As for me, when I say all the Zero in the advanced booking online, real panic.
was really expecting to be OBK.
worried my merc got rejected by ppl on road, see got advance booking anyhow grab first. got only 2, miss alot.
but in the end, no so bad la,
managed to do 17 trips, same as last Friday
but amount $50 lesser and spend more on diesel even, cos I empty car go Sentosa to ply hoping to get current booking but end up with nothing.
Problem with cabs is the moment u really really need to get a cab, everybody is busy.
Even if you are willing to pay the booking fee.
Other times when there is no emergency, getting a cab is still okay. ![]()
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Shh..... I ever heard there is one chrysler driver almost everyday OBK. Sometimes make a bit but mostly the car left in carpark. Somemore he OMO no need relief wor. Not no need relief, dont want relief leh.
wah like tat also can power~~~ but hor seldom hear cry si ler driver OBK 1......... ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:
Idliness is another issue altogether ..... i committed to be obk .Who want to join the OBK Club ?
u wan u OBK urself......... ![]()
Originally posted by Bingjames:Who says Advanced Booking totally down? u must have been watch online or iphone right?
AB selling like hot cake. The very second it flash on our MDT, it's taken. Finger must be real fast. I managed to get two. That's why it never last long on the screen, always zero
i dun like to take advance unless its midnite 1 like frm J West to AP.......... ![]()
Originally posted by Bingjames:As for me, when I say all the Zero in the advanced booking online, real panic.
was really expecting to be OBK.
worried my merc got rejected by ppl on road, see got advance booking anyhow grab first. got only 2, miss alot.
but in the end, no so bad la,
managed to do 17 trips, same as last Friday
but amount $50 lesser and spend more on diesel even, cos I empty car go Sentosa to ply hoping to get current booking but end up with nothing.
bro drive relax dun worry~~~~ come come tonite sit down hav kopi with us~~~~~
ComfortDelGro and SMRT Taxis are drawing a largely negative reaction from readers of The Straits Times Online after their recent fare hike announcements, with many readers calling for boycotts of the taxi companies.
ComfortDelGro and SMRT had earlier announced revisions to their fare structures, which they said would help improve their cabbies' take-home income and defray rising operating costs.
However, many readers were sceptical of their given reasons. 'To help the cabbies earn more, reduce the fixed cost rental rather than increase the fares!', said Goh Jane Lee in a post on The Straits Times' Facebook page. 'Why increase fares? If the management of Comfort is so compassionate, that's what they should do.'
Firdaus Hashim agreed, but said it was too early to talk about the impact on taxi driver income. He added: 'Public transport companies will continue to raise prices without shame or guilt, using higher costs and flat earnings to justify increases.'
Another reader, Lawrence Lee, said there was 'no logic' to the the taxi fare revision. 'Service and (the) attitude of taxis drivers have dropped tremendously. Time to upgrade and...improve the standard of service and attitude or face consequences,' he said.
Several readers accused the taxi companies, as well as the National Taxi Association of colluding to fix prices. 'It's an outright case of price fixing which goes against fair competition,' Vincent Ong argued.
On Monday, some ComfortDelGro taxi drivers said passengers avoided taking their cabs when fare hikes by Singapore's largest taxi operator rolled in.
In a report in The Straits Times on Tuesday, Premier Taxis driver Tan Keow Ling - who did not see an impact on demand for his services on Monday - said passengers fretted over whether other taxi firms would follow ComfortDelGro's action.
'Customers who get into my cabs tell me that they are boycotting the Comfort cabs,' the 58-year-old said. 'Everyone is worried about the price increase and asks if my company will follow suit.'
Those against boycott call
Khor Fujie was among the few readers who argued against a boycott of the taxi companies. 'The rental still needs to be paid by the drivers. In the end, the drivers suffer while the companies just sit back and earn their money,' he said.
Some readers called on the taxi companies to lower daily rentals for the taxi drivers instead of hiking fares. 'Cab companies should lower their rental to show they really want to help cabbies,' Goh Chye Huat Dean argued.
Most taxi drivers, however, fear that costs will rise further, in particular rental, although a ComfortDelGro spokesman told The Straits Times on Dec 6 that 'there are currently no plans to increase taxi rental'. She added that the last time rental was adjusted, was in 2000. Taxi drivers, however, said that rumours of an increase are rife, especially given the high vehicle certificate of entitlement (COE) prices currently.
Finally, reader Jason Ng added that if the companies were 'genuine' in helping their taxi drivers, 'they should be able to predict the length of this down-period and at the same time, lower the daily rental of the cab'.
SINGAPORE - The second day into Comfort-Delgro's taxi fare increase has seen the ire of some passengers.
Seen in this photo taken by TODAY's deputy multimedia editor Sion Touhig, a frustrated member of the public had defaced a Taxi sign outside Bishan MRT station.
The words "15 1/2 hrs surcharge. Daylight robbery??? Pay + pay. Are we donkeys [sic]" had been scrawled across the taxi pricing information panel at the taxi stand.
TODAY was unable to reach LTA for a comment.

Is like this one lah, after CNY, life goes back to normal.
