Just heard from news that SMRT is installing CCTV in their taxis for accident investigation purpose...
BTW..newbie here.
Possible if taking images outside of taxi , not inside .
Singapore law do not allowed taking images inside as far as commuters is concerned .
Invasion of Privacy act
Taxi is considered as Public Service vehicle same as Bus , now how come buses have CCTV installed inside the bus and that is allowed by SIngapore law and not for taxi , as both are in same catagory of Public service , Costumer privicy is applicable in both scenario, as far as i know you need to apply with LTA and or your Taxi company to install CCTV inside your Taxi
The word TAXI come from it plural form of Taxes, it is a french word, and it represent taxation, meaning a costier mode of transport, and because it is costier, the service will be better and more privacy. The pax who paid extra to board the taxi have the right to ask you to lower or upper the aircon, turn left, turn right, sit in front or rear seat whichever availiable and to their liking, they can also ask you to off the cam facing them, because it valid their privacy which they paid for, other than your own radio, which they can also ask you to lower down the volume if they feel dizzy or need a rest, and as a service provider, you oblige to reasonable request make by them, afterall, they are paying.
No doubt, we are part of a transport service provider, but our mode of service and operation is different, you can cam the road whatever you want, but you cannot cam them, the pax, they hv the right to sue you.
For Bus, there are many commuters inside, from molester to pick pocketers to quarrelling, fighting and eating or littering etc etc, it is more of a public safety concern.
I remember ever hear from 1 ang mo that in his country when u board a cab your photo will taken n save donno at where. He say in his country alot rob n kill taxi driver. Just recentlr got paper come out say driver kena rob 毒打 right..."毒打?"
Indivisual Privacy laws are pretty constant accross the board unless Taxis are excluded specifically its all the same so if a passenger in the taxi has a right to sue for breach of privacy so does the passanger in bus , thats why you see a sign on a bus clearly stating "CCTV in Operation" to inform the public of it similarerly Taxis can also display the same sign to make people aware of it after all Taxi are mode of more direct transportation for Public and so it does fall under the umberalla of same laws covering public transport unless specifically specified , now weather a TD really want an CCTV installed thats another question as this can be a double edged sword as many of laws governing TD are also broken by TD and one dont want a record of it
Originally posted by bowah:The word TAXI come from it plural form of Taxes, it is a french word, and it represent taxation, meaning a costier mode of transport, and because it is costier, the service will be better and more privacy. The pax who paid extra to board the taxi have the right to ask you to lower or upper the aircon, turn left, turn right, sit in front or rear seat whichever availiable and to their liking, they can also ask you to off the cam facing them, because it valid their privacy which they paid for, other than your own radio, which they can also ask you to lower down the volume if they feel dizzy or need a rest, and as a service provider, you oblige to reasonable request make by them, afterall, they are paying.
No doubt, we are part of a transport service provider, but our mode of service and operation is different, you can cam the road whatever you want, but you cannot cam them, the pax, they hv the right to sue you.
For Bus, there are many commuters inside, from molester to pick pocketers to quarrelling, fighting and eating or littering etc etc, it is more of a public safety concern.
Well post.
here in Sg taxi drivers dun hav any rights 1..........
that's not true of everyone has rights, it's how you are willing to defend your rights that matters, most of the TDs tend to forego the rights in favour of time
I havent started to Drive Taxi yet still waiting to get my TVDL ,but i for one am all for it , i refuse to believe that Taxi drivers dont have any rights , even illegal immigrants have rights are we even below them in social standing, if it is addressed properly i think this can be done after all if buses have it so can taxis both are defined as public service transport and come under the same law , if all TDs join up and move through unions , association and lawyers and petation to LTA , Taxi companies and as well write a couple of articles in papers aka MSM we can get premission to install such CCTVs in taxi to protect us from all kind of abuses including verbal . not only that we can also get those bad eggs out of trade who abuse/bring bad name to the trade itself by touting and breaking other laws governing taxi drivers its a win win situation for us
Perhaps the authorities feel that the numbers are not high enough to warrant such installation, as in the case of the additional platform gates in open MRT stations.
Originally posted by Tinjen17:My honest opinion, I find it amazing that taxi drivers ourselves are denying our own rights to protect us. So, do we continue to allow taxi drivers to be robbed and killed even though it only happens once in five years for now. How many more taxi drivers must die before things will change. It is only logical and right that CCTV should be installed in every taxi. Why? For the obvious reason of being robbed, customers refusing to pay. As a taxi driver myself, I can just walk into any taxi and at the end of the trip not pay a single cent for the ride. What you going to do, beat me up? What happens after that? The victim becomes the violator of the law for assault. Right now, our society is still humane and sane. But come on, let’s not kid ourselves, how long can this last, the amount of people going to casino and losing their pants, we all know that going to the casino to pick up customers is becoming a ritual for TD who drives at night. Don’t you all think we should start a petition or start to do something together to protect ourselves?
Your views!!!!
U muz be firm with ur stand also like my last wannabe run away pax
kenna caught by me kenna 2 tight slaps frm me, kenna F n still LL gotta
pay me my fare