From one of the post " To all taxi driver " , BenQEpson revealed from his last post that he suffered from diabetes and had to be on medication for his rest of his life , and i dun like hearing that .
This is a good time to share about diabetes , we should be knowing more about diabetes .
Health Infos Sharing cannot be anyway compromised .
I really hope BenQEpson can come forward , tell us more about diabetes .
Just a few question .... if u dun mind .
BenQEpson , how old were you when u were diagnosed with diabetes ?
Your father or mother , or grandparents , got history of diabetes ?
Are you fat , overweight type of person ?
What could be the caused of the diabetes ( according to doctors ) ?
Food ?
Too much sugar intake ? Too much Coke ?
To saltish ?
Just hope we can get some answers to learnt more about diabetes .
Last question , was driving taxi for the night shift overall affected your health , that eventually caused diabetes ?
Or getting diabetes has got nothing to do with driving taxi ?
Also from that post , u mentioned " Diabetes" and " high blood pressure " .....
Is it link ? Meaning u diagnosed with diabetes and high blood at the same time ?
camping in this thread ![]()
There are 2 types of diabetes :
type 1 : need daily insulin injections
type 2 : usually occurs in adulthood because of obesity and usually on oral medications
A diabetes has a higher risk of getting hypertension (high blood pressure) as well.
If a person is both diabetic and hypertension, the risk of getting kidney disease is also higher.
Then there is also a higher risk of getting heart disease and stroke.
Symptoms of a diabetic person :
Blur vision
Excessive thirst for sweet or gassy drinks
Fatigue or get tired easily
Frequent urination
Hunger and weigh loss
My grandma and my mum both passed away with diabetes as the main cause. Grandma even had to have one leg amputated after gangrene set in.
My brother- a routine pre-surgery checkup for torn ligament revealed a 50-60% blockage of his blood vessels. The torn ligament surgery was abandoned and bypass perform almost immdiately. Had it not been for the torn ligament, he would have been a goner.
As diabetes is hereditary, my chances of getting diabetes is higher. i have been watching my sugar and carbo intake since i turned 40. Thankfully, my last full medical checkup revealed a clean bill of health. It is not expensive at about $150 at NTUC healthcare. It includes all sorts of tests (except stools) like tumour markings (for cancer), diabetes, kidney function, liver function etc. It also includes a scaled down ECG test for blockages.
So to all bros here, please do go for a full checkup. It can save you from more future medical problems. If u dun take care of urself, nobody can. in SG, one can afford to die but cannot afford to fall ill.
Refer to attached site for info. Or you can also go to ur own preferred GP or polycinic.
http://www.ntuchealth.com.sg/group_OLD_BRAND_/medicare/healthscreening.php?sphrase_id=3987
More info on how diet and diabetes.
http://www.hpb.gov.sg/foodforhealth/article.aspx?id=2830
The keyword is moderation.
Originally posted by Centori1965:My grandma and my mum both passed away with diabetes as the main cause. Grandma even had to have one leg amputated after gangrene set in.
My brother- a routine pre-surgery checkup for torn ligament revealed a 50-60% blockage of his blood vessels. The torn ligament surgery was abandoned and bypass perform almost immdiately. Had it not been for the torn ligament, he would have been a goner.
As diabetes is hereditary, my chances of getting diabetes is higher. i have been watching my sugar and carbo intake since i turned 40. Thankfully, my last full medical checkup revealed a clean bill of health. It is not expensive at about $150 at NTUC healthcare. It includes all sorts of tests (except stools) like tumour markings (for cancer), diabetes, kidney function, liver function etc. It also includes a scaled down ECG test for blockages.
So to all bros here, please do go for a full checkup. It can save you from more future medical problems. If u dun take care of urself, nobody can. in SG, one can afford to die but cannot afford to fall ill.
great thanks for the info bro~~~~ ;)
Originally posted by Poolman:Just a few question .... if u dun mind .
BenQEpson , how old were you when u were diagnosed with diabetes ?
Your father or mother , or grandparents , got history of diabetes ?
Are you fat , overweight type of person ?
