I'm taking up VL to drive as a relief.
Please evaluate below statements and advise accordingly.
- I have a full time job which I intend to keep.
- I will wake up 0645 and off to work till 1700
- Intend to drive from 1800 till 2300 or latest 12 midnight
- Already have a OMO accepting me as a relief
- OMO is kind and allow me to drive if I wanted and fine if I dun
- Will off on 1 weekday evening
- Will drive till wee hours on Sat night
- Drive per normal on Sunday evening
The important point is... I only wanted 2k from TD job a month.
Please tell me that I can make it!
1st of all... how much rental your (hirer) intend to charge you for that few hours ? your breakeven period is important dued to your limitation of hours on the road.
2ndly, driving needs lot of concentration.... regardless what trade are you in.... sufficient rest is essential. You may be a harzard to others road users if you are not concentrating (dued to fatigue) enough.
3rdly, have you consider driving on the weekends, ie, from Friday to Sunday ? rather than 6 days a week ?
Everyone wants to earn more.... but one must weighs the Pros and Cons before rushing in.
Originally posted by Austinc:I'm taking up VL to drive as a relief.
Please evaluate below statements and advise accordingly.
- I have a full time job which I intend to keep.
- I will wake up 0645 and off to work till 1700
- Intend to drive from 1800 till 2300 or latest 12 midnight
- Already have a OMO accepting me as a relief
- OMO is kind and allow me to drive if I wanted and fine if I dun
- Will off on 1 weekday evening
- Will drive till wee hours on Sat night
- Drive per normal on Sunday evening
The important point is... I only wanted 2k from TD job a month.
Please tell me that I can make it!
Base on your expectation of 2k driving only 6pm to 12midnite,
I would say : "You cannot make it !"
Best to drive fri/sat/sun only
Thanks for the replies...
J_D_I_L: 1st - free, just wash if it is dirty and fill up the gas and park it back by morning
2nd- Agree maybe could go for 5 rather than 6 days
3rd- I doubt I could hit target for 3 days a week
Originally posted by Austinc:Thanks for the replies...
J_D_I_L: 1st - free, just wash if it is dirty and fill up the gas and park it back by morning
2nd- Agree maybe could go for 5 rather than 6 days
3rd- I doubt I could hit target for 3 days a week
Reliefdriver4u: You mean in terms of $ or physically?komade: Full day or evening only? can rough guide on lousy and good day wages per week?Once again thank you so much for your honest reply.
u need time to learn the ropes not straight away u can earn
ur target 1....... like midnite where to go n Q or look for ppl also
a skill u need time to cultivate
Hi Reliefdriver4u sorry that after re-read your post, you definately meant on $.
If by driving 6pm to 12midnight can get 2k
who still wants to do full 12 hrs shift day/nite
this amt, even lau chiaus don't dare to dream
there are certain days / weeks / areas where there are few ppl taking taxi and many green lanterns plying the streets
Since this is the case... I guess I just have to aim lower. What you say is true... this prove that some claim that with discipline and fix hours of driving and experience, sometime could fetch 4.5k is a myth...
Well, why not shift the hours???
Maybe after work then sleep in the evening, then later drive at midnight becoz got midnight charge???
Then again, 2k for 5 hours per day, 6 days per week is not exactly realistic...
just go out and feel and learn. everyday is never the same.
imaging the pax you took go to this location , CCK, Punggol, hougang? after dropping pax you sweep at the nearby area, you think what are the chances you will get one pax.
take time to go thru this forum where old bird has share their experience especially those who are driving night shift, you will get to learn a lot.
as for income, everyone is different cos individual need are different.
4.5k? single shift or OMO or part time, i leave if for you to figure out when you start driving to learn on this trade. only thing i would say to get more income, there is opportunity cost which is your health and life.
for a start you may not feel, but as you continue driving maybe you will start to understand. remember recently a delivery driver who also is a relief die during his job, even it may not be driving taxi at that moment( big responsibility if ferry pax, their life at your stake).
So as you start driving, rest if you must when your body tell you, it for long term if you wish to continue driving
Beware of accumulative fatigue.
First day yayapapaya, you fine. Second day can tahan.
As days go on, you get tired and tired, and loss temper, concentration, and memory.
You must plan your rest and work schedule.
Otherwise you will be a danger on the road, and also at danger.
Hmmm... Poolman your recommendation seem a good idea. Family time will have to nego a bit loh... But to drive from 1pm on Sun cannot because chia zu also need to drive mah...
No lar... not gambling but debts issues. My new house coming and I intent to take a loan of 40k to renovate my house. At the same time I dun want to compromise my family comfort in term of $. I can scarifice my time for the benefit of other 4.... why not? Thinking of paying the debt by 2 years without touching a single cent from my current full time job earning (maybe dreaming)... Anyway, everyday I reach home ard 1830 and do nothing watching TV until 11+ 12+ then go sleep. It is a waste isn't it? By looking for a extra source of income, I guess this is the best way since I don't need pay rent to the hirer.
you stay at home idle until 12midnight and driving a taxi stop at midnight is total a different matter.
idle --- body get some rest, recover fast even you sleep only 6hrs
working + driving - body get lot of stress, 6hrs sleep wake up feel different from above.
i start driving as OMO, try many combination. 12hr / 15 hr /18hr plus split
now 12hr day, night pass to relief.. income same as i drive OMO but with more rest and better health, sometime sunday switch off( outing with family member)
I remember someone said, they chase money when young... traded health for money...
then as they get older, they traded money to get health... in the end, never gain anything...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Well, why not shift the hours???
Maybe after work then sleep in the evening, then later drive at midnight becoz got midnight charge???
Aiyoyo ah Miss....
nowadays.... there are many.....blue latterns....![]()

(Blue latterns.... = empty cabs)...
And especially after midnites... only on Weekends... you can get paxs (a few trips) after midnites.... If not Weekdays.... You can get only this..... (below)... ![]()

Singaporeans... sleep early... even on Wednesday (ladies night)... not many Pax to go around too.... Be realistic...
Best advice to Austinc is... ask your potential hirer to charge you lesser on rental (for the hours used only)... since you are closing at midnite. If you are paying for half the rental, then it is really a RIPE OFF.
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:I remember someone said, they chase money when young... traded health for money...
then as they get older, they traded money to get health... in the end, never gain anything...
In a place like Singapore.... you better don't get sick.... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Aiyoyo ah Miss....
Hahaha, please lah, not everyone with a lady avatar is a Miss.
Originally posted by bowah:
Hahaha, please lah, not everyone with a lady avatar is a Miss.
She not ger... i chop off....
finger nails.

Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:In a place like Singapore.... you better don't get sick....
Everyone have to get sick, this is virus world, they need to survive too, the key is, when you get sick, are you insured or covered.
Although sick will ultimately visit us in one way or the way,evade it before it come. For Cabby, we are very easy prone to virus from all walk of lifes, 20mins in a cubicle of recycle air with a virus infected person, just like SAR case, you are in trouble. That is the risk we hv to face, not the taxis companies, the operator, the dro, but you, the cabbies.
However, by keeping one self fit, eat correctly and exercise regularly, sleep well, one can be better immune to virus, stronger and fresher.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:She not ger... i chop off....
finger nails.
She maybe, but who knows?? wha, that is a sexy hand