB has a liablitiy of only 99 years, guess vietnam is forever, freehold.
Originally posted by African Killer Bee:Well if ur happy as a cabby this post is not for u. I don’t know, am I unclear or r u just bad at reading comprehension? but judging from the passive aggressive hostility displayed many here must consider their vocation to be beneath them. hide behind all the excuses you want, it’s your choice to live unhappily.
Whenever you post to get answer, you must be able to take both the negatives and the positives remarks with gracious, there are many kinds of foods to satisfy all walks of life. You cannot expect a leading reply to your post of what you like, and when you find one that is not up to your taste, you start to give unnecessary critics, that is bad and no good.
I am a living example of both working in a company as freelance and also as a taxi driver, in my opinon, TD, may earn lesser, is much better in term of work, and I certainly more happier in driving taxis than those office work which have full of dirty politics, playing taichi, useless meeting, top down control and yet, have to share that piece of profit with those bosses who just give orders, and worst, you get the smallest piece and yet did the most work.
As i said before, TD is like liang shan for some people here, you hv all kinds of heros coming into it, this trade provide an immediate startup SME business, meaning once you start driving, you are a businessman, beside rental and fuel, you share with no one your profit, you do not go around and play politics, which is unhealthy to the soul and body. More importantly, as many had said, own time, own target, you do not have to report anyone or see the same faces everyday. Day in and day out, you ply the road differently with different peoples, and that is enjoyable in a sense, rather than a norm 8 to 5 job that is so stagnate, non flexible and can get fired without even knowing what hit you.
So, not to worry, TD are mostly a happy lots, there are more guys died of heart attack in office work than TD, and more died playing golf than driving a taxi.