As I said before, taxi driver stands not to gain much, for the past years, taxi driver had been lure to drive newer vehicle with higher rental rates, for that, no one in the public knows or even known, did not give a damn about it. We become the liability of both the taxi companies and the public at large. With the surge in inflation and diesel cost, we endured all these years of being exploited by companies and at time, paxs. And we still need to endure further, because, as i said before, govt do not want taxi driver to be rich man and woman, govt want taxi drivers to alway go hungry so that they will have to plough the road for their bread and butter issue. This, I believe those in the fare restructuring committee would had discussed and think over it before coming out with this new structure.
As LKY said, a few bunch of idiots cannot do much, just nab the bud and the flower will not blossom, then the rest of the buds shall be tame.
I sincerely believe that all these agony and frustration is voice toward our govt rather than cabbies, and every cabby are normal singaporean with relatives and frens who are also paxs on the road.
Boycott exist only in a homogenous society, in Singapore, beside the old 4 main races, today, you see more than 12 races + tourists, we are the highest multi national society around this region. And in political science, multi national society like singapore can hardly go on strike or boycott, because there is no team work and a common cause. And that
...could be the reason why our govt allow so many type of peoples in, because it will be easier to rule.
Really if commuters think taxi too expensive , leave it alone . And i am serious .
Just walk to the nearest MRT .... or bus stop .
If wanna take taxi , dun complaint .
Singapore got 5.08m people , less you one , i won't starve one .
Then those who can afford , need a shorter waiting time for taxi that's all .
Singapore's infrastructure are fixed one .....
Taxi drivers are mobile one .....
Whether or not Uncle Poolman OBK , after the commuters boycott , it's for us to know .
For them to find out .
Been through a few hikes .....
Quite standard response from the public ....
Just that this time , we have more breathing space , hahahaha .
3.5m last time ...... against 5.08m people this time .... that's my breathing space .
Last time no MBS and RWS , this time still can breathe with MBS .
Sup Sup water , hahahahah
I kena $0.10 , $0.20 hikes ......
Already boycott like hell ........ hahahahahah

Nothing compares to SARS ...... nothing !!!
No fight lar ! Give free ride also nobody take taxi , hahahahahaha
Only SARS , taxi company lowered $10 in taxi rental .
Can imagine or not guys ?
Don't worry, typical singaporean are like this, 4 frens agreed not to patronise that stall, then somehow, end up 3 eating there, 3 good buddies agreed not to work for that companies, then somehow, 2 end up working there with good position and paid. Then in real, many of my relatives and frens said they will forever not buy cars, but somehow a few of them end up buying it and show off to me. If by middle age, as a singaporean, you still do not understand singaporean, then be PR better.
When LHL said, 2012 is going to be a tough year, he does not imply only at the economy slowing down, he is also implying that cost of living is going to go up higher and higher. Take MRT? Mrt is soon going up to cover central line cost and current extension cost, Bus is also going up due to higher diesel prices and cost of building new roads and air con depots under shopping centres. Take care
Originally posted by Poolman:I kena $0.10 , $0.20 hikes ......
Already boycott like hell ........ hahahahahah
I think we have to share their sentiment, singaporeans are afterall also our frens and relatives, they have the right to feel angry and rebellious as we are when prices of food or coffee goes up, the point may not be at that 0.20cents or 2 cents worth distance differences, the point is more on why everything has to go up, and it is more toward the ruling parties, taxi companies rather than we the taxi driver. So, we got to understand their concern and frustration as the same as prices of housing and rental goes up. There are many kind of way to express displeasure, some go to the extreme, some keep it internally, some just let it go and forget about it. So, we as TD, should in a way understand paxs concern in a more open view.
Originally posted by bowah:
I think we have to share their sentiment, singaporeans are afterall also our frens and relatives, they have the right to feel angry and rebellious as we are when prices of food or coffee goes up, the point may not be at that 0.20cents or 2 cents worth distance differences, the point is more on why everything has to go up, and it is more toward the ruling parties, taxi companies rather than we the taxi driver. So, we got to understand their concern and frustration as the same as prices of housing and rental goes up. There are many kind of way to express displeasure, some go to the extreme, some keep it internally, some just let it go and forget about it. So, we as TD, should in a way understand paxs concern in a more open view.
Actually i dun feel any sympathy for em. Coz they know that after every GE , things will increase yet they continue to endorse em bringing the others down with them.
Understand is one thing but looking after my pocket is another.
After all this years someone is still as cocky as ever. ![]()
smrt annouced liao
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:If you pump Comfort diesel, you will also notice the cashier rounding DOWN the diesel bill for you. So always pump their diesel to the nearest $0.08 or $0.04
On paper, Comfort cannot ask cabbies to round UP. Comfort also cannot expect cabbies to provide the exact change to customers, even $0.01. But they can ask you to round DOWN, knowing most of the time your pax will round UP if paying by cash.
Pump comfort diesel, the cashier doesn't round DOWN the diesel bill. They will only round down on prices between $0.01~$0.02 or $0.06~$0.07. If your pump price exceeds $0.03=round UP to $0.05 and $0.08 round UP to $0.10 for your info.
Is this consider "Overcharging" by Comfort diesel kiosk?