I am a brand new hirer. was thinking of getting the Merc cab from SMRT. Other companies dun offer Merc to newbies.
Wonder if I make the right choice. was told that hard to make money cos Merc has got their own exclusive lobang to get pax. Anyone can offer any advice here? Thanks in advance.
be a relief before OMO so you can know whats like driving a merc. To join merc you can choose to join a walkie group. Its a norm to join a group.
Originally posted by Bingjames:I am a brand new hirer. was thinking of getting the Merc cab from SMRT. Other companies dun offer Merc to newbies.
Wonder if I make the right choice. was told that hard to make money cos Merc has got their own exclusive lobang to get pax. Anyone can offer any advice here? Thanks in advance.
other company show a little bit more humanity by not offering merc to newbies, they know failing rate is high for newbies.
thou you can join a limo group, but limo customer generally have a higher expectation from a limo driver, good knowledge on route and location is basic. let those limo driver tell you more. And all this only worth an extra of $0.20 per trip.
Walkie player require a good knowledge of routes/building/address and timing, there are many competition and no much mercy shown for newbies.
A brand new cabby the best is keep your liabilty low for a start.
To drive a Benz , and work like a Crown ( street pick ) , drive Benz for fuck ?
Drive a street pick Crown $80+ rental whole day .
Drive a Street pick Benz $127 rental whole day .
Any logic ?
白猫黑猫
会æ�‰è€�é¼ çš„çŒ«
就是好猫
Three people .....
Went to shopping ....
One bought Rolex , one bought Philip Patek , one bought casio .
When they walk out shopping arcade , they realized ..... all the time is the same .
Doesn't mean Casio timing not acccurate , right ?
A watch still a watch .
Taxi still a taxi .
Doesn't mean Benz can earn more money .
Like wise , doesn't mean a crown cannot make money .
Logic ?
Last but not least ....
SMRT should just be minding their own MRT business , not taxi business .
Taxi business leave it to someone else .
SMRT taxis shouldn't be there at the first place .
Originally posted by Poolman:To drive a Benz , and work like a Crown ( street pick ) , drive Benz for fuck ?
Any logic ?
eh benz cannot do sweep meh?? me rubbish truck cum 1/2 past 6 limo cum
LV call tis combination working well for me now leh~~~~~ :P
but agree dun join walkie group so quick u sure kenna makan by old birds
like us cause when getting calls on the move requires quick reflexes n a
gd knowledge of the areas. u may be infront 500m of me but i knoe the traffic flow
which lane is the quickest n maybe a nice shortcut i still can beat u to the location
Originally posted by komade:eh benz cannot do sweep meh?? me rubbish truck cum 1/2 past 6 limo cum
gd knowledge of the areas. u may be infront 500m of me but i knoe the traffic flow
which lane is the quickest n maybe a nice shortcut i still can beat u to the location
An experience driver, all rounder, know what is best during that particular timing. For booking, know which booking to take. To sweep, know what type of location to aviod. Most importantly, stepping on the line and never get fines.
A DRO once told me, on record, it is the those who got experiences get the most accidents, violation of laws and problems. ![]()
Originally posted by bowah:A DRO once told me, on record, it is the those who got experiences get the most accidents, violation of laws and problems.
Because, that is the "thumb of rule" in money making, more money making.
Those walking on the line, as long he is in balance, will be seen as successful.
Those crossing the line or those refuse to go near the line, will be seen as failure.
Many of us here are those walking on the line, the matter is..... we are learning to get the balance right.
Originally posted by Poolman:Three people .....
Went to shopping ....
One bought Rolex , one bought Philip Patek , one bought casio .
When they walk out shopping arcade , they realized ..... all the time is the same .
Doesn't mean Casio timing not acccurate , right ?
A watch still a watch .
Taxi still a taxi .
Doesn't mean Benz can earn more money .
Like wise , doesn't mean a crown cannot make money .
Logic ?
Logic ?
I don't see the logic for the example that you used.
The resale value may go up for a branded watch but not a casio
Originally posted by Poolman:To drive a Benz , and work like a Crown ( street pick ) , drive Benz for fuck ?
Any logic ?
How can a TD who has not driven a merc for all his TD career be here talking about why TD should not drive a merc.
Doesn't make sense at all
Originally posted by komade:eh benz cannot do sweep meh?? me rubbish truck cum 1/2 past 6 limo cum
Very soon you will either drop out of LV or you stop driving merc
Why do I say that..
Imagine you taking a current call from LV and at the same time a durian job drop.
How ?
Frankly, Uncle here also do not understand the logic of watches, certainly, by wearing branded stuff like watches, you get much respect and deal done with trust if you are skrew businessman.
Money and cost aside, some bosses I took to AP told me, actually said they prefer a Getz or a smaller car to go around singapore, more easier to park and suit our small lanes, but due to business, the showcase have to be there, they have to drive big merc and other luxury cars, in business deal, people look at your appearances and wearing, so I guess a rolex stand a much different from a Casio. And certainly, a merc will outstrip a altis in any carpark
Originally posted by Poolman:Last but not least ....