What could be the caused of the diabetes ( according to doctors ) ?
Food ?
Too much sugar intake ? Too much Coke ?
To saltish ?
Just hope we can get some answers to learnt more about diabetes .
Bro pool the followings are my answers to your questions
1) 36 years . I got this illness for 4 years.
2) My grandparents have it. My parents dun. So it skip one generation. Lifestyle plays a part . It trigger the diabetes which is inside me all along.
3) Well I am overwight. By 30 kg. So far I have lost 12 kg. So plenty of kilos to shed.
4) Please see No 2.
5) Now my motto of living is to eat to live and not live to eat . I have to eat moderately in small amount. I have to eat less carbo and drink plenty of water . I get dehydrate easily. After that I need to go to loo frequently too. Vice versa its difficult to control the situation.
6) Now my drink is always kosong . I have not been drinking coke for 4 years liao. No prata, chicken rice or briyani.
7) About saltish that is related to HBP. Nothing concern to diabetes.
I hoped the above will answer to your questions bro Pool.
Ok thanks Epson .
Think i better go tell FT about it .
So big guys u better watch your diet , and do some regualr medical review .
Hope more infos come in .
This infos is not only for me , it's for everyone .
Although we can get infos online , nothing is better than personal experiences .
As for me , a bit out of thread .
If one fine day i kena cancer , i won't be surprised .
My grandfather died of cancer , my father died of cancer , my father's sister died of cancer .
So ...... Life Goes On .
Wow BenQepson big guy ?
Then u and FT can set up a Fat Man Club .
FT is weight 3 times of me , now he on diet .
No more Kopi , not even Kopi siew tai .
Yes got lar , that day dinner with him , one week once .
Originally posted by Mercabs:There are 2 types of diabetes :
type 1 : need daily insulin injections
type 2 : usually occurs in adulthood because of obesity and usually on oral medications
A diabetes has a higher risk of getting hypertension (high blood pressure) as well.
If a person is both diabetic and hypertension, the risk of getting kidney disease is also higher.
Then there is also a higher risk of getting heart disease and stroke.
Symptoms of a diabetic person :
Blur vision
Excessive thirst for sweet or gassy drinks
Fatigue or get tired easily
Frequent urination
Hunger and weigh loss
Point by point ...... except for blur vision , i am not suffering on this .
Uncle me blur vision all due to too much sex , that's why !
Komade watch out for blur vision , hahahaha , u just got too much hahahahaha .
Not too much sugar .
Sugar Babe yes ..... hahahaha
sorry
BenQEpson , please PM me when you see my posting
I was also got it in 2007, when doctor first told me after a normally routine test, i refuse to accept it. but after few test done in a month with control diet, i finally accept it. My parent dun have but my grandmonther do have and her leg have to be amputed. i guess i was unlucky
Doctor say inherit............. my reading was high at than... now even still slightly high as i have refuse medication. first 3 year was tough. always out of sudden feel giddy, always feel thirsty , and need to go loo very often and also man most important weapon, itchy.
any way , i done have a cure for this , just wish to share with you that 2009 i accidently see a TCM ( my family trusted qualify TCM doctor) due i have grow snake.
i make query asking about it to see i there is cure but reply was no.
but she gave me a power form medicine which i took and complete it has help , now i don't often feel thirsty and need to go loo very often, except sometime , so much to say but not sure how to put in words here, PM me so i can share it with you
sorry guys, let me share with BenQEpson first and then i find time to see how to write it over here to share with everyone later
Originally posted by Poolman:From one of the post " To all taxi driver " , BenQEpson revealed from his last post that he suffered from diabetes and had to be on medication for his rest of his life , and i dun like hearing that .
This is a good time to share about diabetes , we should be knowing more about diabetes .
Health Infos Sharing cannot be anyway compromised .
I really hope BenQEpson can come forward , tell us more about diabetes .
go to earthclinic.com for home cures ...........
don't let those drug companies fool you into thinking you need medicine for rest of your life..........
nice thread~ thanks for sharing with us
curezone.com is another site
for cancer.....................cancertutor.com