Is it just me or do Taxi Drivers have the mentality that it's not their car so they drive as fast as they can and refuse to let other drivers into their lane even though it's almost the end of the exit. (For example, and of course not all taxi drivers are like that. Just 90% of the ones I've seen on the road
)
What's your worst taxi encounter?
it's true ... sorry Sonata drivers , i would say they are the least popular among all taxi drivers .
it's different now since i drove a Red Wish ....
When i was a Sonata driver , i was even bullied by my fellow Sonata drivers .
Now i am from Wish , i realized i give way to my fellow Red Wishes more often and vice versa , they give way to me usually ..... maybe they saw me at CNG most of the time and see them most of the time .
Never did i have any bad encounter with any of my fellow Reds .
if fact if TS are asking me if only taxi drivers have the mentallity of not giving way or cutting lanes ....
Most Singaporean drivers are like that .
Bros,come on lah....nothing to do with Sonata driver.Its the driver itself,if the drivers is like that means he drive what car also like that.Sorry to say,you cannot sterotype in this way lor.BTW,on the road Crown more or Sonata more?Anybody knows?
Originally posted by Poolman:if fact if TS are asking me if only taxi drivers have the mentallity of not giving way or cutting lanes ....
Most Singaporean drivers are like that .
bro its the sg driver mentality lar...........
Yes its the car make that made a person
When drive Sonata, lut all the way
When drive mercs or bmw, stay in 2nd lane, slow like tortise, haha
If you notice most mercs DON'T signal, my friend told me, then i start to notice ... hmm
How often do you see subaru wrx dun speed ?
How often do you see honda beng kias dun overtake you at the slightest oppunitity ?
It's true, Singaporean drives are dicks. No use defending them here because it is true and everyone knows it. Now that you've mentioned it, yeah Sonata drivers are the ones that are always speeding really fast. Is there a reason why they whack all the time? LOL cheaper petrol ah? o.O
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:Yes its the car make that made a person
If you notice most mercs DON'T signal, my friend told me, then i start to notice ... hmm
Once I drove a wish cab as relief, while turning into st regis to drop off from tanglin, a merc on my left also want to turn in without signal, I have to jam brake abit inorder to avoid collision, then I honked. Later, after drop of pax, the merc driver who had order a velvet to park for him, came over and ask me why I honk at him, i told him is it dangerous to turn in out of the sudden without signal, then he said i drive too slow and that my toyota wish have good brake, why cannot use? or do not know how to use?
Then I replied him, you got a good nice car, must be damn expensive, then he said, that is none of your business, then I replied, but too bad, you forget to buy the signal lights. The bellboys also laughed, then I moves out.
Originally posted by bowah:
Once I drove a wish cab as relief, while turning into st regis to drop off from tanglin, a merc on my left also want to turn in without signal, I have to jam brake abit inorder to avoid collision, then I honked. Later, after drop of pax, the merc driver who had order a velvet to park for him, came over and ask me why I honk at him, i told him is it dangerous to turn in out of the sudden without signal, then he said i drive too slow and that my toyota wish have good brake, why cannot use? or do not know how to use?Then I replied him, you got a good nice car, must be damn expensive, then he said, that is none of your business, then I replied, but too bad, you forget to buy the signal lights. The bellboys also laughed, then I moves out.
The Merc Driver is.....
Komade ? ![]()
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:Yes its the car make that made a person
last time i drive sonata i also relax 1, y rush?? end of day max
u fetch 1 more pax than me nia............
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:The Merc Driver is.....
Komade ?
cannot be me lar bro i always use my signal light 1..........
its my habit liao cause as a rider we hav better driving habits
than those pure drivers............
yeap... see sonata otr siam far far...
chevorlet equally powerful rite? but seldom see red or maroon TDs drive the way the blues drive...
You guys got a hardon for Sonata issit? Sometimes I'm a bit sick of the Sonata bashing / Wish praising in this forum. I wonder would it be the other way round if the moderator and most members were driving Sonatas instead of Wishes. As usual, all the fire engine drivers are the best, smartest, most experienced, most courteous, etc..etc..NONE of the sonatas in my group drive the way you all described. I guess you could say we're not the hungry type. 一竹篙打一船人. I guess there are very few Sonata forumers here. IMHO, it is the driver, not the car as quickpick and komade has said. My personal experience is that many Merc drivers don't signal (many, not all), But I have had my fair share of fire engine drivers who feel that signalling will cause increased fuel consumption. See, don't just look and you'll find that Sonatas and Wishes have about the same numbers of drivers with the mentality TS mentioned. Open your eyes, remove the bias from your mind and SEE the truth.
