Recently i sign up for a TVL full time course which will start on 5th of dec. A short intro abt myself.
35 this yr, married with 2 kids. Self employed running a retail biz with a partner for the last 8 yrs ( Previously was a saf regular).
Ok...why i made up my mind to be a TD, nope im not in any serious debt problem except maybe for my remaining hdb loan which i hope to clear it before i hit the big four, which i had the opportunities to do it earlier but circumstances arises and i was not able to.
When i left saf 8 yrs ago to start my biz, my mum was also diagnosed with stroke,cancer and kidney failure. My mum had since passed away last yr. Medical bills has taken quite a big toll on myself and my wife as well. Things also didnt end well after as my dad had gotten into a serious state of depression and dementia as well,his memory has gotten so bad that i had run out of option but to have dad up in a nursing home for proper care and guide.
Biz was doing well thru out the years even when my mum was teminally ill, i was lucky to be able to cover all of the medical bills which run into a six fig amount over the last 8 yrs, but it also whip away what i have save hard thruout years for my family. Yes my business is still running but not as well as before just enough to earn a megre salary for both my partner and myself, hence my decision to also go into being a TD.
I have read thru this forum and i understand being an OMO is going to be tough, i know it is but i have also decided that inspite of it i still will want to be an OMO ( wat else is more tougher than caring for my parents for the last 8yrs?) Thanks guys for reading. im just sharing my thoughts :)
wat is omo?
OMO = One man operation = no relieve driver = have his taxi for 24 hrs a day and 365 day a year.
"One Man Only" also sounds good :)
Originally posted by ericgo:"One Man Only" also sounds good :)
did you sign up with any taxi company for ur course?
nope sign up directly with STA.
Originally posted by ericgo:nope sign up directly with STA.
Full time or part time? Full time 3 weeks and part time 6 weeks.
Full time course.
Originally posted by ericgo:Full time course.
3 weeks course cover 5 sections.
Section 1, rules and regulation, conducted by LTA lau jiao.
Section 2, Routes & Landmark, conducted by Cabby uncle also lau jiao
Section 3, Highway code conducted by LTA lau jiao, Healthy living conducted by a lau cha bor, dun know from where but she will ask you not to eat this eat that, simple vehicle maintenance conducted by private company workshop manager, also dun know from where.
Section 4, Defense driving conducted by ex-traffic police guy
Section 5, name and location conducted by cabby lau jiao.
u can allso go into insurance or real estate
thought of it. but i prefer my choice atm. some may think differently regarding this vocation, but im not bother about how people wag their tongues abt it.
newbie try not to go OMO..........
tks komade, i understand your point. :)
Examination, all multiple choice questions, 2 hrs for paper 1 and 2 hrs for paper 2.
Paper 1 (2 hrs),
Section 1 Rules and Regulations, 50 questions, each questions one mark, must score 43/50 marks than consider pass this section.
Section 2 Routes & Landmarks, 30 questions, each question one marks and must score 23/30 marks than consider pass this section. Out of these 30 questions, 10 questions on landmarks, they will asked you to choose two landmarks and out of 4 landmarks, ie Ans A = landmark 1, Ans B = landmark 2, Ans C=landmark 3 and Ans D = Landmark 4. If you answer 1 landmark correct and one landmark wrong, you will not get mark for this question. Two landmarks must be correct to earn you 1 marks.
Paper 2 (2 hrs)
Section 3, Highway code 6 questions, Healthy living 2 questions, simple vehicle mainteance 2 questions. total 10 questions and you must score 6 / 10 then consider pass this section.
Section 4 , defensive driving, 20 questions, you must score 15/20 marks then consider pass this section.
