X'mas splendour
Marina Bay will be lit up in Christmas Splendour everynight from Nov 20, 2011 to Jan 2, 2012.
This year celebrates Marina Bay's first Christmas following the completion of Marina Bay Financial Centre, Marina Bay Sands, The Fullerton Heritage with The Fullerton Bay Hotel and Customs House.
The Christmas Light Up 2011 route will be extended past Collyer Quay and into Marina Boulevard to "envelope" the Marina Bay. The Light-up is from 7pm to 12midnight (Sunday to Thursdays), 7pm to 2am (Fridays and Saturdays), and 7pm to 6am (on Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve). As Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ, Singapore's famous shopping belts gear up for the season of joy in the way it knows best — by transforming into a retail wonderland. Soak in the festive atmosphere as you stroll down Orchard Road and Marina Bay, a spectacular stretch of twinkling street lights and dressed-up shopping centres. To help you find the perfect presents for your loved ones, shopping hours will be extended and fabulous offers made available during the season. And there will be countless concerts, musicals and exhibitions to make your Christmas in the Tropics a holiday to remember.
As for Orchard Road
Come 19 November , witness the Christmas spirit come alive as Singapore’s new president Tony Tan KY, switches on the magnificent lights at the Switch-on Ceremony outside Ngee Ann City Civic Plaza. Be mesmerised by six statuesque trees adorned with a myriad of flowers welcoming visitors to Orchard Road – A Great Street filled with endless lifestyle experiences.
Remember this date 19-11-2011 , Saturday .
God bless , i will be off , My OC say can .
Generally ....
Christmas time , the nearer to Christmas , the worst will be the traffic .
Not only Friday , but everyday !!!
So many years , traffic never change .
Starting from GlenEagles , traffic already pile up , all the way to , can you imagine ? Raffles City !!!
Grange Road into Orchard Link also a must to avoid .
Clemenceau Ave into Buyong Road also must give it a miss .
CTE into town , from every single entrance , it's best avoid .
Newton Road towards Scotts Road , another headache zone , avoid .
Bras Basah also must avoid .
The best route into Marina / City area should be from Lavender area .
I will chose to avoid Orchard Boulevard , surrounding Wisma Atria area .
Will be very bad .
The cause ?
Pedestrians crossing the road from Borders to Orchard MRT and vice versa @ the Scotts Road / Paterson Road / Orchard Boulevard junction .
Mainly Stevens Road will be jammed from oops Balmoral Road .
Due to the fact MBS area has got their very own Christmas Light Up ...
I do not know how bad will be Church Street , Finlayson Green area .
Without X'mas already so bad !
Then during peak hours , Paterson Road after Hoot Kiam Road , will be jam .
Even if you want to go via Grange Road , also will be jam at end of Grange Road .
Congestion all due to jam at Tanglin Road !
Poolman damn good ?
Always can anticipate what will happen .
During my Comfort driving days .....
Never a single year i enjoy driving on X'mas season with Comfort .
Calls so many ..... all kena jam one .
Took the call at Shaw Centre , at Paragon , 35minutes still at Lucky Plaza !
Then call cancelled ..... ping another call behind me ! Fuck lar let go , but stuck in the jam , listen to Class 95 sing karaoke myself !
The best way to enjoy driving is to off your MDT !
I do not want to know how bad traffic will be .
2006 , population 3.5m .
Orchard Road already a night mare !
Now 5.18m people , if just 10% of these people go down see lightings at the same time , i siow liao !
That is 500,000 people !
if just 10% of the 500,000 people drove into Orchard at the same time , wa piang eh , that is a cool 50,000 cars inside orchard road .
Dun ask me how i drive , i will be driving with a smile on my face everyday , cos i am with Lake View .
My Coconut Tree just good enough for me .
TransCab drivers , how ?
Sweep on sight !
let the paxes pay for those traffic jams , see they scared or not ?
Never take any calls , remember , pax never can get Comfort , then they call you one .
One advantage for us , we have no suspension , we can take our time to decide .
No fuss .
same strategy for me every yr.......avoid orchard..........
This year let you all huat.
I won't be driving between the period before x'mas and after new year
People are getting 13th month bonus, some also get annual bonuses on average 2 to 5 months, so the lowest will get 3 months, so if you paid is $3k you get about 9k, some spend lavishly, some spend prudently, some keep for rainy days, but taxis driver like us hv to work harder, people or pax can be many, but the most you can take is one trip at a time, and the driving like Bro Pool said, will be quite a mess, and because all think of huat and all on the road, more mess happen, and out of these mess, if you make a wrong mistake, that is it. So becareful brothers
Originally posted by Mercabs:This year let you all huat.
I won't be driving between the period before x'mas and after new year
wah bro so gd ah go holidays??
Originally posted by Uncle Cabby:sometimes i wonder….......... who pay for the christmas light-up every year along Orchard Rd n city area ???
taxpayers $$$ ???
i tin the Gov jus wan 2 impress tourists ?
This are all canvassed from the branded shops, hotels and cafes along orchard road? then abit from LTA and tourism board of Singapore. And you are right, they do it for a purpose, for an accrued profit that await them.
People come, people pay, the more the merier, so the shop take back what they paid for, tourist flow in, tourism boom and the TBS very happy, got more tax and revenue to collect, more vehicle will passby ERP including taxis, and LTA huat again, end up, you right, still the peoples pay for it.
Originally posted by bowah:
This are all canvassed from the branded shops, hotels and cafes along orchard road? then abit from LTA and tourism board of Singapore. And you are right, they do it for a purpose, for an accrued profit that await them.People come, people pay, the more the merier, so the shop take back what they paid for, tourist flow in, tourism boom and the TBS very happy, got more tax and revenue to collect, more vehicle will passby ERP including taxis, and LTA huat again, end up, you right, still the peoples pay for it.
anyway its a Pay And Pay country.......
how much will day shift be affected?
Originally posted by Khoon2580:how much will day shift be affected?
Day shift very less affected , except on Saturday afternoon .
Usual stuff , Christmas Season cabby sent pax to orchard is as good as 70% .
Esp after 11am .
Lake View members will be very easy to drive .
Tough will be those driving a Comfort .
I tried many years , it's all about frustration .
CBD calls all thrown at you either u are inside the jam , or call from outside CBD when u are inside , or on the way will be jam to location that called .
if call kena no jam , on call pax go those place surely jam .
Hahahaha ....
Kan kao bo lat that is .... luan kan .