in Hong Kong , if the Chief say strike , and if u don't follow , u can forget about waking up and find your cab in one piece .
U guys got family , and of course , also need to pay rental , what to do ?
Society fault .
but fuck lar , most cabbies charlie makan , boom town jack on Sunday night , no good enough to convince them to strike on Sunday .
Limousine group lagi happy if normal taxis strike , they huat ....
Like that lor ....
Singapore cabbies never cooperate like those from Taiwan and HongKong .
Originally posted by Poolman:but fuck lar , most cabbies charlie makan , boom town jack on Sunday night , no good enough to convince them to strike on Sunday .
Limousine group lagi happy if normal taxis strike , they huat ....
Like that lor ....
Singapore cabbies never cooperate like those from Taiwan and HongKong .
if give me no prob sun i park n watch soccer long time nber enjoy liao.........
Our Union are there for show. Others have, we also Have, kind of theory.
Our Union leader are choosen to work with the goverment plan, not against. They are representing the capitalist to convince the peasant, not representing the peasant to seek for a fairness.
A reputable leader is someone who has a good track record of his consistency in representing the peasant against the capitalist for a fairer treatment.
Peasants by nature are not united, therefore they require this Reputable Leader to call upon, do we have? or ever a chance to have?
Strike is an ugly term Capitalist use to discourage it, it should be Seeking For Fairness.
Don't blam our fellow Singaporean, we just do not have a Leader. Protential leader are usually begin put in jail.
Unions should be independent and not aligned with any particular political party.
The taxi Union is to protect the operators. Do you know that the old comfort birds got comfort share ? They are not there to protect the drivers . I dun join them coz I know they are useless.
The Gov dun want the same incident to happen in the 60s like the bus riot and in the 80s where the taxi queue along ECP .
Our trade union is a supermarket chain. ![]()
Originally posted by benqepson:The taxi Union is to protect the operators. Do you know that the old comfort birds got comfort share ? They are not there to protect the drivers . I dun join them coz I know they are useless.
The Gov dun want the same incident to happen in the 60s like the bus riot and in the 80s where the taxi queue along ECP .
Nowadays taxis still queue along the ECP. ![]()
Originally posted by βÎτά:
Our trade union is a supermarket chain.

Making $$$ more important than any policies ??? ![]()
Nowadays taxis still queue along the ECP.
That's PIE lah.... (Taxis Queuing for Terminal 1 pickup just before midnight)....
From Airport boulevard to PIE....
If your taxi coming from ECP.... you may not even get into the Airport Taxi's Q..... ![]()
Horrible.... They really Q until opposite Changi Business Park....![]()
Yesterday,
The NEWPAPER wrote.... 26,073 taxis on the road in SINGAPORE.....
So many taxis ????
The Taxi unions are not doing anything to curb the taxis population.... They are more interested in putting MORE TAXIs on the road to earn rentals.

ECP lah.
Maybe there are 2 Qs !!! One for Terminal 2.... ![]()
Anyway, it's not my problem
... they can Q until KPE or AYE also..... ![]()
Singapore needs 26,073 taxis >??

Hong Kong, twice the size of Singapore... only has 18k....
Originally posted by benqepson:The taxi Union is to protect the operators. Do you know that the old comfort birds got comfort share ? They are not there to protect the drivers . I dun join them coz I know they are useless.
Correct all jiak liao bee 1......... :P
Nowadays taxis still queue along the ECP.
yah lor esp after midnite long long Q frm T1.......... :P
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Yesterday,
The NEWPAPER wrote.... 26,073 taxis on the road in SINGAPORE.....
So many taxis ????
The Taxi unions are not doing anything to curb the taxis population.... They are more interested in putting MORE TAXIs on the road to earn rentals.
captialism at its best bro.........
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Maybe there are 2 Qs !!! One for Terminal 2....
Anyway, it's not my problem
... they can Q until KPE or AYE also.....
Singapore needs 26,073 taxis >??
Hong Kong, twice the size of Singapore... only has 18k....
Although there maybe 26k taxis, but at anytime, only abt 3/4 on the road, sometime only 1/2 the fleets on the road, especially a low volume afternoon. And also, altho HK is bigger, it is mostly consist of mountains and high hills, and beside MTR and public buses, they got those private buses which is licensed to ferry peoples, this smaller buses can stop and pick up people almost anywhere like taxis, just get the right change and paid the Bus driver.
HK may have 5 million of it own peoples, and about 1 millions foreigner or PRC people going in, Singapore with foreigner and tourist is almost 6 millions every month.
As COE is now at an all time high and will be going higher to 100k, the govt is forcing people to take public transport, especially those mid to lower mid class to reconsider owning a car, this in turn, make some to give up on cars and take public transport, to cater to this group who give on car, more MRT lines will be open and more taxis will be on the road to replace the scrapped cars
Originally posted by bowah:
Although there maybe 26k taxis, but at anytime, only abt 3/4 on the road, sometime only 1/2 the fleets on the road, especially a low volume afternoon. And also, altho HK is bigger, it is mostly consist of mountains and high hills, and beside MTR and public buses, they got those private buses which is licensed to ferry peoples, this smaller buses can stop and pick up people almost anywhere like taxis, just get the right change and paid the Bus driver.HK may have 5 million of it own peoples, and about 1 millions foreigner or PRC people going in, Singapore with foreigner and tourist is almost 6 millions every month.
Agreed with you bro....
Had been a TD before... no longer.... still got VL (may come in handy in future)... hopefully not !!!!!! ![]()
8 yrs ago... only the major 3 players... no silver, no red, no brown, no green...
. no time to rest.... no headache.... ![]()
But 26k now..... I heard the amt may grow to 30k cabs....
Public Transports are releasing so many Taxis vehicle for what ? There are ample MRTs, Buses and trishaws... ![]()
I don't know you will agree that there should be a CAP (LIMITATION) on the number of taxis on the road or not.... but everytime they release new taxis, the pie of the market is getting smaller.... I feared for my friends in this saturated industry. Bros BCL, Komade.... I fear for you... ![]()
Again, we come to the logic of unity, the korean, japanese, australia or even taiwan are in a way, our economic competitors, each gaining on each other strength and weakness. But the workforce in comparing to singapore is different in a way of unity.
Most of these countries, especially Aust and Koreans do not have foreigners, they have a homogenous workforce, one workforce, one people and one objective, that is way they are united and can easily take on the capitalist which mostly are their own country brand name companies. Samsung and Hyundai Unions took on strike more than the Aussie. Our is different, being multi racial, it work to the advantage of the govt and the capitalist, because they know that you will not be united, and more worst, with the infusion of foreigners from india, philipines, ang mo and so on, which union can unite them, which leader can truly stand up and said, let strike, and who will listen, so if you look at our workforce, being multi workforce is actually a blessing to the govt and the capitalist to exploit.
This is not the first time you see Qantas strike, it aint so solid yet, their union can go international, when their Taxi driver strike in Australia because of high rental, brother in London and Canada join in to strike just because their brother in Australia is having problem, that is what unity and power of unity is all about, I also remember once the lorry and container driver in Canada strike, the whole of America, from USA to Agentine go on strike, including NZ and Australia, and that alone, make the economic come to a complete stand still, top heads roll and they get paid increase.
In Korea, hyundai shipyard worker burnt himself to death just because company is going to get foreigner in, and many will follow if company do not stop it, this lead to govt and internation labour intervention. That is the power of brotherhood and protection, sacrific onself for the sake of many, so, can any taxi driver in singapore willing to lead us to strike for lower rental?? any one?