Originally posted by ericgo:
Bro rooney9, my culinary skills sucks leh, i make it better as a food critic la :D
u can hire someone to do the cooking. u be the stall assistant and taking care of the money.
Originally posted by Rooney9:u can hire someone to do the cooking. u be the stall assistant and taking care of the money.
im not comfortable going into a business that i wont have a full control and knowledge of it.
Originally posted by bowah:Then something is wrong, jobs taken by foreigners, educated and young singaporeans go drive Taxi, knn, singapore govt sleeping.
Generally speaking, this is happening.
I went for a working lunch in the west one Friday, most of the young waiter/waitress (late teens, early twenties) seem to be work permit holder in the resturant judge by their spoken accents.
Where are our teens and youth?
Originally posted by Van Damme:
Generally speaking, this is happening.I went for a working lunch in the west one Friday, most of the young waiter/waitress (late teens, early twenties) seem to be work permit holder in the resturant judge by their spoken accents.
Where are our teens and youth?
sg govt is the biggest employer in singapore directly or indirectly. Its not abt "foreign talent" but the cost of labour. To ease the flow of cheap labour, work permit got to be laxed across all boards from public to private sector. Just that the pte sector gets to benefits from govt policy of increasing GDP by lowering the labour cost.
Well at least the taxi trade in singapore is still protected from foreign employment. The govt should also extend this exclusive singaporeans only to the real estates trade as well. Im seeing more and more foreign housing agents in singapore.
Originally posted by Poolman:dun underestimate singapore government …. they dare to do funny things one .
No trade is protected as far as this government is concern .
So never take for granted .
As long as law is still there , just grap as early birds .
ANd then discuss those options later .
lets hope its all calm and smooth til the next GE, govt will probably start their funny nonsense if they get a better mandate the next time round.
Anyway my house in Malaysia is empty .... Just waiting for the PAP government to come out more patterns good enough for me to decide to stay there and work here . Sell my flat , no need pay CPF or lease my flat , anytime $2000 a month .... mine CPF empty anyway . Need to see doctor just use my medisave here . Earn here , spent there . Grocery i buy at JB . Save GST ! Can have chickens , no need buy frozen chicken from Brazil , fresh chickens . No need buy Austraia Frozen porks ...
If i earn nett $3000 in Singapore , convert to RM ... a cool RM7470 .
Do you know if one is earning $7470 , he is consider as upper middle class in JB ???
oh . . . better keep low profile before IRAS come knocking at my door .
Originally posted by Poolman:oh . . . better keep low profile before IRAS come knocking at my door .
IRAS would have better luck chasing doctors in private practices ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:If i earn nett $3000 in Singapore , convert to RM ... a cool RM7470 .
Do you know if one is earning $7470 , he is consider as upper middle class in JB ???
how uch is your property in JB? JB infested with crimes isnt it. even locals there also scared of being robbed, esp your properties there, of being broken into.
Originally posted by bowah:Then something is wrong, jobs taken by foreigners, educated and young singaporeans go drive Taxi, knn, singapore govt sleeping.
do u guys know why the westerners demostrated whenever there is WTO/Gx meetings?
it's all about jobs! those westerners protest against exporting jobs to overseas.
the same happens right here in SG except that the govt is giving jobs to foreigners right at our own door step.
even foreign govt (with FTA signed with SG) openly request for opening of our industries (doctors. lawyers) to their companies to setup shop here and send their own kind here for the jobs created instead of employing local citizens.
as early as 1992, my friend working in a MNC producing hard disks told me that once a person from a certain country becomes supervisor, he will make things difficult for the SG worker to force him leave then bring his own kind into the company.
Originally posted by ericgo:Well at least the taxi trade in singapore is still protected from foreign employment. The govt should also extend this exclusive singaporeans only to the real estates trade as well. Im seeing more and more foreign housing agents in singapore.
td need security clearance. so foreigners is not suited to be td. are u worried if your wife, gf or daughter tell u that they take cab home in the middle of the night and the td is from those 3rd world countries? worst if those foreign td plant bombs in taxi to sabo us. i dun mean people from 3rd world countries are crooks but we just can't be sure are they the right one. govt wun take this kind of risk.
Originally posted by Poolman:Anyway my house in Malaysia is empty .... Just waiting for the PAP government to come out more patterns good enough for me to decide to stay there and work here . Sell my flat , no need pay CPF or lease my flat , anytime $2000 a month .... mine CPF empty anyway . Need to see doctor just use my medisave here . Earn here , spent there . Grocery i buy at JB . Save GST ! Can have chickens , no need buy frozen chicken from Brazil , fresh chickens . No need buy Austraia Frozen porks ...
hopefully the msian govt wun implement a new law for foreigners to sell their properties to msian only. their law is like roti prata, can anyhow peng-lai-peng-ghee.