SMRT should just be minding their own MRT business , not taxi business .
Taxi business leave it to someone else .
SMRT taxis shouldn't be there at the first place .
Why shouldn't SMRT be a taxi operator ?
Just check around your fellow TDs. You know who they are.
Those who got terminated by CDG, which was the 1st coy that they thought of ?
Transcab ? It wasn't even in their thought.
SMRT is next when they got terminated by CDG
Every men on the street ply his own profession in his own way, and I respect all of it, be it a cleaner or delivery guy, all have their way of making a living and rights, in most 1st countries, every occupation is consider a profession of it own and well respected, you can commend the services or product but not the individual integrity, unfortunately, our govt breed a culture of looking down on others here.
There are ways of each and individual wishes to start their careers, some, like most of us, start from the bottom up, step by step like school, it is a norm to us becos we are breeded that way. But some like TS, who could be garang or chiong or simply choose to be different and dive into Merc limo straight away. Failure is the begining of success, most of us, being breed like our govt to be kiasee and kiasu, cannot take failure in life, to them, it is a shame, most went into depression instead of taking it as a challenge.
Let say TS take on merc, high rental, he joined a limo group, learn the road hard and still get eaten, he find it hard to cover the high rental, the liability, the calls, and the so called durian drops, but, he is learning the hard way, and finally, he gives up, joined the red or blue, then, he found himself in a more relax mood, more comfortable to earn a living, because it is chicken feat to him now. He had learned the hard way from merc driving, and not many, including me and some who drove for 20 years ever go near a Merc. So, there is 2 ways you look at thing.
Recently one of our TDs got a letter by CDG to terminate him because he wore slipper and got spotted.
He sms me saying he's going for SMRT.
Why of so many taxi coys the next choice is SMRT ?
One man's meat is another man's poison.
So you may have a grudge against SMRT but there are more than 2,000 TDs happily with them.
Originally posted by bowah:Every men on the street ply his own profession in his own way, and I respect all of it, be it a cleaner or delivery guy, all have their way of making a living and rights, in most 1st countries, every occupation is consider a profession of it own and well respected, you can commend the services or product but not the individual integrity, unfortunately, our govt breed a culture of looking down on others here.
There are ways of each and individual wishes to start their careers, some, like most of us, start from the bottom up, step by step like school, it is a norm to us becos we are breeded that way. But some like TS, who could be garang or chiong or simply choose to be different and dive into Merc limo straight away. Failure is the begining of success, most of us, being breed like our govt to be kiasee and kiasu, cannot take failure in life, to them, it is a shame, most went into depression instead of taking it as a challenge.
Let say TS take on merc, high rental, he joined a limo group, learn the road hard and still get eaten, he find it hard to cover the high rental, the liability, the calls, and the so called durian drops, but, he is learning the hard way, and finally, he gives up, joined the red or blue, then, he found himself in a more relax mood, more comfortable to earn a living, because it is chicken feat to him now. He had learned the hard way from merc driving, and not many, including me and some who drove for 20 years ever go near a Merc. So, there is 2 ways you look at thing.
this is gonna make TS confuse.
Originally posted by ALN:bowah always free to write stories…
but never free to eat sashimi…
why har?
I want to eat, but my stomach cannot take it, one time went eat lots of raw seafood including sashimi, next day, driving, go toilet 5 times, pax also not happy half way stop, like this lor.
I am a freelancer, do only super relief job, now waiting for ship to call at port before go up and service, sometime ship park at eastern anchorage(ECP) sometime western anchorage (sentosa and tuas side) sometime batam side, if batam side, huat liao, oversea allowances, but end up spending at batam KTV and all those nonsense, then po kia liao, come back here post and wait for the next ship on call lor, if no ship, or contractor cannot get the job, then drive taxis lor, singapore also got water taxis leh, not the blue red or silver, their is York, penguin, Senoko, etc etc, you book them at either west coast pier, Marina south or penjuru pier. Wave during this period very strong, sometime bowah have to jump ship and use the monkey rope to climb up the tanker or merchant ship, not easy, once drop, good luck, you swept under the wave and when go up, it could be at the base of the ship, 3 accidents happened in my life, 2 buddies lost their life, one serious injured. Anyway, you got to be fit to do the job, and also any taxis drivers who want to throw keys can try water taxis job, permanent paid, also got tips if people or engineer are happy, now most boatman are indonesian, they want singaporeans, can train up and get a licence, then you can drive taxis on the road and water, old already can join the duck tour pte ltd as their duck driver.
FYI, from marina south to eastern anchorage at ECP, per trip is $100 per person, waiting will be charge differently and return another $100. Water taxis or so called lounge can take about 8 peoples. Those never take, prepare to be Merlion, no need plastic bag, the sea just beside only
Originally posted by Mercabs:Logic ?
I don't see the logic for the example that you used.
The resale value may go up for a branded watch but not a casio
The bottomline is .... accuracy of the time .
I dun remember if Deng Xiao Peng wear a Branded watch from Swiss .
Resale must sure people dun ask you : "Genuine one ? U don't look like one wearing a genuine one ."
Taxi still a taxi .