To TS, I dispute your figure of 90%. Probably, you keep seeing the same drivers. Most taxi drivers will go out of their way to avoid any incident. It just gets in the way of making money. I will say 90% of TDs will give way whether you signal or not. We just don't want to get involve in any accidents. Not with $2K+ at risk, that's almost what we make in a whole month. Just not worth that moment of ego. I would say that you were unfortunate to encounter the 10% who have to make money in a hurry (to pay debts, etc.)
Poolman did not bashed Sonata here .....
Others did .
Poolman said "Sonata is the least popular one ."
Poolman has been very nice here .
I have heard more hatreds to Sonata then praised for Sonata .
People not inside any forums .
Again , i still will put "least popular among taxi drivers " as my quote .
Reds also kena several bashing from other forum as well , on the newspaper as well .
Each one has their fair share of criticism .
Originally posted by KCTK:You guys got a hardon for Sonata issit? Sometimes I'm a bit sick of the Sonata bashing / Wish praising in this forum. I wonder would it be the other way round if the moderator and most members were driving Sonatas instead of Wishes. As usual, all the fire engine drivers are the best, smartest, most experienced, most courteous, etc..etc..NONE of the sonatas in my group drive the way you all described. I guess you could say we're not the hungry type. 一竹篙打一船人. I guess there are very few Sonata forumers here. IMHO, it is the driver, not the car as quickpick and komade has said. My personal. I drive orange... I dun side any colour ... Blue n yellow crown driver are ok... I open my eyes when i drive... I can see for my self... experience is that many Merc drivers don't signal (many, not all), But I have had my fair share of fire engine drivers who feel that signalling will cause increased fuel consumption. See, don't just look and you'll find that Sonatas and Wishes have about the same numbers of drivers with the mentality TS mentioned. Open your eyes, remove the bias from your mind and SEE the truth.
Aiyoyo....
This is a forum page... everybody has their own views... (just have to be responsible)
Originally posted by KCTK:You guys got a hardon for Sonata issit? Sometimes I'm a bit sick of the Sonata bashing / Wish praising in this forum. I wonder would it be the other way round if the moderator and most members were driving Sonatas instead of Wishes. As usual, all the fire engine drivers are the best, smartest, most experienced, most courteous, etc..etc..NONE of the sonatas in my group drive the way you all described. I guess you could say we're not the hungry type. 一竹篙打一船人. I guess there are very few Sonata forumers here. IMHO, it is the driver, not the car as quickpick and komade has said. My personal. I drive orange, i dun need to side anyone ... If the boss here drive sonana, i will stand on my view... Go see yrself ... How many sonatd driver dun signal... Speed... Cut in your lane like there is no tmr... I drive with my eyes opem i can see... Ps: blue n yellow crown driver are ok... experience is that many Merc drivers don't signal (many, not all), But I have had my fair share of fire engine drivers who feel that signalling will cause increased fuel consumption. See, don't just look and you'll find that Sonatas and Wishes have about the same numbers of drivers with the mentality TS mentioned. Open your eyes, remove the bias from your mind and SEE the truth.
Originally posted by Bl4ckCrap:It's true, Singaporean drives are dicks. No use defending them here because it is true and everyone knows it. Now that you've mentioned it, yeah Sonata drivers are the ones that are always speeding really fast. Is there a reason why they whack all the time? LOL cheaper petrol ah? o.O
if u are driving a motorboat on a narrow river and a sampan is in front impeding you, wat's the 1st thought that'll come to yr mind? overtake right? and as ts mentioned, wat is the driver doing in the wrong lane almost at the end of the exit? if cabbies or others, have the right of way, must give way to sotongs in the wrong lane? if in the wrong lane wait a bit lah, signal doesn't mean hv the right to cut in.
if u know how to do it safely, nobody can deny u the right to cut in! ever wondered why, whenever in heavy traffic conditions, vehicles on lane 1 of expressways near major exits and interchanges can come to a complete stop whereas vehicle on other lanes can continue to move?
cabbies spent 10-12 hrs on the road every day and time available n traffic conditions play a big part in productivity, we dun hv the luxury to give way here n there when we hv the right of way! how to earn more or hv more time to rest?
most of us sonata drivers are fast cos the car is torquey and quck. but we are also safe drivers, just that we are more assertive than others on the road!
almost everyday kenan from blues... cut in from middle lane to snatch pax... best is already hazard light on... stilll can cut in...
so far never kenan from yellow or red chevvy or maroon chevvy...
probably popluation of blues bigger so happen more often...
onli blame hand-leg not fast enough...
nowadays if see pax infront - will check middle lane got blue anot... if hav... sorry - step big oil... if u want cut in... den u bang my side... both can go holiday...