Originally posted by Insg:hopefully the msian govt wun implement a new law for foreigners to sell their properties to msian only. their law is like roti prata, can anyhow peng-lai-peng-ghee.
australia already has such law.
Originally posted by ericgo:tks hokkienkia. appreciate ur info :)
the best advice khoon had from this forum and seniors (esp poolman) is start as a relief...
less then half cost a day... no need worry about servicing lah... muz keep enough money in bank for rental deduction lah... etc...
some days khoon go omo (when hirer cannot drive or golfing)... also find it veri siong... even with some experience and personal coaching from hirer...
start as relief no wrong one... when get the hang of it... den explore options of going omo...
Originally posted by ericgo:
im not comfortable going into a business that i wont have a full control and knowledge of it.
if say relief no flexiblity... actually omo less flexibility... die die hav to cover cost and earn profit...
relief handover liao... the rest of the time is yours...
taxi driving for newbies not easy to be in full control of the biz... we dun hav enough experience to pick n choose pax... and somedays when really bad... taiko pax also muz take...
plus need many wrong turns and wrong routes before experience is gained...
Originally posted by Rooney9:how uch is your property in JB? JB infested with crimes isnt it. even locals there also scared of being robbed, esp your properties there, of being broken into.
JB infested with crimes ?
Do you know who is Singapore biggest pie kia ? Singapore's biggest robbers ? Or Singapore biggest syndicate ?
It's those people from the Pie Kia HQ .....
Singapore are getting more dangerous to reside in .... open eyes bank account machiam got robbed !!!
Open water brush my teeth , my money already robbed by SP Services with those what tax that tax this tax that tax ... Day light robberies .
Then i told myself , that's why you are TAXi driver , got TAX all the time .
thanks to all for the advice, will consider all options when i complete the course. In the mean time will just familiarize myself with all the best possible pax pick up points around singapore since i am too free from now onwards :)
Originally posted by ericgo:thanks to all for the advice, will consider all options when i complete the course. In the mean time will just familiarize myself with all the best possible pax pick up points around singapore since i am too free from now onwards :)
yeap... tat's the way to go bro...
in the mean time juz observe all the taxi stands conditions... taxi behavior on the roads.. wat timing alot of empty taxis... wat timing taxi stand long Q...
good luck and look forward to bro ericgo joining us otr soon...
Originally posted by Poolman:
JB infested with crimes ?Do you know who is Singapore biggest pie kia ? Singapore's biggest robbers ? Or Singapore biggest syndicate ?
It's those people from the Pie Kia HQ .....
Singapore are getting more dangerous to reside in .... open eyes bank account machiam got robbed !!!
Open water brush my teeth , my money already robbed by SP Services with those what tax that tax this tax that tax ... Day light robberies .
Then i told myself , that's why you are TAXi driver , got TAX all the time .
but brother, recently, one of my colleague just lost his toyota camry there, bright daylight of jalan ah fook. There is this rich GM who drives a BM, told me his BM got special security lock, no crook can crack in, go into JB, on the way to KL, park near a resting place for toilet and some snack, boommm...come out, BM gone, I guess they lift the whole BM away on a lorry, very fast, asked the surrounding pples, they just said, one crane lorry with a towling Co came in, 3 to 4 men in company suit, two Steel bars insert front and rear across the tires, crane lift and all men smile and board the lorry.
Then there is one brother of mine, go in with good tires, michelin expensive ones on subaru WRX, end up after shopping, left with 4 bricks on each rim, tires all gone
I heard this case at kopitiam, if you drive sing car and park near JB immgration point to do last shopping or makan, before going off into singapore, please check under your car before driving into singapore, this particular guy told us, someone pasted a bag of substance under his car, after he crossed into singapore, 2 cars followed him all the way to his HDB carpark, one sing and one malaysia registered car. After he came down, he saw 5 men looking at him from afar. He lock his car, took out his valuable and shopping stuffs, then move off. From his house, he can view his car partially, when he look at it, 2 men went under his car to take some thing out, he went down to check, by the time he is down, the men are all gone, he bent under to check his car, some tapes are still there.
just in case you bro or any other bro want to go into doing foodstall business in foodcourt/canteen/coffee shop stall let me know
me 10yrs as operation manager can tell you the location good bad, if the item you sell suitable at the location, how to set up, where to get equipment,material supply at good price.
current still a part time consultant for some coffee shop an bosses.
sometime when they are being offer a location they will call me to do survey
sorry, forget to mentioned , basic service as i mentioned,
no charges to TD bro
others i charge from $500 - $2500 DEPEND WHAT THEY WANT