Hi all bros
I finally passed my TDVL. Is much harder than I thought. Friends taken the test few years back, all say easy, chicken feet. But I find it hard. Got 1 section, I almost failed. 1 more question only and I've to retake.
Anyway, I'm going all out for fulltime. Briefly, I'm doing delivery islandwide. So most of the time, I'm on the road. Pay wise around $1500 to $1700. Basically, to me, is change of trade. But I sincerely need some input from bros here on which company is good.
I read thru certain threads, 1 bro mentioned SMRT will have contract for 6 mths. And to quit needs another 6mths notice. Like that jialat. Comfort offers seems ok too. With refund of course fees and some extra cash.
To be frank, I really need monies that's why I took up the 6wks course. Struggle from work and rush to sin ming to study everyday. Though is tough but is finally over. And worried about the $1k deposit. I need to borrow too. I dun have any bank account. (at this pt of time, i hope u know my situation now).
Tks for reading. Sorry for being loh soh.
Pls advise.
Congratz Wantaxi!
Are u gonna be hirer? If yes, then I dun think Comfort is the choice unless u can wait 3 months for them to assign u a taxi. If relief, then ok.

Originally posted by Centori1965:Are u gonna be hirer? If yes, then I dun think Comfort is the choice unless u can wait 3 months for them to assign u a taxi. If relief, then ok.
bro why 3mths? I'm fine with manual car as i'm driving islandwaide in manual van the whole day. I know i lose out on pick up locations to all seniors.
I'm looking at rental, and rebate. Or should i say lesser cost for me until i find the rope in picking up pax. CNG is out as i can't afford to drive to jurong and pump. I leave in the north.
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Congratz Wantaxi!
tks bros...glad i make it
Why 3 months only Comfort can answer. Prob becos of long waiting list. $1k deposit can pay installments of $250 each. 1st instalment is payable upon registration.
Originally posted by Wantaxi:bro why 3mths? I'm fine with manual car as i'm driving islandwaide in manual van the whole day. I know i lose out on pick up locations to all seniors.
I'm looking at rental, and rebate. Or should i say lesser cost for me until i find the rope in picking up pax. CNG is out as i can't afford to drive to jurong and pump. I leave in the north.
Crown also need to wait 3 months. Got a course mate who registered for Crown but they offer him a Sonata. Btw Congrats for passing. U the batch 48 from SMRT?
Originally posted by Centori1965:Why 3 months only Comfort can answer. Prob becos of long waiting list. $1k deposit can pay installments of $250 each. 1st instalment is payable upon registration.
the installments is 250 a week or a month?
Originally posted by Bingjames:the installments is 250 a week or a month?
If I remember correctly, $250 per month. Bingjames, u from 48/11?
Tks bros.....i'm from NP11/13 citycab. I'm contemplating which company. Can pay instalment for deposit? I was told must pay in full.
I'm more concern on the breakdown or downtime of taxi. My perspective as a newbie is of course, diffferent from senior bros. Maybe down the road, I'll change my views. As of now, I just to finalise on the pros and cons of different cab. I believe a jap make would be better than korean or continental cab.
So Bro bingjames, have you started to drive?
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:
tks bro.......![]()
Originally posted by Wantaxi:Tks bros.....i'm from NP11/13 citycab. I'm contemplating which company. Can pay instalment for deposit? I was told must pay in full.
I'm more concern on the breakdown or downtime of taxi. My perspective as a newbie is of course, diffferent from senior bros. Maybe down the road, I'll change my views. As of now, I just to finalise on the pros and cons of different cab. I believe a jap make would be better than korean or continental cab.
So Bro bingjames, have you started to drive?
I from batch 49. Funny, 49 comes before 48.
For Hirers, CDG need full $1000 downpayment, no relief they allow 250x4, now I know it's monthly. not that bad leh.
Haven't start yet, apply for hirer and on waiting list liao. Intially I thought I dun really need to wait for 3 months but I called them the other day and was told the queue still long. Btw, the age of the taxi u requested also matter. Was told that if u can take older taxi and those with billboard on top, the queue can be shorter.
But got a feeling I will end up as a relief first.
Originally posted by Bingjames:I from batch 49. Funny, 49 comes before 48.
For Hirers, CDG need full $1000 downpayment, no relief they allow 250x4, now I know it's monthly. not that bad leh.
Haven't start yet, apply for hirer and on waiting list liao. Intially I thought I dun really need to wait for 3 months but I called them the other day and was told the queue still long. Btw, the age of the taxi u requested also matter. Was told that if u can take older taxi and those with billboard on top, the queue can be shorter.
But got a feeling I will end up as a relief first.
I see. I read thru some post, red cab's workshop very jialat. Then how to maintain the "money-earning" machine. Most probably, I will slaught for the 1st yr. I got no problem driving for the whole day as I've been driving around for the past 10yrs from morning 8am to night 7pm.
Seems like the choice is quite obvious after reading a few post.
Originally posted by Poolman:Slowly lar …...
If i am need bird .....My first choice : CityCab crown .Second Choice : TransCab Wish 2.0Third Choice : Citycab Sonata .Dun ask me Citycab & Comfort not same meh ?Different lar as far as Poolman is concern .......
zhun boh ah pool?? 1st choice crown??
knn ur left leg not weak liao meh?? :P
Originally posted by komade:zhun boh ah pool?? 1st choice crown??
knn ur left leg not weak liao meh?? :P
oh my god!! crown! i hear crown LJ also cannot stand liao
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:oh my god!! crown! i hear crown LJ also cannot stand liao
wahahahahahaa ai ni kuan kong ho tia meh member?? :P
Originally posted by Poolman:Slowly lar …...
If i am need bird .....My first choice : CityCab crown .Second Choice : TransCab Wish 2.0Third Choice : Citycab Sonata .Dun ask me Citycab & Comfort not same meh ?Different lar as far as Poolman is concern .......
join Premier and drive Toyota crown no contract rental as low as $78 monthly incentives I think offer until end of the month.
Originally posted by decent02:Take sonata lah
wait 3 months or sign as relief
on the road…can easily overtake crown and red engine
LJ confirm stand strongneed to take cover liao…all the reds here want to hamtan me liao
haha not really lar if u meet fierce red driver also hard to beat them...........
can consider i30 leh. good car don't leave it out
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:oh my god!! crown! i hear crown LJ also cannot stand liao
Take this (each).... once a day... sure can stand.... ![]()