Originally posted by Austinc:I'm taking up VL to drive as a relief.
Please evaluate below statements and advise accordingly.
- I have a full time job which I intend to keep.
- I will wake up 0645 and off to work till 1700
- Intend to drive from 1800 till 2300 or latest 12 midnight
- Already have a OMO accepting me as a relief
- OMO is kind and allow me to drive if I wanted and fine if I dun
- Will off on 1 weekday evening
- Will drive till wee hours on Sat night
- Drive per normal on Sunday evening
The important point is... I only wanted 2k from TD job a month.
Please tell me that I can make it!
Ok, tell you the truth, nothing but the truth, you cannot make it.
Wow your timetable so tight, leaving your body no air to breath. I think you better listen to our senior advices. You may make $2k each month to pay for your medical instead. Take care.
No need even pay medical, eyes too tire, body weak, knn, touch wood, Boooommm only, instead of earn 2k , lost 2k more
Set a lower target...
probably starting with $1,200 (since TD is your second job)... also lesser stress level.
if you can achieve higher revenue... then it is a bonus....

rent free...
maybe can pull it off... means cost is onli fuel n cash wash... the rest nett profit liao..
Originally posted by Khoon2580:rent free...
maybe can pull it off... means cost is onli fuel n cash wash... the rest nett profit liao..
Free Rent ??
Time to take...... ![]()

or... take a bus ride..... BUS 43.....![]()
Which Hirer gives FREE RENTAL everyday ???
from 6pm shift ??? ![]()
not free, hirer request to top gas end of the day, so i guess cost should be close to $30. only thing is that likely hirer not topping up when handing over. what company taxi you are going to drive?
Aiyo.... hirer is my uncle lah... where got free rent chai zu...
Originally posted by Austinc:Aiyo.... hirer is my uncle lah... where got free rent chai zu...
Aiyoyo...
Since he (hirer) is your uncle... ask for cheaper rental lor... (Daily rental divide by 24hrs, $x multipe hours you intend to drive).
own uncle... easy to talk...
rental high... your time to breakeven also takes longer...
Originally posted by ALN:drive part time taxi never ask aln?
best relief u dun know?
Should we give you a award ??

