Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:There are no more new sonatas.
Got lah, told you yesterday morning just drove down 50 sonatas from car carrier ship from Korea, immediately 12 send to their Pandan workshop for polishing and fixing up. But not for new hirer, more for those old crown hirers to renew to sonatas.
Originally posted by bowah:
Got lah, told you yesterday morning just drove down 50 sonatas from car carrier ship from Korea, immediately 12 send to their Pandan workshop for polishing and fixing up. But not for new hirer, more for those old crown hirers to renew to sonatas.
Bowah got many more sonatas to download. There are still many crowns on the road. There are also many bang beyond repair sonatas in Loyang L4. All need replacement lah.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:For some people, their response might be 'why i never started driving cabs earlier?'
then after a few years of driving, back to "why am I a cabby?"
Life is like that one lah, you see me good, I see you good.
And the begining of all jobs, be it sales, taxi drivers, peng bak kua like me and so on are alway very nice, motivated and energetic except SAF
Originally posted by ALN:that nite saw ramly burger’s old sonata in hougang…
wa lan eh… mileage 700k km liao… engine so noisy still got taker….
taxi so huat?
my merc last mth the mileage olredi cross 100,0000 km liao.........
then after a few years of driving, back to "why am I a cabby?"Life is like that one lah, you see me good, I see you good.
And the begining of all jobs, be it sales, taxi drivers, peng bak kua like me and so on are alway very nice, motivated and energetic except SAF
SAF is can keng u keng liao lor unless u like Ah Khoon siao on type........ ![]()
Originally posted by komade:SAF is can keng u keng liao lor unless u like Ah Khoon siao on type........
True SAF best place to keng. So many off in lieu,annual leave,mc....i think actual work only 100 days a year...![]()
ohh. but they close all applications for new sonatas. do u know the reason why?
then after a few years of driving, back to "why am I a cabby?"Life is like that one lah, you see me good, I see you good.
I believe i am the only one here who always voice out against driving too young an age. i share my life experience now.
I started off driving right at 30 yrs old. Before i hit the age required for a TDVL , my friend asked if i wish to work together in a shipping co for $1,300 per mth.
I laughed at him and say knn so low , u siao bo? he said 'u dun wan its ok , i go work'. So i went to drive a cab and he went about working in this new co , 10 years on my friend is a manager in that co earning a very stable income and with juniors under his command.
Frankly i have wasted away this 10 years , no doubt its free and easy but i started out too early . at 30 i could have done more challenging stuff but i chose to take the simple route. Now at 40 im fucked liao . work for ppl also die , drive also die , wanna do bizness also die coz no $ & all i know is meter and add surcharge.
Trust me , those in their early 30s , u will get burned out one day. So fuckin sick of the steering . So after u get burned out , what are u going to do?
pls bear in mind that employers think very lowly if u put in ur resume that u were a TD in ur last job.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:I believe i am the only one here who always voice out against driving too young an age. i share my life experience now.
I started off driving right at 30 yrs old. Before i hit the age required for a TDVL , my friend asked if i wish to work together in a shipping co for $1,300 per mth.
I laughed at him and say knn so low , u siao bo? he said 'u dun wan its ok , i go work'. So i went to drive a cab and he went about working in this new co , 10 years on my friend is a manager in that co earning a very stable income and with juniors under his command.
Frankly i have wasted away this 10 years , no doubt its free and easy but i started out too early . at 30 i could have done more challenging stuff but i chose to take the simple route. Now at 40 im fucked liao . work for ppl also die , drive also die , wanna do bizness also die coz no $ & all i know is meter and add surcharge.
Trust me , those in their early 30s , u will get burned out one day. So fuckin sick of the steering . So after u get burned out , what are u going to do?
pls bear in mind that employers think very lowly if u put in ur resume that u were a TD in ur last job.
Young birds out there, please take BCL advice. < 30 yrs old, please just take a $1K plus job. You are young, no family to support, just yourself. Be humble and work your way up. 10 yrs later, if u r still humble and able, just like what BCL said, you would have a nice stable job.
Driving cabs is for those who lost their jobs n got families to support. Even if u 30yrs old and only got PSLE and a driving license, if u r not married, pls tahan a low paying job, and wait for your promotion. It is what I myself would do, unless u have tried working your way up and find that your ego is too big, cannot tolerate boss ordering u around.
