As for the changes ....
What are their intentions ?
1.To move part of taxi commuters to Circle Line ?
2.To cool down the demands from 8pm outside CBD ?
3.To move some usually saturated taxis inside CBD out of CBD ?
Does the ERP remains the same rate for taxis ?
If ERP remains , and CBD surcharge remove ?
Which taxi would want to "invest" ERP cost and go into CBD ?
Even with booking , it is not beneficial for us .
Yes , if MBS $3 surcharge remains , i would pay ERP to go into just MBS .
Not CBD taxi stand .
So if every cabby think like me , MBS will be a Massive Car Park for Taxis !!!!!
Then CBD will be revert back to the state of the early 2000's .
If CBD $3 surcharge remains , does it solve the outside CBD problems after 8pm ?
Yes , i think it will settle some , with that 20% peak hour extension up to so called 10pm .
But peak hour til 10pm ?
Once again i sense no logic here .... why 10pm where the people taking taxis are hottest ?
If 10pm .... no peak hour surcharge , no CBD surcharge , just normal , but with MBS $3 surcharge .
Then LTA and Comfort are creating another problem , turning MBS into a Massive car park as i can foresee all taxis will Q at MBS !!! For that $3 .
Also ....
Why is there no rumour about doing something on Sunday ?
I think this pricing will also be valid on Sunday .
If 10pm .... then the hotline from Comfort Call Centre will once again revert back to Mad dogs situation .
If no CBD surcharge , no peak hour , inside CBD , the situation will be like on Sunday .
Long human Q everywhere , except MBS long Q of taxis & AP .
Who suffered the most ?
Those hotel guest .
Then Hurray , trust me , LV huat until dunno how to say .
I am analysing , base on ....
Comfort always implement something , to protect their Booking Revenue .
Surrounding the prospect of their booking hotline .
As for myself .... TransCab .
How ?
I believe their booking will follow the trend and increase .
Only thing , we dun chose specifically inside CBD .
There will be more calls .
Cos every commuter after 10pm , have a equal chance of getting a cab .
The centre portion inside CBD or rather the whole of CBD , will face massive problems getting a cab .
Cos we cabby always come in from outside of CBD into CBD .
So we will sweep from outside to inside .
Leaving a big hole inside CBD with no taxis .
I do not approve CBD surcharge to be withdrawn . Cos CBD will be hit severely .
I also do not approve peak hour surcharge to 10pm , they're digging their own grave . 11pm will be ideal .
Then this pricing have to be 365 days .
Maybe maximum minus of PH .
Pool, you like that analyse hor... very one sided leh. How about day shift? eat grass? all drive night shift?
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:News already leaked out 2 months ago that PTC will do adjustment this year-end... likely Dec 2011. (same as the last fare increase in Dec 2007).
Don't have to brainstorm too much (later headache waste panadols) .... just follow with the new implementation...
Whatever they (PTC) do, it will never be fair or even for everyone... (u just can't please everyone). Keep your fingers crossed and hope for the best.. (more revenue for TDs).
hmmmm...... new system limo more huat?? :P
Originally posted by Poolman:If 10pm .... then the hotline from Comfort Call Centre will once again revert back to Mad dogs situation .
If no CBD surcharge , no peak hour , inside CBD , the situation will be like on Sunday .
Long human Q everywhere , except MBS long Q of taxis & AP .
Who suffered the most ?
Those hotel guest .
Then Hurray , trust me , LV huat until dunno how to say .
if like tat limo HUAT AH~~!!! :P
Originally posted by Poolman:Does the ERP remains the same rate for taxis ?
If ERP remains , and CBD surcharge remove ?
Which taxi would want to "invest" ERP cost and go into CBD ?
Even with booking , it is not beneficial for us .
Yes , if MBS $3 surcharge remains , i would pay ERP to go into just MBS .
Not CBD taxi stand .
So if every cabby think like me , MBS will be a Massive Car Park for Taxis !!!!!
Then CBD will be revert back to the state of the early 2000's .
maybe they can change CBD (city) surcharge to "ERP Surcharge" (not to be confused with erp charges).
$2 or $3 erp surcharge, timimng in sync with erp hrs. Citycab used to levy cbd surcharge from 5-8 pm only before they merged with CDG.
