V good idea. But hor, many taiko drivers will carry on working on that weekly rental free day to earn more just like those maids who use off day to earn extra pocket money.
But it is a nice idea. Even one off day per month also very good liao. But I can carry on dreaming.
all the companies r all juz legalised blood suckers......... :P
TS really do not really know what's taxi all about ....
Now taxi is like too many ... so many are exploring more chances to can connect more paxes .
eg Sunday , a complulsory off for me if can , most likely can .
But many said : " Sunday , ho kia , bi chia , pick n chose , anytime $3xx ."
Here you go , how to appeal for those rights when even our own drivers dun work hand in hand ?
Zip here zip there , cut here cut there ....
TS can forget about what rights in taxi business .
TS want off day a week, can
eg, our rental is $100 per day, will become $120 per day and 1 day free rental per week.
You might ask, if $120, there will be extra $20.
The extra $20 if for their extra effort to give you 1 off day a week.
Got it? and you still want off day?
we as td always at the losing end 1.............
Firstly, maid as domestic helper, they are not cover by the employment act, employment act cover max 44 hrs per week working, anything more is consider OT, but because of the human rights arugement, maids on a normal day, can work until midnite or wake up morning 5am to start work, it is a different contractual of work, therefore, in goodwill, and also in respect to their countries of origin, they are given a day off.
We are not maids, we are taxis driver, slave of the road, not domestic helper. Frankly, nobody ask you or if you dun mind, force you to be a TD, you go in with your eyes open and signed, trained and drive on, once you signed, the laws recognise that you understand and agreed to the contractual agreement and obligation required. Taxis company do not force you to drive, you can rest for 2 days for all they care, they care only about you paid rental or not. Seen you are given that freedom, it is up to you to take your own off day. If you do not like it, you can throw key after the contract or even during the contract with some compensation, same goes to the taxi companies, if they do not want you, they can remove you after the contracted period or even before the contract end by compensating you.
Originally posted by ALN:tell u all liao…
best is drive part time like ALN…
if taxi huat, drive more…
if taxi obk, drive less…
steam leh… haha
Part timer come in n disturb us full timer PHUI!!! :P
Originally posted by bowah:Firstly, maid as domestic helper, they are not cover by the employment act, employment act cover max 44 hrs per week working, anything more is consider OT, but because of the human rights arugement, maids on a normal day, can work until midnite or wake up morning 5am to start work, it is a different contractual of work, therefore, in goodwill, and also in respect to their countries of origin, they are given a day off.
We are not maids, we are taxis driver, slave of the road, not domestic helper. Frankly, nobody ask you or if you dun mind, force you to be a TD, you go in with your eyes open and signed, trained and drive on, once you signed, the laws recognise that you understand and agreed to the contractual agreement and obligation required. Taxis company do not force you to drive, you can rest for 2 days for all they care, they care only about you paid rental or not. Seen you are given that freedom, it is up to you to take your own off day. If you do not like it, you can throw key after the contract or even during the contract with some compensation, same goes to the taxi companies, if they do not want you, they can remove you after the contracted period or even before the contract end by compensating you.
Bro Bowah
For maid, nobody force them to be maid, if they wish to be maid, they should go in with their eye open. If they wish to go in with their eye and leg open, nobody can stop them. And if we seriously want to implement a law for maid to have enough rest, we should not offer an alernative that off day can be traded for compensation. By offering alternative, we are indirectly helping the maid to increase their salary.
For cabby, we are somehow a frontline ambassador representing singapore, bad service will destory the country images, good service will bring up the country images. I think the tourist promotion board should think of a way how to movtivate cabby like us, good cabby with tourist commendation letter, help to pay 1 day rental for 1 commendation letter.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:I’m always thinking about the misconception of taxi drivers as a bad profession… I cannot imagine if no taxi around and everyone have to take MRT… It’s a job like teachers, it’s tough and maybe under appreciated, but it’s crucial part of society.
Or maybe make taxi very expensive, like in Japan, where an hour trip can cost more than $200.
tis 1 i recommend but not so ex lar wait no 1 take taxi liao..........
juz increase to $5 starting fare jump 30 cents can liao
Originally posted by Hokkienkia:Bro Bowah
For maid, nobody force them to be maid, if they wish to be maid, they should go in with their eye open. If they wish to go in with their eye and leg open, nobody can stop them. And if we seriously want to implement a law for maid to have enough rest, we should not offer an alernative that off day can be traded for compensation. By offering alternative, we are indirectly helping the maid to increase their salary.
For cabby, we are somehow a frontline ambassador representing singapore, bad service will destory the country images, good service will bring up the country images. I think the tourist promotion board should think of a way how to movtivate cabby like us, good cabby with tourist commendation letter, help to pay 1 day rental for 1 commendation letter.
Sounds logical for the way u phrase it Bro HKK.
passengers oso have free rides on that day?
I thought Trans Wish CNG rebates = $650 a month ? which is 5-6 days FREE RENTAL every month. (Provided you paid your rental, w/o dues).
Every Taxi companies work like a rental company. You pay rent, they lend you the cab... Their profits come from your rental, ie, (adverse) your benefits come from their profits. Do you think they will give you alot of benefits ????
If you don't want to drive 7 days a week.... Be a relief driver... you can even have 4-5 days a week. You are a SELF-EMPLOYED, you look after your earnings. If your earning drops because you are taking too much off, you got yourself to answer for.
In the eyes of the taxi companies, you don't want to rent a cab to drive..... somebody will.