So those who carried on as cabbies got at least 2 kind. Those who got big egos, and those who failed at their careers or business at an advanced age for various reasons.
But looking at the bright side, there are cabbies who got very lucky.
6k + but then again we are 2 diff characters. When i was young i wanna 1 hand touch the sky , havent learn to crawl wanna fly type.
My frd is the slow and steady one.
In my case , the tortoise beat the hare hands down :)
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Young birds out there, please take BCL advice. < 30 yrs old, please just take a $1K plus job. You are young, no family to support, just yourself. Be humble and work your way up. 10 yrs later, if u r still humble and able, just like what BCL said, you would have a nice stable job.
Driving cabs is for those who lost their jobs n got families to support. Even if u 30yrs old and only got PSLE and a driving license, if u r not married, pls tahan a low paying job, and wait for your promotion. It is what I myself would do, unless u have tried working your way up and find that your ego is too big, cannot tolerate boss ordering u around.
So those who carried on as cabbies got at least 2 kind. Those who got big egos, and those who failed at their careers or business at an advanced age for various reasons.
But looking at the bright side, there are cabbies who got very lucky.
agree what u say!i m hardworking type,but dunno how to "po lan pa" so no lucki got my TVL when i m 30 or 31 n i keep this just incase i m old n cant find a job!
i go find job,ask $1.5k/6days/8hrs/cl3;they told me china man $1k,6days/10hrs/30 min lunch time/extra hrs no OT!important thing is "46,U R TOO OLD"
but may b too many FT in sg now,they hard to fight a job with them!What my frz told me;his company local manager 5k/8hrs per day,they employ FT 2.5K/10 hrs!my bro also manager..he told me he also face this FT problem ,How to fight??
Originally posted by Alvin87a:agree what u say!i m hardworking type,but dunno how to "po lan pa" so no lucki got my TVL when i m 30 or 31 n i keep this just incase i m old n cant find a job!
i go find job,ask $1.5k/6days/8hrs/cl3;they told me china man $1k,6days/10hrs/30 min lunch time/extra hrs no OT!important thing is "46,U R TOO OLD"
but may b too many FT in sg now,they hard to fight a job with them!What my frz told me;his company local manager 5k/8hrs per day,they employ FT 2.5K/10 hrs!my bro also manager..he told me he also face this FT problem ,How to fight??
46 fark liao la. we are talking abt those early 30s ppl
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:46 fark liao la. we are talking abt those early 30s ppl
True. Once I was looking for a job, decided call up to make appointment,
Girl: Hello, this is xxx company HR dept, can I help you
Me: Hello, I understand your company is looking for vacancy as storekeeper, I will like to apply
Girl: Oh yes, we need bla bla bla..must have 3 years experiences, and your name
Me: Yes I hv, name is bowah and I can also do driving, got class 4
Girl: oh, that is good, may I know how old are you?
Me: I am in my mid 40s
Line suddenly cut off
Me: Hello...hello...hello...
Call back cannot get thru...tu....tu....
knn, age discrimination. So much for singapore first.
Being a taxi driver is the most depressing job i ever
had![]()
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:6k + but then again we are 2 diff characters. When i was young i wanna 1 hand touch the sky , havent learn to crawl wanna fly type.
My frd is the slow and steady one.
In my case , the tortoise beat the hare hands down :)
Age await no one, to compare is to add on more pressure on yourself. One life is different from the other, just like roads, there are many roads in life to walk on, as long as you work hard, do an honest job, respect yourself and be proud of what you are doing, you are as good as what you are, a good father, a good husband and a good citizen.
My cousin studying with me is now a Doctor, another friend who skipped school with me is now a NUS professor. So, how to compare?? Then I got some end up as causal workers, some as security guards, why not your compare with all these??
Since I posted here, I already mention that in your early or mid 30s, if you are driving taxis, you still got choices in your life, by 40s, the choices will be less, and by 50s, better forget all, forget about comparing, about who become MD or who become bellboy. In 50s, it is more on how to treasure life to the best.
However, having said that, earning 5k and 6k or even 10k is not as simple as you see, you need 10 years of consistency and on the ball, and you need to carry on with all kind of corporate pressure and stress. For you, you just go on and be a happy cabby with so many happy frens around.
