As a Taxi Driver, depend on driving sometime very tough. Why taxi driver like to pick passenger from airport, the reason being is the tips or keep the change. A good taxi driver which can communicate effectively with passenger usually are rewarded. It is just like you go to restaurant, you happy with the waiter and you tips him or her.
A good driver that can communicate with tourist well may earned their trust anf the tourist may book him for few days to tour around Singapore and end of the day ask you to send him or her to airport. Some tips can be very solid.
Some tiko tourist may asked you to bring him to Geylang, make sure you know Geylang well and which Or Kwee Tau is generous and provide the best herbal chicken to your passenger. This one, double tips, tip from passenger and tip from Or Kwee Tau.
So there are rewards for picking up tourist but to pick up tourist, you must know how to communicate with them.
I always tell the TD never mind the change, not keep the change.
Because I don't want to wait for the change, and mostly because the change is less than $2. I always have small change with me, and can pay to the nearest $2.
Still TD always say Thank you.
i always say keep the change if it's $X.70, X.80, X.90 & I will pay $(X+1).00
40 cents and 50 cents i will wait and take back. ![]()
true
As a td myself, when I take cab, I will round up to the nearest dollar, then add a $2 tip on top of that. He happy, I happy. Quite often, cos I don't know how to take bus. cb.
I'll usually
$18.xx, $20 keep the change.
$7.xx, $10 keep the change.
If drop of friend before final destination, + $3 + keep the change
If in rush, keep the change
i always tell pax to pay $X only when fare is $X.10, $0.15, $X.20. where got so many coins to give change.
if fare is $2X.25, $2X.30, i also round down the figure.
everyday i lugi abt $1~2.
very seldom pax tell me "keep the change". :-(
Everyone in the SERVICE industries love these words.... ![]()
fare is 9.90, u can keep the change for 10.
Originally posted by Rooney9:fare is 9.90, u can keep the change for 10.
sorry hor. many still take that pathetic $0.10 from me.
Originally posted by Insg:i always tell pax to pay $X only when fare is $X.10, $0.15, $X.20. where got so many coins to give change.
if fare is $2X.25, $2X.30, i also round down the figure.
everyday i lugi abt $1~2.
very seldom pax tell me "keep the change". :-(
You must pick up more ang moh. Local difficult lah. Ang moh most likely to tip. Even those paying by credit card will ask me round up when keying the cashless terminal.
Usually I also round down but must see situation. If chio bu ok, if steam trip take me from mountain top to town ok, if trip that take me home or pump CNG ok....If certain race....wait LONG LONG...even 5 cents I also take....LOL
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:You must pick up more ang moh. Local difficult lah. Ang moh most likely to tip. Even those paying by credit card will ask me round up when keying the cashless terminal.
amg mor is rich. if u earn 20k a month what is FEW CENTS OR DOLLARS mean to u? locals diff, not as rich as ang mor.
Local rich also ngeow one....Got once I fetch a guy from Bukit Pasoh he wants to go to Sixth Ave then when reaching his house he ask me wait a while because he wanted to put his hamper, won in company year end dinner lucky draw, and go Tan Chong Motor take his Lexus. His bungalow already park 1 Lexus LS460 and 1 BMW 525i. Reach Tan Chong fare $22.80 he give me $23 and waiting for me to give him back 20 cents. You says leh...
he is not generous lor. u dunno how some rich are stingy meh. even 5 cents also want to argue with you.
anyway even if rich or poor, its right you give them the change.
Originally posted by Rooney9:he is not generous lor. u dunno how some rich are stingy meh. even 5 cents also want to argue with you.
anyway even if rich or poor, its right you give them the change.
I din say I dun want to give him change. Just want to let you know local rich ones are most stingy. But also alot of locals also give tips by rounding up. And those are the regular taking taxi type. And most of them are staying HDB. Condo pax also mostly ngeow type.
Originally posted by Insg:sorry hor. many still take that pathetic $0.10 from me.
haha very true bro
Actually I don't want to hear the words "Keep the change" because those will mean only a few tens of cents tips.
I prefer those who says " Driver, this is for you" or even a simple "Thank you", you know what i mean? <wink>
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:You must pick up more ang moh. Local difficult lah. Ang moh most likely to tip. Even those paying by credit card will ask me round up when keying the cashless terminal.
not only local pax, even ang mo also take that $0.10 change. nowadays, ang mo also very poor liao.
some ang mo very gentleman one. take all the change from you, then pick a $2 and say "this is for you. thank you". this kind got standard but seldom kena this kind of pax.
for mi
if less than $1 , keep the change
Keeping the change can go both way, sometime, i tell pax to keep the coins instead of them asking me to keep the change, especially those higher amount like $24.10 or $24.20, I tell them coins you can keep, round up to $24 will do, but end up they give $25. Like that lor
Originally posted by kanuj:oops sorry didnt realise theres already a thread on this, pls delete my other thread thanks!
JACPOT NO.2!
meter 10.20 but i go and say ONE-OH-TWO-OH. dont ask me, i also dunno why i do that maybe i feel like different l i cant remember. but pax gave 100 and 2×10 dollars! i think is either pinoy or viet cant tell..i thought i take wrong and lift up the notes, he already turn body push door get out and i remember very clearly he say keep the change! hohohoho
Huat ah!