Originally posted by riskman:Pool, you like that analyse hor... very one sided leh. How about day shift? eat grass? all drive night shift?
ERP surcharges applies whenever pickup location is within erp cordon n within erp operating hrs (1200-2000hrs).
after all, if u ask yr personal driver to drive into erp areas to pick u, u shd pay for erp, right?
The ERP gantries is going to be remove once the GPS satelite ERP system which they are testing it now works to perfection. The changes will come inline with the new GPS ERP system, which is a totally different ball games. I heard there will be a widening of CBD area as financial and other services industrial business expand. Construction in Marina south is a big thing coming up, they just dig Asia City, which is the next financial district, bigger than suntec and marina FC join together.
If today you go jurong industrial, you see those old companies being tear down, along jalan boon lay and those tukang satu to lima to,..quality road, new ones are in tuas, more high tech, more modern, and the financial centre in CBD will serve as their banking and corporate partners. This is no more a low cost old jurong industrial, it had moved up to knowledge base and skill base economy.
So, the future of taxi driving, which is a service industry, looks good, but the problem now is, where to get so much cabbies?? with an aging population combine with a highly educated youngs who go for banking, casinos, hotel or financial job without even a look at taxi driving. Ask yourself, as Cabby, do you want your son to be a taxi driver, if yes, something must be wrong.
Singapore govt are good in one thing, that is pre emptiveness, they alway plan ahead before anything happen, and they also have contingent plan if their plan A could not work. If the future looks good for the service industry like TD, they need to plan to get the right people in, and to get it, they hv to look at the X generation, from the 40s to the 70s, mostly will be within the 40 to 50 yo mark, those in the 30s are only a small percentage and most may switch job before 40s, and at 40s to 50s, most are stabled family men with the responsibility to raise school going if not Uni kids. Therefore, it is critical to raise the fares and at the same time, the variable surcharges to make TD more vibrant and acceptable as a professional, not as a trade for oldies or those who get retrenched or those who sick of working or those in debts. But if govt is thinking of recruiting FT as Foreign Taxis driver, which in NY, Canada and part of europe practice, then the locals like we here can kiss our asses
I strongly urge govt insitution like e2i, learning hub or any other related insitution to upgrade the skills of Taxi drivers, make Taxi driving a profession like Japan and Britain, they are well respected. Having a taxi licence is, as you all will agree, as easy as ABC, on practical side, you can achieve it within 2 to 3 months, just like our Khoon did. However my suggestion is that taxi driver should be given a chance to upgrade to serve the public better, course like communication skills, public relationship and handling skill, basic human pyshology and tourism that include one more languages, or any other servicing course related should be TD should help taxi driver to move up the ladder of this profession, give those who manage to achieve it, be given certification and higher grade in TD, meaning he will be pay more in rebate for top class serving that help the relevant Taxi company he work in to gain more respect and good reputation. Example, if e2i can come out with a japanese course, module can include basic japanese ethic, languages, manner, culture, way of their taxi system, their likes and dislike etc etc or even a trip of co payment to japan for study tour will in return help cabbies taking the course able to understand what is the need and requirement, and once they get jap customer, they can dispatch all these trained cabbies at a higher rates, in return, the Japs are happy to get a basic jap speaker who understand them, a higher rates for company and a higher income for the driver.
This are just food for thought, many trades hv upgrading and skill developement sponsored by govt, especially those in their 40s are given free, but not taxi driver, die die also just a taxi driver with no grades
Originally posted by riskman:Pool, you like that analyse hor... very one sided leh. How about day shift? eat grass? all drive night shift?
This new fare system all focus on night leh .... there's where the problems lies .
If peak hour for day shift , i dun see a need to extend . Will be killing them .
20% is a good figure for them , Full Stop .
Day shift , due to the nature most cabby wanted a normal working life , still most cabbies would not want to drive night and turned into a Vampire lifestyle for that little bit of difference .
Datas are there for those policy makers to come out with price tags .
CDG knew how many taxis they have for night lar .
LTA also will get datas from Jasmine , no difficult , just see how many log into the MDT during evening peak , they can get those datas and analyse the need for changes .
FT's dad complaint to FT : " Singapore taxis very expensive ."
It's my simple philosophy .
When there demands , u'll think taxi is cheap .
When there's no demands , u hope taxi can be cheaper .
