First world country, educated and Uneducated singaporean fighting for taxi driver job. Chio kau pengz.
Those days, taxi driver job is for uneducated. Due to massive influx of foreign talents, most of educated singaporean loss their job, only way to survive is to drive taxi. To keep their dignity to attending taxi courses, the taxi training center is rename to Taxi Academy. Sound good but end up still a taxi driver. Chio kau pengz again.
When the educated singaporean to become taxi driver, uneducated singaporean is very worry. Most often the educated and uneduacted taxi driver cannot get along because the educated are going into their turf, reduce their earning. We have a taxi driver divide in our nation, thank to our system for bringing in Foreign Talent.
yes, I see more and more younger taxi drivers around. about 5 years ago, most of the taxi drivers are old and experienced people who have been in the transportation or related industries.
Nowadays late 20 young chap can drive taxi and always give the kiampah face.
There shouldn't be any "uneducated" mention on Taxi Driver, this is a misleading perception from the olden days. We should not further advance such misperception to the next generation.
I can accept "lesser education".
Althought Taxi Driving is an easy entry business, but that doesn't mean it belong to "uneducated", many smart people take it as a "job/career shelter" for some downtime in their career path. There are more entrepreneurship quailty people in this trade that many others.
I do agree there is nothing glamorous about this job, but after many years of walking in life, how glamourous can it be even working in the CBD, wearing branded long sleeve and tie?
Originally posted by Hokkienkia:First world country, educated and Uneducated singaporean fighting for taxi driver job. Chio kau pengz.
Those days, taxi driver job is for uneducated. Due to massive influx of foreign talents, most of educated singaporean loss their job, only way to survive is to drive taxi. To keep their dignity to attending taxi courses, the taxi training center is rename to Taxi Academy. Sound good but end up still a taxi driver. Chio kau pengz again.
When the educated singaporean to become taxi driver, uneducated singaporean is very worry. Most often the educated and uneduacted taxi driver cannot get along because the educated are going into their turf, reduce their earning. We have a taxi driver divide in our nation, thank to our system for bringing in Foreign Talent.
Instead of whining make yourself better or be ready to be wiped out.
And don't forget many of the local trash is foreign trash in other countries.

I don't want to be a TD. ![]()
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:yes, I see more and more younger taxi drivers around. about 5 years ago, most of the taxi drivers are old and experienced people who have been in the transportation or related industries.
Nowadays late 20 young chap can drive taxi and always give the kiampah face.
people nowdays getting better nutrition such that 30 plus can be passed off as some 20 plus. Minimum age to be cabby is 30 and max is 73.
today khoon went to town to settle some stuff... 8plus take mrt back...
last time working shenton way / suntec city... off work go home also about 8plus...
last time sit mrt/bus juz normal lor...
today sit mrt time... keep thinking... no way i want go back tat kind of 9-6 job... stay in office till 8plus... squeeze mrt home kind of lifestyle...
now relax and flexible timing...
whole singapore is my working place (so big office where to find?) hungry juz park n go eat... sleepy juz parrk n sleep...
best job in the world...
ha ha...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:today khoon went to town to settle some stuff... 8plus take mrt back...
last time working shenton way / suntec city... off work go home also about 8plus...
today sit mrt time... keep thinking... no way i want go back tat kind of 9-6 job... stay in office till 8plus... squeeze mrt home kind of lifestyle...
whole singapore is my working place (so big office where to find?) hungry juz park n go eat... sleepy juz parrk n sleep...
best job in the world...
ha ha...
True, its the flexibilities of being a self employed.
Originally posted by Khoon2580:today khoon went to town to settle some stuff... 8plus take mrt back...
best job in the world...
ha ha...
now u know why Uncle me drive almost a decade in this industry ?
some dun like it ..... i love it .
I for one ... don't really care how people looked at me , talked about me , criticised about me ...... I really don't care how they graded me , as uneducated , or least educated .....
I dun really care .
All i know .... my pay can be higher than an U grade working at the credit control at MBS .
All they earned was a $3500 a month .
Hello study until University leh ..... Bachelor Degree la in Commerce and Business Adminsitartion . What the fuck $3500 a month ????
So what so high education earning a least educated wages ?
and if someone they claimed they worked in one of the world's most famous casino or shit like that ( MBS ) ..... i will say : "So ?"
Those dealers they only earn $1800 for goodness sake .
Same 44 hours per week , including tips somemore .
Must work shifts .....
Stand all shift ....
Cannot smoke , eat also be allowed only 25 minutes .
Not for me .... i am a pampered cabby .
Originally posted by Poolman:
now u know why Uncle me drive almost a decade in this industry ?some dun like it ..... i love it .
yeap... one thing khoon like about taxi driving... u get to go all over the island...
now still learning stage... so dun really mind being sent all over the place by paxs....
but slowly learning to assess from pax dressing, direction of travel where they flag, which taxi stands to avoid etc... to hav more control of where khoon's red ferrari want to go...
Originally posted by kengkia:
people nowdays getting better nutrition such that 30 plus can be passed off as some 20 plus. Minimum age to be cabby is 30 and max is 73.
not bad leh!
better nutrition food
There are pros and cons in everything, Earning 4 to 5k today is a norm, nobody will give you that kind of Wow! earn so much look. Maybe 10 years ago, yes, people may envy your pay. The economy of singapore is moving at a fast pace, in the next 10 years, or even now, living in condo is nothing.
The question is, are you happy with what you are doing? if so, you are tends to be very productive and enjoy life to the fullness. If not, too bad, you need to do something about it, if you hold on to something you do not like but because of $$, you hv to endure it, then, happiness is not in your life, for once, happiness is priceless.
Agree with bowah. Health is also one priority here. Dun be upset by pax. ah neh or no ah neh, as long pay me good $, I happy.
All the job has it's honor. I wish i could be a cab driver sometimes^^
$3.5k normal liao, what more you want, drive 24hrs and make it $7k ar?? Otherwise go sell backside.
Originally posted by Poolman:I for one ... don't really care how people looked at me , talked about me , criticised about me ...... I really don't care how they graded me , as uneducated , or least educated .....
I dun really care .
All i know .... my pay can be higher than an U grade working at the credit control at MBS .
All they earned was a $3500 a month .
Hello study until University leh ..... Bachelor Degree la in Commerce and Business Adminsitartion . What the fuck $3500 a month ????
So what so high education earning a least educated wages ?
so noble.
ur whole lineage will all be ur successors?
liddat den can ensure got ppl to ferry us ard.
yippee!
Originally posted by bowah:$3.5k normal liao, what more you want, drive 24hrs and make it $7k ar?? Otherwise go sell backside.
bro no mentioning of income inside here wait later sch
principal will come in F u liao.......... :P