Originally posted by quickpick:Being a taxi driver is the most depressing job i ever had
What so depressive, suka suka can hv break, suka suka can go home sleep, just drive on, met friends and be happy.
Working is everyday, same old face, same old boss black face, same old these and that, even same old chai pun rice.
Take the good of your career, a TD can everyday face new challenge, met new people, see the world go round yet got money to earn, hirer not happy can become relief, relief not satisfy, can become hirer, these company no good, go to the next one and so on.
Hardwork is the key to all jobs, if you go calculate this and that, you calculator can never be bigger than those taxi companies, there is hardly any shortcut or cut and paste method, just drive and since already in this line, might as well enjoy it.
Smile my good brothers and sisters,
Do not underestimate a single smile, it can bring lots of good thing to you, a small good gesture and smile in life gives us wonder at time, be it fated or born to be a taxi driver, a smile can alway give out a thousand lights to others looking at you.
Bros bowah.Thanks for the advice.
Just that i sometimes felt that i am
"imprisoned in car".Hokkien words said "bear Chia Chui".No holiday pay,
no sick pay,long hours,stressful,dangerous & anti-family.Anyway,we have to face this in life,there is this thing call give & take.�得,没有�那有得?
So what people call me an asshole,
There a story that said, asshole is the most important.
Of all parts in the body, the mouth, nose, eyes etc etc all got their ego and pride and look down on the asshole that was born together with them.
the mouth said, without me, you guys will die, i am the greatest
the nose said, without me, you guys cannot smell and cannot breathe, i am the greatest one
the eyes said, without me, you guys know nut about girls and all the beautiful thing in this world, I am the greatest of them all
and so on, each argue over each other great, each fighting to be on the top, even the brain also took part, then the small asshole said "I think I am the greatest" All other parts laughed at him, you...you...you dirty shit hole, good for nothing, hahaha...all laughed. So the asshole feel very depressed.
Then the asshole decided to go on strike, for days, he never open the hole, the body get heated up, sick, and the brain cannot get boggled, as weeks goes by, the eyes start to go blur, the nose cannot breathe well, the mouth become very dry full of ulcer, the body start to get poison from old shit not released
Then all of them look at the asshole and said, oh please forgive us, you are the greatest of all of us...then the asshole release all the waste and everyone become very comfortable and relax.
Morale of the story, dun underestimate a asshole ok
Originally posted by bowah:So what people call me an asshole,
There a story that said, asshole is the most important.
Of all parts in the body, the mouth, nose, eyes etc etc all got their ego and pride and look down on the asshole that was born together with them.
the mouth said, without me, you guys will die, i am the greatest
the nose said, without me, you guys cannot smell and cannot breathe, i am the greatest one
the eyes said, without me, you guys know nut about girls and all the beautiful thing in this world, I am the greatest of them all
and so on, each argue over each other great, each fighting to be on the top, even the brain also took part, then the small asshole said "I think I am the greatest" All other parts laughed at him, you...you...you dirty shit hole, good for nothing, hahaha...all laughed. So the asshole feel very depressed.
Then the asshole decided to go on strike, for days, he never open the hole, the body get heated up, sick, and the brain cannot get boggled, as weeks goes by, the eyes start to go blur, the nose cannot breathe well, the mouth become very dry full of ulcer, the body start to get poison from old shit not released
Then all of them look at the asshole and said, oh please forgive us, you are the greatest of all of us...then the asshole release all the waste and everyone become very comfortable and relax.
Morale of the story, dun underestimate a asshole ok
the good and the bad side all explained in here but still i like to think that if u are young , some talent in u , some skills , plenty energy , do something else.
At my recent TVL course, one of the instructor comment that 2011 is the year where most singaporeans have ever attended in the entire history. What does this really mean and imply? Is singapore really so lacking of jobs now that singaporeans are being force to be TD?
My only career was in SAF after i have left i have been a self employed for the last 8 years up til today. I cant comment much about the job market and prospects in singapore. Maybe those who have lost their jobs to fts and driving taxi now can give a better insights
In a way i have count my blessing that i choose the path of working for myself and also when i decide to be a TD.
Which employment would wanna employ someone that needs to take time of 3 times a week for up to 4hrs every week to for the last 7 yrs to bring his mum for dialysis.... sometimes circumstances forces us to be where we are right now even tho we can be financially prudent.