TIBS taxi no more lah..... ![]()
After TIBs Holdings merged with SMRT Corporation in 11 Dec 2001, the TIBS taxis have been re-branded as SMRT taxis in 10 May 2004.

I don't mind driving the one below.....
if they have one.... ![]()
Nowadays.....
There are many colours to choose from......

If you are Liverpool, Man United fans.... drive Reds....
If you are Man City or Chelsea fans.... drive Blue....
If you are.... ![]()

If you are BRAND NEW in taxi driving....
I reckoned you join the Comfort Delgro.......
Why ? They got a better GPRS system, a friendly user mapping for newbies in the industry & more IVT jobs (ON CALL) for drivers to generate more revenues...
Though I'm not a TD, I have many Bros (eg BCL, Poolman) in the industry... I interviewed them frequently... Komade... can i interview you ??
. My 2nd refreshment course coming... haiz... have to waste $$ again... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:If you are BRAND NEW in taxi driving....
I reckoned you join the Comfort Delgro.......
Why ? They got a better GPRS system, a friendly user mapping for newbies in the industry & more IVT jobs (ON CALL) for drivers to generate more revenues...
Though I'm not a TD, I have many Bros (eg BCL, Poolman) in the industry... I interviewed them frequently... Komade... can i interview you ??
. My 2nd refreshment course coming... haiz... have to waste $$ again...
haha bro interview me for wat?? :P
got lambo i also take lor but starting fare how much?? $50?? jump $1??
SMRT Crown ? Or Cedric even better if u particular about rental ... cheap rental .
Or TransCab Crown also cheap .
Nothing more than $80 i think , $77 ?
Rental cheap no use one .
Must be quick in reaching next destination .
Reaching fast in next destination means quicker in getting another $3 flag down pax .
Example i quote before .
Sonata vs Crown .
Both started from CCK Ave 4 to AP .
Both go by same way .... KJE BKE SLE TPE ECP
Guess which taxi reached AP first ? By normal Sonata standard ?
Sonata ?
Crown can , unless Crown can match that Sonata at 110km/hr , which i think , if ever they used 110km/hr , it is very dangerous and noisy . Their whole engine will dismantled !!!
Duration ?
Say 8-10 minutes ?
If you drive 10 hours per day .....
U lost 80-100 minutes to a Sonata .
Maybe i should say ..... $30 different in you can capitalised the full potential of that 80-100 minutes .
Come to Sq-1 , right ?
But Auto drive relax mah .... Manual no doubt cheap rental , one can engage over 1000 times a day .... buay tired meh ?
Uncle me knn drove Crown almost 4 years , knnbccb now body pain here pain there .
Phui ......
Originally posted by Poolman:SMRT Crown ? Or Cedric even better if u particular about rental ... cheap rental .
Or TransCab Crown also cheap .
Nothing more than $80 i think , $77 ?
Totally agreed....
Rental cheap.... your cab's pickup speed also slow.... ![]()
Nowadays... many hungry ghosts around.... See Pax from afar..... 10 or more taxis will cheong to see who pick pax 1st... especially after midnite.
Choose one with Turbo..... FAST & FURIOUS.... ![]()

?Scenario .... If i drove a Sonata and reached AP at 11.30pm .
11.35pm I pick n go at T2 to Pan Pac . Crown just unload luggages .
11.45pm i reached Marine Parade , that Crown just happened to be Q-ing at Terminal 2 maybe ....
Can imagine that scenrio ....?
Which earn more bucks ?
Cheap rental ? what are they thinking ?
Fast Taxi....

I really hope nobody wanna argue with us Crown is faster than Sonata or Skoda or Wish .....
H
w abt Corvette Z06... (too bad... Spore no have)... ![]()

Originally posted by Poolman:I really hope nobody wanna argue with us Crown is faster than Sonata or Skoda or Wish .....
Unless the Crown is Souped up.... ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:I really hope nobody wanna argue with us Crown is faster than Sonata or Skoda or Wish .....
Skoda used to be the New Kids OFF the block... fastest taxis on pickup....
(fews years ago)... but many ended in accidents & booked by TPs.... ![]()

Remember this incident....
Sometimes FAST doesn't means good also..... ![]()
TOO FAST & TOO FURIOUS....
...faster drift away![]()
I agreed that better vehicle is certainly more productive for TD, but more importantly is hardworking and able to balance family and one healthy life, some drive Sonata can earn less than Crown, cos everytime not driving, or driving for free
imho (am no LJ, only drove for 10 yrs), auto is quicker (so u can compete better) and easier to drive. Thus u can spare attention for more pressing matters such as looking for pax, answering pax questions, looking for landmarks etc esp for newbies. You'll hv better endurance too!
To me productivity and biz opportunity is the most important. That why i hv chosen yellow.
Pros
1. hassle free and quite good cab maintenance, at least from my exp.
2. significantly cheaper diesel and easily available island wide.
3. best cashless: all sorts of credit cards, nets, epins, ezlink, CDG corporate cards, the works!! so no need to waste precious time n entertain "uncle, pls look for atm, hv no cash" or "do u accept credit cards?" n see big fish slip off yr hook! can"jump queue" too esp when pax aproaches u with CDG corporate card.
4. tons of calls esp in ulu areas. juz imagine trying to look for pax in hugh Tuas!
5. good IT support. website for cabbies to check account, look for reliefs, checkout and bid for adv bookings. Phone apps for adv booking bidding available too!
Cons
1. quite strict on discipline esp with public image and pax complaint so u need to be accountable for yr actions
2. big corporation (public listed company) so everything iaw (in accordance with) SOP, say rigid if u r the type who prefer some flexibility
3. red offers more discounts esp for cng wish but range and topping up of cng can be quite a challenge
4. can't thk of anything more at the moment..
haha, no, am not doing PR for yellow/blue. juz that hv been driving yellow all this while and there are no justification for me to jump ship
The only manual taxi i would drive , will be Silver Hyundai i30 .....
Not because fuel efficient or things like that , because it's NEW !!!
Then throw key back to them in 2 years .
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:H
w abt Corvette Z06... (too bad... Spore no have)...
wah corvette~~~ i also wan but hor gibe me 1yr the engine chui liao....... :P
Originally posted by komade:wah corvette~~~ i also wan but hor gibe me 1yr the engine chui liao....... :P
If you drive that.....
the picture below will be happening to you.... almost everyday.... ![]()

Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Remember this incident....
Sometimes FAST doesn't means good also.....
TOO FAST & TOO FURIOUS....
This one actually was a retarded guy who hijacked a silver cab while the cabby go buy coffee, then he drove all way down into the telok blangah wall, funny how, till today, the wall had grown full of weeds but that space remain clear.