Section 5, Name and locations of building, 50 questions, you must score 41/50 then consider pass this section. This section is a killer, most of them failed not because they do not know how to flip road directory and search for answer, it is not enough time to answer the question. If you think you will fail section 5 due to shortage of time, my advise to you is to fail section 3 and 4 because when you re-take, you will be given full 2 hrs. Assume you passed section 3 and 4 and failed section 5, when you re-take, you will be give 1 hr for section 5 which you may not have time to answer all questions and failed again. Some of students take 5 to 6 times before they can pass this section. This section test you on speed, do this section sibei kancheong.
tks hokkienkia. appreciate ur info :)
Originally posted by ericgo:tks hokkienkia. appreciate ur info :)
I pity those ah peh for section 2and 5. Section 2 to test ur memory. In class, you will be given 40 routes and 4 CDs and you must remember all of thems. Now no more taking bus to tour singapore liao. The 4 CDs will bring you all over the 40 routes. The routes ie from changi airport to furamar hotel, they will tell you which routes to take and you need to remember these routes in a sequence order. Section 2 is a bit tricky.
Originally posted by komade:newbie try not to go OMO..........
Mid 30 takes up taxi trade, not bad for taxi industry. But may I suggest that if you have any other alternative job or business to undertake than driving taxi, please go ahead and do it, since your business had taken off, see if you can expand it and make more out of it, every family, i guess got their own problem, some said it out, some keep it inside, with yr house still under loan and kids still small, if can get a working jobs, it should be better, that's my view. But if you still love driving taxi, by all means.
Many citizens took up taxis VL (and drive only at the last resort)... Once you get stucked in this industry... it is hard to get out... unless lottery luck falls on you..
So many taxis now... Taxi NO enough ? ![]()

Originally posted by bowah:Mid 30 takes up taxi trade, not bad for taxi industry. But may I suggest that if you have any other alternative job or business to undertake than driving taxi, please go ahead and do it, since your business had taken off, see if you can expand it and make more out of it, every family, i guess got their own problem, some said it out, some keep it inside, with yr house still under loan and kids still small, if can get a working jobs, it should be better, that's my view. But if you still love driving taxi, by all means.
My business have been stagnate since the opening of the casino, jus enough as a salary for my partner and myself. i do not have any liabilities except my housing loan,clearing it soon would ease my mind.
i have been in business for the last 8 years, understand the difficulties of working for else one as an employee, would still prefer the freedom of making my choices and decision process as a self employed.
good for u. there is a taxi driver who has a PHD, is driving a taxi after his contracted was not renewed by *ASTAR. he even wrote a book on his experience as a TD.
that said, besides TD, there are still alot of employment out there. since you have experiences in running a business, how about opening a stall at foodcourt.
Originally posted by ericgo:My business have been stagnate since the opening of the casino, jus enough as a salary for my partner and myself. i do not have any liabilities except my housing loan,clearing it soon would ease my mind.
i have been in business for the last 8 years, understand the difficulties of working for else one as an employee, would still prefer the freedom of making my choices and decision process as a self employed.
Hi Brother, as I said, it your choice, it not a destiny, you have a choice in life. Ask yourself is there any other option, 35yo is still very much marketable in many trades and jobs, once you go into taxi, you may love it due to your liking of being self employed, which is not wrong at all. And as time passby, you will be in your 40s soon, by that time, it is much difficult to get a job.
As I said, it is a blessing that taxi industrial is able to attract young people like you to join in, some industrial cannot even enough of young singaporean to join in, maybe due to pathetic pay or simply, infested by foreigners that hampered the pay structure and the culture of Singaporean working style. I would say that although it is a blessing but a lost to the economy. A warm Welcome to taxi trade.
Should not be surprise to have bundles of MBA, MSc, BSc or whatever driving cab nowsaday.
Then something is wrong, jobs taken by foreigners, educated and young singaporeans go drive Taxi, knn, singapore govt sleeping.
Originally posted by Rooney9:good for u. there is a taxi driver who has a PHD, is driving a taxi after his contracted was not renewed by *ASTAR. he even wrote a book on his experience as a TD.
that said, besides TD, there are still alot of employment out there. since you have experiences in running a business, how about opening a stall at foodcourt.
Bro rooney9, my culinary skills sucks leh, i make it better as a food critic la :D