Originally posted by mancha:Beware of accumulative fatigue.
First day yayapapaya, you fine. Second day can tahan.
As days go on, you get tired and tired, and loss temper, concentration, and memory.
You must plan your rest and work schedule.
Otherwise you will be a danger on the road, and also at danger.
correct bro u see in japan how many ppl die frm faatigue every yr u knoe liao.......
some juz collapse at work foaming at the mouth bleeding frm the nose.............
Originally posted by Angwk7118:just go out and feel and learn. everyday is never the same.
imaging the pax you took go to this location , CCK, Punggol, hougang? after dropping pax you sweep at the nearby area, you think what are the chances you will get one pax.
take time to go thru this forum where old bird has share their experience especially those who are driving night shift, you will get to learn a lot.
as for income, everyone is different cos individual need are different.
4.5k? single shift or OMO or part time, i leave if for you to figure out when you start driving to learn on this trade. only thing i would say to get more income, there is opportunity cost which is your health and life.
for a start you may not feel, but as you continue driving maybe you will start to understand. remember recently a delivery driver who also is a relief die during his job, even it may not be driving taxi at that moment( big responsibility if ferry pax, their life at your stake).
So as you start driving, rest if you must when your body tell you, it for long term if you wish to continue driving
yah lookin for pax at these "mountain" areas after midnite is a uphill
task need alot of time to cultivate a sweeping route to where u will get
the most chance to get a pax if not then u need to empty car back to towm.
fyi took me amost 2yrs to almost perfect my midnite n i dare say my midnite
very strong liao.........n unless u ti kong kia then i got notin to say
Originally posted by ALN:after 1 year,
scenario 1 – you drive 4 nites a week. still young and hardworking
scenario 2 – 3 nites. like mosquito before tio retrench
scenario 3 – 2 nites. like aln. copycat
scenario 4 – you throw key liao.
ALN hougang best PHUI!! relief dun tok to him talk cock nia........ :P
Originally posted by bowah:No need even pay medical, eyes too tire, body weak, knn, touch wood, Boooommm only, instead of earn 2k , lost 2k more
yah 1 accident nia say bye bye to ur income for the mth..........
Ok lah... let this thread die for the moment lah... tok so much also no use... later when I start driving then would I know the 'smell'... hirer no young liao... drive from 0630am stop around early evening nia... no much liability so as long 1 mth got 2k+ he close shop go home liao... Although rental free but I dun think it is healthy for me to take advantage of it... I think it is better let's say I really able to make 2k pay him a 500 rental...
Originally posted by Austinc:Ok lah... let this thread die for the moment lah... tok so much also no use... later when I start driving then would I know the 'smell'... hirer no young liao... drive from 0630am stop around early evening nia... no much liability so as long 1 mth got 2k+ he close shop go home liao... Although rental free but I dun think it is healthy for me to take advantage of it... I think it is better let's say I really able to make 2k pay him a 500 rental...
Ya man, talk so much no use. Gain that experience, taste the life of a cabby then think about income. Anyway, if you think drive cab can huat, then you are wrong. You never see so many people in this forum kena chase by parangs? Don't believe? You ask ALN "The Best Phui relief"
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Aiyoyo...
Since he (hirer) is your uncle... ask for cheaper rental lor... (Daily rental divide by 24hrs, $x multipe hours you intend to drive).
own uncle... easy to talk...
rental high... your time to breakeven also takes longer...
Very hard to say lah, brother, in life, sometime relatives can be more worst than friends, and when awkward thing happen, also very hard to open mouth.
Originally posted by riskman:
Ya man, talk so much no use. Gain that experience, taste the life of a cabby then think about income. Anyway, if you think drive cab can huat, then you are wrong. You never see so many people in this forum kena chase by parangs? Don't believe? You ask ALN "The Best Phui relief"
Originally posted by seancannot:TS
Unless your day job is a very relax.. stress free type , highly discourage you from driving cab at night , anyway once you try driving you will know taxi driving is not easy , you have to use alot of brain power thinking how to drive to certain locaiton and find pax … also physically taxing of sitting inside a car for 5 hours, it will take a toll of you … I cant even walk straight after getting out of the seat .. go and try and you will know .. you have to skip toilet break , meal at times which is bad for health
But I do have a good ex-colleague making $70 to $100 every night as he knock off at 3 pm and drive from 5 pm to 12 am , he lives in Jurong and hirer his neighbour ,there are alot of on call job at factory area , I have no doubt he is indeed acheiving the earning
As I said before, in this world, you see me good, i see you good, but actually we are all struggling to make a living out of each other, we need pax, pax also may need us to buy tab, iphone or whatever job pax is working in, he or she may be a hawker selling fish soup that need people like us to patronise, we are actually very much connected to each other, depend on you needs and your ability, I alway believe one should spend wisely and within one ability. Life is not long, if you keep chasing your needs to pay your credits or debts, then, you are nothing but a 24hr ATM for others to draw out your money. Savour the moment of time you have with family, resting, brisk walking in the park with nature, enjoy what you want as a hobby, be it fly kite or cooking or games, life will be more enjoyable than keep working. You are born to enjoy what this world can give you and vice versa, not born to just work and work.
Learn to budget your spending, set achieveable objectives, and plan well to achieve it, if you think 40k loan to renovate your house is putting a burden on you that you need to drive Taxis, why not lower it to 20k, i guess your family will understand you, share the burden among them, or you can do the important renovation first, then later when times are good, renovate in a more refine term.
No offences, but it happen to some of my buddies, spend so much on renovation, but everyday never go back to enjoy, just drive like a mad dog, he told me, cannot lose face to relatives and friends, house must be nice nice, but then when relative visited his house, wife said he go drive taxi, relatives also laugh at him.
Originally posted by bowah:
Very hard to say lah, brother, in life, sometime relatives can be more worst than friends, and when awkward thing happen, also very hard to open mouth.
That's why he needs to mentioned clearly with the relative (hirer) before he starts driving....
If not, everything also "chin-chye" and "nevermind", then when problems really arrive, it will be worst to open mouth....
Don't worry of not getting a Cab to drive.... There are 26,073 units !!! ![]()
$40k renovation is nothing ......
Now renovation little bit only $40K .....
Mine house renovation $80K .
Not me lar , the former owner .
Marble floorings for sitting room .
Parquet floorings for living room .
Kitchen marble top , full cabinet .
Aircon for three rooms .
Gas boiler water heater .
Bath Tub in master bedroom .
What is $40k now ?