When i was a trainee taking TVDL course .
I had a chat with my LTA instructor .
I asked him why ERP not standardised at $1 per entry ? And need to follow prices of cars ?
His answers : " Then everyone would rent a taxi for personal usage , but we dun see taxi plying trade on the road . "
They are saying they would want to prevent people from abusing the car usage system in Singapore .
Especially now with rocket prices COE , they will insist with that policy .
Replying to DAY SHIFT issues .....
I really do not see a need to adjust anything other than the peak hour rate , which i thought many are like me , disapprove of 35% !
So far only one driver i know openly said he love this 35% peak hour surcharge ..... and now he dun even drive peak hour .
One key issue is ERP , ERP rates at some gantry are killing commuters during morning peak hours !
Like CTE into town , scary sia all those gantries add up .
LTA should changed their mindset now .
To encourage fellow Singaporeans NOT TO DRIVE to work .
They should encourage more to switch to Buses , Train , taxis .
Taxis should be collected at net value at all gantries , regardless of timing .
$1 .
If they reply to me people will abuse the system , i'll tell them .
" Sir , time has changed , not much people would want to save that $1 to abort their cars and rent a taxi lar ! "
Originally posted by bowah:I strongly urge govt insitution like e2i, learning hub or any other related insitution to upgrade the skills of Taxi drivers, make Taxi driving a profession like Japan and Britain, they are well respected. Having a taxi licence is, as you all will agree, as easy as ABC, on practical side, you can achieve it within 2 to 3 months, just like our Khoon did. However my suggestion is that taxi driver should be given a chance to upgrade to serve the public better, course like communication skills, public relationship and handling skill, basic human pyshology and tourism that include one more languages, or any other servicing course related should be TD should help taxi driver to move up the ladder of this profession, give those who manage to achieve it, be given certification and higher grade in TD, meaning he will be pay more in rebate for top class serving that help the relevant Taxi company he work in to gain more respect and good reputation. Example, if e2i can come out with a japanese course, module can include basic japanese ethic, languages, manner, culture, way of their taxi system, their likes and dislike etc etc or even a trip of co payment to japan for study tour will in return help cabbies taking the course able to understand what is the need and requirement, and once they get jap customer, they can dispatch all these trained cabbies at a higher rates, in return, the Japs are happy to get a basic jap speaker who understand them, a higher rates for company and a higher income for the driver.
This are just food for thought, many trades hv upgrading and skill developement sponsored by govt, especially those in their 40s are given free, but not taxi driver, die die also just a taxi driver with no grades
yah we can improve the standards but can the standards of
local pax be raised??
There is so far no concrete comfirmation on abolishing the CBD surcharge .
I guess abolishing this CBD surcharge , will cut off CBD Surcharge Hunters like us .
To give a fairer play to those people trying to get a cab outside CBD .
When 2007 , i said LTA and CDG offices will get butter on their backside every morning , am i right ?
Complaints the same every morning , i think they had enough butter .
You don't need this forum to teach taxi drives how to become a CBD surcharge hunter , that's for sure . Every single cabby on the road knows where the gold is !
Originally posted by Poolman:There is so far no concrete comfirmation on abolishing the CBD surcharge .
I guess abolishing this CBD surcharge , will cut off CBD Surcharge Hunters like us .
To give a fairer play to those people trying to get a cab outside CBD .
When 2007 , i said LTA and CDG offices will get butter on their backside every morning , am i right ?
Complaints the same every morning , i think they had enough butter .
You don't need this forum to teach taxi drives how to become a CBD surcharge hunter , that's for sure . Every single cabby on the road knows where the gold is !
yah alot of butter every morning, after no more cbd surcharge then shenton
way ppl give them free butter every morning liao............ :P
U just need to put yourself in the shoes of all those bell boys of hotels like Hyatt , Hilton , RoyalPlaza at Scotts , Shanrila , orchard hotel , orchard parade hotel etc .... hotel outside CBD hotels .
If LTA asked you for feedback , what will be the common answers ?
If i am the bell boy , i will tell LTA : " Taxi dun take lar , they put BUSY drive off , dunno why ?"
Is that the common answers ?
I would say yes .
So i guess by abolishing such surcharges , will do those hotels more good .
I just give hotel as examples .... what about normal local non-hotel commuters ?
Yes u got it !